Chairman's Profile
Mr Li Ka-shing is the Chairman of CK Asset Holdings Limited and CK Hutchison Holdings Limited.

Mr Li was born in 1928 in Chiu Chow, a coastal city in the southeastern part of China. Mr Li was forced to quit school when he was 12 and fled to Hong Kong with his family to avoid the perils of war. Shortly thereafter, his father suffered from tuberculosis and passed away in Hong Kong. Before he was 15, Mr Li had to shoulder the responsibility of providing for his family and found a job in a plastics trading company where he labored 16 hours a day. By 1950, his hard work, prudence and his pursuit of excellence had enabled him to start his own company, Cheung Kong Industries. From manufacturing plastics, Mr Li led and developed his company into a leading real estate investment company in Hong Kong that was listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 1972. Cheung Kong continued to expand by acquiring Hutchison Whampoa and Hongkong Electric Holdings Limited (renamed Power Assets Holdings Limited) in 1979 and 1985 respectively.

With roots in Hong Kong, the CK Group's businesses now span the globe, encompassing such diverse areas as ports and related services, retail, infrastructure, energy, telecommunications, property development and investment, hotel and serviced suite operation, property and project management, aircraft leasing and life sciences. Mr Li is a strong believer in synergy—the power of combined efforts. This belief is reflected in his naming his company Cheung Kong after the Yangtze River that flows through China, a great river that aggregates countless streams and tributaries. The Times in the United Kingdom and Ernst & Young UK jointly named Mr Li as the Entrepreneur of the Millennium at the turn of the century.

Established in 1980, the Li Ka Shing Foundation (LKSF) has four core imperatives: 1) foster change, 2) empower people, 3) develop a better society, and 4) inspire societal improvement. Mr Li considers the Foundation to be his “third son” and has pledged one-third of his assets to it. To date, over HK$20 billion has been put to work to support all its initiatives across 27 countries and regions. Over 80 per cent of LKSF’s donations benefit projects in the Greater China region.

In 1981, Mr Li founded Shantou University (STU), the only privately funded public university in China with earmarked grants of over HK$8 billion through 2018. STU is the cornerstone project of the foundation and a platform to instigate reforms in the higher education sector in China. To date, Shantou University has educated over 120,000 students, including more than 47,000 medical school students.

In recognition of his philanthropic efforts and his contributions to society, Mr Li has received Honorary Doctorates from the University of Cambridge, the University of Calgary in Canada, Peking University, and the University of Hong Kong, among others. Mr Li, a Justice of the Peace, has also received the Grand Officer of the Order Vasco Nunez de Balboa from Panama, Commandeur de l'Ordre de Léopold from Belgium, Knight (Commander of the Order) of the British Empire, the Grand Bauhinia Medal of Hong Kong, and the Commandeur de la Légion d'Honneur from the French Government.

Mr Li has two sons. The elder son, Victor, now serves as Group Co-Managing Director and Deputy Chairman of CK Hutchison Holdings Limited, Managing Director and Deputy Chairman of CK Asset Holdings Limited, and Chairman of CK Infrastructure Holdings Limited and CK Life Sciences Int'l., (Holdings) Inc. Mr Li's younger son, Richard, is Chairman of PCCW, one of Asia's leading information technology and telecommunications companies.

5 May 2017

集團主席
李嘉誠先生現任長江實業集團有限公司及長江和記實業有限公司主席。

李嘉誠先生於 1928 年在中國東南部的沿海城市潮州出生,12 歲時為逃避戰亂,被迫輟學,與家人逃難到香港,他的父親後來因肺病在香港去世。由於要負起供養家人的重擔,李先生不足 15 歲時到一家塑膠貿易公司任職,每天工作 16 小時。憑著他的努力、謹慎及追求卓越的精神,李先生於 1950 年自行創立長江工業有限公司,最初經營塑膠製品,隨後李先生將公司發展成一家具主導地位的香港物業發展公司,並於 1972 年在聯合交易所上市。長江分別於 1979 年及 1985 年透過收購和記黃埔有限公司及香港電燈集團有限公司(已易名為電能實業有限公司),持續進行業務拓展。

長江集團業務始創於香港,現已遍及全球,包括港口及相關業務、零售、基建、能源、電訊、物業發展及投資、酒店及服務套房業務、物業及項目管理,飛機租賃,以及生命科技等。李先生深信眾擎易舉,眾志成城,從他將公司以「長江」命名便可體現他此一信念,因長江是不擇細流、匯聚百川的中國大河。李先生獲英國泰晤士報及英國安永會計師事務所評選為「千禧企業家」。

李嘉誠基金會於 1980 年由李嘉誠先生創立,以期︰一、推動改變;二、提升能力;三、建立同慈能量;四、啟迪社會創進。李先生視基金會為他的「第三個兒子」,投入其三分之一的資產。至今,項目捐款已逾 200 億港元,橫越全球 27 個國家及地區,其中超過 80% 用於支持大中華地區項目。

1981 年,李先生創辦了中國唯一私人捐資的公立大學—汕頭大學,支持款額逾 80 億港元(至 2018 年)。汕頭大學是基金會的核心項目,也是推動中國高校教育改革的平台。迄今,汕頭大學已培育學生逾 12 萬人,其中醫科學生逾 47,000 人。

由於李嘉誠先生熱心公益,對各地社會貢獻良多,先後獲英國劍橋大學、加拿大卡加里大學、內地北京大學、本港香港大學及其他大學頒授名譽博士學位。另獲頒授巴拿馬國 Grand Officer of the Order Vasco Nunez de Balboa 勳銜、比利時國 Commandeur de l'Ordre de Léopold 勳銜、英帝國 KBE 爵級司令勳銜、香港特別行政區大紫荊勳章和太平紳士,以及獲法國政府頒授榮譽軍團司令勳銜(Commandeur de la Légion d'Honneur)。有關資料 .....

李嘉誠先生有兩位兒子,長子李澤鉅,現任長江和記實業有限公司集團聯席董事總經理兼副主席、長江實業集團有限公司董事總經理兼副主席、長江基建集團有限公司主席及長江生命科技集團有限公司主席。幼子李澤楷,現任電訊盈科有限公司主席,該公司為亞洲具領導地位的資訊科技及電訊公司之一。

2017 年 5 月 5 日