CK Hutchison Family

A S Watson Group hosts its seventh Global Volunteer Day with over 23,000 volunteers participating.CK Hutchison takes pride in serving the community through its businesses and other initiatives.  Providing the local communities with products and services they trust and can rely on is part of building sustainable businesses.  In addition to ESG teams within individual Group companies and business units, the Group has different avenues to share these developments amongst the businesses.  The Group’s magazine, Sphere, periodically shares stories, trends and ESG activities by businesses with other group companies and staff.  The latest issue of the magazine can be viewed on the CK Hutchison website at http://www.ckh.com.hk/en/about/journal.php.

 

Li Ka Shing Foundation – Changing Times, Unchanging Promise

Mr Li Ka-shing, the Chairman of the Group, recognises the importance of education and healthcare to societal development. Established in 1980, the Li Ka Shing Foundation (“LKSF”) has invested over HK$20 billion to develop education, medical services and research initiatives in 27 countries and regions, with over 80% of the projects located within the Greater China region. Mr Li describes his philanthropic effort as akin to having another son in the family. He called for a paradigm shift in our Asian culture of giving, assigning equal importance to societal development and the continuation of future generations, and apportioning more of our wealth and means towards social capital so that we could bring forth great hope and promises for generations to come.

Below are some of LKSF’s major and special projects in 2017:
 

Love Ideas, Love HK
Funded with contributions of over HK$300 million, Love HK Your Way! continues to create a positive social impact:

Compassionate Guardians
For ten years, the “Heart of Gold” Hong Kong Hospice Care Service Programme, a collaboration with the Hong Kong Hospital Authority, has been supporting hospice centres in ten public hospitals. This innovative programme has served 38,000 terminally ill cancer patients and their family members with a host of integrated palliative care services. LKSF’s contributions to this programme now total HK$126 million.

Community Care


“Decide Well, Spend Wisely”
In its second year, “Decide Well, Spend Wisely” issued HK$5,000 gift cheques with no conditions attached to each of the 9,320 students in Yuen Long (including Tin Shui Wai), Islands, and
Tuen Mun Districts sitting for the 2018 Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination. Through two phases, the programme has distributed over HK$75 million to more than 15,000 students to encourage wise financial decisions and to help alleviate exam pressures.

Listening Angels
As at the end of December 2017, the Caritas Family Crisis Hotline and Education Centre has received over HK$45.2 million from LKSF and handled more than 440,000 cases. The Centre supports individuals and families in distress with a 24-hour hotline, and also hosts crisis prevention workshops to promote greater social harmony.

Innovative Education
In June 2017, LKSF invited 300 young people to participate in HKXP, an e-sports event aimed at piquing their interest in advanced technology. In July, LKSF made a donation of HK$10 million to set up scholarships and develop “Cornerstone Maths” at the Education University of Hong Kong.

Paradigm Shift in Human Capital Development and Leadership


Shantou University
Founded in 1981 with the approval of the State Council, Shantou University (“STU”) is co-developed by the Ministry of Education, the Guangdong Provincial Government and LKSF. As the only privately funded public university in Mainland China, STU strives to become a top-tier university with a firm commitment to internationalisation. LKSF has earmarked over HK$10 billion to support the University, which has cultivated over 120,000 graduates to date.

STU continued to enhance its competitiveness across the board in 2017. Newly approved PhD programmes in biological sciences and mathematics have been added to its curriculum. Not only has the University made the “Times Higher Education World University Rankings” for the third consecutive year, for the first time STU was also included in THE’s “Young University Rankings 2017”, and placed on three other globally recognised world university rankings — the Center for World University Rankings 2017, the QS University Rankings Asia 2018, and the US News Best Global Universities Ranking 2018. STU has developed an Advanced Undergraduate Education model, adopting the integrated, Outcome-Based Education model that combines ability, knowledge and skills learning. LKSF also contributed US$3 million to the University of Michigan to foster a joint venture by STU and SUMC that would create the first-ever programme in biomedical engineering in the eastern Guangdong region.

Student quality has continued to improve for a fifth consecutive year. The 2017 admission scores for incoming freshmen from 13 provinces/regions and the number of undergraduates who selected STU as their first choice set new highs. The first-time employment rate also hit a record high of 98.04%, topping all tertiary institutions in Guangdong Province. The employment rate stood firmly above 99% for the sixth year running. The average salary for graduates after five years in the workforce exceeds that of 88% of graduates from all universities nationwide. STU continued to build on its record of outstanding performance in research and innovation. According to the “Best University Ranking” website, STU ranks No. 49 in the nation for research quality.

In December 2017, four female rowers in their early 20’s formed Kung Fu Cha Cha to participate in the annual Talisker Whisky Atlantic Challenge, the “world’s toughest ocean rowing race”. Embodying the school spirit, the team departed from Canary Islands on 14 December, and arrived at their destination in Antigua on 17 January 2018. In conquering the Atlantic, they set four world records: First team from Asia to row across the Atlantic Ocean; first team from China to row across the Atlantic Ocean; youngest team ever to row across the Atlantic; and fastest time in the Challenge for a four-woman crew.

Shantou University Medical College
Shantou University Medical College (“SUMC”) is pioneering reforms in medical education in Mainland China based on student-centred education and internationalisation initiatives. For 20 consecutive years, all incoming students selected SUMC as their first choice. The passing rate of SUMC graduates in the National Medical Licensing Examinations has been ranked in the top eight out of 170+ medical schools in China for the 11th consecutive year. SUMC also adopted the United States Medical Licensing Examination (“USMLE”) to evaluate students in the English-stream medical programme. Over the past six years, the average passing rate of 93.04% for SUMC students in the USMLE Step 1 is similar to those of accredited medical schools in the U.S. In 2017, the employment rate of new graduates reached 97.20%, first among universities in Guangdong Province for 17 consecutive years. An STU team comprising three nursing and medical students beat 207 teams from universities across China to win a Nursing-related Innovation Challenge organised by Enactus China.

The research team from the Joint Influenza Research centre of SUMC and Hong Kong University led by Prof Guan Yi, was nominated as a key participant in “Critical Innovation and Technological Breakthroughs in the Systematic Prevention and Treatment of Emerging Infectious Diseases - H7N9 Avian Influenza”. This research won the Grand Prize of the 2017 National Science and Technology Progress Award, and has significantly enhanced China’s international impact in the field of infectious disease prevention. Cancer researchers at SUMC published their findings in two prestigious journals Gastroenterology and Gut, detailing the mutational events and corresponding alterations of tissues and cells in esophageal cancers and contrasting systematically the genomic and epigenomic differences between squamous cell carcinomas and adenocarcinomas of the esophagus. These studies allow further understanding of esophageal cancer progression and better diagnostic designs for early detection. The 16 members of the East-West Alliance, including STU, Oxford, Cambridge and UC Berkeley, continue to build research synergies across borders.

SUMC has five affiliated hospitals with a total of 4,500 beds serving 70% of the population in Shantou city. After the newly completed medical education centre, an international research centre under construction will provide an additional 55,000 sq m of research space, setting a firm foundation for advancements in knowledge discovery and transfer.

Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Since its founding on 23 November 2002, the Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business (“CKGSB”) has strived to cultivate business leaders with a global vision, a humanistic spirit, a strong sense of social responsibility and an innovative mind-set. Over the past 15 years, CKGSB has continuously innovated to pioneer new efforts in business management education and become a leading business school from China with global influence. Today, more than half of CKGSB’s 10,000+ alumni are at the CEO or Chairman level and collectively, they lead one-fifth of China’s most valuable brands.

Guangdong Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
LKSF donated US$130 million to establish GTIIT, a joint venture between Technion and Shantou University. GTIIT aims to become a cutting-edge international education and research institute, dedicated to innovative research, environmental protection, and societal advancement. The Institute will promote an environment for entrepreneurial innovation and knowledge-based competitiveness in Guangdong, contributing to the betterment of China, Israel and all humankind. Officially approved by the Chinese Ministry of Education in December 2016, GTIIT enrolled the first cohort of 216 students last year, and held its inauguration ceremony on 18 December 2017.

Healthcare Projects in Mainland China


Free Healthcare Services
Over the years, LKSF has contributed over RMB1 billion to support free medical services in Mainland China, including programmes such as “Heart of Gold” Nationwide Hospice Care Services, China Disabled Persons Federation’s “Cheung Kong New Milestone” (three phases) to install prosthetics and provide rehabilitation support and training, Nationwide Medical Welfare for the Poor, and the Kumbum Tibetan Medical Hospital Aid Programme, with the total number of beneficiaries exceeding 17 million.

Sports Education
A donation of RMB10 million was made to support Yao Foundation’s sports education programmes in Guangdong and Guangxi provinces.

Sustainable Development
LKSF supports technology-assisted agricultural development and has made a contribution of RMB12 million to initiate the Xinjiang Castor Seed Project. Results of plantation trials since 2015 have been very positive, and the programme will be expanded in 2018 to cover 40,000 mu. LKSF has also contributed RMB3.5 million to support 100 social development programmes in Guangdong.  The training provided for 1,500 women cadets and social workers indirectly benefits 500,000 elderly, women, children, and disabled persons.

Overseas Medical Education and Research
Developed with the support of a £20 million gift from LKSF, the Centre for Health Information and Discovery at Oxford University incorporates two related research institutes, the Target Discovery Institute (“TDI”) and the Big Data Institute (“BDI”), the latter of which opened in May 2017. Together the institutes will host 600 interdisciplinary scientists and researchers.

LKSF’s new commitments to overseas projects reached nearly HK$100 million in 2017. Initiatives supported include a biomedical engineering venture between Shantou University and the University of Michigan; a scholarship established in honour of the late Lord Michael Sandberg to support local students pursuing undergraduate education in the UK; a research programme at the Melbourne University Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre; and programmes that support Stanford University’s research into the body’s healing mechanism and the development of young surgeons.

Boundless Compassion


To date, LKSF has made grants of over HK$2.6 billion to cover the development cost and daily operating expenses of Tsz Shan Monastery, which received 259,242 visitors in 2017, and over 700,000 visitors since its opening in 2015. The monastery strives to nurture positive energy and cultivate “Boundless Compassion” through development in three key areas including education, care and art for the harmony of society. “Sala Loving-Care Project” is initiated to enhance public awareness on life and death education and hospice care while nurturing positive energy. Tsz Shan Institute collaborates with internationally recognised institutes of higher learning and universities to offer comprehensive experience in education and research on Buddhist teaching. The integration of art and the Dharma facilitates the expression of self or awareness of life and enhances the well-being of others.

CKHH Volunteers accompany the elderly to visit Tsz Shan Monastery.Since its establishment in 2015, the Buddhist Spiritual Counselling Centre of Tsz Shan Monastery has provided counselling services for over 4,000 residents, and over 32,000 people have participated in spiritual wellness activities. In collaboration with social welfare agencies, the Centre has newly established a “Buddhist Counselling Professional Training Centre” for social workers to award continuing professional development approved by the Social Workers Registration Board.

LKSF will continue to cultivate a culture of giving as its unchanging promise.

長江和記大家庭

屈臣氏集團舉辦第七屆「全球義工日」,超過 23,000 名義工獻出愛心為有需要人士服務。能夠服務社群,不論是從商業或公益層面著手,都讓長江和記引以為榮。為本地社區提供值得信賴之產品及服務,是業務可持續發展的重要元素。除集團旗下個別公司及業務部門內之環境、社會與管治團隊外,集團於不同業務領域中亦作多元發展。集團刊物 《Sphere》 定期報導旗下公司及僱員的故事、流行趨勢和環境、社會與管治活動,可登入長江和記網站http://www.ckh.com.hk/tc/about/journal.php 瀏覽最新消息。

 

李嘉誠基金會-萬變社會 不變承諾

集團主席李嘉誠先生深感教育及醫療對社會發展至為重要,遂於 1980 年以私人資金創立基金會,主要專注於支持教育和醫療項目,至今捐款已逾港幣 200 億元,項目遍及全球 27 個國家及地區,其中超過 80% 用於支持大中華地區項目。基金會被視為李先生第三個兒子,他認為建立社會責任與延續後代同樣重要,亞洲在奉獻文化方面須有突破,分配財產作捐獻,推動社會進步。

基金會於 2017 年內之主要項目和特別項目如下:
 

集思公益 關心香港
撥款逾 3 億港元策劃之「香港仁 愛香港」公益行動,仍在持續進行中。

擔負守護之責
10 年來,與醫院管理局以配套資金形式合作推行之「人間有情」香港寧養服務計劃,支持本港 10 所公立醫院寧養中心,以創新模式為末期癌症患者及其家人提供一站式服務,至今逾 38,000 名患者受惠。基金會對此計劃的累計捐款共港幣 1 億 2,600 萬元。

關懷社區


「善用錢」繼續前行
基金會與社福機構再度合作之「善用錢」計劃,第二期向元朗(包括天水圍)、離島、屯門區 9,3202018 年香港中學文憑試考生,每人獲無條件發放港幣 5,000 元現金券。計劃已推行兩期,累計撥款逾港幣 7,500 萬元,超過 15,000 名學生受惠。計劃鼓勵同學「善用自主」、善用金錢,舒減他們面對公開考試壓力。

聆聽天使
截至 2017 年 12 月底,天主教香港教區香港明愛「向晴軒」危機專線及教育中心,累計獲基金會捐款逾港幣 4,520 萬元,服務人次超過 44 萬。中心除了為面對個人或家庭危機而受情緒困擾人士,提供由專業社工接聽之 24 小時危機熱線服務,還積極透過舉辦各類型危機預防及介入等活動,切實回應社會需要,獲得正面反響。

創意教育
2017 年 6 月,基金會邀請 300 名香港年輕人體驗電子競技,提升其對高科技之認識和興趣。7 月,基金會捐資港幣 1,000 萬元,支持香港教育大學設立獎學金及支持大學開拓「數學基石」教學法項目

範式轉變、人力資源發展及領袖能力


汕頭大學
汕頭大學(「汕大」)於 1981 年經國務院批准成立。目前是教育部、廣東省、基金會三方共建之高等院校,也是中國唯一一所由私人基金會持續資助之公立大學。汕大堅持國際化,向特色教育高水平大學目標邁進,至今培育逾 12 萬名學生。基金會對汕大之支持款超過港幣 100 億元。

2017 年,汕大綜合辦學實力持續提升,獲批新增生物學一級博士點及數學一級博士點;第三度躋身泰晤士高等教育世界大學排行榜;首度打進泰晤士高等教育世界年輕大學排行榜和世界三大權威大學排行榜(CWUR2017 年世界大學排行榜、QS2018 亞洲大學排行榜、USNews2018 世界大學排行榜)。汕大建立先進本科教育模式,推進能力、知識和技能三結合的結果導向專才教育。基金會捐資 300 萬美元予美國密西根大學,促成汕大和醫學院與密西根大學的生物醫學工程系合作,籌建汕大以至粵東地區首個生物醫學工程學科。

學生質素方面,汕大收生水平連續 5 年提升,2017 年本科招生在全國13個省(區)錄取最低分數線及第一志願率均刷新紀錄。畢業生就業率再創新高,本科畢業生初次就業率為 98.04%,列全省一本高校第一;總體就業率連續 6 年在 99% 以上;已畢業5年的汕大學生,平均月薪超過全國 88% 高等院校。學校科技創新競爭力穩步發展,在 2017 年度中國最好大學排名之「科研質量」指標中,汕大位居全國高校第 49 位。

2017 年 12 月 14 日,由汕大 4 名 20 多歲女生組成的「功夫茶茶」海洋划艇隊,從西班牙加那利群島出發,挑戰全球最艱辛的年度海洋划艇賽事「橫渡大西洋挑戰賽」。4 位成員勤奮鍛鍊,堅毅向前,充分體現「有志、有識、有恆、有為」精神,在當地時間 2018 年 1 月 17 日抵達中美洲安提瓜,創下 4 項世界紀錄:首支划渡大西洋的亞洲隊伍及中國隊伍,以及划渡大西洋史上最年輕隊伍和最快女子隊。

汕頭大學醫學院
醫學院走「精品教育」之路,堅持以學生為中心和高度國際化的辦學理念,引領中國醫學教育改革潮流。醫學院連續 20 年保持 100% 招生第一志願錄取;醫科畢業生參加內地全國執業醫師考試總及格率連續 11 年列全國 170 多所醫學院校前 8 名;全英班醫學生參加美國執業醫師考試,連續 6 年平均及格率 93.04%,與美國醫學生成績相當。畢業生首次就業率達 97.20%,連續 17 年居全省高校前茅。3位護理及臨床醫學專業學生在 207 支參加創行中國「天使有愛」護理創新挑戰賽,獲得冠軍。

汕大‧港大聯合病毒學研究所所長管軼教授團隊與內地多家單位合作,憑「中國 H7N9 禽流感等新發傳染病防治體系之重大創新和技術突破」項目,獲 2017 年度國家科學技術進步獎特等獎,顯著提升中國在傳染病防治領域之國際影響力。醫學院腫瘤研究專家在消化領域頂級期刊《Gastroenterology》和《Gut》上發表食道癌研究成果,首次繪製出細緻之食道鱗癌變異圖譜,對瞭解食道之發展和早期診斷意義重大。「東西方聯盟」交流項目持續,推動汕大與英國牛津、劍橋、美國柏克萊加州大學等16所頂尖學府交流合作。

醫學院 5 所附屬醫院共設病床 4,500 張,服務汕頭市區 70% 人口。繼新醫學院教學中心落成後,正在建設中之國際級科研中心,樓面總面積連地庫共達 55,000 平方米,展開先進科學研究,鼓勵知識轉移、啟導社會發展。

長江商學院
20021123 日創辦至今,長江商學院致力為中國和世界培養具有環球視野、資源整合能力、有擔當、兼備人文關懷與社會責任感以及創新精神的世界級商業領袖。15 年來,為商界培育人才逾 10,000 人,超過半數校友位居中國五分一顯赫品牌企業高層,身任行政總裁或主席之職。學院不斷以創新來引領商學管理教育發展,成為領先全國並具全球影響力的新一代商學院。

廣東以色列理工學院
基金會捐款 1 億 3,000 萬美元予以色列理工學院,支持其與汕大合辦廣東以色列理工學院,以建設一所具有國際級高水準教育、科研和創新能力的研究型大學為目標,力推創新研究、環境保護和促進社會繁榮,提升廣東省創新水平及競爭力,為中國和以色列進步發展和人類福祉作出貢獻。學院於 2016 年 12 月獲國家教育部批准正式成立,2017 年招收首屆共 216 名學生;12 月 18 日舉行揭牌儀式。

內地醫療公益項目


免費醫療服務
基金會多年來捐款逾人民幣 10 億元,支持內地免費醫療服務項目包括「人間有情」全國寧養醫療服務計劃、中國殘疾人聯合會「長江新里程計劃」(共三期)義肢裝配服務及復康支援與教育培訓、全國醫療扶貧行動、青海塔爾寺藏醫院醫療扶貧計劃等,受惠患者逾 1,700 萬名。


以體育人
基金會捐款人民幣 1,000 萬元,與姚基金合作於廣東及廣西發展籃球項目,以體育人。

推動持續發展
基金會十分支持科技助農發展,撥款人民幣 1,200 萬元推展之新疆蓖麻種子項目,自 2015 年試種,效果理想,計劃在 2018 年開始大面積推廣,於逾4萬畝農田種植。此外,基金會捐資逾人民幣 350 萬元支援廣東地區發展項目,預計培訓 1,500 名婦聯幹部及社工專才,支持 100 個服務項目,間接為逾 50 萬名老人、女性、兒童、殘障人士等提供服務。

國際醫療教育及科研
捐資總額達 2,000 萬英鎊興建之英國牛津大學李嘉誠健康資訊及研發中心,第二期「大數據研究院」於 2017 年 5 月正式開幕,聯同第一期「標靶研發院」,中心將建立多達 600 名跨學科科研人員團隊。

基金會 2017 年承諾之海外項目新增捐款近港幣1億元,用於︰支持美國密西根大學與汕大合作開設全新生物醫學工程學系;設立獎學基金紀念沈弼勳爵,資助香港學生負笈英國修讀學士課程;支持澳洲墨爾本大學維省綜合癌症研究中心基因腫瘤學研究;捐資予美國史丹福大學展開身體癒合機制研究及年青外科醫生持續發展項目等。

放大光明慈悲無量


慈山寺由基金會捐助全部建設資金及日常行政經費,至今總支持款額逾港幣 26 億元。自 2015 年開放至今,接待參學人次已逾 70 萬;2017 年共接待 259,242 人次。慈山寺年內以「慈悲無量」為理念,透過教育、關懷及藝術,啟發人心,共建和諧社會。「生命善友計劃」正式展開,普及生命教育、臨終關懷,讓更多人積極面對生老病死議題。新成立的慈山學院將與學校及高等學院合作,讓年輕朋友能接觸佛法、研究佛學。藝術文化方面,將「佛法」與「藝」融於一身,表達對生命的覺悟,以佛法淨化心靈。

長和義工隊陪同長者參觀慈山寺。佛法心靈輔導中心致力提供專業佛法心靈輔導服務,幫助市民面對煩惱和挑戰。2015 年成立至今,超過 4,000 人曾使用心靈輔導服務,32,000 人次曾參與工作坊等活動。中心積極與社福機構合作,新成立的「佛法輔導專業培訓中心」為社工頒授社工註冊局認可之持續進修學分。

基金會未來將繼續積極推動奉獻文化、延續不變承諾。