CK Hutchison Holdings Limited - Environmental, Social and Governance > Community
Community

With dedication and commitment, CK Hutchison has the responsibility to make the community a better place for everyone which will also provide long-lasting benefits to our stakeholders. In 2017 the Group’s approach in community activities focus in youth empowerment, relief for the needy and environmental conservation.  The Group is proud to report that the community activities arranged by the CK Hutchison Volunteer Team has contributed 11,800 service hours and positively impacted over 99,200 service recipients.
 

Empowering the Youth
Hutchison Ports Busan welcomes its dock school students for a port visit to the terminal.Hutchison Ports of the Ports business supports education through its “Hutchison Ports Dock School Programme”.  This programme aims to provide more opportunities for younger generations by supporting the improvement of education facilities.

In May, 3 Ireland employees fully funded a six-week online community development programme for young adults who are interested in gaining skills in digital literary, social action and youth leadership. Being aware of how many young people feel marginalised, 3 Demark lent its support to Turning Tables, an NGO that works to empower marginalised youth by providing them with the means to express their grievances, hopes and dreams in music and film. Turning Tables built a creative environment for the youth to learn new skills and share experience, and hoping to give them an opportunity to pursue a better future.

ASW contributes to the growth and development of young athletes in Hong Kong.  It organises annual challenges for junior athletes at the Watsons Athletic Club (“WAC”).  The WAC Annual Challenge had over 2,300 outstanding junior athletes participating

Supporting those in Need
Disaster Relief
The U.S. and the Caribbean have been hit by large scale storms and hurricane in 2017, CK Hutchison strives to provide timely relief for those who were embroiled in disasters. For superstorm Hurricane Irma in particular, in just a few hours, 3 Group had updated all our channels, opened more networks to provide better coverage and sent SMS to customers roaming in the Caribbean assuring that all the costs associated with contacting loved ones would be reimbursed. 3 UK has also been exploring the support it could offer to communities in the UK during similar large scale disasters, including providing donated handsets, chargers and loaning charging stations to key community groups and emergency services.

Serving the Community
PARKnSHOP Hong Kong's volunteer team serves meals to the elders at charity partner Food Angel's Community Centre.About one in three senior citizens in Hong Kong is living in poverty and one in four deprived children does not have three meals a day.  To help alleviate hunger among the needy, and as part of the Retail division’s efforts to achieve UN Sustainable Development Goal No. 12, PARKnSHOP donates edible surplus food to the local social enterprise Food Angel. In addition, PARKnSHOP Hong Kong has been organising the City Food Drive prorgamme which helps Food Angel collect grocery food items and funds from the public. Its partnership with Food Angel was awarded the Certificate of Merit in the “Outstanding Partnership Project Award 2016/17” organised by the Hong Kong Council of Social Service.

As of 2017, the programme helped raise more than 182,000 food items for Food Angel. When food items and cash donations combined, it has, to date, raised more than HK$4.7 million to help Food Angel prepare hundreds of thousands of hot meal boxes for needy Hong Kong residents.

And such empathy was echoed by CK Hutchison’s employees in Korea. For two days in May, 20 employees from Hutchison Ports Busan volunteered as canteen staff at Dong-gu Elderly Welfare Center and Jaseong-dae Elderly Welfare Center to offer meals for the 830 residents there, as part of “2017 Hutchison Ports Busan Volunteering Days Programme” organised by the company’s Community Caring Group.

The volunteer group has been supporting the needy citizens with rice donations and house maintenance service for more than 13 years on a monthly basis. The Volunteering Days Programme was initiated in 2014 to carry out more community activities.

Park'N Fly employees prepare healthy snack bags to over 650 families supported by the Ronald McDonald House Charities.Park’N Fly of CK Infrastructure visited and gave away snack bags to 650 families with children suffering from serious illness.

Globally, the Retail division ASW has multiplied its CSR activities up to 400 in 2017, counting 27,000 volunteers serving over 180,000 people in more than 97,000 hours. In 2017 alone, the Retail group donated 278 tonnes of edible surplus food which helped produce 832,000 meals to the needy.

Bridging the Digital Divide
Continuing the mission to narrow the digital divide not just for the crisis-affected refugees or displaced people, last year, CK Hutchison extended efforts to the underprivileged and those who feel they have been left out by the society.

The Telecommunications division thought of many creative ways to bridge this gap and serve the community. Following an internal pilot at 3 UK in 2016, at the beginning of 2017, the campaign, Reconnected, was launched externally as part of its #makeitright campaign. The initiative works with a number of charities to donate the old handsets from customers to the less advantaged people all over the UK, and offering them three months of free network use.

社區承諾

本著奉獻和承擔精神,長江和記致力成就更美好的社區,同時為利益相關人士帶來長遠利益。於 2017 年,集團之社區活動方針集中於提升青少年自主能力、為有需要人士紓困及保育環境。集團的義工隊積極參與,獻出 11,800 小時服務社區,惠及逾 99,200 名人士。
 

年輕一代茁壯自強
和記港口釜山邀請其碼頭學校的學生參觀貨櫃碼頭。和記港口透過「和記港口碼頭學校計劃」支持教育,協助改善教育設施,為年輕一代提供更多學習機會。

5 月,3 愛爾蘭的員工全力資助為期六週的網上社區發展計劃,為有興趣學習數碼文學、社交活動及青年領導技能的年輕人服務。3 丹麥支持非政府組織 Turning Tables 應對年輕人感到被邊緣化的問題,讓他們藉著音樂和電影表達不滿、尋找希望與夢想;年輕人更可在 Turning Tables 構建的創意環境中,學習新技能及分享經驗,藉此給予他們機會追求更美好的將來。

屈臣氏集團對香港青少年運動員健康成長及發展作出貢獻,其屈臣氏田徑會為少年運動員籌辦週年大賽,今屆有超過 2,300 名傑出少年運動員參賽。

支持有需要人士
賑災
於 2017 年,美國及加勒比地區遭大型風暴及颶風侵襲,長江和記刻不容緩,為受災人士提供及時救助。3 集團在超級颶風「艾瑪」侵襲後短短數小時內,更新所有頻道,開放更多網絡加強覆蓋,並向在加勒比地區使用漫遊服務的客戶發送短訊,保證期間與摰親聯絡的所有費用將獲得付還。3 英國亦一直研究在同類大型災難中能夠為英國社區提供的支援,包括為主要社區團體及緊急服務提供捐贈的手機、充電器及借出充電站。

服務社區
香港百佳超級市場義工隊探訪惜食堂社區中心,為長者送上熱飯餐。香港約每三名長者中便有一位生活貧困,而每四名基層兒童中便有一位三餐不繼。為解決有需要人士溫飽問題,以及達成聯合國可持續發展目標第 12 項,零售部門旗下的百佳超級市場向社企「惜食堂」捐贈可食用的剩餘食物,又舉辦「全城傳愛齊捐食」活動,向全港市民為惜食堂募集糧油主食及募捐。百佳與惜食堂的合作獲香港社會服務聯會頒發 2016 至 17 年度「傑出伙伴合作計劃獎」優異證書。

截至2017年,「全城傳愛齊捐食」活動為惜食堂籌得超過 182,000 份食物包,而獲捐贈的食物連同現金捐款迄今超過港幣 470 萬元,足以讓惜食堂製作數十萬份熱飯餐予有需要的香港居民。


長江和記的韓國員工亦響應類似的公益活動,20 名員工在 5 月中抽出兩天,參加由和記港口釜山的關懷社區小組舉辦的「 2017 年和記港口釜山義工日活動」在當地的東區長者福利中心及 Jaseong-dae 長者福利中心自願充當餐廳員工,為 830 名居於中心的長者提供餐飲服務。

義工日活動於 2014 年推出,義工小組 13 年來一直每月為有需要的市民捐贈大米及維修房屋。

Park'N Fly 員工支持麥當勞叔叔之家的慈善工作,特備健康零食包並派發給超過 650 個受助家庭。長江基建的成員公司 Park’N Fly 探訪 650 個嚴重病童的家庭,並向他們送上健康食物包。

屈臣氏集團於 2017 年全球的企業社會責任活動數目倍增至 400 個,共有 27,000 名義工奉獻超過 97,000 個小時,為超過 180,000 人服務。零售集團僅於 2017 年,便捐贈了 278 公噸可食用剩餘食物,為有需要人士製作 832,000 份餐食。

消除數碼鴻溝
長江和記繼續推行消除數碼隔膜的任務,不僅為受到危機影響的難民或無家可歸人士服務,去年更將服務擴展至弱勢社群及邊緣人士。

電訊部門憑創意消除數碼鴻溝,並為社區服務。繼 20163 英國進行內部試驗後,於 2017 年初推出「重建關係」活動,延續「#makeitright」(做對的事)計劃的精神,由多家慈善機構把客戶捐出的舊手機轉贈予英國各地的弱勢社群,3 英國更讓他們免費使用網絡三個月。