Environment

CK Hutchison believes it is crucial for businesses to thrive in a sustainable environment. Without it, no business will survive in the long term. Therefore, the Group understands that without determination, any environmental protection plans would be futile. The message is not only sent across the boardroom, but it is also spread to employees across 50 countries. By engaging business units in minimising carbon emissions and planning creative strategies most efficient to their industries, they make sustainable development a reality.
 

Managing Emissions
CK Below are some of the initiatives to reduce and control emissions of greenhouse gas and waste. The business units monitor the progress of existing environmental initiatives as well as explore new projects to further the initiatives.

Air and Greenhouse Gas (“GHG”) Emissions
Managing air and GHG emissions remains one of the top priorities.

It is challenging for a power utility to continue reducing carbon emissions, but environmental protection is a crucial long-term process with no shortcut. The Group’s Infrastructure division is taking steps to integrate this priority in as many units as possible. Incorporating advanced technologies to cut pollutants, HK Electric’s three new gas-fired combined cycle generating units to be constructed at Lamma Power Station, including L10, L11, and L12 that is newly approved by the Government, will reduce carbon emissions by 50% compared with the existing coal-fired generating units. With the commissioning of the three units targeted from 2020 onwards, the electricity produced through gas-fired generation will increase to about 50% to 70%. They will also be a key initiative to meet the government’s tightened emission allowance.

The infrastructure division continues to have a number of emission control measures to mitigate the impact of our operations on the environment. Outram’s Jinwan Power plant outperformed the tightened regulatory requirements in its enforcement of emission control. It is among the first few coal-fired generation units in mainland China to achieve ‘Close to Zero’ emission levels for air pollutants including sulphur dioxide (“SO2”), nitrogen oxide (“NOx”) and particulates. Its power plant’s Unit 3 was listed as a national and provincial ‘Environmental Demonstration Project’.

UK Power Networks also reduced its carbon emissions through a combination of measures including fleet refurbishment, site consolidation and the introduction of energy efficiency initiatives such as installation of LED lighting at some sites.

Husky has a Fugitive Emission Management Program to detect fugitive emissions and ensure the timely repair of leaking equipment. As part of its GHG emissions risk management approach, the company researches new ways to capture carbon dioxide. For instance, it has implemented a second pilot project at its Pikes Peak South thermal project testing carbon capture technology. The captured carbon dioxide (“CO2”) is then used for enhanced oil recovery in nearby CHOPS wells.

Renewable Energy
The top three “Happy Green Community Ambassadors” shadow HK Electric's environmental engineers and work at the Lamma Power Station.The Group’s wind power systems are gaining traction locally and globally as well. HK Electric commissioned the first commercial-scale wind turbine, Lamma Winds in Tai Ling on Lamma Island to support the development and application of renewable energy in Hong Kong. It also harnesses renewable energy generated by its solar power system at Lamma Power Station. As in 2017, the Lamma Winds and solar power system generated 1,884 units of green electricity, offsetting 1,570 tonnes of CO2 emissions.

Globally, the Group is also able to harvest wind electricity from its wind farms generated with a know-how to best ulitilise technology maximising green electricity generation. One example is the Energy division in Portugal, wind farms operator Iberwind who optimises the control of wind farms by using the SCADA and CMS systems, an extensive and comprehensive wind database. As a result, Iberwind was able to achieve 98% availability in 2017, offsetting one million tonnes of CO2 emissions.

Waste and Pollutants
Cutting down waste and facilitating ways to encourage more reuse and recycling is in our agenda.  For example, Superdrug, under ASW, has adopted a “zero waste to landfill” programme, where all waste generated in store is transported back to the distribution centres for recycling.  The commitment to waste management was demonstrated by including waste and recycling compliance in their store audit programmes.  Superdrug has successfully achieved zero waste to landfill since 2010.

ASW and its suppliers play active and critical roles in making the products consumers buy sustainable. Microplastics, commonly found in rinse-off products, pose a threat to the marine ecosystem and the food chain. In addition to implementing a ban on the use of microplastics in its own brand cosmetics/personal care rinse-off products in 2014, ASW is the first global retailer to extend this ban to all rinse-off cosmetics and personal care products. It has notified its suppliers in 2017 and is working with them so that the concerned products will be off-shelved by 2020.

Innovation on energy-from-waste management was taken further by our Infrastructure division, when last November, AVR of the Netherlands started building a separation plant that separates plastics and drinks cartons from residual waste. The plant is expected to be ready by mid-2018, which means its ambition to make residual waste 100% valuable can be further fulfilled, generating steam via the incineration of residual waste and this enormous quantity of heat, enough to warm 150,000 households and supplies electricity for 190,000 houses. Each year, our heating projects in the Netherlands alone prevent more than 324,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions. Another example to show CK Hutchison is at the forefront of recycling, generating energy from waste, Northumbrian Water in the UK, for instance, is an expert in generating energy from sewage sludge. During the wastewater treatment process, sludge is produced and was originally dealt with as a waste but now it is processed through an Advanced Anerobic Digestion process where bacteria feed on the solids and generate biogas. The biogas is collected and is used to either power up Combined Heat and Power engines to generate electricity or the gas is cleaned up and the carbon dioxide is removed prior to injection direct to the gas network.

But the pioneer to champion the landfill-gas-to-power initiative falls to EnviroNZ. By applying advanced technology, EnviroNZ is the first operator in New Zealand to generate electricity from methane produced by waste decomposition in landfills. The amount of electricity generated is sufficient to power 5,000 households.

Optimising Resource Use
As a responsible global citizen, CK Hutchison is calling businesses to use resources cautiously. From energy, water to packaging materials, it is acknowledged that only an integrated and technological approach could make responsible consumption possible.

Energy
With sprawling presence in 52 ports globally, CK Hutchison works on practical ways in the shipping industry to cut wastes. For instance, Port of Felixstowe in the UK, in the last 12 months, has converted 32 RTGs (Rubber Tyred Gantry) cranes from diesel to electricity as part of a three-year programme to convert 54 machines. In addition, the electricity that was generated from 2,000 solar panels on the port offset CO2 that is equivalent to planting around 5,000 trees. Consequently, the port’s carbon footprint has fallen significantly as part of a long-term programme resulting in a 34% reduction since 2009. In 2017, 70% of all waste generated or received was recycled and no port-generated waste was sent to landfill.

Water
Husky recycles produced water at its Sunrise Energy Project and Tucker Thermal Project for use in steam generation. At Sunrise, Husky brings in process-affected water, which is industrial wastewater, from a neighbouring operator for use as a make-up water source, reducing the amount drawn from groundwater sources. At Tucker, Husky uses saline groundwater as a make-up water source.

Hutchison Water’s Sorek desalination plant in Israel, is a 150 million cubic metres per year reverse osmosis sea water desalination plant, and is one of the world’s largest plants of its kind. It continues minimising marine, shoreline and land impacts, thanks to pipe jacking of long and large diameter pipelines, smart structural design, and the removal of suspended solids from the brine before it is returned to the sea. Its sludge treatment also reduces energy and chemical consumption. At HK Electric, rainwater and plant water at Lamma Power Station is collected and reused, significantly reducing both the consumption of fresh water and the quantity of effluent. The water collected for reuse in 2017 was about 112,000 cubic metres.

EnviroNZ in New Zealand recovers water and removes impurities and contaminates using the reverse osmosis leachate treatment, a type of purification technology which makes treated water fit for reuse or direct discharge to the environment.

Green Island Cement Hong Kong collects, stores and recycles rainwater for evaporation cooling at the conditioning tower to improve the performance of electrostatic precipitators. To date, its water consumption has been reduced from 1,800 to 800 tonnes per day.

Packaging Materials
To meet UN Sustainable Development Goal No.12, which advocates sustainable consumption and production patterns, CK Hutchison has a set of sustainable guidelines established for employees and suppliers of the Retail division. The guidelines are set out to minimise material use, from greener packaging design in terms of size, thickness, and use of space to the application of recycled materials.

Electronic Products
HTHKH collects reusable electronic devices for the Computer Recycling Programme run by the government's Environmental Protection Department.Exponential digital growth comes with leftover old digital products, the Group’s telecommunications business, 3 UK, however, focused on a new way of recycling old mobiles that were long forgotten in drawers. Last year, 3 UK invited customers to ‘Give their phone to a new home’ through donating their old smartphones. HTHKH also collected over 2,000 reusable electronic equipment for the Computer Recycling Programme run by the Environmental Protection Department.

Safeguarding Environmental and Natural Resources
As a multinational corporation, CK Hutchison aspires to take the lead and be a positive role model for our stakeholders in protecting the environment and the ecosystems.  Group policies ensure caution is applied and discipline in actions that may impact natural resources.

Northumbrian Water in the UK, for example, has been managing its land holdings for water storage responsibly.  Its Abberton Reservoir is designated as a wetland site of international importance, both as a Site of Special Scientific Interest (“SSSI”) (1) and a Ramsar site (2).

Staff and families of Port of Felixstowe clean up a stretch of beach adjacent to the terminal.With timely and effective management, the Group’s various divisions mitigate the environmental impacts from across operations to protect the values we create for our stakeholders. Northern Gas Networks in the UK takes ownership of the quality of land on which it operates.  Under its land contamination management programme, the company assesses and controls quality of the land and evaluates risks from land conditions both caused by its own operations and from historical, pre-existing conditions.  Land quality is measured and reported annually to the UK regulator.


Note 1 :
A Site of Special Scientific Interest in Great Britain is a conservation designation denoting a protected area in the United Kingdom.
Note 2 :
A Ramsar site is a wetland site designated of international importance under the Ramsar Convention. The Convention on Wetlands (i.e. the Ramsar Convention) is an intergovernmental environmental treaty established in 1971 by UNESCO, which came into force in 1975.

Taking Timely Actions to Manage Environmental Impacts
After a pipeline release in July 2016 in Saskatchewan, Canada, Husky conducted robust assessment, monitoring and cleanup programmes, including working with a number of First Nations communities to mitigate the impact to the environment. A full and thorough investigation determined that the pipeline buckled because of ground movement. The company is applying lessons learned from this incident to further improve its operations and ability to respond. For example, it is using fibre optic monitoring on the repaired pipeline, which will provide acoustic, thermal and strain monitoring and assist in detecting leaks, ground movement and other events in real time. Fibre optic sensing technology, with increased capacity and capability for long distance distributed monitoring for pipelines, will be used in all new large diameter and high consequence area projects owned by Husky Midstream and operated by Husky.

Regulatory Compliance
The Group was not aware of any non-compliance of laws and regulations that has a significant impact on the Group relating to air and GHG emissions, discharges into water and land, and generation of hazardous and non-hazardous waste during the reporting period.

環境承諾

長江和記認為,讓業務在可持續的環境中蓬勃發展至關重要,有利業務長遠發展。因此,集團決心推行環境保護計劃,不僅在決策中佔一席位,此訊息也廣傳至 50 個國家的員工。各業務單位減少碳排放,並規劃對其行業最有效的創意策略,可持續發展將得以實現。
 

排放管理
以下是減少及控制溫室氣體及廢棄物排放的部分政策。業務單位監察現有環境政策的進度,並研究新項目推動相關政策。

廢氣及溫室氣體排放
控制廢氣及溫室氣體排放仍然為首要任務之一。

電力企業持續減少碳排放甚具挑戰,但環境保護乃關鍵的長遠進程且並無捷徑。集團的基建部門正採取措施,將此優先任務盡量納入一眾業務單位。結合先進的技術減少污染物,港燈正在南丫發電廠興建的兩台燃氣發電機組 L10 及 L11,將較現有燃煤發電機組減少碳排放 50%,達致政府的嚴格減排目標。兩台新機組目標於 2020 年 及 2022 年投產,屆時將分別提升天然氣的產電量至總電量約 50% 及 55%

基建部門繼續訂有多項控制排放措施,以減輕業務對環境的影響。Outram 位於中國的金灣電廠在執行控制排放方面不遺餘力,甚至超越收緊後的監管要求,是內地其中一座最先達到近乎零二氧化硫、氮氧化物及顆粒物排放標準之燃煤發電廠。金灣電廠的三號機組更被列為國家及省級「環保示範項目」。

UK Power Networks 亦結合多項措施減少碳排放,包括翻新車隊、整合工地及在部分工地引入能源效益政策如安裝 LED 照明系統。

赫斯基設有污染物散逸排放管理計劃,以偵測污染物散逸排放並確保及時維修泄漏設備。其溫室氣體排放風險管理方針之一是研發捕集二氧化碳的新方法。以陡坡南部熱採項目為例,赫斯基實施第二項試驗項目,測試捕集二氧化碳的技術,所捕集的二氧化碳其後用作提高附近 CHOPS 井的採油率。

可再生能源
三位傑出「綠得開心推廣大使」化身影子環境工程師在南丫發電廠實習一天。集團的風力發電系統在本地及海外同樣大放異采。港燈於南丫島大嶺興建香港首個具商業規模的風力發電站-南丫風采發電站,並在南丫發電廠內裝置太陽能發電系統,以貫徹公司一直支持香港發展及應用可再生能源的原則。於 2017 年,南丫風采發電站及太陽能發電系統產生 1,884 度綠色電力,減少 1,570 公噸二氧化碳排放。

放眼全球,集團利用專有技術收集風電場產生的可再生能源,善用科技提升環保發電量。其中一例是能源部門在葡萄牙的風電發電公司 Iberwind,運用廣泛而全面的風能數據庫 SCADA 及 CMS 系統優化風電場的控制。因此,Iberwind 於 2017 年能夠實現 98% 的可用率,減少 100 萬公噸二氧化碳排放。

廢棄物及污染物
對環境的承諾尚包括減少浪費和鼓勵重用及循環再用。例如,屈臣氏集團旗下 Superdrug 採納「堆填區零廢棄」計劃,店舖所有廢棄物均會運送到分銷中心循環再用。將廢棄物及回收規定納入所有零售店舖審計計劃,足見屈臣氏集團對廢棄物管理的重視;計劃自 2010 年成立以來,Superdrug 成功達致堆填區零廢棄目標。

屈臣氏集團與供應商致力確保消費者購買的產品具可持續性。沖洗式產品普遍含有塑膠微粒,對海洋生態系統及食物鏈構成威脅。屈臣氏集團自 2014 年起,嚴禁所有自家品牌美容及個人護理沖洗式產品含有塑膠微粒,更是全球首家零售商將此禁令延至所有店內出售的沖洗式美容及個人護理產品;相關決定於 2017 年通知供應商,雙方合作確保有關產品於 2020 年前全面下架。

集團基建部門已進一步採取轉廢為能的創新管理方法,荷蘭 AVR 於去年 11 月開始興建分離廠房分開殘餘廢棄物的塑料及飲料紙盒。預期該廠將於 2018 年中落成,足以令殘餘廢棄物發揮百分百重用價值 ─ 焚化殘餘廢棄物時產生的蒸氣,其龐大熱能足以為 150,000 個用戶提供暖氣,並為 190,000 個家庭供電。每年,僅荷蘭的發熱項目已可減少超過 324,000 公噸二氧化碳排放。長江和記全力推動循環再用及轉廢為能,基建部門旗下位於英國的 Northumbrian Water 堪稱將污水淤泥用作生產可再生能源的專家。於污水處理過程中產生之淤泥原作為廢棄物處理,現透過先進的厭氧消化系統,微生物在淤泥的生物降解過程中產生沼氣,收集後用來驅動熱電聯產發電機發電,或將燃氣脫碳才注入配氣網絡。

EnviroNZ 率先採用堆田區氣體轉化能源計劃。透過應用先進技術,EnviroNZ 是新西蘭首家利用堆田區廢棄物分解產生的甲烷發電之營運商,所產生的電量足以為 5,000 個家庭供電。

善用資源
作為負責任的世界公民,長江和記要求各個業務善用資源。不論能源開發、水處理還是包裝物料,都貫徹其綜合及技術性方法,以實現負責任消耗方針。

能源
長江和記的業務遍及全球 52 個港口,致力以切實可行的方式減少航運業的耗費。舉例,英國菲力斯杜港於過去 12 個月將 32 台輪胎式龍門架吊機由柴油驅動改裝為電力驅動,並計劃於三年內改裝共 54 台吊機。此外,由菲力斯杜港共2,000塊太陽能面板所產生的電力,所減少的二氧化碳量相等於種植約 5,000 棵樹的效用。由此長期計劃推動的成效顯著,菲力斯杜港的碳足印自 2009 年以來已下降 34%。於 2017 年,所有產生或接收的廢棄物中有七成能循環再用,更沒有由該港口產生的廢棄物需送往堆填區。

水務
赫斯基之旭日能源項目及 Tucker 熱採項目將污水循環再用,成為產生蒸氣的水源。旭日能源項目從鄰近營運商引入工業污水用作後備水源,減低地下水的抽取量;Tucker 熱採項目利用含鹽地下水作後備水源。

和記水務位於以色列的梭雷克海水化淡廠利用逆滲透海水化淡技術,每年生產 15,000 萬立方米淡水,是世界上同類型廠房最大之一。梭雷克海水化淡廠利用頂管法安裝既長且闊的管道、智能結構設計,以及在海水回流大海前除去懸沉積物等方法,持續降低對海洋、海岸線及土地造成之影響。化淡廠的淤泥處理技術,也減低消耗能源及化學品。在香港,港燈的南丫發電廠收集雨水和工廠用水並循環再用,大大降低食水使用量及污水排放量;於 2017 年,經收集並循環再用的水量約為 112,000 立方米。

在新西蘭,EnviroNZ 回收水源,使用反滲透處理淨化技術濾去雜質和污染物。經處理的水可重複使用或直接排放,以減低對環境造成影響。

位於香港的青洲英坭收集、儲存及循環再用增濕塔蒸發冷卻過程中產生之雨水,更藉此提高靜電除塵器的表現。到目前為止,青洲英坭之用水量已由每日 1,800 公噸大幅降低至每日 800 公噸。

包裝物料
聯合國可持續發展目標第 12 項倡議可持續之消耗及生產模式。為符合此項規定,集團零售部門訂立指引,列出員工及供應商減少物料使用的準則,涵蓋環保包裝設計所需的尺寸、厚度及空間使用,以及使用再造物料等。

電子產品
和電香港收集可供循環再用的電子產品,支持由政府環境保護署舉辦的電腦回收計劃。數碼科技增長迅速,隨之而來是報廢的數碼產品。集團的電訊業務 3 英國以嶄新方法回收被棄置一旁的舊手機,去年透過「給予手機新居」計劃,邀請客戶捐出他們的舊智能手機轉贈弱勢社群。和電香港也響應環境保護署推行的電腦回收計劃,收集了超過 2,000 具可重用的電子設備。

保護環境及天然資源
作為跨國企業,長江和記矢志保護環境及生態系統,為利益相關人士建立正面榜樣;集團政策確保對可能影響自然資源的行為保持謹慎自律。

例如,位於英國的 Northumbrian Water 一直肩負重任,妥善管理其儲水設施及相關土地。旗下亞伯頓水庫是聯合國指定的重要濕地,乃具特別科研價值地點(1)及受拉姆薩爾公約(2)約束。

菲力斯杜港員工及家屬參與清潔海灘活動,清理毗鄰貨櫃碼頭海灘的垃圾。在適時及有效管理下,集團多個部門減輕業務對環境帶來之影響,以保障集團為利益相關人士創造的價值。位於英國的 Northern Gas Networks 對其營運土地的質素負責,根據土地污染管理計劃評估及監控土地質素,估算業務所產生、以及歷史因由而存在的狀況所引致之風險,並每年向英國監管當局量度及匯報土地質素。


註1: 大不列顛之具特別科研價值地點是指英國一處指定為保護區之指定保護地點。
註2: 拉姆薩爾公約濕地是根據拉姆薩爾公約一處指定為具國際重要性之濕地地點。該項濕地公約(即拉姆薩爾公約)是聯合國科教文組織於 1971 年成立之政府間環境公約。該公約於 1975 年生效

及時行動管理對環境影響
20167 月加拿大薩斯喀徹溫省之管道原油泄漏事件後,赫斯基全力進行評估、監測及清理行動,包括與多個原住民社區合作減輕對環境的影響。經全面及深入調查,確定管道因地殼移動而彎曲。赫斯基在事件中汲取教訓,並進一步改善營運及增強應對能力。例如利用光纖監測修復的管道,透過聲學、熱感及壓力數據,實時偵查泄漏、地殼移動及其他狀況。所有由 Husky Midstream 擁有並由赫斯基營運的全新大直徑及高度重要地區項目,將使用光纖傳感技術,提高長距離分佈監測管道的性能及能力。

監管合規
於報告期內,集團並不知悉有任何因不遵守有關廢氣及溫室氣體排放、向水及土地的排放,以及產生有毒及無毒廢棄物之法例及規例而令其受到重大影響之情況。