People

With over 290,000 employees in over 50 countries, the Group has continued to grow during 2016. The Group’s people are key to the successful delivery of quality and reliable products and services to customers. Good talent management is integral to the CK Hutchison’s philosophy to sustain the long-term viability of the Group. The Group aspires to be an employer of choice through effective talent acquisition, systematic training and provision of an inclusive working environment.

 

Recruiting, Engaging and Retaining Talent
The Group’s success depends heavily on its ability to attract, retain and motivate suitable talent in the competitive labour markets. It works closely with educational institutions to recruit young talent that can support its growth.

Where possible, different businesses across the Group conduct workshops, site visits, and internships to introduce their industries or professions to the younger generation.

Wales & West Utilities' apprenticeship programme offers three-year training to nurture bright talents.CK Infrastructure’s Victoria Power Networks, CitiPower and Powercor in Australia have trained more than 450 apprentices and trainees since 2001 and they are assigned to work from 11 locations around Victoria to develop into specialists in their respective areas.

Gas emergency and pipeline service Wales & West Utilities recruited 25 new apprentices to work across Wales and the southwest of England. The 2016 intake for the three-year apprenticeship programme is based across the company’s operating areas and focuses on the companies’ Build & Repair teams that maintain existing gas equipment and lay new gas supply pipes, as well as mechanical engineers and electrical and instrumentation engineers for network services teams who maintain the control systems of the gas network. The programme will help apprentices develop the skills to deliver a fast and efficient service that will keep customers safe and warm with a gas supply they can rely on for years to come.

3 Indonesia celebrates its ninth year of operation by engaging in charitable activities across the country.3 Indonesia of the Telecommunications division has collaborated with selected universities in Indonesia to set up an internship programme “TriInterns”, which aims at providing internship opportunities to tertiary students and engaging them in projects that can contribute to 3 Indonesia’s strategic development. The programme is underpinned by collaboration with the Business School of Binus University in Jakarta through a 2.5-month research project that focuses on international roaming, digital services, and customer experience. The programme has identified 24 highly qualified students since its launch in March 2016.

CK Hutchison embraces an equal and inclusive culture and incentivises talent through a performance-based remuneration system. The Group reviews the remuneration package annually to ensure that it stays competitive with the market and that its employees are rewarded fairly and equitably. CK Hutchison values diversity and strictly adheres to its anti-discrimination employment policy. Talent is hired solely based on their merits regardless of race, colour, gender or religious belief. The Group has adopted policies that provide equal employment opportunities to recruit, promote and assign employees based on their skills, abilities and how these fit with the job requirements.

The Group respects the rights of employees in expressing their views and has established various effective channels to facilitate communications with them. The businesses conduct regular seminars and forums to share views and collect ideas from employees. Periodically, the Group solicits feedback from employees through surveys and follow up on improvement actions to enhance its talent management practices.

Recognising the benefits of healthy industrial relations, the Ports division has taken steps to promote the sharing of good practices across the division. Staff and management from a wide range of business functions channel key learning to business unit management to proactively address issues, concerns and process improvement recommendation.

Many of the Group’s businesses are lauded for their employee programmes. For example, the Retail division’s A S Watson Group (“ASW”) was recognised as a “Distinguished Family-friendly Employer” for the sixth consecutive year since 2011, Hutchison Telecommunications Hong Kong won the “7th Asia Best Employer Brand Awards-Asia’s Best Employer Brand”, and Infrastructure division’s UK Rails was awarded “Britain’s Healthiest Employer” for its employee-friendly culture and programme of well-being-related initiatives. These initiatives have demonstrated CK Hutchison’s commitment to talent retention and motivated its employees to build their careers with the Group.

The Group upholds labour standards throughout its businesses. Its policies strictly prohibit the use of child labour and forced labour and rigorous measures are taken to prevent such practices in its operations.

Investing in Training and Development
It is the priority of CK Hutchison to ensure that its employees at all levels are developed and motivated to deliver the Group’s commitments to its stakeholders. Each division develops its training programmes to meet specific business needs. Trainings include orientation, sharing sessions, workshops and internal-external courses. Employees are also entitled to various subsidies and sponsorships for job-related training courses to encourage lifelong learning.

In order to equip employees in meeting increasing business demand, Group companies work with external parties to deliver pertinent and timely training. For example, Hongkong International Terminals (“HIT”) of the Ports division operates a Craft Apprenticeship Programme in collaboration with the Vocational Training Council of Hong Kong. Participants learn a wide range of practical skills by rotating in different sections of the Engineering Department before choosing an area of specialisation. Since 2012, the programme has provided well-rounded technical skill training to HIT’s next generation of qualified professional port technicians.

ASW attaches great importance to nurturing talents and takes a pioneering role in staff development. Opportunities are offered to its employees to learn and develop throughout their careers and they in turn bring better service to customers.

In January 2013, ASW became the first retail corporate in Hong Kong to offer its staff professional and comprehensive courses recognised by the Qualifications Framework (“QF”). Since then, ASW has launched 14 QF accredited programmes (Level 2 to Level 4) and trained 2,246 staff across Watsons, PARKnSHOP, Fortress and Watson’s Wine. ASW also helped its 306 store specialists and management staff apply for “Recognition of Prior Learning” of QF to recognise the valuable experience that they have already acquired and to facilitate their pursuit of a lifelong career in the retail industry. In June 2016, ASW launched the “Professional Diploma in Retail Management”, a Level 5 programme under QF and the first of its kind designed based on “QF Specification of Competency Standards of Retail”. Under QF, qualifications recognised in a Level 5 programme are equivalent to that of a bachelor’s degree. The 18-month “Professional Diploma in Retail Management” is jointly developed by the Learning and Development Team (Retail HK) of ASW and Institute for Entrepreneurship of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. ASW fully subsidises potential employees to take the “Professional Diploma in Retail Management” course and offers them paid leave to study during work hours. The course covers sales and marketing, customer management, information technology, human resources, merchandising and supply chain, store operations, strategic management and business English and its application.

Promoting Well-being, Health and Safety
The Group cares about the well-being of its employees. It promotes work-life balance and provides a generous range of paid leave entitlements to its employees. For instance, the Rotterdam port implements the flexible duty roster which gives operation staff greater flexibility in managing their work and free time. A dedicated taskforce has been formed to explore other manning and roster options to further improve the workforce flexibility.

The Group strives to create a safe workplace for all employees. Many of the businesses have implemented safety management systems in accordance with national or international standards, such as OHSAS 18001, to protect employees from occupational hazards. Safety training programmes are provided to employees based on type of work as safety standards are also applied consistently in the workplace.

A safe workplace relies on the establishment of safety culture, policies and procedures and employee behaviour. The Infrastructure division’s Northern Gas Networks in the UK has been working proactively with a behavioural psychologist to study how cognition affects behavior and how workplace safety could be more scientifically improved. Staff safety committees meet regularly at local level and twice a year at national level to discuss safety issues within the company. These committees are attended by trained employee safety representatives as well as senior management. Safety awareness is also generated through management safety tours of buildings, sites and workplaces, as well as meetings and open forums on safety condition between line management and employees.

Since 2011, HK Electric has been operating its Work Safe Behaviour programme to eliminate risky behaviour, reduce the scope for human error and encourage safe working practices. In 2016, HK Electric won the Gold Award in the “Safety Promotion Award”, Gold Award in the “Safety Culture Award” and the “Safety Performance Award” in the 15th Hong Kong Occupational Safety and Health Award Programme organised by Occupational Safety & Health Council, Labour Department, Development Bureau and other 13 organisations. Power Asset’s Ratchaburi plant in Thailand has adopted a “Stop Work” programme in which frontline staff are given full autonomy to halt a work process if an unsafe situation is observed.

All CK Hutchison’s businesses strive to minimise accidents and continually work to improve workplace safety and educate employees on proper procedures. In 2016, Hutchison Ports instituted a policy in which workplace safety incidents were to be reviewed and investigated by trained personnel from outside the affected business unit. The aim is to go as far as practicable in order to take effective steps to strengthen workplace safety and share the lessons learned across the business units of the Ports division.

Regulatory Compliance
During the reporting period, the Group is not aware of any non-compliance with laws and regulations that have a significant impact on the Group relating to employment, occupational health and safety, or labour standards.

員工承諾

集團於 2016 年繼續增長,在全球 50 多個國家僱用超過 29 萬名員工。能夠為客戶提供優質可靠的產品和服務,有賴員工的投入與努力。長江和記重視人才管理,視之為維持長遠發展不可或缺的一部分。集團銳意透過具成效之人才招聘、培訓系統及多元文化工作環境,成為最佳僱主。
 

招聘、僱用及挽留人才
集團人才管理成功之處,全賴積極在競爭激烈的勞工市場中吸納、挽留及栽培合適人才,並與教育機構緊密合作,招聘年輕才俊支持業務持續發展。

集團旗下不同業務部門不時舉辦工作坊、進行實地考察及推行實習計劃,向年輕人介紹有關行業或專業領域。

在澳洲,長江基建成員公司 Victoria Power Networks 旗下之 CitiPower 及 Powercor,自 2001 年起已培訓超過 450 名學徒及實習生,他們獲分配到維多利亞省 11 個地區工作一展所長。

Wales & West Utilities 的學徒計劃為期三年,以培育優秀人才為己任。燃氣及管道服務供應商 Wales & West Utilities2016 年招聘了 25 名新學徒在威爾斯及英格蘭西南部工作。在為期三年的學徒訓練計劃中,學徒會派駐到公司不同經營地區工作,並集中在負責維修現有氣體設備及鋪設新供氣管道的建造及維修團隊,以及負責維修氣體網絡監控系統的網絡服務機械工程師和電機及儀器工程師團隊。計劃訓練學徒發展其技能,以提供快捷有效服務的相關技能,確保客戶能享用可靠的氣體供應,時刻感覺安全和溫暖,歲月無憂。

3 印尼在全國推行慈善分享活動,慶祝公司成立九週年。電訊部門旗下  3  印尼與當地多家精選大學合作設立實習計劃「TriInterns」,為大學生提供實習機會,讓他們參與 3 印尼策略發展項目。計劃獲耶加達 Binus University  商學院支持,與 3 印尼共同合作提供為期兩個半月之研究項目,專注於國際漫遊、數碼服務及客戶體驗。計劃自 20163 月推出以來,已有 24 位高質素學生參與。

集團文化著重平等多元,薪酬制度以工作表現作為獎勵人才的基準。集團每年檢討員工薪酬,確保待遇具市場競爭力而僱員也獲得公平合理回報。長江和記重視人才,並嚴格遵守反歧視僱傭政策,招聘純粹視乎應徵者之個人能力,不受種族、膚色、性別或宗教信仰影響。集團訂立的政策提供平等聘任機會,按應徵者之技能和符合工作需求之程度招聘、晉升及調派僱員。

員工享有發表意見的權利,集團設立多個有效渠道促進與員工之溝通。各業務部門定期舉行研討會及論壇,讓員工交流意見及收集員工構思。集團定期透過調查徵集員工反饋,並加以改進完善人才管理工作。

良好的工業關係有利行業健康發展,港口部門在各個部門之間推廣分享良策,讓同事互相借鑒。不同業務性質的員工及主管向所屬業務的管理層傳達工作上遇到的問題和疑慮,積極應對並加以改善。

集團多個業務的員工計劃均獲得嘉許。例如,屈臣氏集團自 2011 年起連續六年獲認可為「家庭友善僱主」、和記電訊香港榮膺「第七屆亞洲最佳僱主品牌獎-亞洲最佳僱主品牌」及基建部門旗下 UK Rails 憑其僱員友善文化和安康相關措施獲評為「英國最健康僱主」。不同計劃均展示集團積極匯集人才,致力鼓勵員工在集團各展所長。

集團政策嚴禁僱用童工及強制勞工,所有業務均符合勞工標準,並採取嚴厲措施防範業務中出現此等情況。

投資於培訓及發展
集團首要確保各階層員工都訓練有素、士氣高昂,方能履行對利益相關人士之承諾。每個部門皆制訂其培訓計劃以應付特定業務需要,包括入職介紹、分享環節、工作坊及內部和外間課程。為鼓勵終身學習,員工報讀工作相關培訓課程可享有不同津貼和資助。

為應付日益增長之業務需求,集團與外界合作提供適切的培訓。例如,港口及相關服務部門旗下的香港國際貨櫃碼頭與香港職業訓練局合作舉辦碼頭學徒訓練計劃。學員在工程部不同崗位輪流實習後,再選擇發展其中一項專業領域。計劃自 2012 年成立以來,為香港國際貨櫃碼頭新一代合資格專業港口技術員提供全面技能培訓。

屈臣氏集團向來重視人才培訓,深信為員工提供學習及發展機會,能同時為顧客帶來更優質的服務。在 20131 月,屈臣氏集團開創大型連鎖零售業界的先河,推行資歷架構認可課程,為旗下的屈臣氏、百佳超級市場、豐澤及屈臣氏酒窖的員工提供全面的專業培訓。至今推行了共 14 項達資歷架構第二至四級的課程,受訓員工達 2,246 人。屈臣氏集團同時為 306 位店舖專才及管理人員申請資歷架構下的「過往資歷認可」,確認和肯定員工在職場上所積累的寶貴經驗,協助他們於零售業界建立終身事業。在 20166 月屈臣氏集團開辦「零售管理專業文憑」課程,成為香港首家營辦屬資歷架構第五級課程的零售企業,同時是香港首個根據零售業《 能力標準說明》 而設計的五級課程。在資歷架構的框架下,第五級課程與大學學位同等級別。「零售管理專業文憑」課程為期 18 個月,由屈臣氏集團香港零售學習及發展部與香港理工大學企業發展院合作設計課程。屈臣氏集團全額資助具潛質的員工修讀,並提供有薪假期讓員工於上班時間到理工大學上課;課程涵蓋市場營銷、顧客服務、資訊科技、人力資源、採購及供應鏈、店舖營運、管理策略及商業英語應用等範疇。

提倡安康、健康及安全
集團關注員工身心安康,提倡作息平衡,並給予僱員各式有薪假期福利。例如,鹿特丹港口採用彈性值日表,讓員工能更靈活安排工作及閒暇時間,更成立專責小組研究其他人手安排及值勤選擇,進一步提高工作靈活性。

安全工作環境對全體僱員尤其重要,集團眾多業務按照國家或國際標準,實施安全管理體系如 OHSAS 18001,以保障僱員免受工傷。集團又按工作種類向員工提供安全培訓課程,並在工作場所貫徹執行安全標準。

安全的工作環境有賴職安文化、政策及程序制訂得宜,以及僱員通力合作。基建部門旗下英國 Northern Gas Networks 與行為心理學家積極合作,研究認知如何對行為構成影響,以及如何善用科學研究所得改善工作環境安全。公司的僱員安全委員會由經過培訓的員工安全代表和高層管理人員組成,全國會議每年舉行兩次,而地方會議則定期舉行,討論公司內部的安全問題加以正視。不論是管理層視察大廈樓宇、工地及工作場所之安全管理情況,或是前線管理人員和員工的會議及公開論壇,皆體現公司重視工作環境安全。

港燈自 2011 年起起推行工作安全行為計劃,以減少可能出現的潛在危險行為及人為錯誤,並鼓勵安全工作習慣。於 2017 年,港燈在由職業安全健康局、勞工處、發展局和 13 間機構合辦的第 16 屆香港職業安全健康大獎比賽中,奪得「工作安全行為大獎」金獎、「宣傳推廣大獎」銅獎及「安全表現大獎」。在泰國的叻丕府,電能實業的電廠設有停止工作程序,當僱員察覺到不安全的情況時,可即時停止工作。

集團所有業務均致力減少意外發生,並持續改善工作環境安全及指導員工正確的程序。和記港口於 2016 年制訂政策,工作場所安全事故須由受影響業務單位以外之受訓人員檢討及調查,務求盡最大努力加強工作環境安全,部門之間彼此汲取經驗。

監管合規
於報告期內,集團並不知悉有任何因不遵守有關僱傭、職業健康及安全或勞工標準之法例及規例而令其受到重大影響之情況。