Enabling A Low Carbon Future
Through the very nature of its business, the Infrastructure division contributes to a low carbon future through its leadership in hydrogen, solar, waste-to-energy, carbon capture and storage, circular economy approaches and smart city developments. Many of these businesses are based in countries where net zero has been written into legislation and they have been working in partnership with governments to help deliver on an emissions-free future. The Ports division is also acting as a partner to local governments and port authorities in enabling them to achieve a net zero future.

A particularly important area of innovation is the role played by the Group in hydrogen development. For example, Northern Gas Networks is leading on a collaborative gas industry programme to test the feasibility of converting the entire UK gas network to a hydrogen-powered network. Australian Gas Infrastructure Group has also led the industry in Australia through delivering natural gas blended with 5% green hydrogen to communities in South Australia, a mix that will be increased to 10% in the near future with the ultimate stretch aim of eventually 100% green hydrogen. The Ports division is also playing its part in ushering in the hydrogen era by collaborating on a project at Freeport East in the UK to develop it into a world-leading green hydrogen hub, generating a planned 20% of the 5GW target in the UK’s Ten Point Plan for a Green Industrial Revolution. Further information is available in the case studies below.
 

At the forefront of the UK hydrogen transition

In November 2020, the UK Government released its Ten-point Plan for a Green Industrial Revolution, which serves to help the UK reach its ambition of net zero emissions by 2050. The Plan lists hydrogen as a key component with the specific aim of heating a neighbourhood with hydrogen gas by 2023 and then an entire town, with tens of thousands of homes, by the end of the decade. With the UK gas grid accounting for one third the UK’s total carbon footprint, finding solutions to decarbonise the gas grid is essential to achieving net zero.

H21 is a collaborative gas industry programme focused on demonstrating how converting the UK gas network to carry 100% hydrogen can tackle the UK’s decarbonisation challenges. This project is being led by Northern Gas Networks (“NGN”), in partnership with Wales & West Utilities (“WWU”), two companies within the Infrastructure division, as well as Cadent and SGN.

The H21 feasibility study, which looked at the possibility of converting the UK city of Leeds to hydrogen using existing pipes and equipment, concluded that it is technically possible and economically viable. The next phase of the project is demonstrating the safety case.

In addition, NGN is a partner in HyDeploy, a project to blend 20% hydrogen with natural gas. Following successful trials on a private network at Keele University, the next step will see NGN supply a 20% hydrogen blend to the community of Winlaton in Gateshead in 2021.

 

At the forefront of the Australian hydrogen transition

South Australia is working towards net zero carbon emissions by 2050 and Australian Gas Networks (“AGN”), under the Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (“AGIG”), is working alongside the State Government to help deliver on this aim through its leadership in green hydrogen production. Using a 1.25 MW electrolyser powered by renewable electricity, Hydrogen Park South Australia (“HyP SA”) is the first Australian project to produce green hydrogen for blending with natural gas for supply to domestic customers via AGN’s existing gas distribution network in South Australia.

From early 2021, a 5% hydrogen blend will be supplied to nearby homes via the existing gas network. AGN is also supplying to industry with further aims to supply the transport sector.

In 2020, AGN also developed Hydrogen Park Gladstone (“HyP Gladstone”) in Queensland with the aim to distribute a blend of up to a 10% green hydrogen to an entire city network, delivering another Australian-first. AGN is further developing detailed plans to introduce hydrogen into gas networks in both Victoria and South Australia through the Australian Hydrogen Centre.

Such projects are essential to progressively show the use and safety case of hydrogen before integrating higher levels, and eventually 100% green hydrogen.

HyP SA has received a number of accolades in recognition of its role in demonstrating the pathway to a cleaner energy future, including:
    
  • 2020 SA Climate Leaders Awards’ Business and Industry category winner;
  • 2020 Australian Pipelines and Gas Association Environment Award winner;
  • 2020 Engineers Australia Australian Engineering Excellence Award winner; and
  • 2020 South Australian Premiers Awards for Energy and Mining’s Innovation and Collaboration commendation.

 

Green hydrogen at Freeport East

Freeport East, centred upon the Port of Felixstowe and Harwich International Port (both owned and operated by Hutchison Ports), will be one of the eight new Freeports in the UK. Working closely with a consortium of partners, Hutchison Ports is helping to position Freeport East as a world-leading green hydrogen hub and centre for excellence in sustainability over the next two years. At its peak, it is expected to produce 1GW of hydrogen, 20% of the 5GW target in the UK’s Ten Point Plan for a Green Industrial Revolution. Among many other uses, the hydrogen produced will be used to power port infrastructure and equipment.

 
"The development of the Hydrogen Hub will allow the Port of Felixstowe and Harwich International to lead in the development of alternative fuel port equipment. Establishing a test-bed to showcase hydrogen’s potential in a port environment will establish the UK as a clear leader in developments that will help address climate change and the net zero agenda."

Clemence Cheng, Managing Director, Hutchison Ports Europe

 

The hydrogen-powered trains of tomorrow

To meet the UK’s ambition to reach net zero by 2050, the UK’s Department for Transport (“DfT”) asked the rail industry to explore the possibility of removing all diesel-only trains from the network by 2040 in England and Wales. The Rail Industry Decarbonisation Taskforce has identified three possible traction technologies which are sufficiently mature to replace diesel — battery, electric and hydrogen.

UK Rails has been working in partnership with Alstom since 2017 to explore UK rail opportunities for hydrogen propulsion. In 2020, UK Rails and Alstom announced a bold plan and joint investment of £1 million to fast-track the hydrogen train industry in the UK by creating an entirely new class of train.

Designated Project Breeze, the rolling stock solution will be 100% powered by hydrogen through integrating the proven propulsion technology of Alstom’s in-service Coradia iLint hydrogen multiple units within a modified version of the Class 321 Renatus electric multiple unit fleet proven on high-intensity services between London and East Anglia.

This will create the Class 600 hydrogen multiple unit (“HMU”), with a maximum speed of 90mph and an operating range of over 600 miles.

The Class 600 specification has been developed with potential train operators, particularly Northern Trains, to ensure that it is fully aligned with their requirements to replace regional diesel trains as part of overall UK railway decarbonisation. A proposal for a fleet of 10 Class 600 HMUs to operate services in the Tees Valley area is awaiting DfT approval to proceed.

Subject to approval timescales, the first Class 600 HMU could be operational in 2024, with the full fleet in passenger service by 2025.

 

Making South Australia a leader in distributed solar

SA Power Networks has the highest penetration of distributed solar of any gigawatt-scale energy system in the world and it’s also working on doubling its solar capacity in the next five years. This a huge feat given that in 2009 there were little to no solar panels connected to the grid and now one third of SA Power Network’s customers (over 290,000 South Australian homes) have solar panels on their roofs capable of generating nearly 1,500 MW of electricity. Customers’ rooftop solar photovoltaic (“PV”) systems now have enough capacity to power the entire state on mild, sunny days.

To help accept even more solar energy into the grid, SA Power Networks is undertaking a range of initiatives including:
  
  • Upgrading 130 major substations to facilitate greater solar exports;
  • Partnering on the award-winning Tesla advanced virtual power plant grid integration project; and
  • Developing its Flexible Exports service which means that more customers may benefit from investing in rooftop solar, with higher exports, less solar energy wasted, greater reliability of solar systems and a more stable electricity supply.
    
SA Power Networks’ subsidiary, Enerven, is also working to enable the State’s water services supplier, SA Water, which delivers water to 1.7 million South Australian customers, to transition to renewable energy. Enerven will install approximately 368,000 solar panels across SA Water’s infrastructure that will generate 154 MW of green electricity and provide storage capability of 35 MWh.

 

Helping remote regions of Australia transition to reliable clean energy

Australia is the sixth largest country in the world. While most of its population lives in its major cities, there are many rural and remote towns dotted across this vast land, located hundreds of kilometres from the closest major centre.

Most are not connected to the electricity network and rely on trucked diesel to fuel their energy supply, which also exposes them to price volatility, reduced energy security and high carbon emissions. Through hybrid renewable technology, EDL provides its remote customers with reliable, sustainable energy.

Coober Pedy
EDL provides 100% of the electricity to the remote mining town of Coober Pedy in South Australia. EDL owns and operates the Coober Pedy Hybrid Renewable Power Station which combines 4MW of wind generation, 1MW of solar generation, a 1MW/500 kWhr battery and other integration technologies, with the diesel power station as a backup, achieving generation of approximately 75% through renewable energy for the town’s power.

This power station has delivered lower cost and more stable electricity for the community at world-leading renewable energy penetration rates setting a global benchmark for renewables in MW scale isolated grids. To date, the longest continuous period the project has operated on 100% renewables was 97 hours in December 2019.

Agnew
Building on the success at Coober Pedy, in 2020, EDL completed the 56 MW Agnew Hybrid Renewable Project at the Agnew Gold Mine in Western Australia. Comprising five wind turbines, a solar farm, a battery system and an off- grid gas and diesel power plant, the project is Australia’s largest hybrid renewable microgrid and supplies the mine with power that is more than 50% renewable, with 99.99% reliability. It is also the first mine in Australia to be powered by wind at a large scale. The project won several awards in 2020 including:
  
  • 2020 Engineering Solution of the Year at the Global Energy Awards;
  • 2020 Innovative Power Technology of the Year — Australia at the Asian Power Awards; and
  • 2020 Western Australia Division winner at the Australian Engineering Excellence Awards.
  
Jabiru
In 2021, EDL will also commence construction of the Jabiru Hybrid Renewable Project in Australia’s Northern Territory. Once completed, the hybrid renewable power station will provide the remote town of Jabiru with at least 50% renewable energy over the long term, without compromising power quality or reliability.

 

Waste-to-energy — landfill gas and renewable natural gas

EDL owns and operates a large portfolio of landfill gas (“LFG”) powered stations in Australia, Europe and North America. Across 58 landfill sites globally, LFG is generated from methane produced by decomposing organic matter in refuse tips, that would otherwise be released to the atmosphere or flared. Instead, EDL converts the gas to
electricity, significantly reducing carbon emissions. In 2020, EDL generated 2,169,559 MWh of electricity from its LFG power stations globally, abating 11,060,706 tonnes of carbon emissions.

EDL is investing in work that goes beyond the conversion of gas to electricity, to also develop renewable natural gas (“RNG”). RNG is LFG processed to pipeline-quality standards making it fully interchangeable with conventional natural gas for use in industry or transportation. To illustrate impact, when used as a vehicle fuel, RNG reduces emissions by 85% relative to diesel fuel.

In the United States, EDL and its joint venture partners completed the Indy High BTU RNG Plant at the Indianapolis South Side Landfill in April 2020, with the capacity to convert landfill methane gas into approximately eight million gallons of pipeline-quality RNG each year amounting to 41,000 tonnes of carbon emissions avoided annually.

 

Carbon capture, use and storage

In 2019, AVR (under Dutch Enviro Energy) became the first European waste-to-energy company capable of large-scale CO2 capture through the launch of the operation in Duiven. The CO2 captured by this plant is re-used in the greenhouse horticulture sector where it has meant natural gas-fired heat and power generators are no longer needed to produce CO2 in the greenhouses.

Based on the volume of residual waste AVR currently processes, its target is to reduce its annual emissions by 800,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions by 2030 and be a net zero operation by 2050.

Throughout 2020, AVR continued to make progress towards its net zero vision. Plans are in place to build a similar CO2 capture installation at its location in Rozenburg. Exploring innovative solutions in storage, AVR is also collaborating with Carbon8, a UK based company, on a pilot programme to combine captured CO2 with fly ash to produce a raw material for the construction industry. AVR is also looking to storage in depleted gas fields offshore as another opportunity.

 

Driving towards net zero

The transport sector accounts for 28% of all emissions in the UK, with the main source of emissions from this sector being the use of petrol and diesel in road transport. There are more than 100,000 electric vehicles already powered through UK Power Networks (“UKPN”) and the business forecasts suggest 4.5 million electric vehicles could be on streets in London, the South and East of England by 2030.

UKPN is innovating to meet the technical challenge of an unprecedented large-scale shift to electric transport. Just one single 50 kW “rapid charger” can have the same impact on the network as a block of 25 new flats. The more electric vehicles are sold, and the more chargers installed, the more the business needs to innovate and create smart solutions to unlock capacity.

UKPN’s comprehensive Electric Vehicle Strategy outlines the partnerships underway to develop, test and deliver technical and commercial solutions that facilitate the rapid uptake of electric vehicles and the whole systems approach planned to maximise the utilisation of its existing electrical infrastructure.

UKPN’s dedicated net zero platform provides more information on the pivotal role it is playing more broadly in both connecting renewable energy and facilitating the uptake of low carbon technology.

 

Contributing to smart cities

Data forecasting
Data forecasting and planning is at the heart of facilitating net zero.

UKPN has developed and open-sourced Distribution Future Energy Scenarios including bespoke forecasts for approximately 11,000 geographic areas as well as an interactive map in partnership with the Open Data Institute.

WWU has developed a whole system model, Pathfinder 2050, that allows cities, regions and countries to evaluate future scenarios of low-carbon supplies for heat, power and transport, allowing users to view the impact of increased integration of the gas and electricity networks in terms of costs and CO2 reduction. WWU has made this model available to local authorities and city councils to better understand their net zero options.

Smart energy management
UKPN is developing systems to collect and use both voltage- related data and smart meter energy consumption data to enable further improvements in the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of its electricity distribution network to provide a superior service to its customers. As of end 2020, there are approximately 3 million smart meters (equivalent to 40% of all domestic customers) installed in UKPN Regions.

Through ista’s data-based suite of digital solutions for smart property management, ista enables residents and owners of buildings to take control of their energy consumption and contribute to climate protection. In Germany alone, 3.7 million tonnes of CO2 are saved every year thanks to reductions made in the annual heating cost bills enabled through ista’s solutions. ista’s aim is to help customers and users reduce their CO2 emissions from heat consumption by 10% by 2030.

 

Contributing to a circular economy

EnviroNZ champions the ethos of “trash to treasure” in many ways from the waste it recycles, to the landfill gas converted to energy, and to the landfill leachate that is treated to become high quality water and returned to the natural environment. At the core of its business model, EnviroNZ is dedicated to innovative and sustainable resource recovery and management, employing many first-in-New Zealand initiatives in this aim.

Significant EnviroNZ highlights include:
  
  • Operating one of the largest landfills in New Zealand, the Hampton Power and Resource Recovery Centre operates a modern LFG installation, which generates approximately 1MW of electricity.
  • EnviroNZ collects food scraps and green waste from locations across the country covering a range of municipal and commercial customers for processing at its composting facility in Hampton Downs. In 2020, the facility was upgraded to boost its organic processing capacity to 20,000 tonnes per annum.
  • Hamilton City Council set a target to increase diversion from landfill by 50% within three years. EnviroNZ is playing a central role in making this target possible and is significantly expanding its recovery and recycling infrastructure. Actions have included the construction of a new NZ$10,000,000 Material Recovery Facility which will sort and bale around 8,000 tonnes of paper, cardboard, plastic and metals from local kerbside collections and commercial operators each year. A new food scraps collection service will also divert up to 6,000 tonnes per annum of organic material from landfill and convert it into a valuable compost product.

創造低碳未來
基建部門因其業務性質,以其在氫能、太陽能、轉廢為能、碳捕獲及儲存、循環經濟及智能城市發展等的領先地位,為低碳未來作出貢獻。眾多基建業務均設於將淨零排放納入法例的國家,並且一直與政府合作,以實現零排放的未來。港口部門亦伙拍 當地政府及港口部門,助其達至淨零排放的未來。

一個特別重要的創新領域,是集團於氫能開發上擔當的角色。例如,Northern Gas Network 正在為天然氣行業合作計劃牽頭,將整個英國天然氣網絡轉換為氫能網絡的可行性。Australian Gas Infrastructure Group 亦領導著澳洲的天然氣行業,向南澳洲的社區提供混合 5% 綠色氫氣的天然氣。此混合比例在不久將增加到 10%,並最終達到 100% 綠色氫氣的目標。港口部門亦在為開創氫氣時代作出貢獻,在英國東自由港合作展開項目,將其發展為領先世界的綠色氫氣樞紐,為英國綠色工業革命十點計劃中 5 吉瓦的目標生產 20% 的產量。詳情可參考以下案例。
 

引領英國氫能轉型

2020 年 11 月,英國政府發佈宏大的「綠色工業革命十點計劃」,旨在幫助英國於 2050 年前實現淨零排放目標。該計劃將氫能列為關鍵部分,具體目標為 2023 年前用氫能為民居供暖,再以十年時間為整個城鎮數以千萬家庭供暖。由於英國天然氣網佔英國總碳足跡三分之一,天然氣網減碳方案是實現淨零排放的必要手段。

H21 是一個天然氣行業協作計劃,旨在將英國天然氣網絡轉換成 100% 氫氣輸送,以應對英國的減碳挑戰。該項目由 Northern Gas Networks (「NGN」) 牽頭,夥伴 Wales & West Utilities (「WWU」) (兩者皆為基建部門的公司),以及 Cadent 及 SGN

H21 可行性研究著眼於利用現有管道及設備,將英國列斯市轉化至氫能供氣。結論是技術及經濟上均屬可行,下一階段是探討該項目的安全事宜。

此外,NGN 亦是 HyDeploy 計劃的合作夥伴,該計劃旨在將 20% 氫氣與天然氣混合。繼在基爾大學私人網絡上取得成功後,下一步 NGN 將於 2021 年向蓋茨黑德的 Winlaton 社區供應 20% 混合氫氣。

 

引領澳洲氫能轉型

南澳省州正努力於 2050 年前實現淨零碳排放。Australian Gas Infrastructure Group(「AGIG」)旗下 Australian Gas Networks (「AGN」) 正與省政府合作,透過其在生產綠色氫氣的領先地位幫助實現該目標。Hydrogen Park South Australia (「HyPSA」)採用 1.25 兆瓦由可再生電力驅動的電解器,是澳洲首個生產綠色氫氣的項目。氫氣經與天然氣混合後,會通過 AGN 在南澳省現有天然氣網絡配送予家庭客戶。

2021 年初開始,5% 混合氫氣會透過現有天然氣網絡供應予附近家庭。AGN亦同時向工業界供應氫氣,並計劃進一步向運輸業界供氣。

2020 年,AGN 亦開發設於昆士蘭省的 Hydrogen Park Gladstone(「HyP Gladstone」)項目。此為澳洲率先向整個城市網絡,以分配高達 10% 綠色混合氫氣為目標的項目。AGN 正進一步制訂詳細計劃,透過澳洲氫氣中心將氫氣引入維多利亞省及南澳省天然氣網絡。

這些項目對於逐步展示氫氣使用及其安全至關重要,然後再逐步整合至更高水平,最終達到 100% 綠色氫氣使用率。

HyP SA 獲得多項榮譽,表彰其對通往未來清潔能源作出示範,獎項包括:
 
  • 2020 年南澳氣候領袖獎,商業及工業」類別獎;
  • 2020 年澳洲管道及天然氣協會環境獎」;
  • 2020 年澳洲工程師協會澳洲卓越工程獎」;及
  • 2020 年南澳省能源及礦業創新與合作優異獎」中獲得表揚。

 

東自由港氫氣總匯

東自由港以和記港口菲力斯杜港及哈爾威治國際港(均由和記港口擁有及經營)為中心,將成為英國八個新自由港之一。和記港口與一眾聯盟的夥伴緊密合作,在未來兩年內將東自由港定位為引領全球的綠色氫氣樞紐及卓越的可持續發展中心。氫氣樞紐預計高峰產能達 1 吉瓦,佔英國綠色工業革命十項計劃中 5 吉瓦目標的 20%,所生產的氫氣將用於驅動港口基建及設備等多種用途。



氫氣樞紐的發展將使和記港口菲力斯杜港及哈爾威治國際港在開發替代燃料港口 設備方面處於領先地位。在港口環境中測試使用氫氣的潛力,可鞏固英國在解決氣候變化及淨零排放進程方面的領導位置。

和記港口歐洲總經理鄭振訓

 

未來氫能動力火車

為實現 2050 年前達到淨零排放的目標,英國運輸部要求鐵路行業探索於 2040 年前,在英格蘭及威爾斯的網絡取消所有純柴油列車的可能性。鐵路行業減碳工作小組確定三種足夠成熟,可以取代柴油的牽引技術,分別是電池、電力和氫能。

2017 年以來,UK Rails 便一直與阿斯通合作,探索英國鐵路以氫能推動的機會。於 2020 年,UK Rails 和阿斯通宣布一項大計,並聯合投資 100 萬英鎊,創建全新列車類別,加快氫能列車發展。

命名為「Project Breeze」的列車將會 100% 由氫能驅動。新列車採用阿斯通推進技術,而此技術成熟程度已於阿斯通現役 Coradia iLint 氫動列車(HMU)得到驗證,並以此技術整合到行走於倫敦及東安格利亞之間,高強度服務的 321 級 Renatus 電動列車改造版。此創製的 600 級別氫動列車最高時速為 90 英里,運行範圍超過 600 英里。

600 級別列車規格是與潛在火車營運商(尤其是 Northern Trains)共同制訂,確保其完全符合要求,以取代行走區域線路的柴油列車,並作為英國整體鐵路減碳的一部分。有關在 Tees Valley 地區建議營運由 10 個 600 級別氫動列車驅動的車隊,現正等待運輸部批准。

視乎批審時間,預計首個 600 級氫動列車可望於 2024 年投入營運,整個車隊於 2025 年投入客運服務。

 

南澳省引領分佈式太陽能

在全球所有吉瓦級能源系統中,SA Power Networks 擁有最高分佈式太陽能普及率,並努力於五年內倍增其太陽能容量。回看 2009 年,這無疑是一項壯舉,因為當時幾乎並無太陽能電池板接入電網,但現時 SA Power Networks 三分一客戶(超過 29 萬戶南澳家庭)的屋頂已裝有太陽能電池板,能夠產生近 1,500 兆瓦電力。客戶屋頂的太陽能光伏系統現有足夠能力,在溫和的晴天為整個省供電。

為幫助輸送更多太陽能進入電網,SA Power Networks 正採取一系列措施,包括:
 
  • 130 個主要變電站升級以促進更多太陽能輸出;
  • 與獲獎的特斯拉虛擬發電廠電網整合項目合作;及
  • 發展「靈活輸出」服務,此意味着更多客戶可以從投資屋頂太陽能系統中獲益、增加出口量、減少浪費太陽能、提升太陽能系統可靠性,及更穩定的電力供應。
 
SA Power Networks 的非監管附屬公司 Enerven,亦正努力使該省水務供應商SA Water 向可再生能源過渡。SA Water 向 170 萬南澳省客戶供水,Enerven 將在 SA Water 基建中安裝約 36 萬 8,000 塊太陽能電池板,有關裝置將足以產生 154 兆瓦綠色電力,並提供 35 兆瓦時存儲容量。

 

幫助澳洲偏遠地區轉型至可靠清潔能源

澳洲是世界上第六大國家,雖然大部分人口居住於主要城市,但在這片廣大土地上,眾多鄉村及城鎮分佈錯落,當中有些離最接近主要市中心的亦有數百公里之遙。

這些城鎮大多並無連接到電網,並依賴卡車運來柴油作為燃料,因而需面對能源價格波動、低可靠度供電及高碳排放等問題。EDL以混合可再生技術,為偏遠地區客戶提供可靠及可持續的能源。

庫伯佩地
EDL 為南澳省偏遠的採礦城鎮庫伯佩地提供全部電力。EDL 擁有並經營庫伯佩地混合式可再生能源發電站,結合 4 兆瓦風力發電、1 兆瓦太陽能發電、 1 兆瓦 / 500 千瓦時電池及其他集成技術,並以柴油發電站作為後備,實現該鎮約 75% 電力由可再生能源提供。

該電站以世界領先的可再生能源普及率,為社區提供成本更低、更穩定的電力,亦為兆瓦級獨立電網的可再生能源設立全球基準。迄今為止,該項目以 100% 可再生能源連續運行最長時間,為 2019 年 12 月的 97 小時。

阿格紐
2020 年,EDL 在庫伯佩地的成功基礎上,在西澳省阿格紐金礦完成 56 兆瓦的阿格紐混合式可再生能源項目。該項目由五台風力渦輪機、一個太陽能發電場、一個電池系統、一個網外天然氣及柴油發電廠組成,是澳洲最大混合式可再生微電網,為該礦場提供超過 50% 可再生電力,可靠度達 99.99%。亦為澳洲首個大規模使用風力發電的礦場。該項目於 2020 年贏得多個獎項,其中包括:
 
  • 2020 年全球能源獎年度工程解決方案」;
  • 2020 年亞洲電力獎年度創新電力技術- 澳洲」;及
  • 2020 年澳洲卓越工程獎西澳分部獎得主」。
   
賈比魯
EDL 亦已開始在澳洲北領地,建設賈比魯混合式可再生能源項目。完成後,該發電站將在不影響電力質素或可靠度下,長期為賈比魯遍遠城鎮提供至少 50% 可再生能源。

 

轉廢為能-垃圾堆填氣及可再生天然氣

EDL 在澳洲、歐洲及北美擁有並經營大規模垃圾堆填氣發電站組合。在全球 58 個垃圾堆填場中,垃圾堆填氣是由垃圾場中的有機物分解出甲烷而產生,未加利用會被釋放到大氣層中或被燃燒。而 EDL 將該等氣體轉化為電力,大大減少碳排放。於 2020 年,EDL 在全球通過其垃圾堆填氣發電站生產 216 萬 9,559 兆瓦時電力,減少 1,106 萬 706 噸碳排放。

EDL 不僅將天然氣轉化為電力,還開發可再生天然氣。可再生天然氣是按照管道質素標準處理的垃圾堆填氣,使其可以與傳統天然氣完全互換,用於工業或運輸。為說明影響,用作車輛燃料時, 可再生天然氣比柴油燃料減少85%排放。

在美國,EDL 與其合營夥伴於 2020 年 4 月,在印第安納波利斯南面堆填場建成印第高熱量可再生天然氣廠,每年可將垃圾堆填場的甲烷氣體轉化為約 800 萬加侖管道質素的可再生天然氣,每年可減少 41,000 噸碳排放。

 

碳捕集、使用及儲存

2019 年,Dutch Enviro Energy 旗下 AVR,成為歐洲首家能夠大規模捕集二氧化碳的轉廢為能公司,並在 Duiven 啟動營運。該工廠捕集的二氧化碳被重新用於溫室園藝部門,因而不再需要天然氣加熱及發電裝置來生產溫室中的二氧化碳。

根據AVR目前處理的殘餘廢物量,其目標是於 2030 年,將二氧化碳排放量減少 80 萬噸,並在 2050 年實現淨零排放。

2020 年,AVR 繼續為實現淨零排放努力並取得進展。公司計劃在羅岑堡廠址建造類似二氧化碳捕集裝置,並與英國公司 Carbon8 合作試點計劃,將捕集的二氧化碳與飛灰結合,生產建築用原材料。AVR 亦在研究利用海上枯竭氣田作為儲存的另外選項。

 

推動實現駕駛淨零排放

交通部門佔英國總排放量 28%,主要排放來自公路運輸中的汽油及柴油。目前已有超過10萬輛電動車透過 UK Power Networks (「UKPN」) 供電。根據預測,到 2030 年,或會有 450 萬輛電動車在倫敦、英格蘭南部及東部街道上行駛。

UKPN 正在進行創新,以應對前所未有兼大規模向電動交通運輸轉型的技術挑戰。僅一個 50 千瓦「快速充電器」,其對網絡的影響,便相等於一座有 25 個單位的大樓。出售電動車越多,安裝充電器便越多,企業便更需要創新,以智能解決方案釋放容量。

UKPN 的全面電動汽車策略,探討如何為客戶研發、測試及提供技術及商業解決方案,以便加速電動車普及化;以至應如何善用現有電力基礎設施。

UKPN 的專用淨零排放平台提供更多資料,說明其在連接可再生能源及促進採用低碳技術方面更廣泛的角色和工作。.

 

為智能城市作出貢獻

數據預測
數據預測及規劃乃促進淨零排放的核心。

UKPN 已經開發分佈式未來能源方案並將源碼開放,包括對大約11,000個地理區域的訂制預測,以及與 Open Data Institute 合作互動地圖。

WWU 開發了全系統模型 Pathfinder  2050,讓城市、地區及國家評估未來對於熱力、電力及交通運輸的低碳供應情況,令用家能夠從成本及二氧化碳減排角度,看待增加天然氣與電力網絡整合的影響。WWU 已將該模型提供予地方當局及市議會,讓政府更清楚了解達至淨零排放的選項。

智能能源管理
UKPN 現正開發系統,收集及使用與電壓有關的數據及智能電錶的耗能數據,以便進一步提高配電網絡效率及成本效益,為客戶提供更優質服務。截至 2020 年底,UKPN 各地區共安裝約 300 萬個智能電錶(相當於所有家庭用戶 40%)。

ista 以數據為本的智能物業管理方案,讓住戶和業主能夠控制其能源消耗,並為氣候保護作出貢獻。僅在德國,透過 ista 提供解決方案,每年因節省供暖費用減少 370 萬噸二氧化碳。ista的目標,是幫助客戶及用戶在 2030 年前,將其熱能消耗所產生的二氧化碳排放量減少 10%

 

為循環經濟作出貢獻

EnviroNZ 在許多方面倡導「變廢為寶」精神,從其回收垃圾,到轉化為能源的垃圾堆填氣,再經過堆填場滲濾液處理成為高品質的水,並返回自然環境。它商業模式的核心,是致力於創新及以可持續方式進行資源回收及管理,並在新西蘭作出多項首次倡議。

EnviroNZ 重大發展摘要:
  
  • Hampton Power and Resource Recovery Centre 經營新西蘭最大的垃圾堆填場之一,該中心經營一個現代化垃圾堆填氣裝置,發電量約為1兆瓦。
  • EnviroNZ 從全國地點(涵蓋一系列市政及商業客戶)收集廚餘及綠色垃圾,在其 Hampton Downs 堆肥設施處理。於 2020 年,該設施進行了升級, 將其有機處理能力提高至每年 20,000 噸。
  • 漢密爾頓市議會制訂目標,在三年內將垃圾堆填場導流率提高 50%EnviroNZ 在協助實現此目標上居重要角色,並正大幅擴展其回收及循環基建。行動還包括投資1千萬新西蘭元,建造新的材料回收設施,每年負責分類及捆紥約 8,000 噸從當地路邊及商業經營者收集的紙張、紙板、塑膠及金屬。新廚餘收集服務,亦將令每年多達 6,000 噸有機物料轉化為有價值的堆肥產品, 以免被堆填。