Child Protection - Telecommunications Division

Protecting children online at the Telecommunications division

More, and younger, children than ever before are online. This, on the one hand, allows them to learn, play and socialise, but on the other, also exposes them to heightened risks of abuse, exploitation and harm. Keeping children safe online is now an important part of being a parent and a responsibility the division aims to make easier for them to shoulder in protecting their loved ones.

The Telecommunication division has therefore developed a range of resources available to parents and guardians, tailored to the local context, in helping parents protect children while online. In 2020, 3 UK teamed up with online safety experts in the UK, Internet Matters, on a new guide called “My first connected device” which details how to prepare, set up and manage a child’s first device safely. To support the launch, 3 UK also held a number of free online sessions to educate parents on online safety.

3 Denmark contributed to the ongoing development, dissemination and regular update of the popular local parenting guide in Denmark, “There is so much parents don’t understand — What do I need to know when my child goes online?”. The guide targets parents of children between the years of 7-12 years old and offers knowledge, advice and recommendations on childhood engagement with the internet, social media and online games.

In 2018, WINDTRE launched the award-winning “NeoConnessi”, an education platform in Italy to help parents and children navigate the online world safely together. The platform provides articles, insights, technical tips, and advice on how to create a healthy tension of control and trust with one’s child as they begin their online introduction. Chosen experts and experienced parent bloggers also contribute to ensure content is best suited to the needs of parents. NeoConnessi has also been adopted by schools to further help on their digital education curriculum; in 2019-2020, 5,140 classrooms across Italy received access to the NeoConessi toolkit. During 2020, NeoConnessi expanded its online capability by launching a support Facebook page for parents and also organised a series of webinars to continue their outreach during the pandemic.

In 2020, 3 Ireland signed a Memorandum of Understanding with An Garda Siochána (the national police service) and other mobile operators to launch an initiative that will block access to websites containing child sexual abuse material. When a subscriber enters a web address containing child abuse material into the browser, the user will now be re-directed to An Garda Síochána’s “Stop Page”.

保護兒童在線:電訊部門

電訊部門如何保護兒童在線

現在上網的兒童比過往任何時候更多、年齡更小。這固然有助於他們學習、玩耍及社交,亦同時引伸出濫用、不當運用及傷害等風險。讓兒童能夠安心上網,是現今父母關心的事情。部門遂著意為他們分憂,更輕鬆地保護子女。

為此,部門已按照各地情況,開發出一系列供父母及監護人使用的資源,協助家長在兒童上網時得到保護。2020 年,3 英國與英國網上安全專家 Internet Matters 合作推出家長指引《我的第一具連線裝置》,詳述如何為兒童的第一具電子裝置準備、設定及管理。配合指引的推出,3 英國舉行多次免費網上課程,教育父母有關兒童安全上網。

3 丹麥亦跟隨發展,定期分發及更新當地受歡迎的育兒指南《很多父母不了解-我的孩子上網時我需要知道甚麼?》,推廣兒童網絡安全。該指南針對 7 至 12 歲子女的父母,提供有關兒童上網、參與社交媒體及網上遊戲的知識、忠告及建議。

2018 年,WINDTRE 在意大利推出獲獎教育平台「NeoConnessi」, 協助父母和子女共享上網樂趣。該平台有文章分享、見解心得、技術提點,以至如何在子女開始上網時建立互信,在控制及信任之間取得平衡。獲邀的專家及富經驗的家長亦擔任博客為平台出力,確保其內容切合父母的需要。NeoConnessi 亦獲學校採用,作為他們的數碼教育課程。2019 至 2010 年,意大利 5,140 個課室獲授權連接 NeoConessi 的網上工具箱。2020 年,NeoConessi 進一步擴展其網上覆蓋,為父母推出 Facebook 頁面,並組織一系列網絡研討會,在疫情大流行期間繼續其外展工作。

2020 年,3 愛爾蘭與愛爾蘭和平衛隊(An Garda Siochána)(國家警察部隊)及其他流動電訊服務商簽訂諒解備忘錄,倡議阻截訪問包含性虐待兒童內容的網站。當用戶在瀏覽器輸入包含性虐待兒童內容的網址時,用戶會被轉接至愛爾蘭和平衛隊的「止步」網頁。