Customer Vulnerability - Infrastructure Division

The Group understands that not everyone has the luxury of being able to afford energy and water. According to the latest UK Government statistics, 10.3%  of households in England are living in fuel poverty. Supporting customers in need is therefore a priority for the division. As a leading provider of infrastructure services, the Infrastructure division aims to co-create services and plans to fit the needs of customers and they build programmes that address the most vulnerable in society.
 

Tackling fuel poverty at WWU

WWU’s fuel poverty support programme, Healthy Homes, Healthy People, takes a holistic approach and partnerships with Warm Wales and the Centre for Sustainable Energy are central to helping it engage and meet the needs of hard to reach groups. To identify and focus fuel poor support activities, WWU developed a vulnerability mapping tool in 2017 which identified fuel poor homes using property datasets, mass energy performance analysis and Experian data. This helps WWU to prioritise, alongside the Local Authority, areas of focus which are then further cross- checked with local knowledge and referrals from local doctors, health professionals and community organisations.

Once target areas are identified, local partners engage with people in their homes on energy efficiency and benefits checks. The results are monitored and analysed by source and geography through its dedicated social obligations dashboard.

In March, to maintain safe practices during the COVID-19 outbreak, the service was altered from face-to-face to telephone and referral pathways have been set up.

As a result of this work, more than 2,300 homes have benefited, delivering over £1.5 million in benefits. In 2020, WWU was re-accredited to the BS 18477 Inclusive Service Provision Standard.


Tackling water poverty: Northumbrian Water

Northumbrian Water was the first water company to make a pledge to eradicate water poverty by 2030. When it first set out on this journey, Northumbrian Water calculated that 18% of households (around 370,000 households) it served were defined as being in water poverty in 2018-19. This number has now been reduced to 10.4% in 2020, putting the business on its planned trajectory to 0% by 2030.

Early methods for addressing water poverty included making the best use of tools already available such as bill reduction schemes, metering, water efficiency education and ensuring all customers get the Government welfare benefits they are entitled to. In 2020, Northumbrian Water has been helping customers get on to the financial support schemes offered, strengthening partnership arrangements and using this network to promote support.

弱勢客戶:基建部門

集團明白並非每個人都有能力負擔能源及水費用。根據英國政府最新統計,英格蘭有 10.3% 家庭生活在燃料困乏中。因此,支持有需要的客戶成為部門優先處理的事項。作為重要的基建服務供應商之一,集團的基建部門致力與顧客共同創造服務和計劃,以適應顧客所需、並同時照顧社會上最弱勢的一群。
 

WWU 如何處理燃料困乏

WWU 燃料扶貧計劃「健康家庭,健康人生」採取整全方法,夥拍 Warm Wales 及 Centre for Sustainable Energy, 協助尋找真正難以接觸的扶貧對象。WWU 於 2017 年開發弱勢社群測繪工具,利用物業數據、大規模能源表現分析及益博睿等數據,識別燃料困乏家庭。這有助 WWU 與地方當局確定重點扶助地區優先次序,然後與熟悉當地情況的醫生、衞生專業人員及社區組織進一步交叉查核。

一旦確定目標區域,當地合作夥伴便會在需要扶助的家庭進行能源效益及福利檢查。透過其專門的社會責任操作機制,按來源及地域對結果進行監測及分析。

3 月,為了在新型冠狀病毒疫情期間保持安全, 服務從面對面改為以電話進行,並建立了轉介途徑。就以上工作,超過 2,300 個家庭得以受惠,發放了逾 150 萬英鎊福利。於 2020 年,WWU 再獲 BS 18477 共融服務條款標準認證。


Northumbrian Water 如何處理水困乏:

Northumbrian Water 為首家承諾在 2030 年前消除水困乏的水務公司。在早期展開工作階段,根據 Northumbrian Water2018 至 19 年被界定為處於水困乏的家庭佔其服務總數 18%(約 37 萬戶)。該數字於 2020 年已減少至 10.4%,並將按計劃於 2030 年降至 0%

早期處理水困乏的方法,主要集中於善用已有的工具,例如從減免賬單、測量、提高用水效率教育等入手,及確保所有客戶獲得應享的政府福利待遇。 2020 年工作重點,是讓客戶加入 Northumbrian Water 提供的財政支援計劃,加強夥伴合作,並利用該網絡推廣支援。