Enabling A Digital Future - Ports
The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted just how critical digitalisation is to: keeping supply chains moving; enabling the continued smooth operations of transportation networks, shipping and ports; and reducing human-to-human contact to contain the spread of the virus.

Digitalisation within the Ports division

Digitalisation brings many benefits environmentally, socially and economically. Advances in automation and new innovative technologies, such as big data and Artificial Intelligence (AI), enable a new “smart port” era, offering great opportunities to Hutchison Ports.

Ports are also increasingly utilising AI and big data to analyse terminal traffic to optimise and maximise terminal productivity. Being in the volume business, Hutchison Ports looks to big data for a wide spectrum of its business decisions including investments and operations. For example, its proprietary operating system, Next Generation Terminal Management System (“nGen”), collects container and ship data and puts together plans using algorithms and AI for the most optimal and efficient use of terminals. These plans will then be used in the execution of shipside and landside operations.

Using 3D animation, Hutchison Ports is able to simulate different operational scenarios. By comparing performance indicators and resource utilisation, Hutchison Ports can find the ideal smart port design and equipment levels before committing to investments.

Paperless operations are now migrating to digital cloud platforms to enable processes such as online goods registration, invoicing, payment, and assigning pickup points through QR code notification. All processes are centralised to a unified platform allowing quick and easy access with greater efficiency and flexibility. This interconnected digitalised terminal operation is quickly becoming the new norm in port operations.

 

Introducing ubi

ubi is Hutchison Ports’ proprietary customer-facing app.

It is powered by nGen and integrates waterside, yard and landside operations allowing customers to receive the latest updates and information on their smart phones and devices at any time.

Since the launch of ubi in 2017, it has offered powerful features in port digitalisation allowing carriers, service providers and yard operations to have greater visibility, efficient landside processes and safer working environments. Example benefits include:
  
  • Enables immediate updates such as shipping, haulier and terminal information to help customers with enhanced decision making;
  • Provides an electronic Gate-In Slip and Equipment Interchange Receipt, eliminating unnecessary paper use while enabling more timely distribution and visibility of container status;
  • The “Truck Appointment” function allows for more streamlined collaboration between the terminal and the customer leading to reduced terminal traffic congestion and idling time, as well as associated fuel consumption and air emissions; and
  • The “Safety Alert” for Remote-Controlled RTGC function alerts drivers from gate-in to gate-out by detecting the truck’s location and provide warning notifications.
     

Collaboration to accelerate the digital transformation

In 2020, Hutchison Ports joined eight leading ocean carriers and terminal operators to form a consortium to develop the Global Shipping Business Network (“GSBN”), an industry body seeking to drive and accelerate the adoption of digital operations within the shipping industry. The Group also seconded one of its leading data scientists to lead the GSBN. The network’s unique combination of carriers and terminal operators provides a balanced perspective, generating new ideas to transform the industry by going beyond the conventional carrier-centric business model to create value for all stakeholders in the supply chain.

Cutting-edge equipment

Advancing technology in equipment automation and remote- control connectivity offers many benefits.

In a remote-controlled environment, equipment can be deployed dynamically to meet peaks in demand and locating operators, vessel controllers and supervisors in close proximity also contributes to operational and fuel efficiencies.

Further, in a traditional crane operation, drivers may experience physical stress to their back, neck and shoulders. From the comfort of the remote-control crane centres, drivers can have a better quality of workplace wellbeing. This less physically demanding work environment also opens up opportunity to a more diverse talent pool.

To date, Hutchison Ports has deployed 42 remote-control quay crane units worldwide, with an additional six units in progress. Fifty-seven remote-control RTGCs have also been deployed globally and an additional 30 units will be commissioned in 2021.

Hutchison Ports Thailand has introduced six electric autonomous terminal tractors as part its technology transformation. The further use of automated transfer carriers is under development for Hutchison Ports Stockholm.

It is important to note that while digitalisation and automation may change the nature of some jobs, they also create new job opportunities for equipment operators to be re-tooled and trained on the latest technologies as well as offering better workplace safety and wellbeing.

With the right focus, a future-fit port will offer even more employment and be even more inclusive than it is today.

 

Autonomous truck technology at Hutchison Ports Thailand

In 2020, Hutchison Ports Thailand began piloting cutting-edge technology in truck automation with the commissioning of six fully electric and autonomous trucks at the Terminal D facility at Laem Chabang Port, Thailand.

Equipped with advanced AI machine-learning technology and a data transmission system, the autonomous trucks can operate non-stop for more than 24 hours. The trucks utilise an advanced light detection and range technology, through which they can instantaneously detect and survey their surroundings in all directions, generating a precise, internal 3D map enabling them to accurately analyse and avoid obstacles and collisions.

5G

The advent of 5G and IoT technology will bring the technological and smart capabilities of a port to a whole new level. A partnership between the Telecommunications division and Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe will test the potential of 5G in a port environment, a project which was chosen as part of the UK Government’s 5G Trials and Testbeds Programme. The project will begin in 2021 and test two use cases: enabling remote-controlled cranes via the transmission of CCTV; and deploying IoT sensors and AI to optimise the predicative maintenance cycle of the Ports’ 31 quay- side and 82 yard cranes. Harnessing the speed, low-latency and high-capacity of 5G, the project will demonstrate the productivity and efficiency gains of such technology both operationally and in terms of reduced greenhouse gas emissions as a result of fuel efficiencies.

Further, with the use of automated transfer carriers in development for Hutchison Ports Stockholm, low latency in wireless transmission is a critical requirement for safe and effective operations. Hutchison Ports is therefore also collaborating with the Group’s Telecommunications division to review the pathway to updating the terminal to 5G.

迎接數碼未來:港口
新型冠狀病毒疫情大流行,進一步凸顯數碼化對於保持供應鏈運轉,以至確保運輸網絡、船運及港口持續暢順運作的重要性,同時達到減少人與人之間的接觸,有利控制病毒傳播。

港口部門數碼化

數碼化為環境、社會及經濟帶來不少裨益,自動化進程以至創新科技如大數據及人工智能,造就了新的「智能港口」時代,為和記港口迎來巨大機會。

港口亦越趨利用人工智能及大數據分析碼頭流量,以優化及全面提升碼頭生產力。和記港口業務規模龐大,在投資及營運等廣泛業務決策中,均有賴於大數據。例如,其自行研發的新一代碼頭管理系統「nGen」,收集貨櫃及船舶數據,利用演算法及人工智能整理規劃最高效能的碼頭應用方案,適用於操作船邊及岸邊業務。

和記港口利用立體動畫模擬出不同操作場景,通過對比操作表現及資源應用情況,便能在落實投資計劃前,規劃出最理想的智能港口設計及設備規格。

無紙化作業正在向數碼雲平台遷移,以實現網上貨物登記、開發票、支付、通過二維碼通知指定提貨點等流程。所有流程均集中於統一平台,快速便捷,提升效率和靈活性。這種互相連結的數碼化碼頭營運方式,正迅速成為港口營運新常態。

 

ubi 介紹

ubi 是和記港口專屬客戶應用程式,由 nGen 提供技術支援,整合海上、堆場及岸邊作業,讓客戶可隨時在智能手機及設備上接收最新信息。

2017 年推出以來,ubi 以其強大功能,為承運人、服務供應商及堆場營運者提供更精準的資訊、更有效率的陸上流程及更安全的工作環境, 效益舉例如下:
 
  • 提供即時更新,如船公司、陸路貨運公司及碼頭資訊,協助客戶作出決策;
  • 提供電子碼頭收據及設備交接驗收單,省卻不必要的紙張,同時更及時分發及掌握貨櫃狀況;
  • 「拖車預約」功能讓碼頭及客戶的合作更加精簡,減少碼頭交通擠塞、泊位閒置時間,及相關燃料消耗及空氣排放。
  • 遙距操作輪胎式龍門架吊機的「安全警示」功 能,通過偵測貨車位置,在司機進出堆場時發出警告提示。
      

協作加速數碼化轉型

2020 年,和記港口聯合八家海運行業頂尖航運公司及碼頭營運商組成聯盟,建立全球航運業務網絡(「GSBN」),推動及加快航運業實行數碼操作;長江和記集團亦借調一名權威的數據科學家帶領 GSBN。GSBN 把航運公司及碼頭營運商連結起來,獨特的組合平衡各方觀點、開發新創意,改造並超越傳統以航運公司為中心的經營模式,為供應鏈上的所有持份者創造價值。

尖端設備

自動化設備及遙距聯繫的先進技術,在多個環節提供不少好處。.

在遙距操作主導的環境下,可靈活部署設備以滿足高峰期的需求,並協調鄰近的操作員、船舶控制員及監督人員,有助提高操作效率及燃料效益。

此外,傳統吊機空間狹小,操作員工作時頸部、背部及肩膊有機會受壓。而在遙距控制中心,操作員可在舒適的辦公室環境下操作吊機。新工作環境大幅降低體力要求,創造更多元化的人才招募空間。

直至目前為止,和記港口在全球採用 42 台遙距操作岸邊吊機,另有六台正在籌備中。至於遙距操作輪胎式龍門架吊機,至今已裝設了 57 台,另外 30 台將於 2021 年投入運作。

邁向技術轉型,和記港口泰國引進了六輛自動駕駛貨車;而和記港口斯德哥爾摩亦進一步發展自動跨運車的應用。

值得注意的是,儘管數碼化及自動化可能會改變若干工作的性質,但新技術同樣需要配置新設備或安排員工再培訓,等同為操作員創造新就業機會,以及提供更佳工作環境和福祉。

只要發展方向正確,一個能夠符合未來發展的港口,將較現在創造更多的就業崗位,亦較今日更為共融。

 

和記港口泰國的自動駕駛貨車技術

2020 年,和記港口泰國開始試行自動駕駛貨車的尖端技術,六輛全電能自動駕駛貨車在泰國蘭差邦港 D 碼頭投入使用。

自動駕駛貨車配備先進的人工智能機器學習技術及數據傳輸系統,能無間斷運行 24 小時以上。貨車採用先進的光學探測及測距技術,可瞬間勘探四周環境,描繪出精確的內部三維地圖再加以分析,避開障礙物及避免碰撞。

5G

5G 及物聯網科技的出現,引領港口技術及智能作業能力至新境界。電訊部門與和記港口菲力斯杜港合作,測試 5G 在港口環境的發展潛力,並獲英國政府選為 5G 測試平台及試驗項目之一。項目將於 2021 年開始,測試通過閉路電視視訊傳輸遙距操作吊機,以及裝設物聯網傳感器及採用人工智能技術,精準地預測菲力斯杜港 31 台岸邊吊機及 82 台堆場吊機的保養周期。測試項目利用 5G 高速、低網路延遲及高容量的優勢,將展示相關技術不但在操作層面上可提升產能及效率,同時因有效使用燃料而減少溫室氣體排放。

此外,和記港口斯德哥爾摩正籌備自動跨運車的應用。要達至安全和有效作業,無線傳輸低網絡延遲是關鍵要素。因此,和記港口也與集團電訊部門合作,評估將碼頭發展至 5G 的途徑。