Enabling A Digital Future - Telecoms
A report  produced by Deloitte and GeSI found that digital technologies could have a transformational impact on the world’s ability to meet the 2030 Agenda and the UN Sustainable Development Goals (“SDGs”), specifically finding that of the 169 SDG targets, 103 are directly influenced by digital technologies.

According to the Social Progress Imperative report the world is on track to miss the 2030 due date in order to achieve the SDGs by over 60 years at the current rate of progress, mobile network- enabled transformation to accelerate positive change has never been more important.

The deployment of 5G connectivity that provides speed and capacity at fundamentally different levels will be increasingly central to progress against the SDGs. Digitalisation is expected to disrupt all parts of the economy over the next decade and, if sufficient policy and investment is received, has the potential to be a key driver of the low carbon transition, among other priorities central to sustainable development.
 

Contributing to the knowledge base of the 5G opportunity in supporting the SDGs

WINDTRE produced, along with a panel of external subject matter experts, two research reports looking at the benefits of digitalisation in supporting the SDGs.

The first, “Digital Innovation for the SDGs”, was developed with 40 external experts from across the public and private sector to explore the role of digitalisation in four key areas including: i) education, ii) social inclusion, iii) digital responsibility, and iv) environment and quality of life.

The follow-up to this report, “5G Cities, Sustainable Cities”, focused on 5G’s role in creating sustainable cities embodied in SDG 11: Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable. The report focuses on the future of cities, with the aim of reflecting on how a smart transition would affect a city’s sustainable development, competitiveness and quality of life. The division also used the learning process to investigate its role in 5G implementation and the benefits to SDG 11.

Both reports were launched at the 2018 and 2019 Italian Sustainable Development Festival respectively, the largest sustainability event in Italy, and are available here.

In 2020, WINDTRE also took part in Milan Digital Week, by supporting the event “5G Road-Smart City, Smart Life” including four live streamed events dedicated to exploring the opportunities of 5G in transforming many aspects of daily life. Alongside technology experts, scientists, journalists, and entrepreneurs, WINDTRE management discussed the 5G opportunities in the areas of work, education, culture, sport, inclusion and research.


Transitioning to a low carbon economy and reaching net zero by 2050 will require the use of technology that can facilitate the rapid reduction in emissions required to meet this goal. Mobile network enabled technologies have a key role to play in this transition through increasing connectivity, improving efficiency and impacting behaviour change. While emissions from the mobile sector account for approximately 0.4% of global emissions, the level of avoided emissions enabled by mobile communications technologies is 10 times greater. To illustrate, in 2018, the enabling impact of mobile communication technologies globally was estimated to be 2,135 million tonnes CO2e, or roughly the equivalent to the GHG emissions emitted by Russia in 2017. By 2025, it is estimated that increases in smartphone usage and IoT connections could result in a further doubling of the avoided emissions enabled by mobile technologies.

The sector’s ongoing development of 5G connected technologies, is releasing a wave of low carbon innovation across many other sectors of industry and society and the division is positioning its capabilities and offerings to be a part of that technological revolution.
  




    
Strengthening IoT with Low Power Wide Area capability

The Integrated Transport Electricity and Gas Research Laboratory (InTEGReL) is a fully integrated whole energy systems development and demonstration facility led by Northern Gas Networks, a company within the Group’s Infrastructure division. The lab is focused on helping the UK Government meet its 2050 target of net zero carbon emissions.

The Telecommunications division, led by the CKH Innovations Opportunities Development unit, is piloting a Low Power Wide Area network (“LPWA”) at InTEGReL which is the first step in a nationwide network rollout that will support mass deployment of IoT devices. LPWA networks, made up of Narrowband IoT and LTE-M technologies, provide a cost-effective way to wirelessly connect IoT devices which monitor and control everything from key infrastructure to smart buttons. Sectors such as energy, logistics, building management, and transport have the potential to be digitally transformed by Low Power Wide Area technologies, unleashing an incredible opportunity for emissions reduction among other benefits.



“LPWA offers huge potential for the gas industry. Real-time data from our infrastructure flowing into advanced data analytics models will allow us to take fast, agile and even pre-emptive action to deliver outstanding customer value whilst maintaining the highest level of resilience, which will be more important than ever as we transition to a low carbon energy network. Our industry needs new technologies such as this to support our ambitions to decarbonise gas systems, through projects such as H21 to transition to hydrogen for heat and meet the UK Net Zero target by 2050”.

Matthew Little, Innovation, Information and Improvement Director, Northern Gas Networks.
 

Network energy efficiency and 5G

With the rollout of digitalisation, there are impacts that need to be considered; one such impact is the increased energy requirement of a 5G network. Mobile networks are predicted to carry four times the data of today’s networks by 2025. To meet these increasing traffic demands, while also improving networks and rolling out new 5G frequencies, without network optimisation, the energy consumption of mobile networks is set to rapidly increase.

Machine learning and AI help with network optimisation through traffic prediction by gathering the appropriate data from the network and training the predictive algorithm. This increases traffic prediction precision and improves energy efficiency while maximising user experience.
Intelligent systems enable dynamic management by reducing or even turning off a specific radio carrier or reallocating resources to different network slices which in turn impacts the base stations’ cooling requirements and lowers the cell site power consumption.

Recent studies from Ericsson and Huawei show that AI can help to reduce power consumption by up to 15% under current systems. Autonomous networks in the future may introduce even higher reduction. The 5G mobile network’s energy efficiency is an essential topic in the telecommunications industry, and the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (“ETSI”) and the 3rd Generation Partnership Project have been working on defining different methods for measuring and improving this efficiency.

The division’s investments in 5G technology will bring sustainability benefits from virtualised, software-defined networks that use less energy in their compute resource when communications demand is low. This type of network investment has the added benefit of enabling workloads to be moved around the network in the event of failure of a specific network node, and is thus resilient to certain types of failure.

3 UK has installed 20 new data centres in the UK that are equipped with the latest energy saving technologies. When combined with backhaul improvements and a cloud core network, this has enabled increased reliability as traffic can be automatically redirected from a data centre having an issue, to another in real time.

Digital inclusion

Another impact that needs to be considered with respect to a more digital future is the importance of digital inclusion.

Once considered a luxury, being digitally connected is now a way of life. Digital technologies enable the world to connect with friends and family, use online services and take advantage of a wider range of opportunities. Many services are now exclusively offered only through the internet and therefore not having the skills or access can become major life hurdles. Increased working and learning from home as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic has further widened the gap for those who lack the digital know-how or access to connectivity.

Building the digital skills of tomorrow

With the onset of rapid digitalisation, it’s essential to have the skills needed in order to flourish in a digital world. The division is partnering with organisations to help build these skillsets, particularly within the younger generation as they prepare for future careers.

In 2020, the following initiatives took place:
   

  • Collaborated with Politecnico di Milano in Italy to deliver the Cyber Security and Data Scientist Academy programmes to engineering students to share insights on how privacy and cyber security will be relevant to the current and future workplace.
  • Partnered with MIND, the Triulza Foundation and Robert Bosch Foundation, on the event, “Hack & Go!”, the hackathon for university students to explore and tackle challenges and opportunities relating to 5G, IoT and Mobility Services for smart cities and smart living. The winning team was rewarded with a six-month internship at WINDTRE.
  • Supported Digital Compass, an organisation in Vienna, Austria which provides workshops on digital literacy to school classes from the seventh grade.

  
Digital inclusion in rural areas

While living in a remote location can be idyllic, a major drawback may be a lack of coverage. Without it, running a business, staying connected, and getting around can be all the harder.

3 UK is working with the UK Government and several other mobile operators on a £1 billion project called the Shared Rural Network to bring guaranteed coverage to 280,000 premises and 16,000km of roads in rural areas across the UK. Once completed, 95% of the UK will have reliable 4G coverage. From 2021, 3 UK will be working on building and sharing over 220 new mobile masts nationwide by 2024, significantly boosting rural coverage.

Boosting rural network coverage

In 2019, 3 Ireland launched a partnership with the Arranmore Business Council on the island of Arranmore, five kilometres off the coast of Donegal, Ireland to create a more connected island and enable societal and economic development. Prior to this, the lack of connectivity has restricted the population’s ability to establish and grow a business, as well as maintain the population to sustain their unique culture and way of life. 3 Ireland helped equip the island’s Digital Hub with superfast connectivity and bandwidth to facilitate effective remote working and state-of-the- art conferencing facilities.

3’s broadband solution, has been installed in a number of local business and community facilities around the island, including in Scoil Athphoirt where students can now use interactive whiteboards, research online and participate in online learning. The broadband solution has also been installed in the medical centre which will facilitate telemedicinal applications including video consultations with consultants on the mainland, saving patients a four-hour round trip to the nearest city. 3 Ireland has also implemented a range of IoT solutions to support elderly care and environmental monitoring.

In Indonesia where the world’s fourth most populous country is spread over 17,000 islands, 3 Indonesia has been expanding into the rural areas to connect the hard to reach places. 3 Indonesia’s 4.5G pro network now covers nearly 35,000 villages in over 325 cities and 3,700 districts across Indonesia.

迎接數碼未來:電訊
一份由德勤及全球電子可持續發展推進協會編製的報告發現,數碼科技可以對世界實現《2030 年可持續發展議程》及聯合國可持續發展目標產生變革性影響,尤其是在 169 項可持續發展目標中,有 103 項直接受數碼科技影響。

根據社會進步促進會的研究報告,全球要達到可持續發展目標設定的 2030 年目標,按照目前的進度滯後超過 60 年。因此,利用流動通訊網絡加速轉型變得格外重要。

在不同層面應用 5G 技術所提供的速度及容量,對推進可持續發展目標越顯重要。數碼化預計將於未來十年顛覆所有經濟範疇,倘獲得足夠政策支持和投資,有潛力成為低碳轉型以及其他促進可持續發展優先要項的主要驅動力。
 

利用5G的知識基礎為支持可持續發展目標作出貢獻

WINDTRE 與外部數碼專家小組共同製作兩份研究報告,探討數碼科技對實現可持續發展目標的好處。

第一份「促進可持續發展目標的數碼創新」報告, 由 40 名來自公私營機構的外部專家共同撰寫,探索數碼化於四個主要領域的角色,包括:i)教育; ii) 社會共融;iii) 數碼責任;及 iv) 環境及生活質素。

其後續報告「5G 城市-可持續發展的城市」,著重 5G 如何實現可持續發展目標 11 :即創建包容、安全、具彈性,可持續發展的城市。報告集中探討城市的未來,旨在反映智能轉型將如何影響城市的可持續發展、競爭力及生活質素。電訊部門也藉此學習過程,鑽研自身在推行 5G 及推動可持續發展目標 11 所擔當的角色。

兩份報告分別於 2018 年及 2019 年,在意大利最具規模的可持續發展活動-意大利可持續發展節- 舉行期間發佈,報告可於這裡查閱

2020 年,WINDTRE 亦參加了米蘭數碼週,在以「5G 之路-智能城市,智能生活」為題的活動中, 舉行四場直播活動,探索 5G 於多方面改變日常生活的契機。WINDTRE 管理層與科技專才、科學家、傳媒及企業家共同討論 5G 在工作、教育、文化、體育、共融及科研領域的契機。


為轉型至低碳經濟並於 2050 年前達至淨零排放,有賴科技應用加快減排步伐。流動電訊網絡技術通過增加聯繫、改善效率及影響行為變化,於低碳轉型中發揮重要作用。雖然流動電訊業的排放量僅佔全球排放量約 0.4%,但流動電訊技術達至的減排效果則大 10 倍。以下例子說明,2018 年由全球流動通訊技術促使的減排量估計為 21 億 3,500 萬噸二氧化碳當量,相當於俄羅斯  2017 年的溫室氣體排放量。估計到 2025 年,智能手機使用量及物聯網聯繫增加,由流動電訊技術促使的減排量可增加一倍

電訊部門持續開發 5G 聯繫通訊技術,並視研發能力和產品為技術革新的一部分,為眾多行業及整體社會注入低碳創新動力。
  




    
低功率廣域網絡能力加強物聯網

由集團基建部門旗下成員公司 Northern Gas Networks 牽頭營運的「綜合運輸電氣研究實驗室」是一個全面整合整個能源系統的開發及示範設施,專注協助英國政府實現 2050 年淨零碳排放的目標。

CKH Innovations Opportunities Development 統領下, 電訊部門正在綜合運輸電氣研究實驗室試行低功率廣域網絡。這是全國性推行低功率廣域網絡的第一步,日後將支援廣泛應用物聯網設備。低功率廣域網絡由窄頻物聯網及長期演進機器類型通訊技術組成,為物聯網設備提供一種具成本效益的無線連接方式,用以監察及控制從主要基建到智能按鈕等所有設備。能源、物流、物業管理及運輸等行業均具有潛力,利用低功率廣域網絡技術實踐數碼轉型,創造無數減排契機並帶來其他益處。



「低功率廣域網絡為燃氣行業帶來巨大潛力。在轉型至低碳能源網絡的過程中,來自基建設施的實時數據傳輸至先進的數據分析模型,使我們能夠採取快速、靈活甚至是預防性的行動, 為客戶提供出色服務的同時,維持最高水平的靈活彈性,這較以往任何時候更為重要。燃氣行業需要如低功率廣域網絡一樣的新技術來支持我們實現燃氣系統減碳的宏願,通過 H21 等項目轉型至以氫氣供暖,並於 2050 年實現英國的淨零排放目標。」

Northern Gas Networks 創新、資訊及改進總監 Matthew Little
 

網絡能源效益及 5G

數碼化帶來的影響之一,是5G網路所需的能源需求亦隨著增加。根據預測,流動電訊網絡至 2025 年時會傳輸達目前網絡四倍的數據量。應對流量增加並兼顧提升網絡及推出新 5G 頻譜,必須同時優化網絡,否則能源消耗勢將急速上升。

機器學習及人工智能可以從網絡收集適當數據,及訓練演算法預測流量優化網絡。這不單提高流量預測精準度、改善能源效益,亦同時提升用戶體驗。

智能系統有助實施動態管理,例如透過減少或甚至關閉部分無線電載波,或將資源重新劃配至不同網絡切片,可以影響基站的冷卻需求,從而降低發射站的耗電量。

愛立信華為近期的研究顯示,在目前的系統下,人工智能可協助減少耗電達 15%,而自治網絡在未來應可進一步減少消耗。由於 5G 流動電訊網絡的能源效益是電訊業的重要議題,歐洲電信標準協會(「ETSI」) 及第三代合作夥伴一直致力尋求方法,量度及改善能源效益。

電訊部門投資的 5G 技術具備可持續的優點,能夠在通訊量較低的時候,使用耗電量較少的虛擬式軟件界定網絡。投資此類網絡的另一好處,是當其中一個網絡節點出現故障時,處理的數據可以在網絡內轉移,保持營運暢順。

3 英國已在當地設立 20 個使用最新節能技術的新數據中心,配合回傳網路帶來的改善及使用雲核心網絡,流量可以自動從發生故障的數據中心實時轉移至另一數據中心,提高可靠性。

數碼共融

數碼化的另一重大影響是數碼共融。 曾經被視為奢侈品的數碼聯繫現已成為日常生活的一部分。

數碼科技讓親友加強聯繫、享受網上服務,並提供更多選擇和機會。現時,很多服務只能夠通過互聯網提供,因此不懂上網或欠缺相關技能或設施,對生活可能構成嚴重障礙。由於新型冠狀病毒大流行,在家工作及學習的人越來越多,進一步擴大缺乏數碼技術知識或網絡接駁的一群與其他人的差距。

建立未來的數碼技能

擁有相關技能迎接數碼未來實屬必要。電訊部門正在與不同組織合作教授相關技能,特別是協助年輕一代,為未來的職業生涯作出準備。

2020 年,落實的舉措如下::
 

  • 與意大利米蘭理工大學合作,向工程系學生提供網絡安全及數據科學家學院課程,講授私隱及網絡安全如何關連到現時及未來的工作場所。
  • MIND、Triulza 基金會及羅伯特博世基金會合辦「Hack & Go!」黑客松活動,讓大學生探索及應對在智能城市及智能生活上應用 5G、物聯網及流動服務所帶來的挑戰;得勝隊伍獲得在 WINDTRE 為期六個月的實習機會。
  • 支持位於奧地利維也納的組織「數碼指南針」,為七年級以上的學生提供數碼學習工作坊。

  
鄉郊地區的數碼共融

偏遠地區生活或許愜意,但一大缺點可能是缺乏網絡覆蓋,令經營業務、通訊聯繫及處理事務變得更加困難。

3 英國正在與英國政府及另外數家流動電訊服務商合作,開展一個價值 10 億英鎊的「共享鄉郊網絡」項目, 保證為英國鄉郊地區 28 萬個場所及 16,000 公里道路提供網絡覆蓋。項目完成後,英國 95% 地區將擁有可靠的 4G 覆蓋。自 2021 年起, 3 英國將致力於在全國增建流動訊號塔,至 2024 年將建設及共享超過  220 個,大大提升鄉郊地區的覆蓋率。

加強農村網絡覆蓋

2019 年,3 愛爾蘭與位於多尼戈爾海岸離岸五公里的阿蘭莫爾島的阿蘭莫爾商業議會建立夥伴關係,加強島上的接駁聯繫,促進當地社會及經濟發展。在此之前, 網絡不足限制了居民建立及發展業務的能力,他們亦難以維持獨特的文化及生活方式。3 愛爾蘭協助島上的數碼中心配置超高速通訊系統及頻寬,促進有效的遙距工作及建設最先進的電話會議設施。

3 的寬頻解決方案已於島上多個商業區及社區設施妥為安裝,包括 Scoil Athphoirt,當地學生現已可以使用互動白板、進行網上研究及參與網上學習。寬頻解決方案亦促進遙距醫療應用,島上的醫療中心可與愛爾蘭主島上的顧問進行視頻諮詢,節省病人前往最近城市的四個小時往返路程。3 愛爾蘭亦推行一系列物聯網解決方案, 支持長者護理及環境監測。

印尼位列世界人口最多的國家第四名,人口分佈於超過 17,000 個島嶼。3 印尼擴展鄉郊地區業務,聯繫遍遠地方,4.5G 專業網絡現已覆蓋印尼逾 325  個城市近 35,000 條村莊及 3,700 個地區。