Occupational Health and Safety

Management approaches

Of top concern is to ensure that employee health, safety and wellbeing is maintained for all.

The Group’s management approaches are driven by a fundamental belief that all our people, employees and contractors, have the right to go home safe and well to their families every day.

Managerial responsibility for health and safety is assigned at each of the divisions. For the Telecommunications and Retail teams this generally lies within the Human Resources department and for the Ports and Infrastructure divisions, this is within dedicated HSE departments.

In order to foster a positive culture of health and safety, robust safety management systems exist across the businesses with many certified to ISO45001 or OHSAS 18001 and including procedures for hazard identification and risk assessment, industry- specific standard operating procedures, emergency preparedness procedures as well as ongoing monitoring and measurement. For example, HK Electric, UKPN, WWU, Seabank Power, SA Power Networks, and AVR have safety management systems in place that conform to ISO45001 or OHSAS 18001. Governance structures for the management of health and safety at the division-level are established.

To illustrate, at the ports division, the Hutchison Ports Group Safety Committee (“SAFCOM”) was established in 2011, with the headline remit to promote safe working and reduce accidents across the global network through the development of policies and procedures and the sharing of best practice.

SAFCOM is composed of the chairman, the secretariat (the Hutchison Ports Group Safety, Security & Environment team), six regional coordinators, as well as Hutchison Ports’ head of Human Resources and the head of Engineering. The regional coordinators are the focal points for communicating decisions and recommendations made by SAFCOM within their respective regions. Every port is required to have its own Safety Committee which oversees performance management, monitoring and measurement of employees and contractors, and is responsible for liaison with the regional coordinators. The Head of each BU is accountable for the terminal’s safety performance. Local Health and Safety teams are the teams on the ground and responsible for:
  

  • Identifying occupational hazards employees may potentially be exposed to;
  • Undertaking risk assessments; and
  • Creating safe operating procedures to remove or reduce potential harm in all areas, using legislation as a minimum standard.

  
SAFCOM has also established a safety audit programme in which safety specialists conduct on-site audits to monitor port safety performance and compliance. The safety audit team uses assessment templates based on leading international safety standards and Group internal audit requirements. Safety audit reports, including the findings and the safety improvement actions, are submitted to SAFCOM and port management for review.

During the pandemic, SAFCOM’s normal programme of port visits and auditing was temporarily adjusted. The Safety, Security & Environment team instead maintained close contact with the ports on safety matters and developed an online programme consisting of safety workshops, safety sharing sessions and safety training courses.

SAFCOM has regularly issued Standard Operating Procedures for port activities that are considered high-risk to ensuring a safe working environment. Examples include: 1. Avoidance of QC-vessel collision, 2. Operation of RC RTGC, 3. Workplace Transport Planning, and so on.
 
Business units conduct safety risk assessments to identify and assess potential hazards, associated risks and potential consequences to mitigate the risk to an acceptable level.

Since 2018, Hutchison Ports has been collecting monthly safety statistics from business units to report on their safety management activities, safety incident statistics and its details. Primary Safety Incidents require a further detailed report for follow-up by the Safety, Security & Environment (SSE) team of Ports Division.

Hutchison Ports has a Business Continuity Management Policy established to address the emergency preparedness including the related management, planning and procedures of all its business units. The Policy states that all business units should be prepared for known incidents, which include severe safety incidents.

As Hutchison Ports is moving to more automated and remote-control operation that will reduce human and machine interface, SAFCOM has been playing a supporting role in this automation development. For example, in the autonomous truck project at Hutchison Ports Thailand Terminal D, SAFCOM assigned a team to conduct safety risk assessment before the launch. The risk assessment was facilitated by safety specialists from various functions and expertise to ensure all hazards and risks have been thoroughly assessed, with mitigation measures reviewed and agreed before implementation.

Safety targets are also developed at the business unit level. For example, Hutchison Ports TICTS (Tanzania), has the following local targets:
  

  • To maintain the number of fatal accidents at zero rate;
  • To maintain the number of Lost time Injuries (LTI) at zero rate;
  • To reduce the number of First Aid Injuries by 20% in 2020;
  • To reduce the number of property damage accidents by 30% of the 2019 records; and
  • HSE induction for all contractors prior to commencement of work activities.

  
The Infrastructure division has made considerable progress in creating a culture of zero harm across its businesses and has set the tone by: i) including safety KPIs in the compensation schemes of all its businesses CEOs and executive management; ii) making health and safety the first item on the agenda of any of its global board meetings; and iii) holding an annual health and safety conference including representatives from each of the Infrastructure businesses. Top management’s commitment to health & safety is further formalised in the Health & Safety Policy.

As an example of management approach with the Infrastructure division, EDL’s dedication to safety is embedded in its culture though a range of initiatives including:
  

  • Oversight from the Global Safety Committee which meets monthly, with participation from corporate and operational support services staff;
  • A comprehensive safety culture survey conducted every two years through an independent third party that monitors and ensures the business is enabling a consistent maturity of safety culture globally;
  • The Safety Leadership Awards where the business is rewarding excellence in safety based on employee-led monthly nominations;
  • The Take 5 initiative, which serves as a hazard and risk review prior to a task being conducted;
  • EDL’s Shared Analysis Management system which provides an effective hazard and incident management recording and reporting process; and
  • Emergency Management and Crisis Management Awareness training to ensure senior managers are well-positioned to respond swiftly to emergencies and crises as well as annual update of the Crisis Management and Business Continuity Planning Programme.
 
Training programmes that have influenced NGN’s culture include:
  
  • Safety Learning Clinics to review events with a view to identifying and taking forward improvement opportunities and create an increased sense of accountability and ownership within the business;
  • A series of Behavioural Safety workshops delivered to employees and contract partners looking at what causes incidents; and
  • The Leadership Development programme that has been completed by the Senior Operational Leadership team.

 
Health and safety monitoring systems and formal audit programmes are in place across all Infrastructure businesses. Audits on the safety management system at the corporate level, Transmission and Distribution Division-level and Generation Division-level are conducted at least annually by registered safety auditors to ensure all necessary safety regulations and requirements are strictly followed.

VPN developed a High-Risk Controls Programme in 2020 including controls for the highest risk activities undertaken with the aim to reduce serious injuries. The standards are based on past incidents records, legislative requirements and industry best practice and have been communicated throughout the business.

With particular focus on proactively identifying and controlling key hazards and risks associated with site and fleet operations, EnviroNZ received a Highly Commended award in the Safe Vehicles category of the Australasian Fleet Champions Awards in 2020.

In further recognition of outstanding health and safety practices, WWU was awarded as Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents’ (“RoSPA”) Oil & Gas Sector winner for the second year running in 2020, and along with NGN also collected a Gold Award. 

Training

In 2020, Hutchison Ports rolled out a three-year safety training programme including nine courses identified by SAFCOM based on feedback from each of the ports on high risk safety aspects facing the terminals. In 2020, 1,157 participants received new training on incident investigation, safety inspection and contractor safety management. In 2021, the areas prioritised for training include working at heights, electrical safety and risk assessment.

Hutchison Ports employees also take part in employee health screening programmes. Focus areas include the prevention of work-related illness and occupational diseases, ergonomics in the workplace, environmental health and noise protection.

In addition to Hutchison Ports Group-wide coordinated programmes, every port also has their own tailored programme of initiatives and ways to communicate safety messages.

In the Infrastructure division, delivering tailored, high quality health and safety training at each business is a priority area. By means of examples for how training is prioritised at the business level:
  

  • UKPN conducts regular health and safety training programmes using external and internal experts as facilitators. In 2020, 610 leaders participated in a three-day residential training programme designed to provide awareness, skills, tools and motivation to positively shift their approach to Safety Leadership and 470 employees attended a two-day residential safety training programme. All employees who conduct or influence high risk work were further provided with tailored training during 2020.
  • The SA Power Networks Safety Leadership Academy was launched in early 2018 to continue to mature the organisation’s safety culture by encouraging and educating leaders and workers to challenge their existing approach to safety and leadership. The programme involves a challenging and interactive series of workshops, underpinned by SA Power Networks’ Work Safe Values and Standards. It introduces the principles of “human factors” and their involvement in safety related events and the Just and Fair Framework to guide consequences for both positive and negative safety behaviours.

  
Contractor safety

For the Infrastructure division, safety is integrated into tender processes and the division requires all contractors onsite to follow all applicable workplace safety and health requirements.

The Ports division has issued a Standard Operating Procedure on Contractor Safety Management that applies to all its business units globally. Contractors must also have a Health and Safety Policy which shows their commitment to health and safety. A review of contractors’ track record, which includes such evidence as past safety performance, competence of individuals and related certification, is included as part of an evaluation of prospective contractors before they are invited to submit tender for work.

For the Telecommunications division, any contractors wishing to work on 3 UK assets or sites are required to complete a client pre-qualification questionnaire which is reviewed by the Health and Safety team prior to any appointments. Contractors engaged in estate and facilities management are subject to pre-assessment by an external partner prior to arrival on our sites.

As part of the Retail refurbishment programmes, each Principal Contractor is audited during the construction work with results shared internally to the Senior Projects Manager. Facilities contractors are monitored by the facilities contractor. Network activities are monitored by a partner who specialises in QHSE auditing.

At ASW UK and Asia, processes are in place for all contractors working on site including:
  

  • Prequalification Process for maintenance teams;
  • Prequalification Process for new stores / refit teams; and
  • Part of Tender process prior to contractual agreement.

  
At ASW UK, there is also regular monitoring of contractor performance with Eurosafe audits completed twice over a new store opening and also these audits are completed over major refits and an Annual Contractor Conference is carried out. Safety training is also carried out for contractors on induction.

職業健康及安全

管理方法

確保所有員工的健康、安全及福祉得到保障是集團的重中之重。

集團的管理精神,是讓所有人員、員工及外判商每天安全回家與家人團聚。

每個業務部門均有指定的經理級人員負責健康及安全事宜。對於電訊及零售,這一般由人力資源部門負責。對於港口及零售部門,則由專門的健康、安全及環境部門處理。

為培養積極的健康及安全文化,各企業均制訂了強大的安全管理系統,其中不少已取得 ISO45001 或 OHSAS 18001 認證,包括危險識別及風險評估程序、行業特定的標準操作程序、應急準備程序以及持續監測及測量。例如港燈、UKPN 、WWU 、Seabank Power、SA Power Networks 及 AVR 均設有符合 ISO45001 或 OHSAS18001 認證的安全管理系統。在業務部門層面,亦已建立健康及安全管理的管治架構。

以港口部門為例說明,和記港口集團安全委員會於 2011 年成立,主要通過制訂政策及程序以及交流最佳實務方法,促進全球港口網絡的工作安全及減少事故發生。

安全委員會由主席、秘書處(和記港口集團安全、保安及環境團隊)、六個區域協調員以及和記港口集團人力資源總監及工程總監組成。區域協調員負責聯絡工作, 在各自區域內傳達安全委員會的決定及建議。每個港口均設立各自的安全委員會,監督員工及外判商的績效管理、監察及衡量工作,並負責與區域協調員聯絡。各區的健康與安全小組由當地員工組成,負責:
  

  • 識別員工有可能遇到的潛在職業危險,
  • 評估風險;及
  • 以法例規定為最低標準,建立安全操作程序以消除或減低所有領域的潛在危險。

  
安全委員會建立了安全查核計劃,由安全專家現場查核,監測港口安全表現及合規程度。安全查核小組的評估參照主要國際安全標準及集團內部查核要求,並編製安全查核報告,包括查核結果及安全改善行動,提交予安全委員會及港口管理層審閱。

疫情期間,安全委員會的恆常港口探訪及查核活動稍作調整,改為由安全、保安及環境團隊在安全問題上與各個港口保持密切聯繫, 並利用線上途徑提供安全工作坊、交流會及培訓課程。

為確保操作環境安全,和記港口集團安全委員會定期為被視為高危的港口活動發佈標準操作程序,例一:防止岸邊吊機與船隻發生碰撞;例二:遙控輪胎式龍門架吊機操作,及例三:工地運輸策劃等,諸如此類。

業務單位進行安全風險評估以識別及評定潛在危險、關連風險及可能引致的後果,以便將風險降低至可接受水平。

2018 年,和記港口一直向業務單位收集每月安全統計數據,就其安全管理活動、安全事故統計及其詳情作出報告。重要安全事故需要更詳盡的報告以便港口部門的安全、保安及環境小組(「SSE」)跟進。

和記港口制訂有業務連續管理政策,以處理緊急事故時須準備就緖的事宜,包括所有業務單位的有關管理策劃及程序。該政策訂明所有業務單位須為已知事件,包括嚴重安全事故做好準備。

隨著和記港口轉向自動化及遙控操作,減少人和機器之間的互動,和記港口集團安全委員會在這自動化過程中一直發揮支援角色。例如,和記港口泰國 D 碼頭採用自動駕駛貨車技術,委員會在正式推出前指派團隊進行安全風險評估。該項評估由多個單位的專家組成,確保所有危險及風險均被仔細檢查,而緩解措施亦經檢視同意後才實施。

在業務單位層面,各單位亦制訂其安全目標。以和記港口坦桑尼亞為例,其當地目標如下:
  

  • 維持致命事故率為零;
  • 維持損失工時傷害率(「LTI」)為零;
  • 2020 年減少急救創傷 20%
  • 2019 年紀錄,減少 30% 財物損壞事故;及
  • 為所有承辦商在開工前提供健康及安全培訓

  
基建部門致力營造零傷害文化,並取得重大進展,更透過以下舉措鞏固基礎:i) 將安全關鍵績效指標,納入所有企業行政總裁及執行管理層薪酬計劃;ii) 將健康及安全,列為任何全球董事會會議議程上首要項目;以及 iii) 舉行包括每個基建企業代表出席的年度健康及安全會議。制訂健康及安全政策,進一步體現高層管理人員對健康及安全的承諾。

以基建部門作為例子說明集團的管理,EDL 透過一系列措施將安全融入企業文化,其中包括:
  

  • 成立「全球安全委員會」進行監督,每月舉行一次有公司及營運支援服務人員出席的會議;
  • 進行全面安全文化調查(每兩年透過獨立第三方進行),監測並確保安全文化在企業內貫徹執行;
  • 設立「安全領導獎」,由員工每月提名,對優秀安全作業給予獎勵;
  • 訂立「Take 5」措施,執行任務前進行危險及風險審查;
  • EDL 設立「共享分析管理」系統,提供有效的危險及事故管理紀錄及報告程序;及
  • 舉辦「應急管理及危機管理意識」培訓,確保高級管理人員有能力迅速應對緊急情況及危機,並對危機管理進行年度更新及業務持續性規劃方案。

影響 NGN 文化培訓計劃:
  
  • 安全學習診所:對安全事故進行檢討,以識別及提供改進機會,並在企業內建立更強的責任感和承擔意識;
  • 安全行為工作坊:為員工和合約夥伴舉辦一系列工作坊,探討導致事故原因;及
  • 領袖發展計劃:高級營運領導團隊已完成有關計劃。


所有企業設有健康及安全監測系統及正式審計方案,審計師至少每年就公司層面、輸電及配電部門層面,以及發電部門層面的安全管理系統進行審計,以確保嚴格遵守所有必要的安全法規及要求。

2020 年,VPN 制定「高風險控制計劃」,內容包括對最高風險活動的控制,以期減少嚴重傷害。此等標準根據過去事故紀錄、立法規定及行業最佳實務為基礎,並在整個業務中廣傳。

EnviroNZ 特別重視工地和車隊營運安全,主動識別及控制相關的主要危險及風險。2020 年獲得「澳洲傑出車隊獎」安全車輛類別的高度讚揚獎。

為進一步表彰其優異的健康及安全表現,WWU 在 2020 年連續第二年獲「皇家防止事故協會」頒發 2020 年金獎,並聯同 NGN 共同獲得金獎。

培訓

2020 年,和記港口推出一個為期三年的安全培訓計劃,包括由安全委員會根據每個港口回應碼頭面對的高風險安全問題而編製的九個課程。2020 年,有 1,157 名學員參與事故調查、安全視察及外判商安全管理相關的新培訓課程。2021 年,優先考慮的培訓領域包括高空工作、電力安全及風險評估。

和記港口的員工亦參與員工健康檢查計劃,計劃重點包括預防與工作有關的疾病及職業病、工作場所的人體工學、環境健康及噪音保護。

除了由和記港口統籌的計劃外,每個港口亦各自倡議安全措施及傳達安全信息。

基建部門以舉辦量身訂制、高質素的健康及安全培訓為首要事務。以下例子說明培訓如何在業務上受到重視:
  

  • UKPN 定期舉辦由外聘和內部專家主持的健康及安全培訓計劃。2020 年,610 名領導參加了為期三天的留宿培訓,從安全意識、技巧、工具、學習動機等給予指導, 以期學員以領導者的角色思考和帶領團隊。另外,470 名員工參加了為期兩天的留宿安全培訓。2020 年期間,所有進行或影響高風險工作的員工,都進一步接受了針對性的培訓。
  • SA Power Networks 於 2018 年初推出「安全領袖學院」,鼓勵及教育領導人員及工人,挑戰其現有安全及領導能力, 令組織安全文化更趨成熟。該課程以 SA Power Networks 安全工作價值理念及標準為基礎,舉辦一系列具挑戰和互動的研討會。課程引入「人為因素」原則以及其在安全事故中擔當的角色,並以「公正與公平框架」,對正面及負面安全行為所產生後果作出指導。

  
承辦商安全

基建部門已將安全納入承辦商的投標程序,並要求所有承辦商在工地遵守一切適用的安全及健康要求。

港口部門已就承辦商安全管理發布標準操作程序,適用於全球所有業務單位。承辦商亦須制訂健康及安全政策以示其承諾。 承辦商表現紀錄,其中包括過去安全表現、個人能力及相關文件等証據,將在承辦商被邀請投標時作為審核內容的一部分。

電訊部門方面,承辦商如希望承辦 3 英國資產或場地的工程,須填報客戶預前資格審查問卷,由部門的健康及安全小組審議後始能安排會面。參與房屋及設施管理工程的承辦商則需由部門的外部伙伴進行資格審議,始能夠進入工地。

作為零售部門翻新計劃的一部分,每個主要承辦商在工程期間的表現將被稽核,其結果將送交高級工程經理作內部參考。承辦設施工程的承辦商由負責的承辦商進行監察 ;網絡活動由專責質量、健康、安全、環境的伙伴進行稽核。

在工地工作的承辦商,須遵從屈臣氏英國及亞洲訂立的以下程序,包括:
  

  • 維修團隊的預前資格審議程序;
  • 新店舖 / 改裝負責團隊的預前資格審議程序;及
  • 作為簽訂標書前的一部分程序。

  
屈臣氏英國亦定期進行 Eurosafe 稽核以監察承辦商表現,例如為新開張店舖及重要的改造工程完成稽核,並舉行年度承辦商會議,亦為新加入的承辦商提供安全培訓。