Training and Development
Targeted learning, leadership and skills development progammes address all employees from top management to line level employees.

Training programmes are also continuously refreshed to respond to the changing needs of the customer, to encourage innovation and to support digital transformation.

Per CK Hutchison’s Employment Policy, all full-time employees are eligible for degree and certification programmes support where related to their job description.

Building skillsets and future leaders

Hutchison Ports’ Regional Development Programme has been specially designed to identify and develop Hutchison Ports’ future leaders. This two-year programme aims to help future leaders build the transferable skills and knowledge to support business growth and expansion through high impact experiential learning, senior executive mentoring, webinars and group work on business projects. In 2019, two cohorts spanning Europe, the Middle East & Africa and Asia completed the programme and another cohort began in 2020.

In 2020, a new talent development programme was launched to develop more junior talent: MYPORT. Through MYPORT, participants are engaged through a series of virtual learning topics on practical skills and tools in areas such as career planning, executive branding, network building and leadership skills development.

In addition to Hutchison Ports’ division-wide initiatives, various training programmes are organised within each port to develop future talent in areas such as operations management, engineering and information services.

The ASW Agile Leadership Series is designed to develop a pool of high-performing senior executives with the strategic leadership skills needed to move into a more senior leadership role within the business. All modules are designed around the ASW Leadership Capabilities and key strategic drivers are updated every year to reflect key business trends. The 2021 programme will include modules on: Agile Leadership 2.0 & the Future of Work, Digitalisation & Analytics Driven Business Acumen and Driving Customer-Focused Results. The programme is delivered by the Richard Ivey School of Business using a hybrid delivery approach.

ASW also offers structured development programmes for managers with potential to move into a senior management role under the Aspire Leadership Programme which covers critical business skills. The Ignite Leadership Programme for first line managers focuses specifically on soft skills development.

ASW is the first retail group in Hong Kong to offer 14 Qualification Framework-recognised programmes for the acquisition of retail skills, knowledge and best practice. The aim of the ASW Retail Academy is to provide a platform of continuous learning for retail professionals and develop a pipeline of retail talent equipped with the necessary skills and knowledge while also enhancing their engagement at work.

The accreditation process ensures that training programmes meet the required standards and stringent quality assurance processes developed by the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications.

The Qualification Framework extends across all retail business units in Hong Kong and consists of a range of topics from Certificate programmes through to Advanced Diploma levels.

At the Infrastructure division, employees across all levels benefit from structured development programmes with the understanding that quality training leads to improved results, productivity and engagement.

At AGIG, the Manager to Leader Program is designed to equip employees with the skills, capacity and mindset to lead long- term, and deliver sustainable growth and transformation as focused, accountable and visible leaders. The programme has been designed to enable employees to understand the strategic context in which they operate and adapt their leadership to the needs of AGIG and its people. In addition, participants have the opportunity to focus on their personal leadership journey through a combination of one-on-one mentorship and workshops.

With a focus on developing new talent and succession planning, Northumbrian Water currently has 45 employees studying for an apprenticeship qualification and over 50 employees studying for formal qualifications in areas such as water engineering to deepen their skillsets and expand their work horizons.

SA Power Networks has first-hand proof of how training and a rewarding workplace feeds directly into high levels of retention. More than 550 apprentices and 220 engineering graduates employed since 2003 are now in supervisory and leadership positions across the organisation, with another 105 apprentices in training. Over the past 20 years, the business has trained 575 electrical apprentices and it has retained almost all of them in the business (a 93% retention rate).

Within the Telecommunications division, skills gaps are identified through training needs analysis and training is provided accordingly across a wide range of areas such as change management, negotiation, presentation, resilience, storytelling, time management, emotional intelligence, working virtually and business writing skills. The division also supports further education opportunities through education support funds.

The Telecommunications division has developed comprehensive programmes to facilitate high performance in leaders and their teams.

The Elevate Leadership Development Programme is available to all people managers in the UK and Irish businesses. The programme is updated annually to provide comprehensive growth and development in all areas of leadership. At the senior level, the programme also provides for 180 assessments and 1-2-1 coaching for the participants.

3 UK and 3 Ireland also have access to the Phenomenal Teams programme which is designed to build high performance teams. The programme takes place over a six-month period and has robust assessment built in to test how effective the interventions have been for the team.

With a view to developing a pipeline of future talent and leaders in the company, the Hong Kong and Macau business holds an annual management trainee programme for university graduates. New recruits participate in cross-functional rotations, in addition to comprehensive training and mentorship from senior leaders before talking on permanent roles within the business.

Upskilling for future-fit business

Ensuring employees are prepared as the future of work changes, the Retail division has launched the Digital Fitness Programme and the Digital Learning Faculty to ensure the continuous refresh of training material in keeping pace with the digital transformation.

Employees in the Ports division also have the opportunity to retrain in the latest smart port technologies; for example, crane operators are being trained in autonomous crane operations.

Also looking to develop a future pipeline and ensure the business is equipped as the future of energy changes, NGN is working with Leeds City College and Leeds College of Building to create a bespoke two-year foundation degree specifically tailored to the gas business and areas of NGN focus. At the heart of the programme will be a focus on the future of energy, particularly in hydrogen development. Students will also benefit by having the opportunity to intern with NGN and eventually seek employment.

The telecommunications industry is evolving at a rapid speed with new technologies such as AI and cloud computing demanding more and more from employee skillsets. The Telecommunications division therefore constantly reviews the critical skills employees need to have and invests in developing programmes to keep their skills and knowledge relevant and future-ready.

The Hong Kong and Macau business held a number of digital skills training programmes in 2020 including: Transforming in the Digital Age; Service Marketing 2.0-Digitalised Customer Experience Management & Loyalty Marketing, and a series of IT applications development courses for enhancing both in house and frontline digital tools and applications such as Containers, Kubernetes, and Red Hat OpenShift.

3 UK and 3 Ireland are building digital skills in areas such as search engine optimisation, search engine marking, DevOps, DesignOps and Adobe Experience Manager through digital platforms the businesses have invested in.

LinkedIn Learning is also leveraged to give employees access to over 16,000 courses on topics such as AI, data science and business analytics.

The Mindset and Digital Skills Development Programme launched in 2020 aims to prepare WINDTRE employees for the challenges presented by the digital transformation and to develop the necessary skills through a multi-year training programme. The programme includes all employees and is carried out in collaboration with the Technology Department at Politecnico di Milano. The main topics covered in 2020 were: 5G and Network Function Virtualisation, Six-Sigma, Itaca, and Core Network Virtualisation.
 

A focus on upskilling

In 2020, the World Economic Forum sounded the alarm by announcing that the world is facing an upskilling emergency with a need to upskill more than 1 billion people by 2030 as jobs become transformed by technology. Recognising the rapid rate at which the world is being changed by technology, ASW is committed to ensuring its people are not left behind.

Building careers in today’s highly digital, data-driven world requires adaptability, flexibility, and a commitment to lifelong learning. Group People Asia have developed a series of Upskilling Programmes in critical functions including: Sales Operations, Supply Chain and Trading.

These blended learning programmes combine planned Experiences, Exposure and Education targeting key managers. They leverage world class eLearning including Coveys All Access Pass and Supply Chain Academy.

ASW’s goal is to build a future-ready workforce and provide its people with ways to keep their skills relevant in line with what the future holds.

As part of the Digital Fitness Programme, ASW recently established the ASW Digital Learning Faculty, a multi-functional team of digital enthusiasts from its eLab, DataLab, Big Data, eCommerce, Marketing, People, Sales Operations and Trading teams to coordinate, deliver, manage, measure and refresh the Digital Upskilling content. Supported through senior management mentorship, the Faculty’s role is to ensure content is fit for purpose, supports the division’s long term digital transformation, and ultimately adds value to the customer experience.

ASW offers a Reverse Mentoring Programme leveraging digital native team members to give senior executives an opportunity to stay up-to-date with the latest business technologies, workplace trends and what drives and motivates younger talent. This also serves to help these junior mentors see the bigger picture and give them a glimpse of macro-level management issues.

Customer-centric training

Excellence in customer centricity is crucial to the Group’s success and this is done in different ways across the Group in order to build meaningful and long-term relationships with customers. 

Putting customers first, WWU has created a skills-building development programme supporting effective stakeholder engagement, including building rapport, collaboration, communication skills and emotional intelligence to deliver better outcomes for its customers.

Storytelling gives an excellent opportunity to truly connect with customers and helps create personal interaction and experiences that they remember. In 2020, ASW delivered Storytelling sessions to all of its business units providing them with the tools to help identify and create valuable stories about their customers, their teams and their products to better influence, engage and inspire others.

Sustainability training

Developing sustainability leadership capability, that is embedded across departments and beyond the sustainability department, is something important to the Group.

Several businesses have gone above and beyond to develop that capability.

ASW has 300 Ambassadors worldwide who have sustainability as part of their role. To upskill colleagues who are critical to leading on internal sustainability programmes, ASW sponsored 96 employees during 2019 and 2020 to go through the “Sustainability Essentials for Business” training course delivered by Cambridge Institute of Sustainability Leadership.

Developing the next generation of sustainability leaders, while also keeping a pulse on what the younger generation is looking for from the industry with respect to sustainability, ASW developed the Millennials Committee which includes 13 millennials chosen from across 11 markets in Asia and Europe. This passionate Committee is an important part of the division’s sustainability strategy development, providing direct input and spearheading projects in priority areas such as making the store environment more sustainable and improving the inclusivity and diversity of its workforce. The Millennial Committee is also provided with mentorship and support from senior management team to ensure they are being developed and empowered.

As another example, WINDTRE, in collaboration with LUISS Business School, developed and rolled out a sustainability training course for 300 managers across Italy, and rolled out e-learning to all employees.

培訓及發展
針對性學習、領導力及技能發展計劃,由高級管理層到一般員工同樣適用。

隨著顧客需求的改變,培訓內容亦不斷更新以鼓勵創新和支持數碼轉型。

根據長江和記的僱傭政策,所有全職員工均可申請資助,報讀與其工作要求相關的學位及文憑課程。

建立技能及未來領袖

和記港口區域發展計劃是專為發掘及提拔和記港口的未來領袖而設計。計劃為期兩年,通過高強度體驗學習、高管人員指導、網絡研討會及商業項目小組工作,協助未來領袖建立可轉移技能及知識,以應付業務上的增長及拓展。2019 年,來自歐洲、中東和非洲以及亞洲的兩批學員已完成了區域發展計劃,另一批學員亦已於 2020 年開始接受培訓。

2020 年推出了一個全新人才發展計劃「MYPORT」,培養更多有能力的初級員工。通過 MYPORT 計劃,學員得以參與一系列虛擬學習課題,在職業規劃、行政人員形象、建立人際網絡及領導能力發展等領域掌握實用的技能及方法。

除了和記港口安排的學習舉措,各港口亦組織多種培訓,栽培營運管理、工程及資訊服務等領域的未來人才。

屈臣氏集團的 Agile 領袖系列,旨在為企業培養一批具有戰略領導能力的高級管理人員,所有單元均圍繞領袖能力設計。而隨著業務趨勢的轉變,培訓重點亦每年更新。2021 年的課程包括以下單元:《Agile 領袖 2.0 與未來工作》,《數碼化與商務分析驅動的商業觸覺》,以及《推動以客戶本的業績》。該課程由 Richard Ivey 商學院採用混合授課方式進行。

Aspire 領袖計劃下,屈臣氏集團為有潛質進入高級管理層的經理提供有序的發展計劃,涵蓋關鍵業務技能;其中針對一線經理的 Ignite 領袖計劃,特別注重軟性領導力的培養。

屈臣氏集團是香港首家提供 14 個資歷架構認可課程的零售集團,包括零售技能、知識和最佳實務。屈臣氏集團零售學院旨在為從事零售業人士提供持續學習的平台,培養他們成為優秀員工。

評審程序確保培訓課程符合香港學術及職業資歷評審局制定的標準和嚴格質素保證。

資歷架構涵蓋屈臣氏集團香港所有零售業務單位,包括由證書課程至高級文憑級別等一系列課程。

基建部門所有級別的員工均受益於結構有序的人才發展計劃,因為優質培訓會改善業績、生產力及參與度。

AGIG 的「從經理晋身領導計劃」旨在加強員工裝備,讓他們在技巧、能力和心態上可長期帶領團隊取得持續增長, 透過歷練成為專注、負責任和勇於面向大眾的領導人才。計劃在設計上讓員工充分了解其所處的策略背景,使其領導力切合 AGIG 及其員工的需要。此外,參與者有機會透過一對一指導,結合工作坊學習,提升個人領導能力。

Northumbrian Water 注重培育新人及落實繼任計劃,目前有 45 名員工接受學徒訓練,另有 50 多名員工學習水務工程等領域的正式資格,以加強其技能及擴闊工作職能。

SA Power Networks 以第一手經驗,證明培訓及讓員工有所發揮,有助維持員工低流失率。自 2003 年以來, 超過 550 名學徒及 220 名工程系畢業生已在機構晉升至監督及領導職位,現時尚有 105 名學徒接受培訓。於過去 20 年,該企業已培訓 575 名電氣學徒,幾乎全數留任,保留率達 93%

電訊部門亦透過分析檢視培訓需要,提供廣泛的技能學習,例如變故管理、談判、演講、復原力、講故事技巧、時間管理、情緒智力、虛擬工作及商業寫作技巧等。部門亦通過教育援助基金為僱員提供進修機會。

電訊部門已制訂全面方案令領導人才及其團隊得以發揮,一展所長。

英國及愛爾蘭業務的人事管理人員均可參加提升領導能力發展計劃。該計劃每年更新一次,提供全面的成長及發展培訓,亦為高層員工提供 180 項評估及一對一輔導。

3 英國及 3 愛爾蘭的業務人員亦可參加非凡團隊計劃。該計劃為期六個月,旨在建立高績效團隊,並備有完善的評核功能,以測試完成培訓後對團隊的效用。

為培養未來的人才及領袖,香港及澳門的電訊業務每年為大學畢業生舉辦管理見習生計劃。新招聘的員工除接受全面培訓及高級員工的指導外,亦在不同部門輪換工作,然後才於固定崗位任職。

提升技能適應未來業務

為確保員工在未來的工作變化中做好準備,零售部門推出「數碼課程計劃」及「數碼學習學院」,確保培訓內容持續更新,跟上數碼轉型步伐。

港口部門員工亦有機會接受再培訓,學習智能港口最新技術,例如,吊機操作人員現正接受自動吊機操作訓練。

為發展未來的人才庫,並確保業務能夠適應將來的能源轉變,NGN 正與利茲城市學院及列斯建築學院合作,成立一個專門為天然氣業務及 NGN 重點領域訂制的兩年制基礎學位課程。課程核心以未來能源,尤其是氫能方面學習為主。學生還將有機會在 NGN 實習,或最終成為員工。

電訊業發展迅速,人工智能及雲計算等新技術要求員工掌握更多知識和技能。電訊部門定期審視員工的關鍵技能需要,並提供培訓課程,確保相關的技能及知識配合未來發展。

香港及澳門的電訊業務在 2020 年舉辦多個數碼技能培訓課程,其中包括「數碼年代的轉型」、「服務市場推廣 2.0 -數碼化的客戶體驗管理及忠誠度市場推廣」,以及一系列如 Containers、Kubernetes 及 Red Hat OpenShift 等應用軟件的課程,以提高內部及前線員工使用數碼工具的 能力。

3 英國及 3 愛爾蘭通過所投資的數碼平台建立數碼技能,主要領域包括搜索引擎優化技術、搜索引擎標記、以及 DevOps、DesignOps 及 Adobe Experience Manager 等工具。

部門亦充分利用 LinkedIn Learning 平台上超過 16,000 個課程,讓員工接觸人工智能、數據科學及商務分析等不同知識。

WINDTRE2020 年推出的「思維及數碼技能發展計劃」, 旨在讓員工為數碼轉型帶來的挑戰做好準備,並配合多年的課程內容裁培所需技巧。該計劃與米蘭理工大學的技術部門合作,涵蓋所有員工。 2020 年的主要議題包括 5G 及網絡功能虛擬化、六式碼、Itaca 及核心網絡虛擬化。
 

以技能提升為重點

2020 年,世界經濟論壇敲響了警鐘,宣佈世界正面臨急需提升技能的情況。隨着科技改變了工作性質,到 2030 年,逾 10 億人需要技能提升。因此,集團須確保員工的技能與時並進。

在當今這個高度數碼化和數據推動的世界,發展事業需要提高適應能力、發揮靈活性和堅持終身學習。集團亞洲人力資源部在關鍵職能上展開了一系列的技能提升計劃,包括銷售營運、供應鏈和貿易。

這些混合式課程針對關鍵管理人員,強調經驗、體驗和學習的結合。他們採用的是 Coveys All Access Pass 和供應鏈學院等頂級的電子學習課程。

屈臣氏集團的目標是裝備一支為未來服務的隊伍,與時並進,他日可一展所長。

為加強數碼能力,屈臣氏集團最近成立了數碼學習 專才團隊,這是一個由 eLAB、DataLab、大數據、電子商務、市場營銷、人才、銷售營運和貿易團隊組成的多功能數碼愛好者團隊,旨在協調、交付、管理、量度和更新數碼技術的學習內容。在高級管理導師的帶領下,此團隊須確保內容符合目的,支援部門的長期數碼轉型,並最終為顧客體驗增加價值。

屈臣氏集團利用年輕人熟習數碼技術的便利提供逆向指導計劃,一方面讓高級管理人員有機會了解最新的數碼商業技術、職場趨勢,以及甚麼驅動和激勵年輕人;同時亦拓闊這些年輕導師的視野,從宏觀角度思考管理問題。

以客為先的培訓

以客為先的卓越服務是集團成功的關鍵。集團透過不同渠道和方法與顧客建立有效連繫,鞏固長久關係。

WWU 一向以客戶為先,因此設計了一個技能訓練發展計劃,支持有效的持份者參與,包括建立融洽的關係、合作、溝通技巧及情緒智力,為客戶提供更好服務。

以講故事形式用作溝通,能建立互動及幫助聯繫。2020 年,屈臣氏集團為所有業務單位安排培訓,提供講故事的技巧,幫助他們創作關於顧客、團隊和產品的寶貴故事,加強說話的感染力和影響力。

可持續發展培訓

建立可持續發展遠見的領導能力對集團異常重要,這是集團所有部門的共識,其中部份業務更已多行一步,著力發展。

在屈臣氏集團整體業務中,全球有 300 位大使的部分職務涉及可持續發展。為了提升負責領導內部可持續發展同事的技能,屈臣氏集團於 2019 年和 2020 年間,贊助了 96 名員工參加由英國劍橋大學可持續領導力學院提供的《商業可持續發展要務》培訓課程。

為了培養新一代的可持續發展領袖,同時也為了解年輕一代對行業可持續發展的需求,屈臣氏集團成立了千禧世代委員會,包括 13 名從亞洲和歐洲 11 個市場選出的千禧世代成員。這個充滿熱誠的委員會是屈臣氏集團的重要策略組成部分,負責提供意見和推進例如店舖環境改善項目,使其符合可持續發展的要求,以及提高團隊的共融和多元文化。千禧世代委員會還得到高級管理團隊的指導和支持,確保他們得到發展和賦權。

舉另一個例子,WINDTRELUISS 商學院合作,為意大利的 300 名管理人員推出可持續發展培訓課程,並向員工推出電子學習。