Circular Economy - Infrastructure Division

Providing a second life for products in the Infrastructure division

Tough, transparent packaging films are critical in protecting the integrity of many of the essential components used by the gas networks.

Traditionally, however, those films are manufactured from low density polyethylene (LDPE) which can take decades to decompose in the environment. That’s why nine UK energy and utility networks including NGN and WWU have pledged their support for a study to develop biodegradable packaging materials that will meet the required standards, perform as well as (or better than) current packaging and significantly improve environmental impact. Developed by Hive and Marinatex, the plastic alternative uses fish waste from sustainable marine feedstocks. NGN will be working with product developers to develop, test and prototype new types of packaging in the future.

At ista, the company has programmes in place to take back customer devices such as water meters and heat cost allocators for reuse or recycling. ista is also developing a tool, the Product Recovery Decision Support Tool, determine whether reuse or recycling is the best option in terms of financial added value and CO2 emissions. Audits are also carried out to ensure as high as a recycling rate as possible with its partners.

Hazardous and non-hazardous waste management in the Infrastructure division

The Group is extremely careful about managing waste generated from its operations; within the Infrastructure division this is particularly important with respect to the by-products of energy generation. The division’s collective efforts to reduce waste involve employees, contractors, suppliers, regulators and other third parties. The Group always advocates waste reduction at the source and encourages the reuse and recycling of waste for other projects. Waste management plans have been formulated and implemented to enable recycling and reuse, and proper storage, collection, treatment and disposal of waste. Further, the division’s power plants have been collecting generation by-products including ash and gypsum for industrial use, such as the manufacturing of cement.

As for WWU, hazardous solid waste is stored securely at depots within locked units or managed open storage areas. The waste is segregated into clearly-defined hazardous waste streams at each depot. At NGN, approximately 99.5% of the waste by weight is excavation spoil. Spoil is excavated, segregated by type on-site and visually assessed for contamination. Clean spoil is sent off-site to recycling centres for processing into recycled aggregate. Contaminated spoil is segregated, tested, classified and then sent to the appropriate facility for treatment and/or disposal.

SA Power Networks conducts substation audits each year to assess its oil-filled assets (such as high voltage transformers and insulators) against safety, condition and other environmental criteria. It also checks for PCB (polychlorinated biphenyl) contamination from old transformers and circuit breakers. Substations located close to homes, offices, waterways or conservation areas or that are considered high risk, may require the installation of bunding (a type of wall) around transformers to protect the surrounding area from a leak.

The Infrastructure division has developed several waste targets to drive further progress including:
  

  • UKPN: Divert more than 90% of the waste from landfills and recycle more than 80% of the waste from the top six sites by December 2021. To achieve this target, UKPN is progressing with plans to pilot best-practice recycling which involves establishing improved monitoring and measuring recycling practices, and initiatives such as the enhanced behavioural campaign and the roll-out of new fit for purpose bins.
 
  • WWU:
    • Reuse and recycle at least 80% of waste by 2026 and send zero waste to landfill by 2035, to achieve our ambition to be a zero waste company by 2050.
    • Divert at least 80% of excavated spoil materials, which accounts for over 95% of total waste generated by WWU, from landfills by 2026.

  • Seabank Power: Investigate new technologies and the ability to reduce the amount of back up biocide dosing being used and in chemicals for the secondary treated sewage water used as process cooling water.

  • Alliance Construction Materials: Reduce waste generated from concrete production to 0.02T/m3 of concrete produced. This target was achieved in 2020.

循環經濟:基建部門

基建部門為產品提供第二生命

堅韌、透明的包裝膜對於保護燃氣網絡使用的多樣重要組件至為重要。

傳統以來,這些膠膜以低密度聚乙烯製造,需花數十年時間才能在環境中分解。有鑑於此,英國能源及公用事業網絡,包括 NGN 及 WWU 已承諾支持進行研究,研發可以滿足要求標準、表現可堪比美甚至超越現有產品,且能大幅減少環境影響的可生物分解包裝物料。由 Hive 和 Marinatex 研發的塑料替代品,以可持續的海洋原料 -- 廢棄魚類製造。NGN 將與產品開發商合作開發、測試、為未來新的包裝膜製造原型。

ista 設有計劃回收客户的水錶及供暖讀錶等裝置循環再用。ista 亦正研發輔助工具,以財務增值及二氧化碳排放等考量標準決定該裝置是否有利於重複使用或循環再用。公司亦進行審核盡可能確保與合作伙伴間的高回收率。

基建部門的危險性及非危險性廢物處理

集團在處理營運時產生的廢棄物極為小心,這對基建部門發電所產生的副產品而言尤為重要。部門在減廢上的集體努力,涉及僱員、承辧商、供應商、規管機構和其他第三者的參與。集團一向提倡源頭減廢,鼓勵重用或將廢棄物循環再造用於其他項目。集團已制訂及實施廢物管理計劃,令廢物得以妥善回收、重用、儲存、收集、處理及棄置。此外,部門的發電廠一直以來收集飛灰及石膏等發電副産品用作製造水泥等工業用途。

WWU 方面,危險性固體廢物存放於上鎖的倉庫或被管理的露天存放範圍。每個倉庫均將危險性廢物類别明確分隔。NGN 的廢棄物若以重量計算,99.5% 是被挖出的棄土。土石被挖出後,會在現場按類別分隔並進行目測以檢視污染程度。清潔的棄土會被送往回收中心處理成再造碎石。受污染的棄土將被分隔、測試及分類,然後送往相關設施進行處理及 / 或棄置。

SA Power Networks 每年進行電站稽核,以評估其充油式資產(例如高壓變壓器及絶緣裝置)的安全、現況及其他環保 標準。其亦檢測舊變電站和斷路器的多氯聯苯(PCB)污染。位置鄰近住家、寫字樓、水道、保育或被視為高危地區的電力分站或需在變壓器外圍加建外牆保障洩漏。

基建部門已制訂多項處理廢物的目標加快進程,包括:
  

  • UKPN 2021 年 12 月前,將堆填區的廢物量轉移 90% 以上,並從六個主要場區回收 80% 以上的廢物。要達至目標,UKPN 現正推行循環再造最佳實務的 試點計劃, 其中包括提升監察及量度循環再造的實踐情况,以及加强行為改變和推出新的廢物收集廂等舉措。
 
  • WWU
    • 2026 年前,重用及回收至少 80% 的廢物;2035 年前,送往堆填區的廢物量為零;2050 年前,成為製造零廢物的公司。
    • 2026 年前,將存放在堆填區的挖出棄土量(佔 WWU 整體廢物量 95% 以)轉移至少 80%
 
  • Seabank Power 研究新技術減少現時使用的後備殺生物劑量,以及減少用於處理污水,作為冷卻水用途的化學品用量。
  
  • Alliance Construction Materials 減少製造混凝土時的廢物量至每立方米産量 0.02 噸。這項目標已於 2020 年達成。