Circular Economy - Retail Division
More than 90% of non-hazardous waste generated relates to packaging waste and food waste at ASW.

Packaging

When it comes to waste reduction and building a circular economy, it is fundamental to look at the whole system, beyond the operational waste created on-site to the products and packaging customers are sent home with, or delivered to them, and therefore what eventually ends up in their bins.

Packaging plays a fundamental role in protecting products and where relevant to ASW’s food retail operations, preventing food waste. There is however a cost to the environment if it is not properly collected and recycled, and will end up polluting land and waterways.

Over 80% of ASW’s packaging relates to plastics and paper. It has therefore focused packaging efforts and goals on these two materials.

In 2020, ASW took an important step by signing up to the NPE Global Commitment, led by the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, an organisation widely considered as the foremost thought leader in building a circular economy. At the heart of the NPE Global Commitment is a vision of a circular economy for plastic in which it never becomes waste.

As part of this, ASW is committed to the following targets as set out by the NPE Global Commitment:
 

  • Take action to eliminate problematic or unnecessary plastic packaging by 2025 through actions such as reducing plastic packaging weight, replacing plastic packaging with more sustainable materials where possible, and banning polyvinyl chloride ("PVC");
  • Take action to move from single-use towards reuse models by 2025 by providing customers with options of refill at home and refill in-store, where relevant and possible;
  • 100% of plastic packaging to be reusable, recyclable, or compostable by 2025 (including Own Brand product packaging, eCommerce parcels and in-store carrier bags); and
  • Set an ambitious 2025 recycled content target across all plastic packaging used. ASW has set a division-wide average target of 20% recycled plastic content in Own Brand packaging.

 
Regarding paper packaging, the division aims for its Own Brand paper packaging to be made exclusively from sustainable sources by 2030. A “sustainable source” for paper material is defined as being either certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (“FSC”) or the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (“PEFC”), or being made with 100% recycled paper content.

ASW monitors waste generated by Own Brand products through continuous monitoring of waste quantity and types. The division has developed an Own Brand Sustainable Packaging Guideline and Policy to support internal Own Brand development teams and suppliers in reducing the amount of packaging used in Own Brand products, wherever possible, without compromising technical performance, product safety, quality and overall regulatory compliance.

Key achievements and plans in applying the 4Rs to packaging include:
 

  • 42% of Own Brand paper packaging is made exclusively from sustainable sources (either FSC, PEFC or recycled content);
  • 7% recycled plastic content is used as an average across all Own Brand packaging.
  • Watsons is relaunching its retail Own Brand range of beauty/ bath accessories initially packaged in plastic, now only in FSC certified paper packaging, which will help save over 60 tonnes of plastic per year;
  • In the Health & Beauty business, since 2019 ASW has been gradually replacing the plastic shaft of Own Brand cotton buds with paper;
  • Since 2018, Superdrug has moved to 100% recycled cardboard boxes and 100% recycled and recyclable paper for online deliveries, saving approximately 300 tonnes virgin cardboard annually;
  • In 2018, Superdrug moved from a single use carrier bag to a reusable carrier bag. In 2020, Superdrug launched its first reusable tote bag made from recycled plastic bottles;
  • Watsons partnered with World Wide Fund for Nature (“WWF”) in Singapore to implement the Plastic ACTion (“PACT”) Retail Bag Charge initiative which aims to incentivise reduced consumption of plastic bags by opting for reusable alternatives;
  • ASW food retail outlets in Hong Kong became the first retailer in 2019 in the city to stop the sales of single-use plastic straws, and to offer alternatives made with metal or bamboo. The division is also already selling a growing range of sustainable alternatives to single use plastic cutlery, plates and cups;
  • To reduce the use of plastic containers, PARKnSHOP has been offering a discount of HK$2 for customers that brings their own box in 20 food counters in Hong Kong;
  • In 2020, Wastons Asia markets launched a filter on the eCommerce platform to highlight refill packs to customers;
  • To encourage the public uptake of reusable water bottles, Watson’s Water has installed 17 public water refill stations, with the plan to install 100 by 2025; and
  • Watsons water was the first brand to incorporate 100% recycled polyethylene terephthalate (“rPET”) in its water bottle packaging sold in Hong Kong (since 2016). It is now working on introducing rPET bottles for other Own Brand drinks.

  

Helping the public recycle more

Reverse vending machines
In 2019, ASW was the first beverage bottler in Hong Kong to launch a scaled plastic bottle container collection programme with the use of reverse vending machines (“RVMs”). To help encourage Hong Kong to recycle more, ASW has installed 84 RVMs around the city offering customers incentives such as cash rebates, shopping coupons and loyalty points for bringing their plastic bottles to the RMVs. As part of this programme, ASW is collaborating with the Hong Kong government’s Environmental Protection Department’s RVM Pilot Scheme.

ASW aims to install 400 RVMS in Hong Kong by 2025 to facilitate its goal of collecting an equivalent of 100% of water bottles sold in Hong Kong by Watsons Water by 2030.

To ensure ASW has placed the RVMs in the right locations, a public survey was carried out to understand the user- friendliest locations, with shopping malls and retail outlets being identified as the top locations. Understanding user motivation was also part of the survey to ensure incentive structures and promotional activities were best positioned.

Since starting the initiative, ASW has collected over 750,000 bottles in Hong Kong.

Plastic Reborn Partnership
Watsons Hong Kong is refreshing its plastic container recycling campaign “Plastic Reborn”. In partnership with P&G, Watsons will provide convenient collection points across the city and work with Hong Kong-based circular economy service, The Loops, to send plastic personal care containers to a local recycling facility in Tuen Mun. ASW targets collecting and recycling 110,000 plastic personal care containers in 2021, and 210,000 by 2023.

Recycling tough-to-recycle packaging
In the UK, 146 million makeup products are produced every year, with little opportunity to recycle them due to the mixed material components of makeup containers. To tackle this issue, Superdrug teamed up with Maybelline and specialist recycler, Terracycle, to place recycling stations in Superdrug stores to help customers dispose of old or unused products from any brand of makeup which will then be recycled through a bespoke recycling process.

With Terracycle’s help, Superdrug also became the first UK retailer to provide customers with a solution to recycle empty medicine blister packs in store. With a trial taking place in 10 Superdrug pharmacies during 2020, the initiative will be rolled out across all 200 pharmacies in the UK by January 2021.


Food

According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, one third of food produced for human consumption is lost or wasted globally, which equates to 1.3 billion tonnes per year. Total food waste amounted to 206 tonnes in 2020, including edible waste donated and non-edible waste sent for compost, animal feed or to landfill as a last resort. ASW aims to take every available step to ensure that no food fit for human consumption should go to waste.

ASW’s priority is to reduce food waste at source. Ways in which ASW does this include: better food forecasting by analysing customer preferences, minimising unnecessary stock movement between stores, implementing detailed food handling guidelines for stores to avoid waste and marking down prices of food approaching “best before” or expiry dates.

Surplus edible food is donated to food banks with the help of appointed ASW Food Rescue Ambassadors at each of the 150 participating stores around Hong Kong. Food waste classified as non-edible food waste is then transferred to local farms or composting facilities, and as a last priority is sent to landfill.

 

Donating food with Food Angel

Since 2012, Food Angel has been an important food donation partner to PARKnSHOP Hong Kong, enabling PARKnSHOP to donate 3,100 tonnes of food and delivering 12 million hot meal boxes and food packs to those in need.

In 2013, PARKnSHOP also launched the City Food Drive Campaign to enable customers to purchase and donate grocery items to Food Angel. Through the generosity of customers, the campaign has collected more than 380,000 food items to help Food Angel.

ASW employees also volunteer at Food Angel’s central kitchen and community centre, giving employees a chance to see first-hand how thoughtful handling of food surplus items can go a long way to creating meaningful impact in the community.

循環經濟:零售部門
屈臣氏集團所產生的非危險性廢物中,九成以上與包裝及廢棄食品有關。

包裝

當我們減少廢棄物和建立循環經濟時,最根本的著眼點是整個系統,從現場產生的營運廢物,到顧客帶回家或送遞至顧客的產品包裝,以至最終落入顧客垃圾箱的廢物。

包裝在保護產品方面起着重要作用,就屈臣氏集團的食品零售業務而言,它能防止浪費食物。然而,若包裝沒有適當收集及回收,最終會污染土地和水道,為環境帶來傷害。

屈臣氏集團超過 80% 的包裝與塑膠及紙張有關,遂集中處理此兩種材料的運用。

屈臣氏集團在 2020 年邁出重要一步,簽署由  Ellen MacArthur 基金會領導的新塑膠經濟(「NPE」)全球承諾,該基金會是公認為建立循環經濟的最重要意見領袖,其核心是發展一個塑膠循環經濟的願景,令塑膠永遠不成為廢物。.

屈臣氏集團為實現新塑膠經濟全球承諾所定下的目標:
 

  • 2025 年,杜絕有問題或不必要的塑膠包裝。有關行動包括減少塑膠包裝重量、在可能情況下使用較可持續的物料取代塑膠包裝,以及禁止使用聚氯乙烯;
  • 2025 年,從單次使用模式轉向重複使用模式。在適用及可能情況下,為客戶提供在家補充和在店內補充的選擇;
  • 2025 年,100% 的塑膠包裝可重複使用、可回收或可用作堆肥(包括自家品牌產品包裝、電子商務包裝,和店內購物袋);及
  • 2025 年,對所有使用的塑膠包裝,設定進取的回收含量目標。屈臣氏集 團已為所有部門的自家品牌產品, 設定平均 20% 回收塑膠含量的目標。

 
紙張包裝方面,屈臣氏集團的目標是在 2030 年前, 自家品牌產品的紙張包裝完全由可持續來源製成。紙張物料的「可持續來源」指被定義為經森林管理委員會(「FSC」)、森林認證體系認可計劃(「PEFC」)或 100% 循環再造成分製成的紙張。

屈臣氏集團持續監測自家品牌產品所產生的廢棄物數量和類型,並制訂自家品牌可持續包裝指南和政策,以支持內部自家品牌開發團隊和供應商在不影響技術性能、產品安全、質素和整體符合法規的前提下,盡可能減少自家品牌產品的包裝用量。

在包裝中應用 4R 的成績和計劃重點包括:
 

  • 42% 的自家品牌紙質包裝由可持續資源製成(FSC、PEFC 或循環再造成分);
  • 自家品牌包裝的平均重用塑膠含量為 7%。屈臣氏個人護理店重新推出作零售的自家品牌美容/ 沐浴用品系列,最初採用塑膠包裝,現在只採用 FSC 認證紙品包裝,這有助每年節省超過 60 噸塑膠;
  • 在保健及美容產品業務方面,自 2019 年起屈臣氏個人護理店已逐步將自家品牌棉花棒的塑膠捧更換為紙質;
  • 2018 年,Superdrug 採用 100% 循環再造紙盒;網上交付用紙則 100% 可循環再造,每年可節省約 300 噸原生紙板;
  • 2018 年,Superdrug 從單次的購物袋轉向可重用的購物袋。於 2020 年,Superdrug 推出了首個由循環再造膠瓶製成的可重用手提袋;
  • 在新加坡,屈臣氏與世界自然基金會(「WWF」)合作, 推行「絕膠行動」塑膠袋收費計劃,鼓勵顧客選擇可重複使用的替代品;
  • 屈臣氏集團在香港的食品零售店在 2019 年成為全港首家不再銷售單次塑膠飲管的零售商,並提供金屬或竹製的替代品,該部門也增加銷售可取代單次塑膠餐具和杯碟的持續替代品;
  • 為減少塑膠容器的使用,百佳在全港 20 個食品專櫃為自携容器的顧客提供港幣 2 元的優惠;
  • 2020 年,屈臣氏亞洲市場在電商平台上推出一個過濾裝置,向顧客推介補充裝產品;
  • 為鼓勵市民使用可重複使用的水瓶,屈臣氏蒸餾水已安裝 17 個公共加水站,並計劃到 2025 年安裝 100 個;及
  • 屈臣氏蒸餾水是首個品牌,以 100% 循環再造的聚對苯二甲酸乙二酯(「rPET」)製造銷售水瓶包裝(自 2016 年起)。現在,他們正為其他自家品牌的飲料引進 rPET 瓶裝。

  

協助公眾更大量回收

回收機
2019 年,屈臣氏集團是香港首家利用智能回收機(「RVM」)大規模收集膠瓶容器的飲料商。屈臣氏集團在全港各處安裝了 84 台回收機,並為顧客提供現金回扣、購物券和累積積分等,以獎勵回收。屈臣氏集團更與香港政府環境保護署的回收機試點計劃合作,作為整個膠瓶回收計劃的一部分。

屈臣氏集團的目標是在 2025 年前在香港安裝 400 台 RVM,以邁進在 2030  年前膠樽廢棄的目標(膠樽回收數量相等於香港膠樽銷售數量)。

根據屈臣氏集團進行的公眾調查,鎖定將回收機放置在購物中心和零售店對用戶最為方便。調查還包括了解用戶的使用動機,以確定激勵機制和推廣活動的最佳定位。

自該計劃啟動以來,屈臣氏集團已在香港收集超過 75 萬個水瓶。

塑膠再生合作計劃
香港屈臣氏正在重推「塑膠再生」塑膠容器回收活動。屈臣氏與寶潔合作,在全港多處放置便捷的收集點,並與 The Loops 家居回收合作,將個人護理塑膠容器送往位於屯門的回收設施。屈臣氏集團的目標是在 2021 年,收集和循環再造 11 萬個個人護理塑膠容器,並在 2023 年達到 21 萬個。

循環再造難以回收的包裝
英國每年生產 1 億 4,600 萬件彩妝產品,但由於彩妝容器的材料成分混雜,幾乎無循環再造機會。為解決此問題,Superdrug 與美寶蓮和專業回收商 Terracycle 合作,在 Superdrug 店內設置回收站,為顧客處理任何品牌的舊化妝品或未經使用的產品,然後通過特定回收程序循環再造。

Terracycle 的幫助下,Superdrug 也成為英國首家提供設施,在店內回收藥品吸塑包裝的零售商。2020 年,Superdrug 首先在 10 家藥店試驗,到 2021 年 1 月,該計劃已擴展至旗下所有 200 家藥店。


食物

根據糧食及農業組織的數據,全球生產供人類食用的食物有三分之一 是丟失了或浪費掉,相當於每年 13 億噸。於 2020 年,屈臣氏集團廢棄食物總量達到 206 噸, 包括捐贈的可用食材及作為堆肥、動物飼料或最終運往堆填的廢棄食物。屈臣氏集團將採取所有行動,確保任何適合人類食用的食物不被浪費。

屈臣氏集團的首要任務是從源頭減廢,做法包括分析顧客的喜好以評估計食材供應;減少店舖間不必要的庫存流動;店舖實施詳細食品處理指南避免浪費,以及將接近「最佳期限」或到期日的食品減價速銷。

目前香港有 150 間參與捐贈剩餘食材的店舖,在指定屈臣氏集團食物救援大使的協助下贈予食物庫。被歸類為不可食用的廢棄食物,會被送往當地農場或堆肥設施,最後選擇才送往堆填區。

 

捐贈食物予惜食堂

2012 年起,惜食堂成為香港百佳的重要食物捐贈夥伴,令百佳得以向有需要人士捐贈了 3,100 噸可食用的剩餘食物,並提供了 1,200 萬個飯盒和食品包。

2013 年,百佳亦發起「全城傳愛齊捐食」活動, 讓顧客也能購買並捐贈食品予惜食堂。通過顧客的慷慨解囊,活動已收集超過 38 萬份食物以幫助惜食堂。

屈臣氏集團的員工也到惜食堂的中央廚房和社區中心參與義工服務,讓員工親身體驗以愛心處理剩餘食物,可以為社區帶來積極回響。