Environmental - Climate Risk and Resilience

In 2020, climate change was given additional focus during the risk assessment process and highlighted as a greater priority going forward.

Cyclones, hurricanes and storm surges coupled with rising sea levels are increasingly realistic threats to port infrastructure, security and operational efficiency. The impacts of higher ambient operating temperatures for ports may impact operating parameters and working conditions. For example, higher temperatures may require more frequent equipment calibration as well as the possibility of heat related illness amongst the workforce. The potential impact and severity of these looming issues will of course vary from port to port through the 26 countries in which Hutchison Ports operates.

In recent years only one extreme weather event, namely Hurricane Dorian, the category 5 Atlantic hurricane which hit Hutchison Ports FCP in the Bahamas in September 2019, has caused damage to port infrastructure and the cessation of port operations. Aside from this event, extreme weather events have not caused major damage to Hutchison Ports’ network. However, Hutchison Ports is aware that once in a hundred year events are becoming more frequent and that it needs to be prepared for a more extreme weather future; it is therefore committed to studying this long-term risk more closely.

Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe completed a climate change adaptation report in 2016 and a further follow up assessment will be released in 2021. The Port of Rotterdam has also been proactively studying the influence of sea level rise and Hutchison Ports ECT will work collaboratively with the port authority on counter measures as that study continues to take shape.

Hutchison Ports is also aware of climate transition risks that will also be impacting operations in the near future. For example, legislative shifts are increasingly changing the way the ports industry must do business. For example, the UK government has released the Clean Maritime Plan outlining the UK’s pathway to zero emissions shipping. The Port of Rotterdam has committed to becoming net zero by 2050 and as a port operator, Hutchison Ports ECT will collaborate with the port authority to make this vision a reality.

There are two climate risks that are particularly prevalent for the Infrastructure businesses, flooding and bushfires, and steps are being taken to manage these risks.

In 2011, responding to the UK Government’s concerns on climate change, WWU took a leading role in developing a pioneering tool to help utilities take action to protect their assets from increased flood risks, working in partnership with Landmark and Ambiental Risk Analytics. Following four years of mapping in the pilot, the mapping product was launched in 2018 as Britain’s first national flood map incorporating current and future predictive flood scenarios for 2020 and far beyond. WWU was also the first utility in the UK to use the data as part of its UK Climate Change Adaptation Risk Assessment, Reporting and Investment requirements.

UKPN has carried out a flood mapping exercise across its footprint, and site surveys have been undertaken to predict flood depths in extreme events to help design flood protection measures. It has invested more than £11 million in permanent flood defences to increase the resilience of equipment that serves millions of families in the UK.

Northumbrian Water delivered a multi-award winning scheme in Killingworth, North Tyneside, which worked to reduce flood risk in times of heavy rain protecting thousands of homes in the surrounding areas, as well as improve water quality and the surrounding biodiversity. Instead of flowing back to the sewerage system, overflows from the lake spill into natural grassed areas alongside the bank and drain back to a local watercourse instead. Three floating island eco-systems, which were designed and built by Biomatrix Water, have been installed in Killingworth Lake to improve biodiversity and provide natural habitats for wildlife such as fish and nesting birds in the area. The scheme won awards from Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management, the Environment Agency, and CECA Civil Engineering Contractors Association North East Awards in 2020.

The electricity distribution businesses in Australia are particularly at risk from bushfires which are exacerbated by rising temperatures. They therefore invest millions every year to reduce the risk of bushfire and loss of power supply in communities.

In hazardous bushfire risk areas, Victoria Power Networks (“VPN”) is undergrounding power lines and installing high technology covers over power lines to protect them from climatic conditions. To further reduce fire risk, VPN uses advanced Light Detection and Ranging technology to continually improve the accuracy of scanning and detection of vegetation growing near power lines and ensure overhead conductor clearances remain compliant to Australian Standards throughout their lifetime.

Further risk mitigation activities are being explored, trialled and implemented as part of network innovation strategies as well as technical research and development. These include improved vegetation management activities, the installation of new bushfire safety devices such as Rapid Earth Fault Current Limiters and Early Fault Detection technology, upgrading fuses, among others.

SA Power Networks has also widened the use of drones for outage response work, particularly in the regional areas of South Australia. Remote control drones played a key role in restringing electricity power lines that were damaged by the devastating 2020 bushfires at Kohinoor Hill in Kangaroo Island.

Regarding the Telecommunications division, 5G networks will be required to adapt during extreme weather events, and increasingly so in the face of climate change. Resiliency is enabled by efficient radio equipment that in the future can be powered by micro grids and renewable energy. The resiliency of cell site towers against damage caused by extreme weather events has been a priority focus area for the division’s crisis management teams, in addition to rolling out innovative technology solutions such as “network in a box” that can deploy a complete network rapidly enabled by technology features such as self-backhauling, and potentially satellite backhauling. In this regard, the division continues to use a range of network technologies optimised for local weather systems, from metropolitan and rural Asia, to the northern European extremes of Sweden.

環境管理:氣候風險及抵禦能力

2020 年,氣候變化於風險評估過程中得到額外關注,並成為未來更需優先處理的事項。

氣旋、颶風及暴風,加上海平面上升,對港口基建設施、安全及作業效率的威脅越來越大。操作環境溫度攀升,可能會影響操作參數和工作環境。例如,高溫有機會增加調校設備的次數,員工中暑等症狀也會隨之增加。當然,這些問題的潛在影響及嚴重程度,在和記港口經營的 26 個國家中會各有不同。

近年來,僅有一次極端天氣事件發生,即 2019 年 9 月吹襲巴哈馬群島的五級颶風「多利安」,導致和記港口自由港貨櫃碼頭的基建設施受損及需要暫停運作。除此以外,極端天氣事件並沒對和記港口網絡造成重大損害。然而,和記港口意識到百年一遇的極端天氣會越趨頻密,因此需要為未來做好準備,更密切地研究此長期風險。

和記港口菲力斯杜港於 2016 年完成一份氣候變化適應報告,並將於 2021 年發佈進一步的後續評估。鹿特丹港也正積極研究海平面上升的影響,當研究陸續取得進展,和記港口歐洲貨櫃碼頭將與港務局合作制訂應對措施。

和記港口亦同時意識到,氣候轉變的風險將在不久的將來影響業務。例如,法例的轉變正日益改變港口行業的業務運作模式。以英國為例,政府發佈「潔淨海事計劃」,勾劃出英國實現航運零排放的發展路徑。鹿特丹港亦已承諾於 2050 年達至零排放,作為港口營運商, 和記港口歐洲貨櫃碼頭將與港務局合作實現此願景。

兩種氣候風險(洪水及叢林火災)對企業尤為普遍,各企業正在採取管理措施。

2011 年,為回應英國政府對氣候變化的關注,WWU 與 LandmarkAmbiental Risk Analytics 合作,主導研發開創性工具,保護公用事業部門資產免受愈加嚴重的洪水風險損害。經過四年試點測繪,該測繪產品於 2018 年面世,成為英國第一張全國性洪水地圖,包含當時至 2020 年及以後的洪水預測情景。WWU 亦為英國首家公用事業,使用該數據作為其「英國氣候變化適應風險評估、報告及投資」需求的一部分。

UKPN 已在其業務涉及地區進行洪水測繪工作,且進行實地調查,以預測極端事件中水浸的深度,幫助設計防洪措施;並已投資超過 1,100 萬英鎊用於永久性防洪,以提高設備的抗壓能力,服務英國數百萬家庭。

Northumbrian Water 在北泰恩賽德的基林沃思實施的計劃屢獲殊榮。該計劃旨在減少暴雨時出現的洪水風險,保護周邊地區數以千計家庭,並改善水質及附近環境的生物多樣化。該計劃讓湖中溢流不會流回下水道系統,而是溢出到岸邊的自然草叢中,然後排回當地水道。由 Biomatrix Water 設計及建造的三個浮島生態系統已經安裝在基林沃思湖內,以改善生物多樣化,並為該地區魚類及鳥類等野生動物提供自然棲息地。該計劃於 2020 年贏得英國皇家水務與環境管理學會、環境局及土木工程外判商協會的東北地區獎項。

澳洲的配電企業面對較大的風險,尤其是叢林火災,氣溫上升更令情況惡化。因此,他們每年投資數以百萬澳元,以減少叢林火災風險及向社區供電的損失。

在發生叢林火災的高危地區,Victoria Power Networks (VPN)將電線埋入地下,並在電線上安裝高科技覆蓋物,以防止受氣候狀況影響。為進一步降低火災風險,VPN 採用先進光探測及測距技術,不斷提高掃瞄準確性,並探測電線附近生長的植被,確保與架空導線間距離,在其整個使用期內符合澳洲標準。

作為網絡創新策略以及技術研究及開發的一部分,VPN 正在探索、試驗及實施進一步的風險緩解措施,包括改善植被管理、安裝新叢林火災安全裝置,例如「快速接地故障電流限制器」及「早期故障偵測」技術,以至升級保險絲安全等等。

SA Power Networks 亦擴大無人機在停電工作中使用的範圍, 尤其是在南澳省地區。面對 2020 年袋鼠島上 Kohinoor Hill 的摧毀性叢林大火,遙控無人機在重新連接受損電力線路上,發揮了關鍵作用。

5G 網絡需要適應極端天氣和面對氣候變化。高效的無線電設備日後能夠由微型電網及可再生能源供電,更添靈活性。電訊部門危機管理團隊的首要任務,是靈活應對極端天氣對發射塔造成的破壞,以及透過其他創新技術解決方案如「網絡集成」,通過自回傳網路及潛在的衛星回傳網路等技術功能,迅速推出整個 5G 網絡。因此,電訊部門將繼續因應不同地方的天氣,由大都市到亞洲農村以至北歐嚴寒的瑞典,應用一系列合適的網絡優化技術。