Emissions Management - Infrastructure division

Total scope 1 and 2 emissions decreased in 2020 by 3.8% versus 2019 and 8.7% versus 2018. Accounting for 81% of emissions, scope 1 emissions include direct emissions from sources owned or controlled by the division.

Scope 1 emissions decreased in 2020 by 5.6% versus 2019 and 10.5% since 2018. Accounting for the remaining 19%, scope 2 emissions include emissions from purchased electricity, and those associated with losses in the transmission and distribution networks for the electricity distribution companies. Scope 2 emissions increased by 4.8% in 2020 versus 2019 due to a greater level of meter estimation by the industry owing to a lack of actual meter readings in the calculation of network losses during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is expected that the figures will be fine-tuned when the meter readings are updated.
 


Fugitive emissions

Addressing fugitive emissions is a significant opportunity area. The division’s gas distribution networks have been replacing legacy pipe materials (cast iron, unprotected steel and other) in order to reduce fugitive emissions of methane from networks as well as move toward making networks hydrogen ready. During 2020, NGN, WWU and AGIG replaced 422km, 337km and 417km of old gas pipelines respectively. NGN and WWU are also ahead of their targets to reduce leakage:
 

  • NGN has replaced 27% of pipelines versus an original target of 18% during the regulatory period from April 2013 to March 2021; and
  •  WWU has replaced 19.7% versus its target of 16% by March 2021.

  
To illustrate impact, between 2012-2020, NGN has replaced approximately 4,000km of pipe, saving over 500,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions entering the atmosphere as a result of avoided leakage, the equivalent carbon emissions produced by 160,000 homes in an entire year in the UK.

Demand side management

Demand side response (“DSR”) may either be demand-led or generation-led. In both cases end-users are incentivised to reduce their demand on the distribution network.

UKPN is investing in smart technologies to better manage electricity demand, create efficiencies and significantly reduce emissions. UKPN, through its flagship Flexibility programme uses DSR in situations where peak loads cannot be managed within existing firm capacity due to reduction, demand movement or autonomous network management. The deployment of predictive cooling on a number of major transformers in London networks enables UKPN to operate at an extended peak level for longer as transformer oil has been cooled prior to the peak load being experienced.

UKPN has also launched Domestic DSR projects which aim to provide services that deliver the best value to customers and address their changing needs. Three key projects were implemented to increase access for customers to Low Voltage flexibility: i) the Urban Energy Club, which supports customers living in small flats; ii) Home Response, which explores social innovation for customers living in social housing; and iii) Core4Grid, which provides individual home balancing with low carbon technologies. In 2020, UKPN achieved a world first by enabling domestic customers to participate in the flexibility market, marking the latest stage in the business’ commitment to growing new markets for low carbon distributed energy resources.

Taking a different approach to demand side management, United Energy deployed its Summer Saver Programme for demand side load management where customers were given cash incentives to reduce electricity consumption. In addition, peak demand reduction helped defer network augmentations.

Other emissions reductions projects

Other techniques to reduce energy consumption across the division include:
  

  • Renewable Energy: Northumbrian Water’s 1,858 sites are all powered by renewable electricity, meaning that 87,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions are eliminated every year.
  • Green Fleet: Operating large fleets, the businesses are working to find low carbon alternatives. NGN aims to make 50% of its total vehicle fleet ultra-low emission or hybrid by 2026 and to enable this electric vehicle replacement, charging infrastructure will be installed across all offices and depots. WWU aims to move 75% of company cars to hybrid or ultralow emission vehicles by 2026, explore green alternatives for our commercial fleet, and reduce mileage to achieve a zero emissions fleet by 2035 – supporting biodiversity and improving air quality. WWU and NGN are also working to explore the possibility of using hydrogen to power their fleet and fleet infrastructure. To improve fuel efficiency, Northumbrian Water is trialling software solutions to enhance fleet scheduling to further reduce emissions.
  • Employee Engagement: Getting employees engaged and understanding the importance of their contribution is a priority across all businesses. ista’s aim is for employees to invest at least 5,000 hours a year in promoting climate protection in society.
  • Procurement: Northumbrian Water is developing its procurement process to give emissions appropriate weighting in contract awards and it is also adding greenhouse gas emissions to its service value framework ensuring new capital schemes are the lowest economic emissions option.
  • Third Party Assessments: UKPN became the first electricity network operator to achieve the Carbon Trust Standard for Carbon in recognition of its achievement in carbon reduction and Northumbrian Water achieved third-party verification of its emission reports to ISO14064-1 for 2019/20.

  

Addressing non-GHG air emissions at AVR

The process of waste incineration results in the release not only of CO2 but also of other harmful substances, such as nitrogen (NOx) and fine particulate (PM10). AVR must therefore take into account such Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC) that occur in the residual waste supplied.

In 2020, an extensive inventory was carried out at AVR. It determined the types of SVHC in four areas: the incoming waste, emissions to air and water, in the auxiliary materials and in the residue streams. The inventories were compiled for the biomass energy plant, the thermal conversion plant, the water treatment plant and the waste incineration plants in Duiven and Rozenburg. The investigation included the quantities of emitted SVHC and the technologies with which AVR can prevent or limit SVHC emissions. The report was submitted to the local authorities who were satisfied with the result.

Initiatives that particularly help to limit non-GHG emissions include:
  
  • Investing heavily in Best Available Technologies for waste incineration;
  • AVR has fitted every incineration line with DeNOx catalytic converters that filter the exhaust gases and reduce the nitrogen emissions; and
  • Cleaning the flue gases created by incineration captures most of the particulate matter and converts it into fly ash. AVR also endeavours to find useful applications for that residual product.

排放管理:基建部門

2020 年,範圍 1 及 2 總排放量較 2019 年減少 3.8%,比對 2018年則為 8.7%。範圍 1 排放量佔 81%,包括由部門擁有或控制的業務所直接產生的温室氣體排放。2020 年,範圍 1 排放量較 2019 年下降 5.6%,比對 2018 年則下降 10.5%

範圍 2 排放量佔餘下 19%,包括購買電力所產生的温室氣體排放,以及配電公司輸配電網絡損失的排放。2020 年, 範圍 2 排放量較 2019 年增加 4.8%,原因是在新型冠狀病毒大流行期間,由於缺乏實際電錶讀數,以致計算網絡損失時,估計讀數佔比較大所致。預計在更新電錶讀數後,該等數字將會微調。
 


散逸式排放

適當處理散逸式排放可創造機會。部門的天然氣配送網絡,一直致力更換傳統管道材料(鑄鐵、無保護層鋼材及其他),以減少網絡中甲烷的散逸式排放,並為網絡轉型至氫能做好準備。NGN、WWU 及 AGIG2020 年分別更換了 422 公里、337 公里及 417 公里舊天然氣管道。NGN 及 WWU 更提前實現其減少洩漏的目標:
  

  • 2013 年 4 月至 2021 年 3 月監管期間,對應須完成18%的目標,NGN 已更換 27% 管道;及
  • 對應須於 2021 年 3 月完成 16%  的目標,WWU 已更換 19.7% 管道。

  
為說明有關影響,在 20122020 年期間,NGN 已更換大約 4,000 公里管道。由於避免了洩漏,超過 50 萬噸二氧化碳免於排入大氣層,相當於英國  16 萬 個家庭一整年的碳排放量。

管理用電需求

管理用電需求可以是需求主導或發電主導,兩種情況均鼓勵終端用戶減少對配電網絡的需求。

UKPN 正投資於智能技術,以便更有效管理電力需求,創造效率並大幅減少排放。UKPN 在面對用電量減少、需求移動或自主網絡管理等因素而無法在現有固定容量內管理高峰負荷的情況下,會透過其主力的「靈活計劃」管理用電需求。UKPN 亦在倫敦網絡多個主要變壓器裝設預測性冷卻裝置,藉變壓器油在高峰負荷出現前已經冷卻, 令峰值水平得以運行更長時間。

UKPN 亦在英國國內推動用電需求項目,為客戶帶來更物有所值的服務,並滿足其不斷變化的需要。三個關鍵項目為客戶提供更靈活選用低電壓的機會:i) Urban Energy Club 專為居住在小型單位的客戶而設;ii) Home Response 服務居住在社會保障房屋的客戶;iii) Core4Grid 則以低碳技術讓個別家庭平衡用電。2020 年,UKPN 成為世界首家容許國內客戶靈活參與電力市場的企業,標誌其發展低碳分佈式能源新市場的努力。

United Energy 在管理用電需求方面採取不同方法,為應對需求負荷管理推出「夏季節約計劃」,向客戶提供現金獎勵以減少耗電。此外,減少峰值需求亦有助推遲網絡擴容。

其他減排項目

其他減少耗能技術包括:
  

  • 可再生能源Northumbrian Water 以可再生能源為其 1,858 個站點供電,每年可減少 87,000 噸二氧化碳排放。
  • 環保車隊:經營龐大車隊,各企業均努力尋找應對的低碳選項。NGN 的目標是以 2026 年為期限,將半數車隊轉換成超低排放或混合式動力車。為實現目標,NGN 計劃在所有辦公室及倉庫安裝電動車充電基礎設施。WWU 計劃於 2026 年前,將 75% 的公司車隊更換至混合動力或超低排放型號,探索適用於商務車隊的綠色選項,並減少駕駛里數以達至 2035 年成為零排放車隊的目標,以支持生物多樣性及改善空氣質素。WWU 及 NGN 亦正努力探索使用氫能的可能性,為車隊及車隊基礎設施提供動力。為提高燃料效率,Northumbrian Water 正試用軟件加強車隊調度效率,進一步減少排放。
  • 員工參與:讓員工參與並理解其對減排作出的貢獻,是所有企業的首要任務。ista 的目標是讓員工每年至少投入 5,000 小時,促進社會對氣候的保護。
  • 採購Northumbrian Water 正制訂採購程序,於批出合約時給予排放適當權重;亦在服務價值框架中增加溫室氣體排放,確保新資本計劃符合最低經濟排放要求。
  • 第三方評估UKPN 成為首個達到「碳信託標準」的電力網絡營運商,以表彰其在碳減排的成就;Northumbrian Water 2019/20 年度排放報告取得第三方驗證,符合 ISO14064-1 標準。

  

AVR 如何應對非温室氣體排放

燃燒廢物的過程不單排放二氧化碳,亦產生氮氧化物和 PM10 懸浮粒子等有害物質。AVR 必須考慮到此等出現於殘餘廢物的高度關注物質(「SVHC」)。

2020 年,AVR 進行廣泛的清單檢查,以確定四個範圍内的高度關注物質類別,包括進來的廢物、對空氣和水的排放、輔助性物料,以及殘餘物處理過程。數據整理應用於德伊芬及羅曾堡的生物質發電廠、熱能轉換廠、污水處理廠,及廢物燃燒廠。調查報告包括高度關注物質的排放量及 AVR 用以防止或規範排放的技術。當地部門 已接獲報告並對結果表示滿意。

有助規範非温室氣體排放的舉措包括:
 
  • 大力投資於現今最好的廢物燃燒技術;
  • AVR 已為毎台燃燒機組安裝除氮氧化物催化轉換器,過濾廢氣及減少氮排放;及
  • 清潔燃燒後產生的煙氣,捕獲大部分懸浮粒子並將其轉化為飛灰。AVR 並嘗試為副產品尋找應用出路。