Emissions Management - Ports division

In 2020, the Ports division saw the most significant decline in emissions among the Group’s core businesses, reducing absolute scope 1 and 2 emissions by 13%, helped to a large degree by its ongoing global programme to convert its fleet and infrastructure from diesel-powered to electric.

The Ports division has already converted 66% of its fleet of rubber-tyred gantry cranes to electric alternatives which is significant given that approximately 40% of fuel consumption at a typical port is attributed to these large structures.

From 2023, Hutchison Ports plans to roll out a widescale replacement of conventional diesel terminal tractors with state- of-the-art electric internal tractors. Cumulatively, by 2030, the expected result will be an 11% reduction in Hutchison Ports’ global carbon footprint.
 


To prepare for this rollout and new technology adoption, a pilot project of 24 electric terminal tractor vehicles will be rolled out at Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe in the UK. An additional feasibility analysis has been carried out at Hutchison Ports Gwangyang in Korea which has been working on an electric terminal tractor development project with the local Government and development company, Seoho, between April 2018 to January 2020.

As an additional energy saving measure, Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe has introduced new internal tractors fitted with start/stop engine cut out technology. This has contributed to lower vehicle idling times, resulting in further fuel and emissions  reductions.

In 2020, Hutchison Ports Thailand began piloting cutting-edge technology in truck automation with the commissioning of six fully electric and autonomous trucks at the Terminal D facility at Laem Chabang Port, Thailand.

To further impact emissions and improve air quality, in 2020, the International Maritime Organization enforced a new limit on the sulphur content in fuel oil used on board ships. As a result, more vessels may look to switch to use shore electric power while at berth. Hutchison Ports Yantian has installed six mobile shore power units that cover the port’s 16 berths. The learnings and realised benefits resulting from this project have been shared across Hutchison Ports to enable the planning of future additional shore power connections in other locations. Over the next two years (2021-2023), Shanghai Mingdong Container Terminals and Shanghai Pudong International Container Terminals will be installing shore power facilities.

Further on the topic of non-GHG emissions, business units in our Ports division have established plans to reduce non-GHG air emissions. For example, in all three terminals in Hutchison Ports UK, a Port Air Quality Strategy has been established. These air quality strategies have created a baseline emissions inventory of all emission causing activity on site. Each terminal of Hutchison Ports UK has created an action plan of projects, with short, medium- and long-term actions to improve air quality based on the following non-GHG pollutants: Sulphur Dioxide (SO2), Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) and Particulate Matter 10 (PM10).

As similar in all core businesses, LED lighting upgrades, HVAC optimisation and behavioural change campaigns are other areas that contributed to emissions reduction.

See the Sustainable Business Model Innovation section for further information on how the Ports division is employing cutting edge technology to create smart, efficient and low impact ports through digitalisation and electrification. This technology rollout is serving to significantly reduce port emissions now and into the future.

排放管理:港口部門

2020 年,集團的核心業務中,港口部門的排放量下降最為明顯,範圍 1 及 2 的絕對排放量減少 13%,這很大程度上得益於其正在進行的全球計劃,將車隊及基建從柴油推動轉為電能。

港口部門已經將其 66% 輪胎式龍門架吊機改以電動機械替代,此項轉變影響重大,因為以典型的港口為例,約 40% 的燃料消耗是由此等大型機械所產生。

2023 年起,和記港口計劃大規模將傳統柴油碼頭貨櫃車更換至最先進的電動場內貨櫃車。預計到 2030 年,和記港口的全球碳足跡將減少 11%
 


為配合計劃推行及新技術應用,24 輛電動碼頭貨櫃車將率先在英國和記港口菲力斯杜港試運。在韓國和記光陽港口,於 2018 年 4 月至 2020 年 1 月期間,和記港口與當地政府及電控系統製造商 Seoho 已就合作展開電動碼頭貨櫃車開發項目進行另一項可行性分析。

和記港口菲力斯杜港的另一項節能措施,是採用裝有引擎自動啟閉系統的新型場內貨櫃車,這將有助減少車輛空轉時間,進一步減少燃料耗用及排放。

2020 年,和記港口泰國開始試行自動駕駛貨車的尖端技術,六輛全電能自動駕駛貨車在泰國蘭差邦港 D 碼頭投入使用。

為進一步控制排放及改善空氣質素,2020 年,國際海事組織對船舶燃油中的硫含量實施了新限制。因此,更多貨櫃船可選擇在靠泊時改用岸電系統。和記港口鹽田已安裝六組流動岸電服務設施,能為貨櫃船供應共 16 個岸電泊位。和記港口已將項目的相關經驗及效益作內部分享,以規劃將來在其他地方增設流動岸電連接服務。在未來兩年(2021 年至 2023 年),上海明東集裝箱碼頭及上海浦東國際集裝箱碼頭將安裝岸電設施。

非温室氣體排放方面,港口部門業務單位已制訂計劃減少排放。例如,和記港口英國設有港口空氣質素策略,為場區所有引致排放的活動制訂排放基線。和記港口英國每個碼頭已制訂短中長期的行動計劃,以改善非温室氣體污染物的排放,包括二氧化硫、氮氧化物及 PM10 懸浮粒子。

與所有核心業務相似,轉用 LED 照明、暖通空調系統優化及行為改變也有助於減少排放。

請參閱「可持續的創新商業模式」一章,進一步了解港口部門如何採用尖端科技,透過數碼化和電能化手段創造智能、高效率及低排放影響的港口。推出此等技術有助大幅減少港口現時以至將來的排放。