Emissions Management - Retail division

In 2020, ASW reduced GHG emissions by 46% versus 2015. However, 2020 led to a year of stores closed for many markets and therefore this achievement does not realistically reflect the permanent progress that has been made in this area.

Instead ASW will be reviewing this goal to understand the next step in increasing its ambitions given that 2020 is an outlier year and that work is underway to include scope 3 emissions in target setting. ASW has nevertheless made significant achievements in emissions reduction. Between 2015-2019, and prior to the pandemic, ASW reduced scope 1 and 2 emissions by 35% versus 2015 which reflects an ongoing and significant effort towards absolute emissions reductions.
 


Energy efficiency

With 74% of emissions attributable to electricity consumption in 2020, creating efficiencies on the consumption of grid electricity is a top priority. ASW has set a goal to reduce electricity intensity (kWh per square meter) by 30% for retail stores and own manufacturing by 2030 versus a 2015 baseline. As per the case with GHG emissions, the lockdowns resulting from the pandemic have skewed progress tracking which requires ASW to again revisit this target to continue stretching ambitions.

A more realistic measure of progress made is to look at 2015-2019 progress, which shows that ASW has reduced energy intensity by 19% thanks to energy efficiencies in stores, distribution, manufacturing and offices.

ASW’s global energy management programme is led by the Energy sub-committee, headed by the UK Health & Beauty Retail Property Director, and supported worldwide by 39 energy champions embedded within the business who are responsible for monitoring local energy savings initiatives.

Ongoing energy savings programmes in 2020 were focused on highest impact areas such as lighting replacement, HVAC optimisation and behaviour change.

Greener fleet

The use of diesel to power the ASW fleet accounts for nearly half  of its scope 1 emissions and therefore is an area ASW prioritises. Driver training, route planning and load optimisation are fundamental parts of ASW’s fleet management, with particular success at Superdrug, in order to get products to and from store in the most efficient way and with the lowest possible fuel consumption.

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the volume of sales via eCommerce channels has grown significantly presenting new challenges in balancing these new customer needs for increased home delivery versus the environmental impacts created as a result.

Focused efforts to offer customers the opportunity to move from the traditional “Click & Deliver” model towards a more customer centric “Click & Collect from Store” model has shown success in a number of markets. These customer orders fulfilled from warehouses means that transportation to the point of customer pick-up takes advantage of the existing store transportation network thus negating the need for an additional shipping channel.

For customers preferring the home delivery option, widespread implementation of the eCommerce “Home Delivery from Store” service gives ASW the capability to leverage its brick and mortar estate. Customer orders are picked up at stores located at the nearby required delivery points. This greatly reduces travel distances from the point of pickup to the point of customer delivery when compared with a centralised eCommerce warehouse facility. It also provides customers with a shorter order to delivery time frame.

Both of these customer service options contribute to reducing fuel usage, and the associated GHG emissions, through fewer on-road hours for vehicles.

With the same intention, to maximise the loads and avoid empty vehicles travelling back to the distribution centres, ASW backhauls store waste to recycling centres in Europe. This avoids the need for third party waste management companies going to every store and therefore avoids additional emissions from those journeys.

ASW encourages all business units to favour fuel efficient delivery vehicles. Since 2016, Superdrug has replaced all delivery vehicles with Euro 6 engines, the highest emissions standard for vehicles, and has installed particulate filters to further reduce impacts on air quality.

In 2021, the ASW Supply Chain sustainability tool kit will be supplemented with compliance tables to enable business units to measure their fleet performance versus Euro standards and the use of lower impact fuel types with scheduled formal reporting to monitor progress. Further, the future tendering of fleet and transportation services will include sustainability criteria under the pre-qualification questionnaire for vendors.
 

The Energy Logistics Challenge- Crowdsourcing innovation

In 2020, the Benelux team held the inaugural Logistics Energy Challenge with the aim of crowdsourcing innovations to reduce emissions across warehouses and also share these solutions with other companies in the region. The Challenge called upon startups, freelancers, students and others to participate in the Challenge to present solutions in three categories: buildings, processes and transportation.

Ten teams were put together across the entrants and tasked with solving energy challenges. The teams then virtually presented to local top management. The winner of the Challenge, Sprinkler Energy, proposed the implementation of a heat pump that uses the energy generated in the sprinkler tank for warehouse heating which would lead to an impressive 60% reduction in gas consumption. ASW is now working with the company to install the technology.

Beyond this innovation contest, ASW warehouses have been working on energy savings and renewables uptake for many years. At the logistic centre in Heteren, Netherlands, the team has installed a solar array with 1,600 solar panels. Annually this generates approximately 490,000 kWh of energy every year (95% of the energy needs of the warehouse), and avoids 290 tonnes of CO2 emissions.

排放管理:零售部門

2020 年,屈臣氏集團的溫室氣體排放量較 2015 年減少 46%。然而,鑑於很多市場的店舖在年間大部分關閉, 該成果未能真實反映其排放進展。

屈臣氏集團明白 2020 年是一個異常年份,故更嚴格於下一步提升要求,將範圍 3 的排放納入設定目標。事實上,屈臣氏集團在減排方面已取得重大成就。於 2015 至 2019 年期間及於疫情大流行前,範圍 1 和 2 的排放量較 2015 年減少 35%,反映屈臣氏集團持續不懈的努力。
 


能源效益

2020 年,屈臣氏集團 74% 的排放量來自於電力消耗,因此提高用電效率是當務之急。屈臣氏集團已設定目標,以 2030 年為期,將零售店和自家製造業務的用電強度(每平方米千瓦時)減至較 2015 年基線低 30%。如同溫室氣體排放的情況,由於疫情大流行封鎖部分經濟活動,導致目標進度遭受扭曲,屈臣氏集團須重新審視該目標及作出調整。

衡量進度比較實際的指標,是參閱 20152019 年的進展,其顯示由於在店舖、分銷、製造和辦公室的能源效益均有提升,屈臣氏集團的能源強度實質已降低 19%

屈臣氏集團的全球能源管理計劃由能源小組委員會領導,以英國健康與美容零售物業總監為首,並由全球 37 位參與該項計劃的員工負責監督當地的節能計劃。

2020 年仍在進行中的節能計劃,均集中於能造成巨大節能影響的領域,如更換照明系統、暖通空調系統優化及推動行為改變的計劃。

更環保的車隊

屈臣氏集團使用的柴油佔其範圍 1 排放量近半,是車隊首要關注的領域。司機培訓、路線規劃和載重優化是管理車隊單位的基本工作,而 Superdrug 在這方面的推行尤見成效,成功以具效率和低耗燃料的方式運送貨物。

由於新型冠狀病毒疫情大流行,電子商務銷售大幅增長,如何平衡送貨需求及因而產生的環境影響遂成為新的挑戰。

在取貨方面,從傳統的「網購送貨」模式改以「網購店取」模式為顧客增添選擇,在多個市場推行成功。顧客訂單內的貨品,跟隨倉庫運輸車隊將貨品送抵顧客取貨的店舖,免除了額外運輸的需要。

選擇送貨上門的顧客,屈臣氏集團利用其實體店集合附近顧客訂單的貨品後再送交顧客。若與從電子商務中央倉庫送貨比較,此舉大大縮短車程和收貨的時間。

這兩種顧客服務方式均有助於縮減車程,從而減少燃料和相關的溫室氣體排放。

出於同樣目的,為了避免空車返回配送中心,屈臣氏集團將店舖的廢棄物運回歐洲的回收中心,毋須第三方回收公司前往每家店舖,避免運輸過程中的額外氣體排放。

屈臣氏集團鼓勵所有業務單位選用節能車輛送貨,自 2016 年起,Superdrug 已將所有送貨車輛更換為最高排放標準的歐盟 6 型引擎,並安裝微粒過濾器,進一步減低對空氣質素的影響。

2021 年,屈臣氏集團供應鏈將可持續工具包加入合規表,使業務單位能夠衡量其車隊對比歐盟標準和使用影響較少的燃料類型方面的績效,並提交正式報告以監測進展。此外,日後的車隊和運輸服務招標,將在供應商資格預審問卷中納入可持續發展標準。
 

能源物流的挑戰-眾包創新

2020 年,比荷盧團隊舉辦首屆物流能源挑戰賽, 旨在通過眾包創新來減少倉庫的排放,同時與該地區其他公司分享這些解決方案。參加者包括初創企業、自由職業者、學生等,在建築、流程和運輸三個類別提出解決方案。

參賽者組成十隊,分別解決不同能源挑戰,並以虛擬方式向當地管理層展示方案。獲勝項目 Sprinkler Energy 提出使用熱泵的方案,利用灑水器水箱中產生的能量為倉庫供暖,使燃氣消耗量減少達 60%。屈臣氏集團目前正與該公司合作安裝該設施。

除這次創新比賽外,屈臣氏集團倉庫多年來一直致力節能和增加使用可再生能源。位於荷蘭海特倫的物流中心安裝有一個有 1,600 塊太陽能板的太陽能陣列,每年大約能產生 49 萬千瓦時能源(佔倉庫能源需求 95%),減少 290 噸二氧化碳的排放。