Emissions Management - Telecommunications division

The division’s scope 1 emissions relate largely to the consumption of refrigerants for cooling as well as the use of transport fuels and natural gas.

Scope 2 emissions relate to electricity consumption to operate network facilities and equipment and owned facilities. Approximately 95% of scope 2 emissions relate to the operation of network infrastructure and plants, such as antennas and data centres which require continuous power supply, as well as air-conditioning to keep the machinery within a constant temperature range. The remaining emissions are attributable to offices, call centres, owned stores and the corporate fleet.

Given that the majority of emissions relate to network equipment, high impact projects have focused on:
 

  • Procuring and installing efficient network equipment;
  • Decommissioning and replacing legacy equipment;
  • Installing energy saving controls and features; and
  • Reducing energy demand by installing lower-energy power and cooling technologies.

 
Due to an exponential increase in traffic and energy needs of the network during the pandemic with more people working and connecting from home, absolute scope 1 and 2 emissions increased by 3% in 2020 versus 2019.
 


Despite this, there are some successes at the local level. Since the acquisition of the additional 50% share in WINDTRE in 2018, WINDTRE has invested significantly in the process of consolidating and modernising its network in Italy leading to a significant improvement in energy efficiency. WINDTRE has reduced its emissions per unit of traffic by more than 70% (compared to the base year 2016), beating its original target of 50% reduction. This was a target that was developed as part of an ongoing collaboration with WWF.

In 2020, 3 Ireland also saw a 5% reduction on data centre energy versus 2019, which was directly attributable to the upgrading of more efficient plant and equipment.

LED lighting replacement and controls in stores and offices and the gradual replacement of company vehicles with electric and hybrid vehicles have further contributed to emissions reductions.

Alongside setting a science-based target, the division is also developing a detailed roadmap and action plan identifying the steps needed to achieve its target.

In 2020, CK Hutchison Group Telecom (“CKHGT”) embarked on a combined project to: i) develop a carbon footprint (scope 1, 2 and 3), ii) set a science-based target and iii) conduct a gap analysis against the TCFD recommendations. This science-based target will be submitted to the Science Based Target Initiative for validation during 2021.

In progressing its emissions reporting and disclosure journey, CKHGT also reported to the Carbon Disclosure Project (“CDP”) for the first time in 2020 and received a grade of B-. The CDP also identified CKHGT as among the top ten new entrant scores of companies listed in Asia.

排放管理:電訊部門

電訊部門的範圍 1 排放主要與使用製冷劑及運輸燃料和天然氣消耗有關。

範圍 2 排放與營運網絡設施,設備及擁有設施的耗電量有關,當中約 95%  源自網絡基礎設施及廠房運作,例如天線及數據中心等需要持續供電,及利用空調保持機器處於恆溫狀態。其餘排放來自辦公室、客戶服務中心、門店及公司車隊。


鑑於大部分排放與網絡設備有關,重大影響項目集中於:
  

  • 採購及安裝高效益網絡設備;
  • 停用及更換舊設備;
  • 安裝節能控制與功能;及
  • 安裝低耗能及冷卻技術以減少能源需求。

 
由於疫情期間較多人在家工作及連線,網絡流量及能源需求呈幾何級增長, 2020 年範圍 1 及 2 的絕對排放量較 2019 年增加 3%
 


儘管如此,電訊部門在地區層面仍取得一定成績。自 2018 年收購  WINDTRE 額外 50% 股份後,WINDTRE 大幅整合投資及將其意大利網絡現代化,大大提升能源效益,每流量單位的排放減少 70% 以上(與 2016 年基數相比),超出原定與世界自然基金會持續合作制訂減少 50% 的目標。

3 在愛爾蘭的商店於 2020 年,廠房及設備的效益均獲提升,令 3 愛爾蘭數據中心的能源消耗減少 5%

由於改用 LED 照明和在店舖與辦公室安裝了控制設備,以及將公司車輛逐步更換為電動及混能驅動,排放量得以進一步降低。

除制訂科學基礎減量目標外,電訊部門亦提供詳細路線圖及行動計劃,務求目標可達。

2020 年,CK Hutchison Group Telecom(「CKHGT」)展開一個綜合項目:i) 制訂碳足跡(範圍 1 、23);ii) 設定科學基礎減量目標;及 iii) 根據氣候相關財務信息披露工作組建議進行差距分析。科學基礎減量目標將在 2021 年提交予科學基礎減量目標倡議組織驗證。

在推進排放報告及披露過程中,CKHGT 亦於 2020 年首次向 CDP 全球環境信息研究中心提交報告,獲 B– 評級,並獲研究中心認定為亞洲上市公司十大新成員之一。