Environmental - Natural Resource Protection
Per the Group’s Sustainability Policy, it is committed to conserving water, preventing pollution to land, water and air, and protecting and restoring biodiversity. This aim is inherently interlinked with the divisions other aims to take action on climate change and promote a circular economy. For efforts to reduce energy consumption and waste generation, please visit these respective sections; water management and biodiversity protection will be covered below.

Water Use and Effluent Management

In 2020, 94% of the Group’s fresh water usage was related to the Infrastructure division. Water consumption is relatively immaterial for Retail, Ports and Telecommunications, therefore the majority of information below relates to the Infrastructure division.

As the only Infrastructure company in the division’s portfolio delivering water-related services, Northumbrian Water dedicates itself to leading practices in water management. Northumbrian Water delivered industry-leading performance during 2020 for minimising interruptions to supply to customers. Preventing leakage in the water-stressed areas of Essex and Suffolk are of highest priority and testament to its approaches, these areas experience lower levels of leakage than delivered by any other Water and Sewerage Company in the country. Further, Northumbrian Water’s investment in the Abberton Scheme in Essex increased the storage of Abberton reservoir by 60% to 41 billion litres of water. It is now investing in a pipeline enabling it to transfer water from Abberton to a wider area of Essex to increase resilience across the region. Northumbrian Water has also launched a free online programme, The Ripple Effect, aimed at 7-11 year olds to teach young people about the value of water in addition to playing a leading part in launching the UK’s Water’s Worth Saving campaign aimed at encouraging the public to save water.

Northumbrian Water has developed a Water Resources Management plan looking ahead for the next 40 years and studying the risks and security of supply from sources including reservoirs, rivers and underground sources. The plan considers the amount of water that can be taken without harming the environment, the effect of climate change on the demand for water and available sources and the amount of water it can reliably supply. It considers how much water people will use in the future, the impacts of population and housing growth, water efficiency plans to help customers to save water, water meter installations and reductions in leakage, among other areas. As mentioned, an important area of consideration is leakage; through the Plan Northumbrian Water commits to reducing leakage by 15% between 2020 and 2025 and then by a further 10% over each subsequent five-year period through to 2045. In short, the Plan concludes Northumbrian Water will have sufficient water to meet the forecast demand for water for at least the next 40 years. This water assessment and consideration of water scarcity forms part of the Northumbrian Water’s Business Plan covering the period April 2020 to March 2025, see here for more information: https://www.nwg.co.uk/responsibility/environment/wrmp/

Further contextualised water metrics for Northumbrian Water are available here:
 


Regarding wastewater management, Northumbrian Water is committed to producing Drainage and Wastewater Management Plans (DWMP) which will provide a basis for long-term planning of drainage and wastewater services. Planning objectives include:
 

 


Information on Northumbrian Water’s plan regarding wastewater, as well as its monthly newsletter updates, are available here: https://www.nwl.co.uk/services/sewerage/drainage-and-wastewater-management-plans/

The below further summarises Northumbrian Water’s approach to drainage and wastewater management:
 


Stakeholder engagement for water conservation

One of Northumbrian Water’s key programmes that has been particularly impactful in terms of end user behaviour change is it’s Bin The Wipe campaign. 

Many wipes are made from plastic, which means they don’t break down in water like toilet roll. Flushed wipes contribute to more than 60% of sewer blockages in the North East which makes this a significant issue, causing problems inside customers’ homes, in communities and for the environment.

Northumbrian Water is working hard to raise awareness of these issues. Through consumer research Northumbrian Water also discovered that over half  of households in the UK don't have a bin in their bathroom to dispose of things like wet wipes, and again over half of householders keep wipes in their bathroom. By giving customers a bin, Northumbrian Water has found that this small behavioural change to people's daily habits is creating big impact. Northumbrian Water also teamed up with local makeup influencers Hayley Hall, Katie Meehan and Terri Heckley to encourage the public to consider reusable alternatives to disposable wipes as part of their campaign.

Alongside this campaign, Northumbrian Water delivers on a number of multi-stakeholder initiatives to create widescale and meaningful behaviour change in favour of greater water conversation across the regions in which it operates. These include, among others:
   

  • The Branch Out Fund to support local efforts to protect water resources;
  • The Rainwise programme, to help educate and provide sustainable solutions as a natural approach to managing rainwater in urban areas and mimic the ways in which water drains away naturally;
  • Development of the Water Rangers programme to engage the community in water pollution prevention;
  • The Water without the Worry and Water Poverty programmes which aim to eradicate water poverty and encourage water efficiency behaviours which also serves to reduce bills; and
  • The Whole Town Approach which aims to engage whole towns in sustainable behaviour change with programmes such as Bring Your Own Bottle and Every Drop Counts.

 
During 2020, Northumbrian Water participated in the industry-wide conference, Water UK’s Deliver a Zero Carbon Water Sector, which was opened by Northumbrian Water’s CEO Heidi Mottram. Representatives from across the sector shared experiences as they collectively work to deliver on a commitment to be net zero carbon by 2030. Northumbrian Water has further committed to being net zero by 2027.

More information on these programmes and more can be found in Northumbrian Water’s Contribution report available here: https://view.pagetiger.com/our-contribution/july2020

Beyond Northumbrian Water, the Group’s other Infrastructure companies also dedicate themselves to water conversation and sustainable effluent management. For example, EnviroNZ reduces water consumption by collecting stormwater at ChemWaste Auckland and Christchurch, Hampton Downs Landfill, EnviroFill North and EnviroFill South. Stored stormwater is used for a range of operational uses.

As a general practice, temporary wastewater storage and treatment facilities have been installed at power plant construction sites to recycle wastewater generated from bore piling work to reduce wastewater discharge.

Established targets set by the Infrastructure businesses include:
  

  • UKPN aims to reduce existing water consumption at the top six depots by 10 – 15% by 2021. UKPN will accomplish this by installing Hippo water bricks and push taps (water-saving devices) at the office sites.
  • Northumbrian Water has established a 2025 goal to reduce water consumption by 15% in the North and 17.5% in the South.


For the Retail division, main areas of focus for water consumption relate to food retail (water usage in fish tanks, and to wash fresh vegetables) and manufacturing. To reduce water consumption ASW has installed water valves to control water usage in fresh food warehouses and stores for food retail.
  

  • For manufacturing,
    • Non-potable water from the distilled water production line is reclaimed for watering greenery and flushing toilets; 
    • Water from bottles washing is reclaimed for refilling the cooling tower; 
    • A water saving system for the beverage line has been implemented; and
    • Water used for cooling beverage products is recycled.

 
ASW has an Environmental Emergency plan for its manufacturing operation, which is approved by government, is in place should an effluent incident occur.

At Ports, water has been identified as a focus area and each BU implements initiatives tailored to local needs. At Hutchison Ports Yantian, rainwater is harvested and used for the cleaning of the workshop and for greening areas onsite.

For the Telecommunications division, water consumption is deemed immaterial as it relates only to office consumption. Nevertheless, the installation of low flow aerators and use of water saving equipment in the office are focus areas.

Biodiversity protection

Many of the Infrastructure businesses are introducing an environmental “net gain” philosophy into their operational ethos and leading their industries with these approaches. Highlight projects from the businesses include:
 

  • NGN has committed to measure and report the natural capital value of up to 50 of its largest asset sites by 2026. Using a bespoke tool being developed for NGN by specialist consultants, the assessment will provide a valuation in both technical biodiversity units and financial cost for relevant ecosystem services provided by the sites. The assessment will be undertaken across the sites three times during the period to identify changes in natural capital in response to NGN land management activities. The findings of these assessments will be publicly reported in NGN’s Annual Environmental Report. The tool can also be used to review and assess the natural capital impacts of different design solutions to inform project optioneering and business case production.
  • Northumbrian Water has completed its first natural capital account for its southern landholding in Essex, Suffolk and Norfolk. The account combines data on the extent and condition of natural capital assets in the landholding, the benefits they produce, and the value of those benefits to society, in both non- monetary and monetary value. The account provides a baseline assessment of the landholding’s natural capital and establishes a consistent way of measuring. Northumbrian Water is also working with specialists to develop an in-house tool to evaluate the biodiversity value of all sites larger that 0.2ha. Sites have been ranked from 1-10 so that they can start to monitor change of impact as well as identify sites that need more work.
  • UKPN has committed to a Networks Green Action Plan to enhance biodiversity around its sites, in particular substation sites. As part of the Plan, UKPN identified 100 sites using the using the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (“DEFRA”) calculator and partnered with ecological experts, ADAS and Wildlife Trusts, to assess the sites and determine a baseline biodiversity measurement. Following each survey, a biodiversity management plan was prepared with site-specific measures to enhance the biodiversity potential. By 2021, UKPN aims to increase the biodiversity value by up to 30% at these 100 sites.

The Branch Out Fund

Northumbrian Water’s Branch Out Fund supports environmental projects that help to restore some of the most threatened habitats as well as create new outdoor environments for the public to enjoy. Since its launch in 2013, Northumbrian Water has invested over £500,000 in the Fund, enabling over £10,000,000 to be invested in 138 projects restoring local biodiversity through top-up government grant funding.

Northumbrian Water’s Water Rangers Community Programme works with volunteers across communities to help clear and protect 56 of the region’s waterways more prone to pollution. A total of 74km have been protected through 8500 patrols since beginning the programme in 2014.

Hutchison Ports recognises its a responsibility to protect its surrounding environment. Activities underway to maintain local biodiversity include:
 

  • In Mexico, Hutchison Ports Lazaro Cardenas and Hutchison Ports Lazaro Cardenas Multipurpose Terminal have collaborated with the local community to create a turtle protection programme. Every year, three endangered species of turtle visit the ports’ local areas to lay their eggs on Michoacán’s beaches including: the pacific loggerhead, the pond slider and the leatherback sea turtles. Once the turtles have laid their eggs, the nests are then carefully re-sited to protect them from predators until the eggs hatch before being released back into the sea;
  • In Mainland China, Hutchison Ports Yantian worked together with the Yantian Port Group to release over nine million fish and shrimp fingerlings into the surrounding waters of Mirs Bay during 2020 in an effort to re-populate fish species in the local aquatic environment; and
  • In the UK, Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe is home to a pair of nesting Peregrine Falcons. The pair, which are afforded UK legal protection status, have called the port home for the last 8 years, returning each spring to lay eggs in the dedicated nesting trays provided by the port. The port carefully manages operations around the pair during the nesting season, limiting container storage and footfall in the immediate vicinity of the nest.

  
Hutchison Ports' volunteer teams also focus on local conservation efforts as part of the global GO GREEN campaign through planting trees and cleaning local green spaces for the community.

Employee volunteering in environmental protection efforts are common across all businesses divisions. Similarly, employees are also encouraged to adopt an eco-conscious mindset at work through landmark celebrations in the environmental calendar including Earth Hour and World Environment Day.

環境管理:保護自然資源



根據本集團的可持續發展政策,集團致力節約用水、防止對土地、水及空氣造成污染,以及保護及恢復生物多樣性。此項目標與部門訂立應對氣侯變化和推動循環經濟等其他目標本質上互相連結。關於節約能源及廢物處理,請瀏覽有關章節;以下章節討論水務處理及保護生物多樣性。

用水及污水處理

2020 年,集圑 94% 的淡水用量與基建部門有關。由於零售、港口、電訊等部門的用量相對輕微,以下資訊大部分集中於基建部門。

作為基建部門唯一與水務有關企業,Northumbrian Water 致力成為業內翹楚。於 2020 年,Northumbrian Water 在處理供水故障方面領先同業,減少了客戶供水中斷。以用水緊張的艾塞克斯及薩福克地區為例,防止滲漏是水務公司最優先考慮的問題。由於 Northumbrian Water 的努力,成績優越,該地區滲漏水平低於國內任何其他供水及污水處理公司。此外 Northumbrian Water 在艾塞克斯投資阿伯頓方案,令阿伯頓水庫儲水量增加 60% 至 410 億升,並投資一項管道計劃,將水從阿伯頓引導到艾塞克斯更廣泛地區,緩和整個地區對水緊張壓力。Northumbrian Water 亦推出免費網上課程「漣漪效應」,針對 7 至 11 歲青少年講授水資源價值。此外,亦在英國節約用水運動「珍惜」中牽頭,鼓勵公眾節約用水。

Northumbrian Water 已就未來 40 年建立水資源管理計劃,研究來自水塘、河流、地下水等源頭的風險和保障。計劃研究這些源頭在不影響環境下的可供水量; 氣候變化對需求及可用資源的影響;未來用水的人數;對人口及房屋增長的影響,以至節約用水計劃;安裝水錶,減少 滲漏及其他考慮範圍。如前所述,防止滲漏是重要的關注範圍,故 WWU 承諾於 2020 年至 2025 年間減少滲漏 15%,每 5 年再進一步減少 10%2045 年。簡言之,計劃的結論認為,Northumbrian Water 有足够水資源應付未來至少 40 年的預測需求。此份用水評估及稀缺考量報告亦成為 Northumbrian Water 2020 年 4 月至 2025 年 3 月商務計劃的一部分。詳情請參閱 https://www.nwg.co.uk/responsibility/environment/wrmp/

有關 Northumbrian Water 進一步用水指標,可參閱:
 


至於廢水管理,Northumbrian Water 的渠務及廢水管理系統(「DWMP」)將為排水及廢水服務提供長遠策劃的基礎。該計劃目標包括:
 

  

  
有關 Northumbrian Water 廢水處理計劃及每月更新通訊,可瀏覽以下連結:https://www.nwl.co.uk/services/sewerage/drainage-and-wastewater-management-plans/

以下進一步總結 Northumbrian Water 的渠務及廢水處理方法:
 

 

持份者參與節約用水

Northumbrian Water 的多項重要宣傳計劃當中,能够有效改變客户行為的要數它的「Bin The Wipe」運動。

大多數濕紙巾均由塑料製成。換言之,它們並不如同廁紙券般可在水中分解。被冲入馬桶的濕紙巾造成東北區六成以上的污水渠淤塞,構成嚴重問題,影響客户家居、社區及環境。

Northumbrian Water 致力提高客户意識。透過客户調查,Northumbrian Water 發現過半數家居的浴室沒有廢紙箱可以丢棄用完的濕紙巾,同樣地,過半數家居的浴室郤放置有濕紙巾等用品。Northumbrian Water 遂送予客户一個廢紙箱,並發現小小行為習慣上的改變正引發巨大影響。Northumbrian Water 亦聯同當地具影響力的化妝品商 Hayley Hall, Katie Meehan 及 Terri Heckley 鼓勵以可重用的選項代替即用即棄的濕紙巾,作為宣傳運動的其中一部份。

除以上運動外,Northumbrian Water 亦舉辦多項讓不同持份者參與的舉措,在經營所在地區創造更大規模及有意義的行為改變, 促進節約用水。部份舉措包括:
   

  • Branch Out 基金」支持當地保護水資源;
  • 「雨水道」計劃教育大眾如何以自然、可持續的方式管理市區的雨水,模仿雨水自然流走。
  • 「水務巡警計劃」讓社區得以參與防止污染水道工作;
  • 「用水無憂」及「水貧困支援計劃」旨在消除水貧困,鼓勵有效用水行為,亦同時減低水費支出;
  • 「全城起動」旨在讓全民參與例如「自攜水樽」及「滴滴珍惜」等鼓勵可持續行為的活動。

 
2020 年期間,Northumbrian Water 參與了整個業界討論如何實踐零碳排放的會議。會議由 Northumbrian Water 行政總裁 Heidi Mottram 致開幕詞。各代表分享經驗之餘,亦集體承諾於 2030 年前達至淨碳排放。Northumbrian Water 則更進一步將目標提前至 2027 年。

更多計劃內容載於 Northumbrian Water 的環境、社會及經濟影響報告,詳情可瀏覽: https://view.pagetiger.com/our-contribution/july2020

Beyond Northumbrian Water,the Group’s other Infrastructure 除 Northumbrian Water 之外,集團其他基建公司亦致力於節約用水及進行可持續的污水管理。例如,EnviroNZ 從奥克蘭及基督城的化學廢物處理中心、漢普頓唐思賽道堆填場、以及 Enviro 南、北堆填場收集雨水作廣泛的營運用途。

一般而言,電廠起建地點會設置臨時廢水儲存及處理設施,以便將鑽孔樁工程產生的廢水回收,循環再用,減少廢水排放。

基建業務已訂立的目標包括:
  

  • 2021 年,UKPN 的目標是將現時六大工作地點的耗水量減少 10%-15%UKPN 將在辦公室洗水間的蓄水池和飲水機安裝慳水設施協助達至目標。
  • 2025 年,Northumbrian Water 的南北耗水量分別減少 15% 及 17.5%
  • 對於零售部門而言,耗水方面主要和食物零售有關(例如鱼缸用的水,以及清洗新鮮蔬菜等)及製造業所耗用的水量。為減少耗水,屈臣氏集團已在鲜生食材庫及食物零售店舖安裝水閥控制用水量。
  • 製造業方面,
    • 回收蒸餾水生產缐的非飲用水作灌溉及沖洗厠所之用;
    • 回收清洗水樽的水作冷卻塔之用;
    • 飲品生產線巳實施節約用水系統;及
    • 將冷凍飲品的用水循環再用

   
屈臣氏集團制訂有經政府認可的環保緊急事故計劃,以應對一旦製造過程出現污染物等影響事故。

港口方面,用水一直是被受關注的範圍,各個業務單位亦已因應當地情况實施舉措配合需要。在和記港口鹽田,雨水被收集用作清潔工場及灌溉林木。

最後,對於電訊部門,耗水量由於只限於辦公室,影響輕微。雖然如此,集團仍在辦公室設有低流量及慳水裝置。

保護自然資源

眾多企業正在將改善環境淨收益理念引入營運,並以此引領同業。部分重點項目包括:
 

  • NGN 已承諾在 2026 年前,測量及報告最多 50 個其最大資產場地的自然資本價值。專業顧問為其訂制開發工具,將提供相關生態系統的生物多樣化技術單位及財務成本估值。在此期間,顧問將在該等場地進行三次評估,以確定自然資本在應對 NGN 土地管理活動方面的變化。評估結果將在 NGN 年度環境報告公開呈報。該工具還可用於檢討及評估不同設計方案對自然資本的影響,為項目選案及製作商業案例提供材料。
  • Northumbrian Water 已完成艾塞克斯、薩福克及諾福克南部土地所有權首個自然資本帳戶。該帳戶整合的數據包括其持有土地中自然資本資產的範圍及狀況、所產生的效益,以及對社會的價值(包括非金錢及金錢價值)。該帳戶提供了對土地所有權的自然資本基線評估,並建立一致的測量方法。Northumbrian Water 並與專家合作,開發內部工具,評估所有大於 0.2 公頃場地的多樣化生物價值,並將場地由 1-10 編號,以便開始監測變化,識別那些場地該投入更多工作。
  • UKPN 已承諾實施「網絡綠色行動計劃」,以提高其站點附近的生物多樣化,尤其是變電站範圍。作為計劃一部分,UKPN 已選定 100 個地點,採用「環境、食品及鄉村事務部」計算系统,並夥拍生態專家、ADAS 及「野生動物信託基金」,對這些地點進行評估,確定生物多樣化基線測量。每次調查後,UKPN 會制訂管理計劃, 採取針對該地點的措施提高生物多樣化潛力。UKPN 目標,是於 2021 年前,將這 100 個地點的生物多樣化價值提升高達 30%
 
Branch Out 基金

Northumbrian Water 的「Branch Out 基金」支持環保項目, 幫助恢復部分最受威脅的棲息地,並為公眾建造戶外環境以供享用。自 2013 年啟動以來, Northumbrian Water 已在基金中投資超過 50 萬英鎊,並透過政府補充撥款,令可投入資金超過 1,000 萬英鎊,分別投資於 138 個項目,協助回復當地的生物多樣化。

Northumbrian Water 「水務巡警社區計劃」與各社區義工合作,幫助清理及保護該地區 56 條較易受污染的水道。該計劃自 2014 年實施以來,總共巡邏 8,500 次,有 74 公里水道得到保護。

和記港口明白有責任保護當地環境。多個港口正在積極努力維護當地的生物多樣性:
 

  • 在墨西哥,和記港口聖樊尚貨櫃碼頭以及多用途碼頭與當地社區合作建立了一個海龜保護計劃。每年,三種瀕臨絕種的海龜(太平洋赤蠵龜、黃腹滑龜及棱皮龜)到訪當地港口區域,在米卻肯海灘上產卵。海龜一旦產卵,巢穴便會被仔細重置以免受掠食動物侵害,直到卵孵化後才將小海龜放回大海。
  • 在中國內地,和記港口鹽田國際與鹽田港口集團合作,在 2020 年期間在大鵬灣周邊水域投放超過 900 萬魚苗蝦苗,致力為當地水域重新繁衍魚群;及
  • 在英國,和記港口菲力斯杜港在過去八年,一直成為一對受英國法律保護的游隼的家園,該對游隼每年春天都會回到港口提供的專用築巢盤中產卵。在築巢季節,菲力斯杜港謹慎管理鳥巢附近的作業, 限制貨櫃儲存量及人流。

  
和記港口義工隊專注當地保育工作,積極參與社區植樹造林及清潔綠化地帶之餘,亦不忘參與其他環保活動,並藉著參與「地球一小時」及「世界環境日」等標誌性的環保慶祝活動,鼓勵員工在工作上保持環保及重視生態意識。