Environmental - Our Approach

The Group’s commitment to environmental management is laid out in its Environmental Policy. All core businesses have environmental management systems underway that are fit for purpose for their industries. Many businesses across all core businesses have achieved ISO 140001 external certification including: ASW’s manufacturing locations in China and Hong Kong; 11 ports (21%) and another 4 have planned certification; WINDTRE, and 3 Private networks in the UK; and NGN, WWU, UKPN, Seabank Power, AVR, VPN, Australian Energy Operations and ista. To make further progress on integrated energy management, Hutchison Ports UK and ista are certified to ISO 50001 in energy management. The Group’s Internal Audit team also conducts internal audit of core businesses on sustainability biannually.

As a priority focus area, climate change has been given additional focus in the Group’s risk management processes as of 2020 and it has also been included in the Group’s biannual Risk Management and Internal Controls progress meeting where senior management across all divisions report to the Group on progress being made particularly in the areas of: target-setting in support of science-based and net zero targets, scope 3 emissions reporting and progress against the TCFD framework.  

The Group regards compliance with laws and regulations as a top priority and there are established policies and accountability mechanisms to ensure regulatory compliance. Management is committed to staying abreast of the latest environment-related regulatory developments and providing the necessary training for relevant personnel. During the reporting period, the Group is not aware of any non-compliance with laws and regulations having a significant impact on the Group relating to air and GHG emissions, discharge into water and land, and the generation of hazardous and non-hazardous wastes.

環境管理:方法

本集團對環境管理的承諾已載於環保政策。所有核心業務均設有切合其需要的環境管理系統 ,其中多項業務更取得 ISO 140001 外部認證,包括屈臣氏集團位於中國和香港的生產廠房;11 個港口(佔 21%),另有四個港口在計劃認證; WINDTRE3 英國私人網絡, 以及 NGN、WWU、UKPN、 Seabank Power、AVR、VPN、Australian Energy Operations 及 ista。和記港口英國及 ista 的能源管理系統更取得 ISO50001,進一步提升整合能源管理。集團內部審核部門亦每兩年就核心業務的可持續發展進行。

作為優先關注焦點,氣候變化由 2020 年開始,已列為集團風險管理中備受重視的項目,且在每兩年舉行的風險管理及内部管控會議上,由各部門高級管理層向集團作出滙報,重點項目包括以下三方面的進展:設立目標以支持科學基礎減量目標倡議及淨零排放、範圍3排放報告,以及針對氣候相關財務資訊披露工作組的工作。

本集團視守法合規為最重要事務,設有既定政策和責任機制確保合規,並致力緊貼最新環保法例發展,為相關人員提供需要的培訓。報告期內,本集團並無發現任何關於空氣及温室氣體排放、污染陸地和海水的排放,以及生產危險及非危險性廢物等違法違規,且對集團有重大影響的事宜。