Environmental - Renewable Energy Use
The Group has identified increasing its uptake of renewable energy globally as a key opportunity in decreasing its carbon footprint and has identified it as a global focus area for all core businesses.

Since 2012, Hutchison Ports has progressively been installing solar infrastructure. Approximately 720 MW of renewable energy is generated annually across ports in the UK, Mexico, Spain, Australia and the UAE. Beyond these projects, Hutchison Ports will continue to seek opportunities to increase the uptake of renewable energy consumption in the division’s power mix which accounted for 9.6% of electricity consumption as at end 2020.

The procurement of 100% renewable electricity contracts in key markets across Europe continued to make progress in 2020 for all core businesses. The Retail division has achieved 100% renewable energy in three major European markets including the UK, Belgium and Netherlands meaning that Superdrug, Savers, The Perfume Shop, Kruidvat, Trekpleister and ICI Paris XL are all powered entirely by green electricity. Renewable energy therefore makes up 85% of ASW’s European portfolio and 21% of ASW’s total electricity consumption globally.

Currently, the Telecommunications division’s networks in Austria and Ireland are powered by 100% green energy and the UK and Sweden’s green energy uptake is at 90% and 86% respectively. This accounts for 26% of electricity purchased and the division is currently assessing the maturity of the renewable energy markets in which it operates to understand how it can accelerate the uptake of renewable energy in the division’s power mix. 3 Austria and WINDTRE further produce renewable energy through their own solar photovoltaic systems.

The percentage of renewable electricity across the Group remains at 10% however. While there are often barriers locally owing to a lack of renewable electricity options in particularly Asian markets, the Group is currently assessing the maturity of the renewable energy markets in which it operates to understand how this level of uptake can be materially changed.
 

Freeport East Hydrogen Hub

Freeport East, centred upon the Port of Felixstowe and Harwich International Port (both owned and operated by Hutchison Ports), will be one of the eight new Freeports in the UK. Working closely with a consortium of partners, Hutchison Ports is helping to position Freeport East as a world-leading green hydrogen hub and centre for excellence in sustainability over the next two years. At its peak, it is expected to produce 1GW of hydrogen, 20% of the 5GW target in the UK’s Ten Point Plan for a Green Industrial Revolution. Among many other uses, the hydrogen produced will be used to power port infrastructure and equipment.


"The development of the Hydrogen Hub will allow the Port of Felixstowe and Harwich International to lead in the development of alternative fuel port equipment. Establishing a test-bed to showcase hydrogen’s potential in a port environment will establish the UK as a clear leader in developments that will help address climate change and the net zero agenda."

Clemence Cheng, Managing Director, Hutchison Ports Europe

環境管理:使用可再生能源
集團確認全球增加使用可再生能源是減少碳足跡的重要契機,並將其定為所有核心業務的全球關注重點。

2012 年起,和記港口已逐步安裝太陽能設施。於 2020 年,在英國、墨西哥、西班牙、澳洲及阿聯酋的碼頭產生約 720 兆瓦可再生能源。除上述項目外,和記港口將繼續尋求機會,在部門能源結構中增加利用可再生能源的比例。截至 2020 年底, 可再生能源佔港口部門的用電量 9.6%

2020 年,所有核心業務於歐洲主要市場,採購 100% 可再生能源電力合同的工作繼續取得進展。零售部門 在三個主要歐洲市場,包括英國、比利時及荷蘭,已經實現使用 100% 可再生能源,即  Superdrug、Savers、The Perfume Shop、Kruidvat、Trekpleister 及 ICI Paris XL 均完全由綠色電力提供能源。現時,可再生能源佔屈臣氏集團歐洲業務的 85%,及其環球總用電量的 21%

目前,電訊部門在奧地利及愛爾蘭的網絡百分百由綠色能源供電,英國及瑞典的綠色能源比例分別達 90% 及 86%。這相當於購買電力的 26%,部門正在評估其營運所在地區可再生能源市場的成熟程度,了解如何在現有的能源組合中加快使用可再生能源。3 奧地利及 WINDTRE 更透過其擁有的太陽能光伏系統生產可再生能源。

然而,整個集團的可再生電力比例仍只為 10%。雖然亞洲市場缺乏可再生電力能源的選擇而令當地發展出現困難,集團現正評估其經營所在地區可再生能源市場的成熟程度,以瞭解如何大幅作出改變。
 

東自由港氫氣樞紐

東自由港以和記港口菲力斯杜港及哈爾威治國際港(均由和記港口擁有及經營)為中心,將成為英國八個新自由港之一。和記港口與一眾聯盟的夥伴緊密合作,在未來兩年內將東自由港定位為引領全球的綠色氫氣樞紐及卓越的可持續發展中心。氫氣樞紐預計高峰產能達 1 吉瓦,佔英國綠色工業革命十項計劃中 5 吉瓦目標的 20%,所生產的氫氣將用於驅動港口基建及設備等多種用途。


氫氣樞紐的發展將使和記港口菲力斯杜港及哈爾威治國際港在開發替代燃料港口設備方面處於領先地位。在港口環境中測試使用氫氣的潛力,可鞏固英國在解決氣候變化及淨零排放進程方面的領導位置。

和記港口歐洲總經理鄭振訓