Approach to Sustainability

4.2. Approach to Sustainability

The Group is committed not just to its shareholders, but also to a wide range of stakeholders including employees, customers, suppliers, creditors, regulators and the community. Taking a proactive approach to sustainability is not only a part of the Group’s heritage, inherent in the various strands of the corporate strategy of the Group, but is also crucial to the Group’s business success. Sustainability is an integral element in maintaining the Group’s position as a responsible business that contributes positively to the development of the communities in which the Group operates.

4.2.1. CSR Pillars and Policies
The Group’s overall sustainability approach and priorities are built on four pillars, namely Business, People, Environment and Community. Each pillar is supported by Group-wide policies, leadership at the Group level and the collective efforts of each core business. These four pillars guide the Group in setting the overall direction of its sustainability strategy to integrate sustainability across its worldwide businesses. The Group has policies, procedures and guidelines in place to support management in addressing material sustainability issues across the Group, as described throughout this Report.

For more information, please refer to the Corporate Social Responsibility Policy.




The table below highlights relevant policies and procedures in place to support the execution of Group-wide priorities under each pillar:



 


 

These policies, procedures and guidelines are adopted Group-wide, based on each core business which devises its own set to meet local operational needs and to comply with local legal and regulatory requirements, and on a continuous basis, monitors their execution and compliance through regular management reviews and reporting. 

For Group-wide monitoring, on a half-yearly basis, each core business is required to formally conduct a self-assessment in relation to its enterprise risk management, operations, as well as statutory and regulatory compliances such as tax and anti-fraud and anti-corruption practices Goals and targets reporting on sustainability issues also form part of the bi-annual self-assessment process. 

As an integral part of sustainability governance, these self-assessment results are subject to internal audits, then submitted to the Executive Directors, the Audit and Sustainability Committees for review and approval. Relevant self-assessment results are also shared with external auditors. For more information, please refer to Section 4.3.3. Internal Control Environment and the  Company's 2019 Corporate Governance Report.

4.2.2. Stakeholders Engagement
The Group maintains ongoing dialogues with its key stakeholders, including employees, shareholders, investors, customers, business partners, creditors, suppliers, professional institutions, non-government organisations, regulatory authorities and media. The Group regularly collects views from stakeholders through a variety of channels, such as meetings, liaison groups, panel discussions, workshops, surveys and feedback programmes.

The following table summarises the channels established to engage and communicate with stakeholders to understand their views and expectations.




4.2.3. The Materiality Assessment Process
As a multinational conglomerate operating a variety of businesses across different countries and cultures, the Group recognises the differences in social, economic and environmental needs in each industry and market, where certain sustainability topics are more relevant to specific business activities and geographies.

To this end, the Group conducted a materiality assessment to define the material sustainability issues facing its core businesses that are perceived to be most significant to the Group and its stakeholders.







The Group adopts the materiality assessment process to determine its focus areas for managing and monitoring sustainability performance at the respective core businesses. The results facilitate the Group to steer its sustainability strategy, prioritise its sustainability activities, and establish meaningful metrics for effective performance evaluation.  Through working closely with each core business, the Group sets specific targets and roadmaps to achieve its sustainability mission, taking into account local situations and requirements.

The results set the focus of this Sustainability Report, as elaborated by each core business in the sections below including disclosures on their material sustainability issues, key initiatives and performance in the year. For more information, please refer to their respective corporate websites and sustainability reports.

可持續發展方針

4.2. 可持續發展方針

除股東外,集團亦向包括僱員、顧客、供應商、信貸人、規管機關與社區的不同持份者作出承諾。以主動態度處理可持續發展並非純為集團企業策略傳統一部分,也是集團業務成功的要訣。可持續發展,並對營運所在地社區發展作出積極貢獻,是集團維持負責任企業定位不可或缺的一環。

4.2.1. 企業社會責任的支柱與政策
集團的整體可持續發展方針與重點建基於四大支柱,分別為業務、人才、環境社區。每一支柱均具備集團全面政策、集團領導層與各項核心業務共同努力的支持。此四大支柱為集團訂立可持續發展策略的整體方向提供根據,務求將可持續發展融入世界各地的業務。集團已制訂好政策、程序與指引,以輔助管理層處理本報告所闡述的集團重大可持續發展事宜。

有關詳情,請參閱企業社會責任政策




下表摘要列示現有的相關政策與程序,用以支援集團各項業務執行每一支柱下的優先事項:



 


 

集團所有業務已採納上述政策、程序與指引,各項核心業務在此基礎上自行設計一套符合當地運作需要與當地法律與規管要求的政策程序與指引,同時透過定期管理層檢討與匯報,持續監察措施的執行與合規。

為應對整個集團的監督工作,每項核心業務須就其企業風險管理、運作,以及稅務、防止欺詐與反貪污等實務的合規,每半年正式自我評估一次。半年一度的自我評估也須匯報有關可持續發展的目標與指標。

作為可持續管治的重要部分,此等自我評估結果須接受內部審核,然後呈交予執行董事、審核委員會與可持續發展委員會檢討與批准。相關自我評估結果亦會提交外聘核數師。有關詳情,請參閱第 4.3.3. 節「內部監控環境」與公司 2019 年企業管治報告

4.2.2. 與持份者的溝通
集團與主要持份者,包括僱員、股東、投資者、顧客、業務夥伴、信貸人、供應商、專業機構、非政府組織、規管機關與傳媒長期保持對話。集團定期透過多種渠道,例如會議、聯絡小組、小組討論、工作坊、意見調查與回饋計劃,收集持份者的意見。

下表概述與持份者溝通的渠道,從而了解他們的意見與期望。




4.2.3. 重要性評估程序
作為一家跨國企業,集團在不同國家經營多元化業務,跨越文化差異,明白每個行業與市場都有不同的社會、經濟與環保需要,因此若干可持續發展課題對特定的業務活動與地域尤其相關。

為此,集團進行重要性評估,以界定在核心業務中,集團與持份者視為最重大的重要可持續發展課題。








集團透過重要性評估程序,決定核心業務各自管理與監察可持續發展表現的重點範疇。評估結果讓集團可導引其可持續發展策略、釐定可持續發展活動的優先排序,以及為表現的有效評估設定有意義的指標。透過與每項核心業務緊密合作,並考慮當地的情況與要求,集團制訂履行可持續發展任務的指標與藍圖。

評估結果成為本可持續發展報告的焦點。以下章節將詳細討論每項核心業務,包括重要可持續發展議題的披露,以及年內主要措施與表現。有關詳情,請瀏覽各核心業務的企業網站與可持續發展報告。