Anti-Corruption

8.2. Anti-Corruption

8.2.1. Commitment
Husky strictly prohibits any form of bribery, corruption and fraud. It adheres to regulations around lobbying in the jurisdictions where it operates, and report all lobbying activities as required. Husky observes and respects all laws concerning political donations and it does not provide donations for municipal elections, leadership contests, individual candidates or riding/constituency associations. They do not reimburse personnel for individual political donations.

8.2.2. The Challenges
Bribery and corruption is an important topic for the industry. As a highly complicated and large scale industry involving complex and large contracts, with many stakeholders, there is a potential risk of bribery and corruption in certain parts of the world.

In the process of increasing production, more connection and communication with local communities on the use of land for exploration activities are required, and expose employees or stakeholders to the risk of bribery and corruption.  However, in mature markets, such as those that Husky operates in, and strong industry culture add an additional barrier to bribery and corruption.

8.2.3. Initiatives

8.2.3.1. Reporting Mechanisms
The Energy division aims to provide a confidential and open platform for employees, contractors and stakeholders to report any perceived breaches of the Code of Business Conduct which may lead to bribery and corruption.

There is a confidential and anonymous Ethics Help Line where employees, contractors and other stakeholders can report perceived breaches of the Code of Business Conduct. The Ethics Help Line is managed by EthicsPoint, an independent third-party service provider. Reports can be made through an online form or by calling a toll-free phone line available in each country where Husky operates, including English and French options in Canada.

Those making a report can choose to provide information anonymously. Information provided is submitted to the Ethics Help Line Committee, which includes representatives from the legal, audit, security, health, safety, environment and human resources departments. Perceived breaches of the Code of Business Conduct reported through other channels are recorded with those received via EthicsPoint. If it is determined a report requires further investigation, a formal review will be launched.
 


8.2.4. Looking Forward
On 25 April 2019, the Board of Directors of Husky approved a general update of the Code of Business conduct. This update included amendments to the section on accepting hospitality, promotional offerings and other business courtesies to align with, and reflect changes to, Husky's Anti-Bribery and Anti-Corruption Policy. This included updating the definition of "things of value" and the rules regarding to the acceptance or the giving of bona fide hospitality, promotional offerings and other business courtesies. Husky will continue to identify areas for improvement to strengthen the Anti-Bribery and Anti-Corruption Policy and actively amend the policies appropriately.

The Ethics Help Line received 107 reports in 2019, a significant increase from 39 reports in 2018. Looking forward, the company aims to conduct investigations and understand the root-cause of each report and look for areas of improvement and prevent reoccurrences.

For more information, please refer to the Code of Business Conduct

反貪污

8.2. 反貪污

8.2.1. 承諾
赫斯基嚴厲禁止任何形式的賄賂、貪污和欺詐。公司遵守其營運所在司法管轄區有關游說的規例,並按照規定報告所有游說活動。赫斯基遵守及尊重所有關於政治捐獻的法律,不會對巿政府選舉、領袖競選、個別候選人或選區協會作出捐獻,員工個人所作政治捐獻不得向公司報銷。

8.2.2. 挑戰
度複雜且規模龐大,繁複的大額合約往往牽涉眾多持份者,因而導致個別地區出現潛在的賄賂和貪污風險。

產量增加促使業界須就土地使用和勘探活動與當地社區建立更多聯繫和溝通,從而令相關僱員或持份者面對賄賂與貪污風險。然而,在赫斯基所營運的成熟的能源市場,業界廉潔的文化為防範賄賂與貪污設置了重重關卡。

8.2.3. 措施

8.2.3.1. 舉報機制
能源部門致力為僱員、承判商和持份者提供一個公開平台,讓他們可透過保密形成舉報所發現的違反業務行為守則而可能導致賄賂與貪污的情況。

公司設有保密及匿名的道德事宜求助熱線,僱員、承判商和持份者均可舉報疑似違反業務行為守則的事件;熱線由獨立第三方服務供應 EthicsPoint 管理。舉報可透過填寫網上表格提出,或可致電赫斯基每個營運所在國家提供的免費熱線,而在加拿大更提供英語及法語選擇。

舉報人可選擇以匿名方式提供資料,所提供的資料將呈交道德事宜求助熱線委員會;委員會的成員來自法律、審核、保安、健康、安全、環境以及人力資源各個部門。通過其他渠道舉報的疑似違反業務守則事件,將與 EthicsPoint 收到的舉報一同記錄。假如某項舉報被判定須作進一步調查,正式審查程序即會展開。
 


8.2.4. 展望將來
2019 年 4 月 25 日,赫斯基董事會批准一項對業務守則的總體更新,包括對有關接受款待、推廣優惠與其他商業禮遇各部分的修訂,以配合與反映經修訂後的赫斯基防止賄賂及反貪污政策。修訂內容包括更新「貴重物品」的定義,以及有關接受或提供實質款待、推廣優惠與其他商業禮遇的規例。赫斯基將繼續識別須予改善之處,務求加強防止賄賂及反貪污政策,並主動對政策作出適當修訂。

道德事宜求助熱線於 2019 年接獲 107 宗舉報,與 2018 年接獲 39 宗相比,增幅顯著。展望將來,公司目標是調查每宗舉報,了解箇中因由,並找出須予改善之處和防止同類事件再次發生。

詳情請參閱業務行為守則