Community & Indigenous Peoples' Engagement

8.4. Community & Indigenous Peoples' Engagement

8.4.1. Commitment
With many operations located near Indigenous communities, Husky aims to work with Indigenous communities with respect, trust and transparency. Through different policies and initiatives, the company seeks to build strong, mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities and support their development.

8.4.2 The Challenges
The development of energy production projects in Canada often happen in the traditional territory of Indigenous people. Husky seeks to achieve Free, Prior and Informed Consent ("FPIC"), as set out in its Indigenous Relations Policy, through the process of meaningful engagement and consultation, in advance of project decisions and before impacts occur, and with appropriate information on development plans.

8.4.3. Initiatives

8.4.3.1. Effective Communication
Maintaining effective and transparent communication is the key to promoting mutual trust between Indigenous communities and Husky. Therefore, a dedicated Indigenous & Community Relations team was established to engage Indigenous communities. The team provides internal advice and relationship support to various departments, ensuring consistency and regulatory compliance of the engagement approach.

Through consultations with the communities, Husky responds to the needs and capacity of the community, which may result in formal agreements, such as a Memorandum of Understanding, to a simple shared understanding of the community engagement processes Husky uses. To further enhance the communication with Indigenous communities, Husky also joined a delegation of Indigenous leaders to meet with federal leaders and the Senate to discuss the benefits of pipeline access for its Alberta production.

8.4.3.2. Fostering Economic Development
Economic inclusion is the key to fostering economic development of the Indigenous communities. Husky focuses on building Indigenous businesses’ capacity by establishing competitiveness and developing entrepreneurs among them. Indigenous suppliers are added into the supply chain and Indigenous economic inclusion is fully considered in bid evaluations through the inclusion of language in the terms.

 



8.4.3.3. Education Promotion
Academic options can lead to additional career choices, positively affecting Indigenous students and their communities. Through funding, scholarships, mentoring, summer employment and apprenticeship positions resulting in potential career opportunities, Husky supports long-term academic success for Indigenous students. Every year, Husky offers scholarships to Indigenous students living in communities near its operations pursue post-secondary education. The scholarships are awarded by considering the actual financial needs of the students, academic merit, community and cultural involvement, and work experience. Additional peer support is available through Husky’s Indigenous Community Sharing Circle. Besides scholarships, Husky also sponsor Indigenous community schools by providing computers, laptops and printers to support their teaching needs.

Since 1984, Husky has been providing bursaries to Indigenous students pursuing high school upgrading or post-secondary education related to the oil and natural gas sector. Through this contribution, Husky encourages advanced education among Indigenous students and allow them to make improved career choices.

8.4.3.4. Developing Indigenous Leadership
Strong communities depend on strong leadership. To support future Indigenous leaders, different leadership programmes and training are offered to equip them with the necessary skills for their future endeavours.

Husky is currently a sponsor of the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, which provide Indigenous leaders with programmes supporting the development, planning and strategic implementation of their vision for their community. The programme covers negotiation skills, how to set strategic direction, measure performance and establish economic ventures. The sponsorship helps leaders in the communities to access these programmes, providing support for tuition, meals and accommodations.

8.4.3.5. Community Involvement
In order to be a good neighbour of the community, it is important for the company to move beyond day-to-day business and become involved in communities by supporting different community wellness initiatives. By encouraging the sharing of cultures, mutual understanding and respect are promoted within the community. Husky's management and employees are encouraged to participate and support different community events.

社區及原住民參與

8.4. 社區及原住民參與

8.4.1. 承諾
赫斯基許多業務營運均鄰近原住民社區,因而致力秉持尊重、信任和公開的態度與原住民社區合作。藉著不同政策與措施,公司力求與原住民社區建立鞏固的互惠關係,並支持該等社區的發展。

8.4.2 挑戰
加拿大的能源生產項目發展經常位處傳統原住民地域。赫斯基致力實現聯合國《原住民權利宣言》的自由、事前、知情同意原則,依從公司的原住民關係政策,於項目決策或影響出現前,向原住民提供發展計劃的適當資訊,及早與他們取得具意義的聯繫與諮詢。

8.4.3. 措施

8.4.3.1. 有效溝通
維持有效、公開的溝通是促進原住民社區與赫斯基之間建立互信的關鍵。因此,公司成立了一個原住民與社區關係小組,專責處理與原住民社區聯繫的事宜。小組為各部門提供內部建議和關係支援,確保統一與原住民社區聯繫的方法及監管合規。

赫斯基透過與原住民社區磋商來回應當地的需要和接受能力,最終結果可以是達成正式協議簽訂諒解備忘錄,或純粹簡便地就赫斯基採取的社區參與程序達致共同理解。為進一步加強與原住民社區溝通,赫斯基亦參加一個原住民領袖代表團,與聯邦政府首長和參議院議員舉行會議,討論建造輸送管道接駁其阿爾伯特省產油區的好處。

8.4.3.2. 促進發展
經濟共融是促進原住民社區經濟發展的關鍵。赫斯基著重促進競爭力和培養企業人才,藉以加強原住民的營商能力。公司的供應鏈已加入原住民供應商,他們所提交的標書可使用當地語言,證明公司評核投標時已充分考慮到與原住民社區經濟共融。

 



8.4.3.3. 教育推廣
學術科目多元化能帶來更多就業選擇,為原住民學生及其社區帶來正面影響。赫斯基支持原住民學生追求長遠學術成就,向他們提供資助、獎學金、專業指導、暑期工作機會和學徒職位,為他們創造就業機會。 赫斯基每年向其營運所在地附近社區的原住民學生提供獎學金,讓他們有機會接受專上教育。學生的實際經濟需要、學業成績、社區及文化活動參與,以及工作經驗,都是頒發獎學金的考慮因素。赫斯基的「原住民社區分享圈」可提供額外友儕支援。除了獎學金,赫斯基也資助原住民社區的學校,提供電腦、手提電腦和打印機,支持學校的教學需要。

自 1984 年以來,赫斯基持續提供獎學金,幫助擬升讀高中或專上學院學習有關石油及天然氣科目的原住民學生。赫斯基的捐獻有助鼓勵原住民學生接受高等教育,以期日後有更佳就業選擇。

8.4.3.4. 培養原住民的領袖才能
強大的社區需要具領導才能的人帶領。因此,公司為未來的原住民領袖提供各式各樣的領袖課程和訓練,讓他們為日後攀上領導位置作好準備。

赫斯基現時為班夫藝術與創意中心的贊助人,原住民領袖可在該中心參加各項課程,有助他們發展、計劃和有策略地實現自己對社區的願景。課程包括談判技巧、如何訂立策略方向、評定表現和建立經濟企業。公司的獎學金為社區領袖提供學費、膳食和住宿方面的資助,令他們得以就讀上述課程。

8.4.3.5. 融入社區
為了成為社區的好鄰舍,公司除著眼於日常業務之外,更須支持各項社區健康計劃,藉以融入社區。鼓勵不同文化交流,有助促進社區內互相諒解和尊重。因此,赫斯基鼓勵管理層和僱員參與及支持各項社區活動。