GHG Emissions

8.5. GHG Emissions

8.5.1. Commitment
Husky commits to maintaining ongoing management and governance of climate-related risks, with the goal of reducing GHG emissions and other air pollutants through the development and application of new technology and energy efficiency measures.

8.5.2. The Challenges
While energy production is essential to the wellbeing and prosperity of human society, the science is clear that the world needs urgent action to reduce GHG emissions and avoid the worst effects of climate change. As an oil and gas producer, the challenge is to deliver affordable energy to support economic development while reducing carbon emissions.

8.5.3. Initiatives

8.5.3.1. Improving Energy Use Efficiency in Production
To improve the efficiency of the energy operations, Husky has been exploring for the most effective way to use energy. Over the last five years, using a new reservoir operating strategy, the steam-to-oil ratio at the Tucker Thermal Project reduced by about 35%. Using less steam lowers energy use which reduces both operating costs and air emissions, including GHGs.

8.5.3.2. Reducing Fugitive Emissions in Production
Fugitive emissions, including methane and volatile organic compounds (VOCs), are gas and vapour leaks from valves, piping connections, pumps and compressor seals, and other piping system components which occur as part of the normal operation of a facility or plant. Husky’s Fugitive Emissions Management Programme detects and ensures the timely repair of leaking equipment to reduce emissions, improving operational efficiency and minimising the release of GHG and VOCs.

Several techniques are used to detect leaking components, including highly specialised infrared cameras that provide a view of normally inaccessible locations such as tank seals and overhead piping from a distance, and ultrasonic detection, which identifies leaking components using sound. All survey results are tracked by using a third-party database, creating an effective survey, repair and tracking system for managing component leakage.

In 2019, Husky’s Canadian upstream and midstream facilities followed the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Best Management Practice for Fugitive Emissions, conducting surveys quarterly at all large gathering and processing facilities and at least once a year at others. For downstream facilities, improvements in the ongoing Leak Detection and Repair monitoring have resulted in a leak rate of 0.12% for Canadian downstream facilities.

8.5.3.3. Renewable and Low Carbon Production
Renewable energy is a growing part of the energy mix and Husky is currently Western Canada’s largest manufacturer and marketer of fuel-grade ethanol. Besides engaging in the production of renewable energy, the company also assesses opportunities to use low carbon production technologies where it makes economic and operational sense.

In order to reduce the carbon intensity of upstream and downstream operations, Husky evaluates the effectiveness and cost of various potential reduction options with the help of a Marginal Abatement Cost Curve, allowing the prioritisation of resources to achieve reductions at the most efficient cost per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e).

Through carbon capture technologies, carbon is recycled for enhanced oil recovery which involves carbon being injected into reservoirs to increase oil production. Husky’s Lloydminster plant can capture up to 250 tonnes a day of carbon dioxide to aid in enhanced oil recovery, allowing the production of some of the lowest carbon intensity ethanol in Canada. From 2012 to 2019, 531,000 tonnes of carbon were captured at the Lloydminster Ethanol Plant.

There are also other pilot carbon capture programmes in place, such as the Pikes Peak South thermal project where the technology of capturing CO2 from a once-through steam generator is being tested. One pilot underway since 2015 is capturing up to 30 tonnes per day and in 2019 a 30 tonne per day system was commissioned.

 








8.5.3.4. Recognising and Managing Climate Change Risks
Husky recognises the social, environmental and economic risks posed by climate change. In response to this, such risks are built into the Enterprise Risk Management process to manage the inherent risks and opportunities brought by a lower global emissions pathway. Also incorporated into the process is the carbon-related costs based on the current and emerging policies in the jurisdictions where operations are located, and allows a better understanding of the resilience of the existing and proposed assets to changes in carbon policy and regulation.

More information on Husky’s carbon management approach and metrics are detailed in Husky’s annual submissions to the CDP Climate Change Programme, which are posted on www.huskyenergy.ca.

溫室氣體排放

8.5. 溫室氣體排放

8.5.1. 承諾
赫斯基致力持續管理和管治有關氣候的風險,並藉著開發和應用新科技,以及採取能源效益措施,以達致減少溫室氣體排放及其他空氣污染物的目標。

8.5.2. 挑戰
雖然對人類社會的福祉和繁榮而言,能源生產不可或缺,但公司清楚知道全球須採取緊急行動減少溫室氣體排放,以避免氣候變化所帶來的最壞結果。作為石油和天然氣生產商的挑戰是,一方面要提供可負擔的能源以支持經濟發展,另一方面又要減少碳排放。

8.5.3. 措施

8.5.3.1. 生產時提高能源使用效益
為提高能源運作的效益,赫斯基一直探討使用能源的最有效方法。最近五年,利用新的貯存運作策略,Tucker 熱採項目的蒸汽油比下降約 35%。使用較少蒸汽減低能源消耗,繼而減少運作成本和氣體排放,包括溫室氣體。

8.5.3.2. 生產時減少散逸排放
散逸排放包含甲烷及揮發性有機化合物,是從閥門、喉管接駁處、泵和壓縮機封口和其他管道系統組件洩漏的氣體和蒸氣,是任何設施或廠房日常運作所常見。赫斯基設有散逸排放管理計劃,檢測污染物散逸排放並確保及時維修泄漏設備以減少排放,藉以提高運作效率和盡量減少溫室氣體及揮發性有機化合物排放。

有幾種方法檢測洩漏成分,包括使用專門的紅外線攝影機從遠處監察平常難以到達的地方,例如油罐封口及架空管道,也可使用超聲波檢測法,憑聲音找出洩漏元件。所有檢測結果由第三方資料庫存錄,為管理組件洩漏設立一個有效的檢測、修理和追蹤系統。

2019 年,赫斯基位於加拿大的上游和中游設施均遵循加拿大石油生產商協會的散逸排放最佳管理實務,每季檢測所有大型收集與處理設施,而其他設施則最少每年檢測一次。至於下游設施,持續洩漏檢測與修理監察經改善後,加拿大下游設施的洩漏率為  0.12%。

8.5.3.3. 可再生及低碳生產
可再生能源在能源種類中所佔比例日益增加,赫斯基目前是加拿大西部最大的燃油級乙醇製造商和營銷商。除了致力生產可再生能源,公司亦在符合經濟與運作效益的前提下,評核使用低碳生產技術的方案。

為減低上游與下游業務營運所產生的碳強度,赫斯基以邊際減排成本曲線評估不同減排方案的效益與成本,確定優先考慮的資源,以每公噸二氧化碳當量最具成本效益的方案去達致減排目標。

通過碳捕集技術,把捕集到的二氧化碳注入油氣層,重用並提升採油率。赫斯基的勞埃德明斯特乙醇廠每日捕集最多 250 公噸二氧化碳來提升採油率,生產出加拿大其中一些碳強度含量最低的乙醇。由 2012 年至 2019 年,勞埃德明斯特乙醇廠共捕集了 531,000 公噸碳。

此外,還有其他碳捕集試驗計劃正在進行,例如南陡坡熱採項目正試驗從直流蒸汽發電機捕集二氧化碳的技術。其中一項先導計劃自 2015 年展開,每日最高捕集量達 30 公噸;而於 2019 年,一組每日捕集 30 公噸二氧化碳的系統已投入運作。

 








8.5.3.4. 認識及管理氣候變化的風險
赫斯基能源意識到氣候變化帶來的社會、環境和經濟風險。為應對此情況,有關風險已納入企業風險管理程序,管理固有風險和把握低全球排放途徑所帶來的機會。此外,與碳相關成本亦已納入上述程序,成本根據營運所在司法管轄區現行與即將推行的政策而計算,以便碳相關政策與規例一旦改變時,可更清楚現有和建議中資產的適應能力。

有關赫斯基的碳管理方法與計量詳情,已在赫斯基每年向 CDP 全球環境信息研究中心的氣候變化計劃所提交的報告中詳列,該等報告已上載於赫斯基公司網站 www.huskyenergy.ca.