Land Use and Reclamation

8..6. Land Use and Reclamation

8.6.1. Commitment
Husky strives to minimise disturbance and remediate and restore the land when operations are complete. Before any projects or operations, Husky carries out a risk assessment to identify any potential impacts to ensure these risks can be avoided, minimised or mitigated.

8.6.2. The Challenges
To responsibly produce energy the world requires, the use of land is essential in Husky’s business. Land reclamation has also been an actively discussed topic globally as it is often perceived to disrupt habitats, biodiversity and the ecosystem.

As a responsible corporation caring for the community and environment, Husky has a Corporate Biophysical Standard which outlines how it manages and conserves biodiversity, including sensitive species and habitats, invasive species and avoiding human-wildlife conflict.

8.6.3. Initiatives

8.6.3.1. Wildlife Monitoring
Husky monitors wildlife activities to design suitable impact mitigation programmes in accordance with regulations from project planning to closing stage.

Husky has used enhanced regional monitoring programmes where biodiversity is particularly sensitive, observing trends by tracking the presence and movement of animals using wildlife cameras and winter tracking studies, point counts and breeding bird surveys to provide long term trending data. In the Atlantic region, as part of its Environmental Assessment commitment, seabird observations is conducted three times a day.

It continues to monitor habitat during operations and manages surface water through the use of containment systems to prevent soil erosion and help prevent water quality impacts.

Through scientific research and collaboration with institutions, the Energy division increased understanding towards habitat and biodiversity while making an effort to minimise disruption of its operations to the environment. 

It has funded and/or participated in regional initiatives and industry committees that contribute directly or indirectly to species and habitat research, monitoring and mitigation, consistent with recognised priorities and regulations.

It supports initiatives that help to improve the understanding of biodiversity conditions in its area of operations.

In the Atlantic region, it has worked with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Atlantic Salmon Federation to deploy receivers at its White Rose field to track the migratory routes of salmon.

8.6.3.2. Area-based Closure Asset Retirement
To ensure asset retirement activities are efficient and cost effective, the division has adopted the Area-Based Closure ("ABC") programme with the support of the Alberta Energy Regulator to work with its peers to assist with better management of inactive sites liability for all of the industry.

The programme exceeds regulatory requirements for abandonment, remediation and reclamation of inactive sites.

The ABC approach includes:

  • Well abandonment
  • Facility decommissioning
  • Pipeline abandonment
  • Site remediation and reclamation

In contrast to the historic approach, the efficiency and concentrated efforts within the ABC programme allow Husky to complete more asset retirement activities. It tracks its progress against the plan, key progress updates, milestone achievements, major risks and mitigation measures and significant regulatory changes that may impact the business. Its annual spending includes onshore and offshore asset retirement activities.

8.6.3.3. Restoring Habitat
The Energy division restores the natural habitat in the areas it has completed its operations. Upon removal of all surface infrastructure, it starts remediation and reclamation activities to return disturbed lands to a capability equivalent to that prior to development. Husky’s tree planting programme has planted 542,640 trees on 247 sites in 2019, using species native to the area to re-establish similar land capability, including white and black spruce, lodge pole and jack pine, larch, poplar, dogwood and willow. Approximately 80,000 trees were cleared for new development in 2019.

土地使用與復墾

8.6. 土地使用與復墾

8.6.1. 承諾
赫斯基力求減低對土地的干擾,並於營運結束後修正與復修土地。任何項目或業務營運開始前,赫斯基均會全面評估風險,以識別任何潛在影響,並確保此等風險可以避免、減至最小或緩解。

8.6.2. 挑戰
要以負責任的方式生產全球所需能源,土地使用是赫斯基業務發展不可或缺的一環。土地復墾也全球熱議,往往被視為擾亂動物棲息地、生物多樣性和生態系統的禍首。

作為負責任而且關心社區和環境的公司,赫斯基制訂公司生物物理標準,概述公司如何管理與保護生物多樣性,包括敏感物種和棲息地、入侵物種,以及避免人類與野生動物之間的衝突。

8.6.3. 措施

8.6.3.1. 野生動物監察
由項目策劃至結束階段,赫斯基都會根據規例監察野生動物活動,以設計適當的緩解影響計劃。

在生物多樣性特別敏感的地區,赫斯基加強區域監察,利用野生動物攝影機追蹤動物所在和動向,藉以觀察趨勢,並進行冬季追蹤研究、定點點算與雀鳥繁殖調查,以提供長期的趨勢資料。在大西洋區,公司的環境評估承諾包括每日三次海鳥觀察。

在營運期間,公司持續監察棲息地和管理地面水源,方法是利用控制系統防止土壤流失,並有助防止水質受影響。

藉著科學研究和與學院合作,能源部門對棲息地和生物多樣性有更深了解,同時盡力把營運對環境的干擾降至最低。

公司資助及/ 或參與區域計劃和業界委員會,藉此直接或間接對物種及棲息地的研究、監察和緩解作出貢獻,以符合確認的優先事項和規例。赫斯基支持有助加深了解其營運所在地區生物多樣性情況的計劃。

在大西洋區,公司與漁業及海洋部和大西洋三文魚聯合會合作,在其白玫瑰油田裝設接收器以追蹤三文魚的洄游路線。

8.6.3.2. 以地區為本關閉報廢資產
為確保資產報廢工作具有效率和成本效益,能源部門在阿爾伯特省能源監管機構的支持下,採納「 以地區為本關閉計劃」,與合作夥伴合力協助提升管理業界休業工地。

相關計劃超越監管機構對廢棄、修正和重整休業工地的規定。

以地區為本關閉方法包括:

  • 油井/ 氣井廢棄
  • 設施退役
  • 輸送管道廢棄
  • 工地修正重整

與傳統方法相反,以地區為本關閉計劃講求效率和集中力量,讓赫斯基得以完成更多資產報廢工作。此方法檢查對照計劃所定進度、報告最新主要進度、階段性成績、主要風險和緩解措施,以及留意可能影響業務的監管規定重要變更。計劃的每年開銷包含陸上和離岸資產報廢工作。

8.6.3.3. 復修棲息地
能源部門在完成業務營運的地區復修天然棲息地,在拆除所有地面設施後,即會展開修正和重整工作,令受到干擾的土地回復至發展前的狀況。赫斯基的植樹計劃於 2019 年在 247 個工地種植了 542,640 株樹木,並選用有關地區的土生樹種以重建相近的土地狀況,包括黑、白雲杉、扭葉松與黑松、落葉松、白楊、山茱萸和楊柳。此外,2019 年約有 80,000 株樹木因新項目而被清除。