Occupational Health and Safety

8.3. Occupational Health and Safety

8.3.1. Commitment
Safety remains the top priority of Husky, and the ultimate goal is that no one is injured on the job. To maintain safe and reliable operations, rigorous safety programmes are in place with ongoing improvements to the occupational safety processes to strengthen the safety culture.

Husky is committed to:

  • Promoting a safety culture through systems, processes and continued learning to prevent employee and contractor injuries and illnesses.
  • Designing, maintaining and operating facilities and assets focused on process safety and asset integrity to realise strong operational performance.
  • Preparing, planning and practising to respond effectively to incidents with worker and community safety and environmental protection as priorities.

8.3.2. The Challenges
Husky’s business includes exploration, development and production of oil and gas, and refining of petroleum products. Given the nature of its business, employees are facing numerous occupational hazard risks while performing their jobs. To operate safely and minimise risks to employees, Husky upholds high safety standards, and ingrains safety in its culture and every decision through systems, processes and continued learning.

8.3.3. Initiatives

8.3.3.1. Making Structural Changes to Promote Safety
The Energy division is committed to process safety and operational integrity.

In 2018, a Senior Vice President, Safety & Operations Integrity was hired and reports directly to the CEO. He is not only responsible for process and occupational safety, operations integrity and emergency response, but also for promoting Husky’s High Reliability Organization (“HRO”) culture.

Safety is ingrained in Husky’s culture and part of every decision through its HRO principles, systems and processes, and through continued learning. Husky’s facilities and assets are designed, maintained and operated with a primary focus on process safety and asset integrity to realise safe, reliable operational performance. In the event of an incident, worker and community safety and environmental protection are the priorities. Husky’s safety performance is directly inked to both executive compensation and the employee bonus programme.

8.3.3.2. Enhancing Training
Husky aims to provide specific actions for workers to follow and make it easier to identify situations that, if not properly managed, may lead to hazardous conditions. To continuously drive better performance, employees and contractors are provided with ongoing training in safety processes and procedures.

Life-Saving Rules of the International Oil and Gas Producers, which focused on activities most likely to lead to fatalities or significant life-altering injuries, were employed to enhance existing training. In 2018, Husky moved from 18 rules to nine, aligning with a simplified, standardised, industry-wide approach that empowers employees and contractors to stop work when it is unsafe.

The Energy division aims to guarantee safe driving behaviours and reinforce such commitment to the Life-Saving Rules.

Drivers are offered mandatory driver training and vehicle monitoring devices, and also with reports on their speed, seatbelt use and driving practices. The Drive Safe programme provides real-time support and coaching on safe driving behaviours. In 2019, there were 14 motor vehicle accidents involving employees and contractors, compared to nine of the previous year with more kilometres travelled by Husky’s fleet in 2019.

職業健康與安全

8.3. 職業健康與安全

8.3.1. 承諾
赫斯基一向安全至上,公司的最終目標是零工傷。為了維持安全可靠的運作,公司制訂了嚴格的安全計劃,並持續改善職業安全程序,加強企業安全文化。

赫斯基致力:

  • 通過制度、程序和持續學習提倡安全化防止僱員及承判商受傷和患病
  • 設計、維修和操作設施與裝置時,著重程序安全和裝置統合,以實踐卓越運作表現
  • 針對事故作出有效的準備、計劃和演習,並以員工和社區安全與環境保護為首要考慮

8.3.2. 挑戰
以及提煉石油產品。鑒於業務性質,僱員於執行職務時會面對眾多職業風險。為了安全運作和減少僱員承受風險,赫斯基奉行高度安全標準,並通過制度、程序和持續學習,讓安全意識植根於公司文化與每項決策。

8.3.3. 措施

8.3.3.1. 為提倡安全文化而作結構性改變
能源部門時刻以程序安全和營運統合為首要考慮。

2018 年,公司聘請了一位高級副總裁(安全與營運統合),直接向行政總裁匯報。他不僅負責程序與職業安全、營運統合和緊急措施,亦負責領導赫斯基的「高度可靠組織」文化。

在高度可靠組織的原則、制度和程序引領下,加上持續學習,安全在赫斯基的文化中根深蒂固,也是每個決策的其中一環。赫斯基的設施和裝置設計、保養維修及操作,主要著眼於程序安全和裝置統合,以實現安全可靠的營運表現。當遇上事故時,員工和社區安全與環境保護乃首要考慮。赫斯基的安全表現與管理層的薪酬和員工獎金計劃直接掛鈎。

8.3.3.2. 加強訓練
赫斯基能源致力為員工提供明確的行動指引,讓員工遵循,並令他們更易識別若不妥善處理可引致危險的情況。為不斷鼓勵更好表現,僱員及承判商均會持續接受有關安全程序與步驟的培訓。

公司採納國際石油和天然氣生產商的救生規例來加強現有訓練,相關規例集中剖析最有可能引致傷亡或嚴重工傷事故的活動。2018 年,赫斯基將原本 18 條規例減省至九條,與整個行業的簡化、標準化方向看齊,授權僱員和承判商遇有不安全情況時可停止工作。能源部門致力保證安全駕駛行為,並在救生規例增訂此項承諾。

司機均須接受強制駕駛訓練,並獲提供車輛監察裝置,裝置會報告其行車速度、安全帶使用情況和駕駛習慣。安全駕駛計劃就安全駕駛行為提供實時支援和輔導。2019 年共有 14 宗涉及僱員和承判商的汽車意外,前一年則有九宗,但赫斯基車隊於 2019 年行駛的里數較多。