Governance

The ways in which the Group manages its sustainability impacts and acts on its governance-related goals — Embed rigorous and effective governance; and Operate responsibly and with integrity — are detailed in this section. This section should also be read in conjunction with the Corporate Governance Report included in the 2020 Annual Report for further detailed information regarding the corporate governance  framework and practices.

Group sustainability governance
 
At the heart of the Group’s corporate strategy is its objective to enhance long-term, sustainable value for all its stakeholders.

The Group adopts a rigorous and effective sustainability governance structure which provides a solid foundation to deliver on this objective and ensure sustainability is embedded at all levels of the Group.

Foundational policies, including the Group-wide Sustainability  Policy, serve as the ultimate guiding principles for the Group and detail the Group’s commitments to its stakeholders and the environment.
 

  

The Board

The Board has ultimate accountability for the sustainability strategy of the Group, as well as its management, performance and reporting through the support of the Sustainability Committee and the Audit Committee.

The Board examines and approves the sustainability goals, objectives, policies and frameworks and reviews progress towards their implementation and achievement.

The Sustainability Committee and the Audit Committee report to the Board on sustainability risks and opportunities, which the Board examines and reviews with the committees periodically, as well as their impact on business strategy and new investments.

Board Diversity
As at 31 December 2020, the Board comprised 19 directors, including seven Executive Directors, five Non-executive Directors and seven Independent Non-executive Directors. The Nomination Committee, chaired by Dr Rosanna Wong, an Independent Non-executive Director, with the Chairman Mr Victor T K Li and Independent Non-executive Director Mr Vincent Cheng as members, is responsible for reviewing the structure, size, diversity profile and skills matrix of the Board. The Group values the benefits of a diverse Board that possesses a balance of skill set, expertise, experience and perspective. Appointment of Directors is based on attributes that the selected Director will bring to the Board. Female directors accounted for 21% of the Board in 2020. On the date of this report, the Board comprised 17 directors of which female directors accounted for 24% of the Board.

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee, elevated as a Board-level committee in 2020, is chaired by Mr Frank Sixt (Group Finance Director and Deputy Managing Director), with Ms Edith Shih (Executive Director and Company Secretary) and Dr Rosanna Wong (Independent Nonexecutive Director) as members.

The key responsibilities of the Sustainability Committee are to make recommendations to the Board on the Group’s sustainability goals, objectives and strategies. It oversees, reviews and evaluates actions taken by the Group to progress its sustainability priorities and goals. The Committee also reviews and reports to the Board on sustainability risks and opportunities, and assesses emerging sustainability issues and trends that could impact the business operations and performance of the Group. Moreover, it considers the impact of the Group’s sustainability initiatives on its stakeholders and advises the Board on external communication, disclosure and publications as regards to its sustainability performance.

The Committee meets at least twice a year per the Sustainability Committee’s Terms of Reference.

During 2020, the Sustainability Committee reviewed and approved the 2019 Sustainability Report. It also approved the 2021 sustainability priorities for the Group included within this report. As identified Group-wide focus areas, the Sustainability Committee will give particular oversight and receive ongoing updates on the following goals:
 

  • Take action on climate change;
  • Offer customers sustainable products and invest in and embrace innovation to achieve transformational impacts;
  • Create great places to work; and
  • Take all steps to protect employees and support communities and other stakeholders through the pandemic.
   

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee maintains oversight of the effectiveness of the financial reporting, risk management and internal control systems of the Group, and is responsible for reviewing the policies and practices of the Group on corporate governance including compliance with legal and regulatory requirements per the Audit Committee Terms of Reference.

Sustainability Working Group

Supporting the Sustainability Committee is the Sustainability Working Group, comprising two Executive Directors as Co-Chairs, as well as other senior executives from key departments that influence the Group’s material sustainability impacts. To further strengthen its sustainability management approaches, the Company recruited a sustainability lead to drive the Groupwide sustainability strategy, working in partnership with the core businesses’ Sustainability Working Groups.

Governance Working Group

To assist the Audit Committee and the Sustainability Committee in discharging its responsibilities, a Governance Working Group chaired by the Executive Director and Company Secretary, and comprising representatives from key departments of the Company, provides timely updates, identifies emerging matters of compliance, and establishes appropriate compliance policies and procedures for Group-wide adoption.

Cyber Security Working Group

The Cyber Security Working Group is chaired by the Group Finance Director and Deputy Managing Director and includes technical specialists from the core businesses, as well as representatives from Internal Audit and Group Information Services Department. It oversees the cyber security risks and defences of the Group to ensure that its efforts in this area are effective, coherent, and well-coordinated.

Sustainability at the core businesses

Each of the core businesses operates in unique sectors and geographies, therefore they are supported by their own sustainability leads, governance structures and programmes. Where
necessary to their industry and geography, additional policies are adopted to support approaches in addition to the policies of the Group. As a common standard, each core business has set up its own cross-departmental Sustainability Working Group which is chaired by senior management.

Internal Audit

Internal Audit, reporting directly to the Audit Committee and administratively to the Group Finance Director and Deputy Managing Director, provides independent assurance as to the effectiveness of the Group’s risk management activities and controls, including those related to sustainability.

Risk management

As part of its enterprise risk management, the Group adopts a topdown and bottom-up approach to managing sustainability risks. Bi-annually, each core business is required to formally identify and assess its risks and as well as the control procedures that are in place in managing the risks identified.

Subject to independent audit assurance, these self-assessment results are submitted to the Executive Directors and the Audit Committee for review and approval. Relevant assessment results are also shared with external auditors.

In 2020, climate change was given additional focus during the risk assessment process and highlighted as a greater priority going forward.

Sustainability integration in compensation and financial metrics

In its 2020 Sustainability Report, CKHH committed to building sustainability incentives plan by linking sustainability goals to performance metrics and compensations schemes. While the Group will be reporting back on progress in its 2021 Sustainability Report, the Group is already making progress at the division level. At the Infrastructure division, key performance indicators on health and safety are included in the compensation schemes of all its businesses CEOs and executive management. WINDTRE, the largest business within CK Hutchison Group Telecom in terms of registered and active customers, has linked 10% of compensation of all managers and above to sustainability metrics in meeting the business’ commitment to be carbon neutral by 2030 and in metrics linked to inclusion and diversity.

In aiming to also finance the ongoing low carbon transition as well as other social and environmental ambitions, the Group has also developed it’s Sustainable Finance Framework. Tracking mechanisms in line with financial reporting to track sustainable CAPEX and OPEX spend have also been established.

管治
本節詳細介紹集團如何管理其可持續發展影響,及實現其管治相關目標-實行嚴謹及有效的管治;負責任及具誠信地工作。本節亦應與 2020 年報中的企業管治報告一併閱讀,以了解有關企業管治框架及做法的進一步詳情。

集團可持續發展管治

集團企業策略的核心目標是為所有持份者增強長期、可持續發展的價值。

集團採用嚴格及有效的可持續發展管治架構,為實現此目標提供了堅實的基礎,並確保可持續發展在集團各層面得到貫徹實行。

該等基本政策,包括適用於整個集團的可持續發展政策,為集團提供最終指導原則,並詳列對其持份者及環境的承諾。
 


 
   

董事會

於可持續發展委員會及審核委員會的支援下,董事會承擔集團的可持續發展策略、管理、表現與匯報的最終責任。

董事會審核可持續發展目的、目標政策和框架,並審視其實施進展和成效。

董事會定期聽取可持續發展委員會與審核委員會匯報關於可持續發展面對的風險與機會,並審視及檢討其對業務策略及新投資機會之影響。

董事會多元化

截至 2020 年 12 月 31 日,董事會由 19 名董事組成,包括七名執行董事、五名非執行董事及七名獨立非執行董事。提名委員會由獨立非執行董事王䓪鳴博士擔任主席,集團主席李澤鉅先生及獨立非執行董事鄭海泉先生為成員。他們負責審視董事會成員的結構、規模、多元化及專長。集團重視多元化董事會所帶來的不同技能、專業、經驗和視野等裨益。委任董事乃根據被選者對董事會能夠作出的貢獻評定。2020 年董事會內 21% 為女性董事,截至本報告編寫日期,董事會由 17 名董事組成,其中女性董事佔 24%

可持續發展委員會

可持續發展委員會於 2020 年獲提升為董事會層面的委員會,並由集團財務董事兼副董事總經理陸法蘭先生擔任主席,成員包括施熙德女士(執行董事兼公司秘書)及王䓪鳴博士(獨立非執行董事)。

可持續發展委員會的主要職責包括向董事會就集團可持續發展目的、目標及策略提出建議;並監督、檢討與評估集團就促進可持續發展優先事項與目標所採取的行動。委員會亦審閱及向董事會匯報可持續發展的風險及機會,並就可持續發展新湧現的問題及趨勢,評估可能對集團業務營運及表現造成的影響。此外,其亦考慮集團的可持續發展舉措對持份者的影響,並就集團在可持續發展表現方面的對外交流、披露及刊物,向董事會提出建議。

根據可持續發展委員會的職權範圍 ,委員會每年至少召開兩次會議。

2020 年,可持續發展委員會檢討並批准 2019 年可持續發展報告;亦批准本報告中包括的 2021 年集團的可持續發展優先事項。作為整個集團的重點領域,可持續發展委員會將對以下內容進行特別監督,並獲得持續更新:
  

  • 應對氣候變化;
  • 為顧客提供可持續產品,並投資及迎接創新,以實現轉型成果;
  • 創造良好工作場所;及
  • 採取一切措施保護員工,並支持社區及其他持份者渡過疫情大流行。

 
審核委員會

審核委員會監督集團之財務匯報及風險管理與內部監管制度的成效,並審閱集團企業管治的政策與實務,包括法律與規管要求的遵守情況,請參閱審核委員會職權範圍

可持續發展工作小組

可持續發展工作小組支持可持續發展委員會,該工作小組由兩名執行董事擔任聯席主席,成員包括其他集團高級管理人員,他們均來自對集團重大可持續發展具影響力的主要部門。

為進一步加強管理,公司招聘了一名可持續發展主管,與核心業務的可持續發展工作小組合作,推動整個集團的可持續發展策略。

管治工作小組

管治工作小組由執行董事兼公司秘書擔任主席,成員來自公司各主要部門。小組協助審核委員會與可持續發展委員會進行管治工作,適時提供最新信息,識別新合規事宜,並制訂適當之合規政策及程序,以供整個集團採用。

網絡保安工作小組

網絡保安工作小組由集團財務董事兼副董事總經理擔任主席,成員包括來自各核心業務的專業技術人員,以及內部審核部門與集團資訊科技部門的代表。小組負責監督集團的網絡保安防禦,並確保集團相關工作有效、一致與協調得宜。

核心業務的可持續發展

每個核心業務因其行業的獨特性及地域環境,須因地制宜,主導各自的可持續發展、建立管治架構及推行計劃。如因所屬行業及地域需要,在集團政策外,須採納其他政策支持。作為共同標準,每個核心業務各自建立跨部門的可持續發展工作小組,由高級管理層主持。

內部審核

內部審核部門直接向審核委員會匯報,而行政上則隸屬集團財務董事兼副董事總經理。此部門為集團的風險管理措施與監管成效(包括與可持續發展相關者)提供獨立核證。

風險管理

作為企業風險管理的一部分,集團採取自上而下及自下而上的方法管理可持續發展風險。每個核心業務需要每兩年一次正式識別及評估其風險,以及在管理所識別風險方面的控制程序。

在獨立審核核證下,此等自我評估結果將提交予執行董事及審核委員會審閱及批准。相關評估結果亦會提交外聘核數師。

2020 年,氣候變化於風險評估過程中得到額外關注,並成為未來更需優先處理的事項。

可持續的薪酬與財務指標

長江和記在 2020 年可持續發展報告中承諾,將可持續發展目標與績效指標及薪酬計劃聯繫起來,建立可持續發展激勵計劃。集團將於 2021 年可持續發展報告中匯報過去一年的可持續發展進程,集團旗下部門於設定的目標均取得進展。在基建部門,業務主管及高級管理層的薪酬計劃包括健康及安全方面的關鍵績效指標。WINDTRE 是 CK Hutchison Group Telecom 旗下擁有最多註冊及活躍客戶的電訊公司,為實現 2030 年碳中和目標,公司已將可持續發展
與共融及多元化指標與所有公司經理的 10% 薪酬計劃掛鉤。

為實現低碳轉型及其他社會與環境方面的可持續發展目標,集團制定了可持續金融框架,並建立了符合財務報表體系的追蹤機制,以追蹤可持續資本開支和營運支出。