Opportunities in Clean Technology

7.5. Opportunities in Clean Technology

7.5.1. Commitment
With diversified investments, the Infrastructure division brings a positive environmental impact through the adoption of new clean technologies. Throughout the different operations, CKI encourages operating companies to explore and adopt new clean technologies where practicable.

7.5.2. The Challenges
Currently fossil fuels contribute the majority of global energy supply, and play a significant industrial role. With the existing energy infrastructure built for conventional fuels like coal and oil, major infrastructural change is required and this could hinder the development of cleaning technologies, in terms of cost and time, and discourage the adoption of clean technology.

7.5.3. Initiatives

7.5.3.1. Supporting Renewable Energy Development and Low Carbon Transition
Through the diversified investments in energy infrastructure, CKI has been preparing for a future powered by clean energy through different solutions ranging from renewables like solar and wind farms, hydroelectricity, hybrid projects, and energy transmission infrastructure which connects clean energy to existing grids for a more widespread deployment of renewable energy.

To encourage localised solar generation, there is a partnership between UKPN, Repowering London and EDF Energy. Its purpose is to trial a unique project at Elmore House in Brixton, south London, which enables the residents to access electricity generated from a solar PV system on the block’s roof, store it in a battery and trade with one another using blockchain technology. This model has the potential to enable more people to use renewable energy at a lower cost, and bring new income for individuals and communities by participating in the flexibility market. From 2011 to 2018, there were already over seven GWs of renewables directly connected to UKPN’s networks.

Besides developing localised renewables, efforts are also made to expand the smart grid capability and electric vehicle capacity in the UK. The enhanced smart grid functions will allow a more accurate prediction of electricity demand and supply, and better utilisation of the renewable generators and storage system for a greener and more effective grid system. Together with the strengthening of electric vehicle charging infrastructure, the initiatives are enabling UK’s transition to a low-carbon economy.

In Australia, SA Power Networks formulated a "2016-2031 Future Operating Model" to explore what the future and our business would look like in 15 years and used the insight to help explore the strategic choices it could make. With distributed energy resources becoming much more common, it changes the way energy companies plan and manage their infrastructure and service network. In response to this, the company is now investigating and investing in the use of renewable energy and battery storage in the network, and provides support to customers interested in adopting this emerging technology.

7.5.3.2. Introducing Alternative Fuels and Hybrid Energy
In addition to renewables, the Infrastructure division is also exploring different clean technology opportunities through the use of landfill gas, remote energy, waste coal mine gas, renewable natural gas and other alternative fuels to support the low-carbon transition of the global economy.

In the UK, Northern Gas Networks introduced a large-scale project, H21, to reduce carbon emissions and support conversion of the gas networks in the UK to carry 100% hydrogen. In July 2019, the project launched the testing facility for 100% hydrogen to inform government policy decision on the use of hydrogen in the existing gas network. Going forward, the site will carry out controlled tests to establish the critical safety evidence proving that a 100% hydrogen gas network is as safe as the natural gas grid heating homes and businesses today.

In Australia, Australian Gas Networks is preparing the existing gas network for biogas such as biomethane and greener alternatives like hydrogen, which allows the deployment of low-carbon alternatives in the gas distribution network.

7.5.3.3. Transforming Waste to Energy
With the enormous amount of municipal waste being generated in cities, there is also a huge potential in developing waste-to-energy facilities. In the Netherlands, the construction of a separation plant that separates plastics and drinks cartons from residual waste was completed in 2019. The plant generates steam via the incineration of residual waste and uses the heat to warm 150,000 households and supply electricity for 190,000 houses. Dutch Enviro Energy’s CO2 capture plant at Duiven started supplying CO2 to horticulture greenhouses last year. This facility enables the reuse of 60,000 tons of CO2 which are generated from residual waste processing.

Energy Developments produced 1,774,109 MWh of electricity from landfill gas. It is also working to install a biodome to store landfill gas for conversion when energy demand is high.

潔淨技術帶來的機會

7.5. 潔淨技術帶來的機會

7.5.1. 承諾
透過多元化投資,基建部門能夠應用嶄新潔淨技術對環境發揮正面影響。長江基建從事不同業務,鼓勵各營運公司探索並在可行情況下採用嶄新潔淨技術。

7.5.2. 挑戰
目前,化石燃料佔全球絕大部分能源供應量,在工業方面發揮重要作用。現有的能源基礎設施乃為煤炭及石油等傳統燃料而建,因此須進行大規模改造,由於成本及建設需時,而窒礙潔淨技術的發展與採用。

7.5.3. 措施

7.5.3.1. 支持再生能源發展及低碳轉型
透過多元化能源基建投資,長江基建已為潔淨能源驅動的未來發展作好準備,包括落實不同解決方案,利用太陽能及風電場、水電、混合能源項目,以及透過能源輸送基建設施將潔淨能源接入現有網絡,更廣泛地有效利用可再生能源。

為推動社區發展太陽能發電,UKPN、Repowering London 及 EDF Energy 合作,在位於倫敦南部布里克斯頓的 Elmore House 試行一個獨特項目,讓當地住戶把大廈屋頂上太陽能光伏系統生產的電力儲存於電池內,透過區塊鏈技術互相交易。項目可望鼓勵更多人使用成本較低的可再生能源,並透過自由參與電力市場,為個人及社區創造新收入來源。2011 年至 2018 年間,直接 UKPN 電網的可再生能源超過七吉瓦。

除開發當地的可再生能源,公司亦在英國大力推動智能電網及電動車的發展。加強後的智能電網功能,將有利於更準確地預測電力供求情況,以及提高可再生能源發電廠及儲電系統的使用效率,以建立更環保及更高效的電網系統。隨著電動車充電基礎設施不斷完善,上述計劃正推動英國邁向低碳經濟。

在澳洲,SA Power Networks 推出「2016-2031 年未來營運模式」,探索15 年後的未來發展和業務面貌,並分析探討可行的策略性選擇。隨著分佈式能源變得日益普遍,能源公司規劃及管理基礎設施及服務網絡的方式將有所改變。為此,公司正在研究及投資在網絡中使用可再生能源及電池儲能,並向有意採用該項新興技術的客戶提供支援。

7.5.3.2. 引入可替代燃料及混合能源
除可再生能源外,基建部門亦通過使用堆填區沼氣、遠程能源、廢棄煤礦氣體、可再生天然氣及其他可替代燃料來探索不同的潔淨技術機會,以支持全球經濟邁向低碳轉型。

在英國,Northern Gas Networks 推出大型項目 H21,減少碳排放並支持英國的燃氣網絡百分百使用氫氣。2019 年 7 月,項目的 100% 氫氣供暖測試中心啟用,測試結果有助政府制訂現有燃氣網絡中使用氫氣的政策決定。展望未來,測試中心將透過對照試驗得出關鍵安全證據,證明 100% 使用氫氣的燃氣網絡與目前為家庭及企業供暖的天然氣網絡同樣安全。

在澳洲,Australian Gas Networks 正籌備在現有燃氣網絡中連接生物甲烷等生物氣體及氫氣等較為環保的替代能源,令配氣網絡更有效利用低碳能源。

7.5.3.3. 轉廢為能
城市發展產生龐大廢物,轉廢為能設施因此變得更具發展潛力。在荷蘭,一家將塑料及飲品包裝盒與廢物殘渣相互分離的分離廠已於 2019 年建成。分離廠更利用焚化廢物殘渣所產生的蒸氣,為 150,000 戶家庭供暖及 190,000 戶家庭供電。Dutch Enviro Energy 位於 Duiven 的碳捕集廠,去年開始向園藝溫室供應二氧化碳,循環再用由處理廢物殘渣所產生的 60,000 公噸二氧化碳。

Energy Developments 由堆填區沼氣轉化為電力的業務產生 1,774,109 兆瓦時電力,公司正籌建一個生物圓頂貯存堆填區沼氣,於能源需求較高時將其轉化為電力。