Community Engagement

7.4. Community Engagement

7.4.1. Commitment
As a utility services provider, the Infrastructure division is in a good position to deliver added value to local communities. Among these regions, there are some economically challenged communities from rural or remote areas, and as companies embedded in these neighbourhoods, there is a duty for the operating companies to actively engage and support communities and individuals faced with fuel poverty and associated forms of vulnerability.

7.4.2. The Challenges
In today’s highly interconnected world, corporates operate within a complex network of influence. To be successful, it is important to recognise the different views and experiences of others, and balance between the conflicting stakeholder demands. Corporates also need to be able to measure the effectiveness of engagement and investment programmes in order to provide insights for more targeted community initiatives in the future.

7.4.3. Initiatives

7.4.3.1. Supporting Effective Engagement
Effective engagement helps translate stakeholder needs into organisational goals and creates the basis of effective strategy development. In order to maintain regular and effective dialogue, operating companies establish different stakeholder engagement programmes to engage in tailored ways for more effective communication.

At Wales & West Utilities, the comprehensive engagement process is informed by three high-level principles of inclusivity, transparency and continuous improvement. These principles consider those identified in the AA1000 Stakeholder Engagement Standard, as well as reflecting our own businesses values and approach in engaging with stakeholders.
 


 

Working alongside the ongoing and extensive programme of engagement with both stakeholders and customers, Wales & West Utilities also has a Customer Engagement Group (“CEG”) that robustly challenges the company’s plans and for future investment, customer services and social obligations, environmental performance, etc. Formed by nine members representing different customers and stakeholders, with specialisms in different areas, the CEG is independent from both Wales & West Utilities and its regulator, the CEG’s views will help the regulator to understand how Wales & West Utilities’ business plans reflect and meet the needs of different stakeholders.

7.4.3.2. Shaping Future Energy Policies through Engagement
A low-carbon future is important to customers and there has been active engagements with stakeholders, policymakers and the community more generally to help shape this future.

Over the course of 2019, Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (“AGIG”) presented at more than 25 conferences and stakeholder meetings, outlining the future development of gas through the development of hydrogen and biogas resources. Through submissions to government, regulators and industry groups, the company supported the need for Australia to reduce its emissions and highlighted the benefits of green gas in achieving this objective. In particular, it has supported the introduction of a target on mixing renewable gases into existing gas blend to accelerate the industry, decarbonise the domestic market and help Australia capture the export opportunities presented by hydrogen.

AGIG participated in a number of committees and working groups with a view to developing policies and strategies to enable a low-carbon future including:

  • The Stakeholder Advisory Panel supporting the development of Australia’s National Hydrogen Strategy.
  • The Western Australian Renewable Hydrogen Council supporting the Western Australian Renewable Hydrogen Strategy.
  • Bioenergy Australia, the peak body for the bioenergy industry.
  • The Australian Hydrogen Council, the peak body for the hydrogen industry.
  • The Future Fuels Cooperative Research Centre, an industry focused research, design and development partnership supporting Australia’s transition to a low carbon energy future.


7.4.3.3. Investing in the Neighbourhood
Through different investments and initiatives, the Infrastructure division supports the communities it serves in a number of different ways.

In the UK, Northumbrian Water Group has established four Community Foundation Funds for organisations seeking to make a difference in their community. A panel made up of employees will meet to review applications on a regular basis. They make the decision to give grants, with priority given to those applications that set out to improve the health, education and environment of the community.

Northumbrian Water Group also encourages employees to support community and charitable organisations through the employee volunteering scheme "Just An Hour". This scheme allows employees to give a minimum of 15 hours every year to support causes close to their hearts. Not only does the programme provide employees with opportunities to serve the community it also allows them to learn new skills and can increase their confidence.

In Australia, Energy Developments supports three community investment initiatives around its remote operations, namely the West Kimberley Community Fund, Cullerin Range Wind Farm Community Enhancement Fund and Coober Pedy Community Fund. Through the funds, Energy Developments seeks to create lasting value for the communities and nurture community wellbeing through the support of not-for-profit, community-driven projects or activities.

社區參與

7.4. 社區參與

7.4.1. 承諾
作為公用事業機構,基建部門有良好條件為地方社區創優增值。在農村或偏遠地區的經濟落後社區,營運單位融入社區的同時,有責任積極聯繫及支援面對燃料貧乏的弱勢社群及個別人士。

7.4.2. 挑戰
在當今高度互聯的世界,企業的營運受到錯綜複雜的各種力量影響。要取得成功,企業必須了解各界的不同觀點及體驗,並平衡持份者的不同訴求。企業亦要評估社區參與活動及投資計劃的成效,透徹了解以便日後推行更具針對性的社區活動。

7.4.3. 措施

7.4.3.1. 支持有效益的參與
透過有效益的參與活動,企業可因應持份者的需求制定組織目標,並為制訂相關策略奠定成功基礎。為保持定期而具效益的溝通,營運公司制訂不同的持份者參與計劃,以度身設計的方式提升溝通成效。

Wales & West Utilities 的全面參與流程遵循包容、透明、不斷求進共三個高水平原則;原則參考 AA1000 持份者參與標準所確定的內容,同時反映公司本身的業務價值及持份者參與方針。
 


 

在推行持續而廣泛的持份者及客戶參與計劃的同時,Wales & West Utilities 亦設立客戶參與小組,積極對公司的未來投資計劃、客戶服務、社會責任及環境表現等提出不同意見。小組由九名代表不同客戶及持份者且在不同領域見著的成員組成,獨立於 Wales & West Utilities 及其監管機構。小組的意見將有助監管機構了解 Wales & West Utilities 的業務規劃如何反映並滿足不同持份者的需要。

7.4.3.2. 透過參與塑造未來能源政策
低碳未來對客戶而言非常重要,公司一直積極與持份者、政策制訂者及社區進行更廣泛的聯繫,協力塑造美好未來。

2019 年,Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (「AGIG」)於25 個大型會議及持份者會議上,概述日後如何透過開發氫氣及生物氣體資源來推動燃氣業務的發展。公司向政府、監管機構及行業組織提交意見書,支持澳洲減排,並凸顯綠色燃氣有利實現減排目標。公司為此特意支持推動將可再生燃氣混入現有燃氣組合,以加快行業發展、減少本土市場的碳排放,以及協助澳洲把握出口氫氣的商機。

AGIG 參與多個委員會及工作小組,以制訂實現低碳未來的政策及策略,包括:

  • 支持澳洲國家氫氣策略發展的持份者諮詢小組
  • 支持澳洲西部可再生能源氫氣策略的澳洲西部可再生能源氫氣委員會
  • 生物能源權威機構 Bioenergy Australia
  • 氫氣行業權威機構澳洲氫氣委員會
  • 專注於研究、設計及開發夥伴關係,以支持澳洲過渡至低碳未來的未來燃料合作研究中心


7.4.3.3. 投資鄰近地區
透過不同的投資及措施,基建部門以多種途徑支援所服務的社區。

在英國,Northumbrian Water Group 設立四個社區基金,支持致力改善社區環境的組織。由僱員組成的專家小組將召開會議,定期評審申請。專家小組將作出撥款決定,並會優先考慮以改善社區健康、教育及環境為目標的申請。

Northumbrian Water Group 亦鼓勵員工參加僱員義工計劃「僅一小時」,為社區組織及慈善機構提供支援。該計劃允許僱員每年投入至少15 個小時來支援自己認同的公益事業,不僅讓僱員有機會服務社區,亦有助他們學習新技能及增強自信。

在澳洲,Energy Developments 支持其偏遠地區業務的三項社區投資計劃,即 West Kimberley Community Fund、Cullerin Range Wind Farm Community Enhancement Fund 及 Coober Pedy Community Fund。透過這些基金,Energy Developments 力求為社區創造持久價值,支援促進社區發展的非牟利項目或活動來提升社區福祉。