Environmental Management

7.6. Environmental Management

7.6.1. Commitment
The Infrastructure division is cognizant of the significance of environmental management. This is why it has invested in a diverse portfolio of investments in energy infrastructure, transportation infrastructure, water infrastructure, waste management, energy-from-waste, household infrastructure and infrastructure related businesses. The division is committed to minimise negative impacts on the environment and optimise the use of resources.

7.6.2. The Challenges
Adverse environmental impacts may occur in the construction and operational stages of infrastructure projects. As rapidly growing populations and urbanization lead to increasing demand of infrastructures, the Infrastructure division is facing challenges of supply, sufficiency and sustainability. The division must move forward responsibly and integrate environmental concerns into its business, including developing innovative ways to minimise negative environmental impacts and protect sensitive habitats from being irrevocably damaged during the design, planning, construction and operation of its projects.

7.6.3. Initiatives

7.6.3.1. Reducing Air Pollutants and GHG Emissions
CKI aims to meet the ever-tightening emission standards and continuously reduce air pollutants and GHG emissions.

In Hong Kong, HK Electric has been optimising fuel mix by increasing the use of natural gas and working with local government to formulate new and more stringent emissions allowances from 2024 and onwards. To increase the proportion of gas-fired generation and decrease the emissions of sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOx) and particulate matters (PM), a new gas-fired generating unit equipped with Selective Catalytic Reduction systems was constructed in 2019 and two others are expected to be operational in 2022 and 2023.
  
  

 
  
In Canada, coal-to-gas conversion was carried out on Canadian Power’s only coal-fired power station, Sheerness power plant to reduce GHG emissions. Besides, a maintenance programme diagnosing leakages from natural gas systems and repairing them on a timely basis was implemented in Canadian Power’s Meridian plant to minimise the release of fugitive GHG into the atmosphere.

Dutch Enviro Energy’s CO2 capture facility, the first waste facility in Europe to capture CO2 on a large scale, commenced operations in 2019. CO2 released after the incineration of residual waste was captured, cleaned and liquefied for use in greenhouse horticulture. The facility processes waste from 1.5 million homes and has a maximum capacity of 100,000 tonnes per annum.

To make its fleet greener and to support sustainable transport, UKPN introduced a new connection product that enabled 18.5 million carbon emission-free passenger journeys in one year. Northern Gas Networks conducted field trials of alternatively fuelled vehicles, including hydrogen, electric and compressed natural gas. GHG emissions from Northern Gas Networks’ vehicles have reduced by 2.5% from 2016 to 2019.

In the UK, in support of Wales & West Utilities zero emission fleet ambition, a change in the company car policy was initiated in 2019 to encourage employees to opt for electric and ultra-low emissions vehicles.

At ista, one of the Infrastructure division’s investments in Europe, the company funded the reforestation of one hectare of new rainforest in Costa Rica to make use of the 9.4 tonnes of CO2 stored by the trees every year. Through this project, it was able to offset nearly all the emissions from ista Croatia’s electricity consumption.

 
  


  




  
7.6.3.2. Promoting Reuse, Recycling and Reduction of Waste
CKI aims to reduce waste generation and turn waste into useful materials.

To avoid waste pipes generated in its gas mains replacement programme being disposed of to landfill, Northern Gas Networks in the UK took part in a recycling scheme and installed dedicated recycling bins in workplaces to encourage recycling of the plastic pipe waste. In 2019, waste plastic pipe totally 191 tonnes were recycled.

At Dutch Enviro Energy’s Rosenburg facility, a plastic waste pre-sorting and separation facility began operations to increase the reuse of recyclable plastics and sorted 19 kilotonnes of plastics for reuse in 2019.

EnviroNZ in New Zealand commenced a domestic food waste and domestic refuse collection contract from 2019 to 2024 which included using six fully electric collection vehicles for the New Plymouth District Council, for the purpose of enabling the recycling of domestic waste as well as reducing waste sent to landfill.

AVR, owned by Dutch Enviro Energy, started to run its separation plant for sorting plastic, foils and drink cartons from residual household waste in December 2018. By the end of 2019, over 19,000 tons of plastic packaging and drinks cartons were separated, 90% of which were further offered to recyclers.

7.6.3.3. Managing Water for People and Nature
CKI aims to prevent water pollution and use fresh water more efficiently.

Green Island Cement in Hong Kong has equipped a self-sewage treatment plant to treat and reuse wastewater for internal plant irrigation. Recycling stormwater for process cooling has also been applied to minimise the amount of freshwater extracted. By effectively managing wastewater treatment, no wastewater was discharged to the sea in 2019.

  


  
In 2019, around 23,000 cubic metres of high quality clean water was recovered in the reverse osmosis leachate treatment plant operated by EnviroNZ in New Zealand at its Hampton PARRC Landfill, making the treated water fit for reuse or direct discharge to the environment.

Seabank Power in the UK maintained an increase to the concentration factor of cooling water, effectively optimising water used for make-up and purging, and reducing the need for chemical treatment.

HK Electric has been collecting rain water and plant processing water for reuse at the Lamma Power Station. In 2019, approximately 121,000 cubic metres of rain water and plant processing water were collected for reuse.

To provide reliable and sustainable water supplies to meet customer demand, Northumbrian Water in the UK developed a water resource management plan (WRMP 2019) for the next 40 years, with future droughts, climate change and the need for environmental protection taken into account. The company also valued efficient use of water by reducing leakage from water pipes as well as advising customers on water conservation.

 



  

7.6.3.4. Minimising Usage of Raw Materials
CKI aims to use less raw materials and allow full utilisation of the by-products generated in business operations.

In Hong Kong, Anderson Asphalt continued reducing asphalt material wastage by selling milled asphalt to subcontractors for material reuse and recycling and by conforming to ISO 14001: 2015 requirements.

HK Electric has been collecting its generation by-products such as ash and gypsum produced for beneficial industrial use, such as manufacturing of cement. In 2019, about 230,000 tonnes of ash and 70,000 tonnes of gypsum were collected for reuse by third parties.

Over 1,000,000 tonnes of industrial waste materials, such as by-products from coal-fired power generation and slag from copper smelter, have been recycled as raw materials in the Infrastructure division’s cement manufacturing plants in Hong Kong and Mainland China. In 2019, the use of recycled materials exceeded 60% in the cement production in Hong Kong.

Due to the agreement in the Green Deal for bottom ash from Energy-from-Waste plants that, 100% of the granules must be used as “freely applicable building material” instead of being treated as an Isolation, Control, Maintenance (“ICM”) material in 2020. AVR, together with specialised partners, has been working towards the objective: In 2019, over 50% of the minerals acquired from the bottom ash were freely applied without ICM.

In the UK, Northumbrian Water reused materials excavated from the ground during hole-digging operations as back fill, which substantially reduced the use of new virgin backfill material compared with past years.

Northern Gas Networks in the UK established a programme to inform and advise employees and contractors on the usage of recycled aggregates rather than virgin aggregates. The usage of virgin aggregates was set as a KPI and recorded regularly. During the past five years, there recorded a decrease by 78% in the annual usage of virgin aggregates and 6.1% of the virgin aggregate was used in reinstatement works in 2019.

7.6.3.5. Protecting Biodiversity and Habitats
CKI aims to minimise the impact and damage to biodiversity and habitats in its projects.

For any new project, Southern Water conducted a detailed ecological survey to assess wildlife living in the area with emphasis on sensitive or protected species. Northumbrian Water supports the Kielder Osprey Project, which saw a record return of Osprey to Northumberland in 2019. The species was recolonised in 2009.

Canadian Midstream Assets implemented a leading-edge spill response programme and developed a right of way environmental monitoring programme to maintain reclamation of linear developments without affecting land use and natural habitats. Rigorous soil, air, and groundwater monitoring programme were conducted at Midstream facilities to protect vital air and watersheds for future generations. To maintain healthy and functioning ecosystems, the company would identify wildlife and culturally sensitive areas and take actions during the planning period. Construction activities were scheduled to reduce risk of disturbance to wildlife during sensitive periods. To continuously support ecological functions and land use, procedures for lands reclamation after use included addressing potential contamination, re-contouring sites, replacing soil layers and re-establishing appropriate vegetation.

Northern Gas Networks in the UK completed 12 land remediation projects, with a further four projects to be completed by 2021.

7.6.4. Looking Forward
Subsidiaries of the Infrastructure division have set various targets and implementation plans regarding different topics of environmental management. Below are some examples demonstrating their determination in making their business operations environmentally-friendlier and building a green future for all the lives.

Air Emissions

  • UKPN - decrease NOx emissions from fleet and generators by 33% by 2030.

GHG Emissions

  • Wales & West Utilities - reduce GHG emissions by 10%over current price-control period from 2013 to 2021.
  • ista - help customers/users reduce their GHG emissions by 10% by 2030 with a base year of 2010.
  • UKPN - reduce GHG emissions by 20% by 2021.
  • AVR - reduce GHG emissions by 55% by 2030 and achieve a reduction to 0 in 2050.

Energy Consumption

  • ista - reduce annual energy consumption in Germany by 6.5% from 2016 to the end of 2020, and achieve a continuous improvement in energy efficiency of 1.3%on an annual average.
  • UKPN - reduce energy use in top six buildings by 10%by 2021.

Water Usage and Pollution

  • UKPN - reduce water consumption by 10-15% in top six buildings by 2021.

Waste Disposal

  • UKPN - divert more than 90% of the waste from landfill and recycle more than 80% of waste from top six sites by 2021.

Biodiversity Protection

  • UKPN - increase biodiversity value by up to 30% at 100 of its sites to actively contribute towards minimising species decline and promoting net-gain by 2021.
  • Wales & West Utilities - achieve no net loss on designated projects between 2021 and 2026 and biodiversity net gain across by 2039.

環境管理

7.6. 環境管理

7.6.1. 承諾
基建部門明白環境管理的重要性,因而在能源基建、交通基建、水處理基建、廢物管理、轉廢為能、屋宇服務基建及基建有關業務中投入多元化投資,竭力減低對環境的負面影響,並善用資源。

7.6.2.挑戰
A基建項目的建設及營運階段或會產生不利環境影響。隨著人口快速增長和城市化,基建需求不斷增加,基建部門在供應、滿足需求和可持續方面均充滿挑戰。部門發展必須負責任,並在業務中顧及環境問題,包括制訂創新方式盡量減低對環境的負面影響,同時在設計、規劃、建設和營運項目過程中,保護敏感棲息地免受無法彌補的損害。

7.6.3. 措施

7.6.3.1. 減少空氣污染物與溫室氣體排放
長江基建致力符合越趨嚴謹的排放標準,並持續減少空氣污染物與溫室氣體排放。在香港,港燈一直透過增加使用天然氣優化燃料組合,並與當地政府合作為 2024 年及以後訂定更嚴格的新排放限額。為提高燃氣發電量的比例並減少排放二氧化硫、氮氧化物和顆粒物,港燈已於 2019 年建成一台備有選擇性催化還原脫硝器的新燃氣發電機組,另外兩台預期將於 2022 年及 2023 年投入運作。
 
 



在加拿大,為減少溫室氣體排放,Canadian Power 唯一以燃煤發電的設施 Sheerness 發電廠改由燃氣取代燃煤。另一發電廠 Meridian 則實施保養計劃,偵測天然氣系統洩漏的位置並及時進行維修,以減少逸散性溫室氣體釋放至大氣層中。

Dutch Enviro Energy 的二氧化碳收集設施於 2019 年啟用,是歐洲首個大規模收集二氧化碳的廢物處理設施,把焚燒剩餘廢物後所產生的二氧化碳收集、淨化和液化,供溫室種植之用。設施處理150 萬戶的住宅廢物,最高二氧化碳收集量為每年 10 萬噸。

為令車隊更環保及支持可持續運輸,UKPN 引入新的連接產品,於一年內提供服務 1,850 萬人次的零碳排放巴士旅程。Northern Gas Networks 實地試驗進行替代燃料汽車,包括氫氣、電力及壓縮天然氣。由 2016 年至 2019 年,Northern Gas Networks 汽車的碳排放量減少 2.5%。

在英國,為支持 Wales & West Gas Networks 的零排放車隊目標,於 2019 年更改公司汽車政策,鼓勵員工選用電動及超低排放汽車。

ista 是基建部門在歐洲的投資之一,該公司資助哥斯達黎加一公頃新雨林的造林計劃,林木每年所儲存的 9.4 公噸二氧化碳,幾近全數抵銷 ista 哥斯達黎加用電時的所有排放量。
 







7.6.3.2. 推廣重用、循環再造及減少廢物
長江基建計劃減少產生廢物並將廢物轉化為有用材料。

為免主氣管更換計劃產生的廢棄氣管送往堆填區棄置,英國 Northern Gas Networks 參與回收計劃,並在工作間設置指定回收箱鼓勵回收塑料管廢物;2019 年共回收到 191 公噸廢棄塑料管循環
再造。

Dutch Enviro Energy 的 Rozenburg 廠房已啟用塑料廢物預先篩選設施,提高可回收塑料的循環再用,並於 2019 年篩選 19,000 公噸塑料供循環再用。

新西蘭 EnviroNZ 開始執行新普利茅斯區議會 2019 年至 2024 年的家居廚餘及家居垃圾收集合約,包括使用六輛全電動收集車,使該區得以回收家居廢物,並減少廢物送到堆填區。

Dutch Enviro Energy 旗下 AVR 的分類廠於 2018 年 12 月啟用,從剩餘家居廢物中分類塑膠、箔紙和飲料紙盒。截至 2019 年底,已分類超過 19,000 公噸塑膠包裝和飲料紙盒,其中 90%
進一步售予回收商。

7.6.3.3. 人類與大自然水源管理
長江基建致力防止水污染並更有效使用自來水。

香港青洲英坭自設污水處理廠,處理及重用淨化後的廢水作廠內植物灌溉。英坭廠又將雨水循環再用於冷卻程序,從而盡量減少自來水的用量。通過有效廢水管理與處理,2019 年並無廢水排放出海。
 



於 2019 年,新西蘭 EnviroNZ 於其 Hampton PARRC 堆填區運作的反滲透垃圾滲濾液處理廠回收高質素淨化水約 23,000 立方米,處理後的水適合再用或直接排放至環境中。

英國 Seabank Power 保持提升冷卻水的濃縮因子,有效優化用於補給和淨化用水,減少化學處理的需要。

港燈一直在南丫發電廠收集雨水及電廠產生的廢水循環再用。於 2019 年,收集作循環再用的雨水及電廠產生廢水約為 121,000 立方米。

為供應可靠和可持續的水以滿足客戶需求,英國 Northumbrian Water 為未來 40 年制訂水資源管理計劃,當中已考慮未來旱災、氣候變化和保護環境的需要。該公司亦重視有效用水,包括減少水管滲漏,又建議客戶節約用水。

 



 

7.6.3.4. 減少耗用原材料
長江基建致力減少耗用原材料,並充分利用業務營運中產生的副產品。

在香港,安達臣瀝青繼續透過向分包商出售經刨削的瀝青作基建材料重用及回收,並符合 ISO 14001:2015 要求,以減少浪費瀝青材料。

港燈一直有收集在發電過程所產生的副產品(如煤灰及石膏等)作實益工業用途,例如生產水泥。於 2019 年,港燈收集約  230,000 公噸煤灰及 70,000 公噸石膏供第三方循環再用。

基建部門於香港及中國內地的水泥製造廠房將超過 100 萬公噸工業廢料(例如燃煤發電產生的副產品及銅冶煉廠的爐渣)循環再用作為製造水泥產品的原材料。於 2019 年,香港的水泥生產業務中使用可回收材料比例超過 60%。

根據歐盟的綠色協議,於2020 年轉廢為能工廠由灰渣轉化成的顆粒,必須百分百可用作「可自由採用的建築材料」,而非以隔離、控制、保養材料處理。AVR 與其專業夥伴一直努力邁向此目標,於2019 年,由灰渣轉化成的顆粒超過一半可自由採用,不含隔離、控制、保養的情況。

於英國,Northumbrian Water 將挖地作業產生的材料作為填料再用。因此,與過去數年比較,用作填料的新原始材料耗用量大幅減少。

英國 Northern Gas Networks 設立計劃為僱員及承包商提供有關使用再生石料而非原始石料的資訊及建議。原始石料的使用量設為一項關鍵績效指標,並定期記錄。過去五年,錄得原始石料的每年使用量減少 78%;而於 2019 年,6.1% 的原始石料用於修復工程。.

7.6.3.5. 保護生物多樣性和棲息地
長江基建致力減低項目對生物多樣性和棲息地的影響和損害。

Southern Water 推展任何新項目前,均會進行詳細生態調查,以評估對項目地點的野生動植物的影響,尤其是敏感或受保護物種。Northumbrian Water 支持基爾德魚鷹保育項目,項目令曾於  2009 年他遷的魚鷹於 2019 年歷史性回歸諾森伯蘭。

Canadian Midstream Assets 實施先進的漏油應對計劃,並制訂適當的環境監察計劃,確保可維持線狀發展開墾之同時,不會對土地用途及自然生態造成影響。Midstream 的設施實施嚴格的土壤、空氣及地下水監察計劃,為未來世代保護重要的空氣及水域。為維持健康及完善的生態系統,公司會於規劃活動時識別野生動植物及文化敏感區域,建造工程會經過計劃安排,以減低對野生動植物在敏感時期受到干擾的風險。為確保土地可持續提供與未開發前相類似的生態功能及土地用途,Canadian Midstream Assets 會於土地使用後再行開墾,相關程序包括解決潛在的污染問題、重新修整地形、更換土壤層及重建合適的植被。

英國 Northern Gas Networks 完成了 12 項土地修復項目,另有四個項目將於 2021 年前完成。

7.6.4. 展望
基建部門旗下附屬公司已就環境管理的不同主題設定各種目標和實施計劃,以下例子顯示其令業務營運更環保、並為人類和各種生物建立綠色的將來的決心。

空氣污染物排放

  • UKPN 於 2030 年前減少 33% 車隊和發電機的氮氧化物排放

溫室氣體排放

  • Wales & West Utilities – 於 2013 年至 2021 年的現行價格管制期內減少10% 溫室氣體排放
  • ista – 於 2030 年前協助客戶/ 用家減少 10% 溫室氣體排放(以 2010 年為基準年)
  • UKPN – 於2021 年前減少 20% 溫室氣體排放
  • AVR – 於 2030 年前減少 55% 溫室氣體排放,並於 2050 年達致零排放

能源消耗

  • ista – 於 2016 年至 2020 年底,德國的能源消耗每年減少 6.5%,能源效益每年平均持續改善 1.3%
  • UKPN – 前列六座樓宇於 2021 年前減少 10% 能源消耗

用水及水污染

  • UKPN – 前列六座樓宇於 2021 年前減少 10-15% 用水量

廢物處理

  • UKPN – 前列六個工地於 2021 年前將 90% 以上廢物從堆填轉作其他用途,並循環再用 80% 以上廢物

保護生物多樣性

  • UKPN – 於2021 年前提升100 個工地的生物多樣性價值最高 30%,積極降低物種流失並達致淨增長
  • Wales & West Utilities – 於 2021 年至 2026 年間指定項目達致無淨損失,生物多樣性至 2039 年達致淨增長