Occupational Health and Safety

7.3. Occupational Health and Safety

7.3.1. Commitment
Employees of the Infrastructure division are exposed to a number of occupational hazards and risks that might adversely affect their health. The division is committed to providing a safe and healthy work environment for its employees with the initiatives listed below.

7.3.2 The Challenges
While occupational health and safety is one of the priorities for most employers, it is even more important for businesses requiring working in hazardous environments, such as Infrastructure. The occurrence of work-related incidents, injuries, diseases and deaths can add to a company’s costs, cause damage to corporate reputation or even end businesses if appropriate measures are not in place. Therefore, creating a safe and well-supervised working environment is of utmost importance in the division’s day-to-day operations.

7.3.3. Initiatives

7.3.3.1. Creating a Strong Culture of Safety
The Infrastructure division strives to improve safety leadership and strengthen safety culture within the organisation.

Australian Gas Networks used to track its safety performance using lag indicators, which only worked when something has gone wrong but were unable to stop incidents before they happened. In 2019, the company adopted Leading Indicator Cultural Models which considered a range of key performance indicators related to employees’ health, safety and environmental ("HSE") objectives, with scores and weightings aligned to its vision, including:

  • Effective leadership engagements: face-to-face discussions completed by senior leaders focusing on recognising and reinforcing HSE behaviours.
  • Meeting actions.
  • Reporting compliance.
  • Field audit completion.
  • Training compliances.
 

AVR held a Safety Week during which employees assumed the role of safety experts and came up with ideas. The managers went around the sites to talk to employees once a month while the Board did this fortnightly. The discussions covered topics like safe behaviour, employees’ working methods, training courses and their awareness of emergency numbers and assembly points.

Northern Gas Networks in the UK obtained the third consecutive gold award from the Royal Society for Prevention of Accidents for demonstrating leading practices in health and safety.

7.3.3.2. Caring for Employees’ Mental Health
CKI aids employees affected by mental health issues and open the conversation around mental health in the workplace.

Northern Gas Networks engaged external training providers to deliver a Mental Health Awareness Programme, including training, workshops and events network-wide over the course of 2019 to better inform employees of the importance of mental health.

HK Electric continued to use “Drive your own purpose” as a theme for year 2019, aimed at motivating employees to take ownership of their own physical and emotional wellness. A wide range of initiatives including interest classes, seminars, health talks, training courses and fitness activities ran to help staff maintain work-life balance.

職業健康與安全

7.3. 職業健康與安全

7.3.1. 承諾
鑑於僱員面對可能影響個人健康的多項職業危害及風險,基建部門致力透過下列措施為僱員提供安全、健康的工作環境。

7.3.2 挑戰
職業健康與安全向來是大多數僱主首要關注點之一,而對基建等需要在危險環境下工作的業務便更為重要。工傷意外、疾病傷亡的發生不但增加公司成本、損害企業聲譽,缺乏適當措施,甚至可能導致公司倒閉。因此,創造安全而監督完善的工作環境,對基建業務部的日常營運至關重要。

7.3.3. 措施

7.3.3.1. 建立強大的安全文化
基建部門力求提升安全領導能力,並加強組織內部的安全文化。

Australian Gas Networks 過去採用滯後指標來追蹤安全表現,僅在問題發生後才會發揮作用,無法阻止事故發生。2019 年,公司採用領先指標文化模式,考慮與僱員的健康、安全及環境目標相關的一系列核心表現指標,並因應公司的願景訂立評分及權重,包括:

  • 有效的領導參與:高層領導參與面對面討論,集中識別以及鼓吹健康安全及環境行為
  • 會面
  • 匯報遵行情況
  • 完成實地審核
  • 培訓合規
 

AVR 舉辦安全週,讓僱員肩負安全專家的角色,提出意念。管理人員每月巡視工地一次,與僱員交流意見;而董事會人員則每兩週進行一次巡視。討論的課題包括安全行為、僱員工作方法、培訓課程,以及員工對緊急聯絡號碼和集合點的認識。

英國的 Northern Gas Networks 憑藉領先的健康及安全實務,連續三次獲得 Royal Society for Prevention of Accidents 頒發金獎。

7.3.3.2. 關心員工的精神健康
長江基建為受精神健康問題困擾的僱員提供幫助,並就工作場所的精神健康展開討論。

Northern Gas Networks 委聘外部培訓公司推出心理健康認知計劃,包括在2019 年展開涵蓋全公司的培訓、工作坊及網絡活動,加深員工認識心理健康的重要性。

港燈繼續以「標竿人生」為 2019 年的主題,鼓勵僱員建立及實踐個人目標,以改善身心健康,保持工作與生活平衡發展,一系列活動包括興趣班、座談會、健康講座、培訓課程及健身活動等。