Anti-Corruption

5.2. Anti-Corruption

5.2.1. Commitment
The board and executive management of the Ports division has zero-tolerance to bribery and corruption. Stringent policies, guidelines and procedures are established to uphold high standards of business ethics and integrity. All employees must adhere to the ethical  standards and legal requirements set out in the Anti-Fraud and Anti-Bribery (“AFAB”) policy, the Code of Conduct, and other relevant policies and guidelines. In addition, all business partners, suppliers and third party representatives are encouraged to adopt the standards.

5.2.2. The Challenges
With globalisation, there has been substantial growth in global trade. However, this also  increases the risks and threats of bribery and corruption. In managing the ports business in 27 countries, employees are often directly exposed to the risk of receiving advantages from importers and exporters of merchandise. Also, shipments often involve multiple jurisdictions and thus increase the risks of illegal activities.
 

5.2.3. Initiatives

5.2.3.1. Distribution of AFAB Policy and Compliance Monitoring
To further strengthen efforts in tackling bribery and corruption risks, the Ports division is aiming to require all employees to self-declare their compliance with the Code of Conduct and related policies, maintain effective communications and a high level of selfawareness among employees through enhancing their understanding of the internal policies.

The AFAB and other relevant policies are distributed to all ports across the globe  while the Code of Conduct and the Staff Handbook are available on the intranet and in hard copies.

Moreover, to enhance communications, some local language versions of the Code of Conduct have been created for front-line employees. Starting in 2019, all employees at Hutchison Ports HIT and Yantian are required to self-declare their compliance. Hutchison Ports Yantian had translated the self-declaration form with a Chinese version to ensure employees are able to declare  accurately.

5.2.3.2. Code of Conduct and AFAB Training
Regular training on the topic of bribery and corruption is provided to employees globally to ensure full compliance and understanding of the policies.

All employees are required to go through Code of Conduct and AFAB training, as part of new-joiner orientations, and also on an ongoing basis. To ensure
key personnel are familiar with the relevant laws and regulatory requirements, all managers and supervisors from the Human Resources, Commercial, and Procurement departments, along with other selected individuals, are required to attend classroom training every two years. Ports also provide an e-Learning platform for employees to have better access to the AFAB policy and ensure the policy is wellcommunicated at all levels.

In view of higher bribery risk exposure in some local environments, business units extend the training to suppliers, such as the Mexican ports. In Hutchison Ports Tanzania, a CEO/CFO meeting will be held with major suppliers to communicate AFAB requirements and increase their awareness.
 

 

5.2.3.3. Confidential Whistleblowing Mechanism
The Ports division has long-established whistleblowing mechanisms and policy for employees and stakeholders to confidentially and anonymously report any suspected acts of misconduct and malpractice, without fear of retributions.

Whistleblowing policy and related incident reporting procedures are in place to ensure the cases are investigated thoroughly and independently. For instance, in Hutchison Ports UK, a “Speak Up Line” is set up and advertised in “Employee App” to provide channel to employees for reporting any suspected
AFAB incidents confidentially. All incidents are recorded on a register, and the status and statistics are reported to Group management regularly.

Nine cases involving suspected acts of misconduct and malpractice or cases of whistleblower were reported in 2019, such as misappropriation of container goods and suspected scam email. All cases had been reported to the management, which had timely initiated independent or joint investigation with local regulatory parties (such as Customs and police), with proper follow up on the investigation results and remedial actions taken.

反貪污

5.2. 反貪污

5.2.1. 承諾
港口部門董事局管理層絕不容忍貪污賄賂,制訂嚴格政策、指引與程序,維持最高的業務道德與誠信標準。所有僱員均須遵守反貪污賄賂政策、行為守則,以及其他相關政策與指引所訂明的道德標準與法律要求。此外,也鼓勵所有業務夥伴、供應商與其他第三方代表採納該等準則。

5.2.2. 挑戰
在全球化趨勢下,環球貿易大幅增長,但行賄貪污的風險與威脅也同時增加。管理分佈於 26 個國家的港口業務時,僱員經常面對收受進出口商提供利益的風險。此外,運送的貨物通常涉及多個司法管轄區,非法活動的風險也隨之增加。
 

5.2.3. 措施

5.2.3.1. 派發反貪污賄賂政策與合規監督
為加強阻截行賄貪污風險的工作,港口部門冀望要求所有僱員自我申報符合行為守則與相關政策,以及加深僱員對內部政策的了解,維持僱員之間的有效溝通與高度自我意識。

反貪污賄賂政策與其他相關政策已於全球所有旗下港口派發,行為守則與員工手冊備有印刷本,也可於內聯網查閱。

加強溝通的措施尚包括為前線僱員提供多種語言版本的行為守則。自 2019 年起,和記港口香港國際貨櫃碼頭與和記港口鹽田國際所有僱員均須自我申報合規。和記港口鹽田國際已將自我申報表格翻譯成中文,確保僱員可準確申報。

5.2.3.2. 行為守則與反貪污賄賂政策培訓
為全球僱員定期提供有關反賄賂與貪污的培訓,確保全面合規與了解政策。

所有僱員均須在入職迎新簡介及其後持續提供的課程中接受行為守則與反貪污賄賂培訓。為確保主要人員熟悉相關規定,人力資源、商務與採購各部門所有經理與督導人員,以及其他選定人員每兩年均須參加一次課堂培訓。部分港口更為僱員提供網上學習平台,方便其閱讀反貪污賄賂政策,並確保政策有效傳達至各級僱員。

鑒於部分地區如墨西哥等面對較高的受賄風險,若干業務單位將培訓擴展至供應商。在和記港口坦桑尼亞,行政總裁/ 財務總監將與主要供應商舉行會議,傳達反貪污賄賂的要求,以及提高此方面的意識。
 

 

5.2.3.3. 舉報保密機制
港口部門早已確立舉報機制和政策,以便僱員與持份者可保密與匿名舉報任何懷疑不當行為與失職事故,而毋須擔心遭報復。

所設定的舉報政策與相關事故舉報程序,是為確保個案得到徹底獨立調查。例如和記港口英國設立「發聲熱線」,並在「僱員流動應用程式」登廣告,向僱員提供保密舉報任何懷疑反貪污賄賂事件的渠道。所有事件都會記錄在登記冊上,並定期向集團管理層匯報情況與統計數據。

2019 年共有九宗懷疑不當行為與失職事故舉報,例如不當挪用貨櫃貨物和懷疑欺詐電郵。所有案件均已向管理層匯報,管理層已及時展開獨立調查,或與當地規管機關(如海關與警察)合作調查,並已適當跟進調查結果及已採取的補救措施。