GHG Emissions and Energy Efficiency

5.5. GHG Emissions and Energy Efficiency

5.5.1. Commitment

As one of the leading port networks in the world, Hutchison Ports is committed to doing its part to make the global logistics chain more environmentally-friendly.

5.5.2. The Challenges

The ports industry is seeing more stringent port environmental requirements being implemented in different countries. For example, International Maritime Organization (IMO) 2020 requirements call for marine vessels to burn low sulphur fuel or to install scrubbers. Some terminal operators responded by installing onshore electric power systems. This requires changes to existing port equipment or additional facilities, resulting in major capital investment.

With the advancement of technology, there are also more green options for ports to improve energy efficiency and reduce GHG emissions. While this provides ports with more alternatives to lower their environmental impact, careful considerations on the applicability and flexibility of new technologies are required.

5.5.3. Initiatives

5.5.3.1. Environmental Management System
A three-tier Environmental Management Hierarchy Model has been established to put business units into three categories – namely compliers, initiators, and innovators – based on the maturity of their environmental awareness, environmental management practice, and environmental performance in terms of the major key performance indicators ("KPI"). Such classification helps the business units to focus on improving the environmental management practices in the lower tiers.

In terms of the environmental management processes, a number of business units such as Hutchison Ports UK, Hutchison Ports BACTSSA in Argentina and Hutchison Ports BEST in Spain have already adopted internationally recognised management systems such as ISO 14001 Environmental Management System, a solid framework for managing environmental performance.

Global environmental workshops are planned to further enhance and align practices across the business units going forward.

5.5.3.2. Mobile Shore Power Units
With the enactment of IMO 2020 requirements in 2020, more vessels may switch to use shore electric power while at berth. The shore power units save fuel consumption that would otherwise be used to power vessels while at berth in the port, which in turn, reduces air pollution and GHG emissions. For example, Hutchison Ports Yantian has six mobile shore power units already installed that covers the port’s 16 berths. With such outstanding environmental performance, Hutchison Ports Yantian was honoured the Best Green Container Terminal at the 2019 Asian Freight, Logistics and Supply Chain Awards.

5.5.3.3. Expansion of Electric or Hybrid Equipment Fleet
A long-term equipment plan, which started in 2007,was established to gradually replace existing old diesel-powered RTGCs with full electric or hybrid RTGCs in the coming future.

Up till now, Hutchison Ports operates globally 653 electric and 319 hybrid RTGCs, out of a total fleet size of 1,506. For example, in Hutchison Ports Thailand’s Terminal D, all the RTGC are powered by electricity. This green technology has a lot of advantages over the conventional diesel engines, including zero fuel consumption, low noise pollution and emission-free.

Hutchison Ports is now moving towards the continuous expansion of environmentally-friendly equipment fleet. In 2020, there will be 11 new fully electric RTGCs introduced to Hutchison Ports Pakistan, eight hybrid RTGCs at Hutchison Ports Sohar in Oman and eight fully electric RTGCs at Hutchison Ports UK.

An alternative for electric RTGC is to use hybrid power. There are a total of 319 hybrid RTGCs in Hutchison Ports. Hybrid power typically composes of lithium ion battery bands coupled with a much smaller diesel engine. It significantly reduces the use of diesel fuel and carbon emissions.

 


 

5.5.3.4. Continuous Conversion of Yard Lighting Systems
Energy saving has always been one of the key initiatives at Hutchison Ports. One of the effective methods is the application of Light-Emitting Diode ("LED") lighting.

LED upgrading projects have been implemented by a number of ports in different regions. Hutchison Ports BEST in Spain and Hutchison Ports Alexandria in Egypt have plans to replace the lighting systems of their yard equipment into LED, while Hutchison Ports UK has a plan to replace the existing fluorescent bulbs to LED on their quay-side equipment.





 

5.5.3.5. Application of Renewable Energy Sources
Hutchison Ports has been continuously seeking application of renewable energy in its ports.

Solar panels are installed for lighting and utility purposes in Hutchison Ports LCT in Mexico, Hutchison Ports BEST in Spain, Hutchison Ports Brisbane in Australia and Hutchison Ports Ajman in UAE.

溫室氣體排放與能源效益

5.5. 溫室氣體排放與能源效益

5.5.1. 承諾
作為全球領先的港口網絡之一,和記港口承諾竭盡所能,提升環球物流鏈的環保水平。

5.5.2. 挑戰
港口業面對不同國家實施更嚴格的港口環保規定。例如,國際海事組織 2020 規定要求船舶採用低硫燃料或安裝脫硫裝置。部分碼頭營運商因此裝設岸電系統,此舉需要改裝原有港口設施或增加額外設施,引致重大資本投資。

先進科技讓港口有更多環保選擇,從而改善能源效益和減少溫室氣體排放。儘管這為港口提供更多減少破壞環境的方法,惟事前須經過小心考慮,了解新科技的適用和靈活程度。

5.5.3. 措施

5.5.3.1. 環境管理制度
制訂三級環保管理架構模式,按照業務單位的環保意識狀況、環保管理實務,以及主要表現指標顯示的環保表現而劃分成三類,分別是遵從者、發起人與革新者。此分級制有助業務單位集中改良較低層次的環保管理實務。

在環保管理過程方面,和記港口在英國菲力斯杜港、阿根廷布宜諾斯艾利斯貨櫃碼頭和西班牙巴塞南歐碼頭已採納國際認可的管理系統,例如為管理環保表現設定堅實框架的 ISO 14001 環保管理系統。

港口部門計劃舉辦全球環保工作坊,未來再提升和統一各業務單位的環保實務。

5.5.3.2. 流動岸電裝置
2020 年實施國際海事組織 2020 規定後,更多船舶可能在靠泊時改用岸電。在港口靠岸的貨櫃船過往使用燃料供電,岸電裝置有助節省燃料,從而減少空氣污染與溫室氣體排放。例如,和記港口鹽田國際已安裝六組流動岸電服務設施,能為貨櫃船供應共16 個岸電泊位;並憑藉此傑出環保表現,在 2019 年度亞洲貨運、物流與供應鏈大獎中獲選為「最佳綠色貨櫃碼頭」。

5.5.3.3. 擴大電動或混能設備隊伍
2007 年展開的長遠設備計劃,預算逐步取代原有的柴油驅動輪胎式龍門架吊機,未來改用全電力或混能驅動的輪胎式龍門架吊機。

至今,和記港口在全球的 1,506 台輪胎式龍門架吊機之中,已有 653 台電動吊機與 319 台混能驅動吊機。例如,和記港口泰國D 碼頭的所有輪胎式龍門架吊機均由電力驅動,此項綠色科技較傳統柴油引擎優勝,包括完全不耗燃料、低噪音污染和零氣體排放等。

和記港口正邁向持續擴大使用環保設備。2020 年,和記港口巴基斯坦將增設11 台新的全電動輪胎式龍門架吊機、和記港口蘇哈爾將有八台混能驅動輪胎式龍門架吊機,而和記港口英國則有八台全電動輪胎式龍門架吊機。

除電動輪胎式龍門架吊機外,也可選用混能驅動;和記港口共有 319 台混能驅動輪胎式龍門架吊機。混合能源主要包括鋰離子電池帶和更細小的柴油引擎,可大幅減少柴油用量和碳排放。

 



 

5.5.3.4. 持續更換堆場照明系統
節約能源一向是和記港口其中一項重要措施,最有效的方法之一,是使用發光二極管(「LED」)照明。

不同地區多個港口已實行LED 提升計劃。西班牙和記港口巴塞南歐碼頭與埃及和記港口亞歷山大已計劃將堆場照明設備改為 LED,而和記港口英國也計劃以 LED 取代岸邊設備原有的燈泡。
 




 

5.5.3.5. 應用可再生能源
和記港口不斷尋求在旗下港口使用可再生能源。

墨西哥和記港口聖樊尚貨櫃碼頭、西班牙和記港口巴塞南歐碼頭、澳洲和記港口布里斯班與阿聯酋和記港口阿吉曼,均使用太陽能板供電予照明系統與其他公共設施用途。