Labour Management

5.3. Labour Management

5.3.1. Commitment
The success of the ports business is the direct result of the hard work and dedication of the workforce. This requires attracting and retaining the right talent with the competences to meet the business needs today and in the years to come.

In managing labour relations, the Ports division is committed to:

  • Sustaining a rewarding and supportive working environment for employees.
  • Abiding by non-discriminatory and equal-opportunity employment practices.
  • Providing ongoing engagement with employees.
  • Supporting employees’ personal development, professional growth and well-being.

5.3.2. The Challenges
In the past, ports were generally seen as a labour-intensive industry. Technological transformation with digitalisation and automation of port processes, along with the introduction of artificial intelligence applications, demand a shift in mindset and skillset for the existing workforce.

Roles and the skillset requirements are reviewed to help employees adapt to a technologically advanced operating model.

5.3.3. Initiatives

5.3.3.1. Ongoing Professional Development
It is believed that a performance-driven culture building on continuous learning can drive growth for the business and professional development for employees.

On the Ports division level, the Regional Development Programme (“RDP”) is specially designed to support and realise individual’s business and professional potential. Through an array of learning methodologies and a progressive four-module (in 18 months) approach, it aims to accelerate leadership development and business acumen of selected talents. In 2019, two cohorts of RDPs (Europe, the Middle East & Africa and Asia) were run.

The RDP’s objectives are (1) to build a robust talent and succession pipeline to increase leadership bench strength and groom the next generation of leaders; (2) to deliver a significant enhancement of both the individual leadership capabilities of participants and their ability to collaborate with people across the organisation; (3) to shape the individual development plan of each participant to reflect the acquisition of new skills and the recognition of new developmental requirements; and (4) to support the attraction and retention of talents for our business.

5.3.3.2. Building the Workforce of the Future
The younger generations are the future of the business and the industry, therefore building and strengthening their growth are vital.

Various trainee programmes are organised to nurture young people in professional areas including operations management, engineering and information services, and provide them with career development opportunities.

Hutchison Ports UAE developed the “MEA Leadership Programme” in 2019. This programme targets potential successors and high potential employees to enhance their behaviour skills for future potential work. It also focused on building personal effectiveness and the topics shared included: Problem Solving and Decision Making, Influencing without Authority and Presenting with Impact. During the three-day programme, participants actively engaged in the interactive discussions and learning activities while treasuring the opportunity to build valuable network with colleagues from other business units.

Hutchison Ports HIT has been providing people development programmes, such as "Engineering Superintendent Trainee Programme" for selected employees based on their needs.

Hutchison Ports HIT is offering a range of opportunities to potential employees. In 2019 HIT established “Start Your Journey @ Port Programme”, a programme that provides a series of learning opportunities for students who are pursuing tertiary education. It aims to increase students’ knowledge and interest towards careers in the logistics industry through seminars, placements, scholarships and terminal visits. HIT also offers structured development programmes to groom young graduates to embark on a career with the company.

At Hutchison Ports, an e-Learning initiative via LinkedIn Learning was launched in July 2019, for selected talents and high potential managers.

Seven-themed Learning Paths were implemented with 99 total courses recommended. A total of 1,258 learners participated with 1,405 hours on total viewed. Hutchison Ports was awarded the “Most Engaged Learning Culture” by LinkedIn due to the high activation rate and repeated learners.

The top course subject that learners reviewed was “Leadership & Management”, which accounted for 55% of the total learning hours. Top skills learners are developing includes Teamwork, Communications, Project Management, Change Management, Operation Management, Customer Service, Stakeholder Management and Talent Management.

人力管理

5.3. 人力管理

5.3.1. 承諾
港口業務的成功有賴僱員的努力與專注,因此必須吸引與保留有能力的適當人才,以滿足今天及未來的業務需要。

在管理人事關係方面,港口部門致力:

  • 保持理想的工作環境,讓僱員得到回報與支持
  • 遵行不歧視與平等權益的僱聘守則
  • 保持長期僱傭關係
  • 支持僱員個人發展、專業培訓與福祉

5.3.2. 挑戰
過往港口一般被視為勞工密集行業,港口程序數碼化與自動化科技轉型,以及引進人工智能程式,令原有工作人員必須改變思維與工作技巧。

所以,必須檢討工作角色與技巧要求,協助僱員適應運用先進技術的營運模式。

5.3.3. 措施

5.3.3.1. 持續專業發展
相信建基於持續學習和以表現為本的文化,有助推動業務增長和僱員的專業發展。

港口部門特別設計的地區發展課程,是為了支持與實現個人業務和專業潛能。透過一系列學習方法與四個單元的漸進課程(為期 18 個月),加快發展特選人才的領導才能與商業觸覺。2019 年共舉辦兩次地區發展課程(歐洲、中東與非洲和亞洲)。

課程目標是(1)建立茁壯的人才與接班梯隊,提高領袖接班人的實力,並培養新一代的領袖;(2)大大提升參加者的個人領導才能,以及他們與機構上下人員合作的能力;(3)協助參加者設計個人發展計劃,反映學習新技能與確定新的發

5.3.3.2. 建立未來的工作團隊
年輕一代是業務與業界的未來,因此扶助與加強他們的成長十分重要。

各項見習員培訓課程旨在為年輕人提供專業訓練,包括營運管理、工程與資訊服務,並為他們開拓事業發展機會。

和記港口阿聯酋2019 年開發了「中東與非洲領袖課程」,對象是潛在接班人和潛質優厚的僱員,為預備未來的潛在工作需要,提升行為技巧。課程集中訓練個人效率,題目包括:解決問題與決策、毋須運用權力而產生影響力,以及發表具影響力的演說。在為期三天的課程中,參加者積極參與互動討論和學習活動;他們認為這是與其他業務單位同事建立人際網絡的寶貴機會。

和記港口香港國際貨櫃碼頭素有提供人力發展課程,例如為特選僱員而設的工程師見習監督計劃,內容配合他們的需要而設計。

香港國際貨櫃碼頭為未來的僱員提供多種不同機會,於 2019 年設立 「『碼』上啟航」 人才培育計劃,為專上學院學生提供連串學習機會,旨在透過講座、實習機會、獎學金與參觀貨櫃碼頭等活動,加深學生對業界的認識,以及提高他們對在物流業發展事業的興趣。香港國際貨櫃碼頭並提供結構嚴謹的發展計劃,訓練年輕畢業生在公司發展事業。

2019 年 7 月,和記港口透過 LinkedIn Learning 推出專為特選人才與潛質優厚的經理而設的網上學習平台。

平台有七個主題學習徑,共有 99 個課程可供選擇。學員人數達 1,258 名,參與時間共 1,405 小時。和記港口憑高啟動率和學員重複參與,獲 LinkedIn 選為「最高參與率的學習文化」。

當中最受學員歡迎的科目是「領導才能與管理」,約佔總學習時數 55%。學習的技巧包括團隊合作、溝通、項目管理、變動管理、營運管理、客戶服務、持份者管理和人才管理。