Community Engagement

6.5. Community Engagement

6.5.1. Commitment
Community engagement is ASW’s passion and commitment. It seeks to maintain long-term partnerships with local communities and charities, develop programmes that are mutually beneficial to its business and the community, and encourage its employees to involve in volunteering.

6.5.2. The Challenges
Retailers are part of the community in which they serve. To secure support from the customers and strengthen the social licence to operate, businesses should seek to build good relationships and trust with the community.

6.5.3. Initiatives

6.5.3.1. Partnerships with Communities and Charities
ASW strives to maintain long-term partnerships and support local communities and charities via donations and sponsorships.

Partnering with Operational Smile, ASW launched its first group-wide global charity campaign, “Give a Smile” in 2018. The campaign aims to sponsor surgeries for children with cleft conditions to make smile possible again. To drive awareness across business units, ASW engaged colleagues in a wide range of fundraising activities. It also educated customers about cleft onditions through creative social media campaigns and Augmented Reality (AR)  technology experience, and encourage loyal customers to donate their points to support "Operation Smile". By the end of 2019, ASW has funded over 1,500 surgeries.

For more than three years, Watsons Ukraine has been partnering with National Cardiovascular Surgery Institute Amosova to support children with congenital heart disease. Apart from engaging employees in a range of fundraising activities, customers were encouraged to donate their Watsons Club points. At 2019 year-end, 41 surgeries were supported, 75,000 Watsons Club points were donated with the participation of around 668,000 customers.

Saver and Superdrug have been working with long-term charity partner Marie Curie by raising funds and awareness for the organisation’s work in providing quality care to patients suffering from terminal illness across the UK. Savers has raised over 600,000 pounds in 2017 and 2018 while Superdrug has raised 5,000,000 pounds over five years.

6.5.3.2. Donating Edible Surplus
While reducing its ecological footprint and wastage, ASW donates edible surplus food to local charities and social enterprise to help feed the needy.

PARKnSHOP has been organising the “City Food Drive” programme which helps local social enterprise, Food Angel, collect grocery food items and funds from the public since 2012. For seven consecutive years, it has raised more than HK$7.8 million and donated more than 1,800 tonnes of edible surplus food to help Food Angel prepare five million of meal boxes to feed the needy in Hong Kong.

6.5.3.3. Employee Engagement
Apart from engaging the public community, the Retail division believes engaging and taking care of employees’ wellbeing is also an important element to the success of its business. Employees are encouraged to participate in volunteer work and improve their wellbeing to unlock their full potential.

At "Smile for Good", ASW staff across the world has put in a total of 70,000 volunteer hours to help those in need and create a more caring community. In 2019, ASW hosted or participated in 257 activities with over 12,500 volunteers participating.

6.5.3.4. Youth Development
The Retail division supports the community’s youth through the sponsorship of local athletic events, contributing to young athletes' growth and development.Watsons Athletic Club ("WAC"), celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2019, has always been central to the development of young athletic talents in Hong Kong. Over the years, more than 10,000 students have challenged themselves and realised their dreams through taking part in WAC’s initiatives.

WAC also organised a series of events under the slogan “Reaching New Heights” to celebrate its remarkable achievements and pass the torch to a new generation of young athletes.

To encourage talented student athletes to pursue their interests and develop potential, ASW organised the “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Awards” in 2005 to honour students who exhibit outstanding performance or great potential, demonstrating passion and good conduct in sport. Since 2005, the programme saw over 14,000 students nominated from over 1,000 primary, secondary and special schools across Hong Kong. Awardees would be invited to participate in leadership workshops, and outstanding awardees will be selected to join the Sports Exchange Tour and will be invited to attend an appreciation lunch as well as a volunteer service.

ASW has also been supporting the Future Stars - Upward Mobility Scholarship organised by the HKSAR Government since 2016. Through the programme, ASW provides grassroots secondary students with both direct scholarship support and career-focused activities to gain practical working experience.  ASW also organises visits to PARKnSHOP’s Sheung Shui Fresh Food Distribution Centre and Fortress stores, and provide students with summer placements at Watsons stores and event management experience in sports events.

社區參與

6.5. 社區參與

6.5.1. 承諾
屈臣氏集團熱衷並承諾參與社區,力求與當地社區和慈善組織保持長遠夥伴關係,並制訂對本身業務及社區均有裨益的計劃,以及鼓勵僱員參加義務工作。

6.5.2. 挑戰
零售商是其所服務社區的一分子。為了獲得顧客支持和加強社區對其營運的認同,從商者均應力求與社區建立良好關係和互信。

6.5.3. 措施

6.5.3.1. 與社區和慈善組織合作
屈臣氏集團藉著捐獻和活動贊助,致力與當地社區和慈善組織保持長遠夥伴關係。

集團於 2018 年與微笑行動展開首個全集團參與的全球慈善合作項目「Give a Smile 笑亮童心」,贊助患有唇顎裂的兒童接受手術,讓他們重新展現微笑。集團讓同事參與廣泛籌款活動,又透過具創意的社交媒體活動和擴增實境遊戲,讓顧客認識唇顎裂,並且鼓勵忠誠顧客捐出積分,支持微笑行動。至 2019 年底為止,屈臣氏集團已資助逾 1,500 項手術。

烏克蘭屈臣氏三年多以來均與阿莫索華夫國家心血管外科研究所合作,支援有先天性心臟病的兒童。除了讓僱員參與一系列籌款活動外,亦鼓勵顧客捐贈其屈臣氏會員卡積分。截至 2019 年為止,烏克蘭屈臣氏資助了 41 項手術,約 668,000 位顧客參與善舉,捐出 75,000 屈臣氏會員卡積分。

Savers 及 Superdrug 長期以來都是慈善機構 Marie Curie 的合作夥伴,不僅為其籌款,亦提升了機構在全國的知名度,讓大眾關注其為絕症患者提供優質照顧的工作。Savers 於 2017 及  2018 年已籌得逾 60 萬英鎊善款,而 Superdrug 則於五年間籌得 500 萬英鎊。

6.5.3.2. 捐贈剩餘食物
為了減少生態足跡和浪費,同時幫助有需要人士,屈臣氏集團將可食用剩餘食物贈與當地慈善組織及社會企業。

百佳超級巿場自 2012 年起舉辦「全城傳愛齊捐食」活動,協助社會企業惜食堂收集公眾人士捐贈的雜貨食品及善款。連續七年,百佳超級巿場共籌得逾 780 萬港元及捐出逾 1,800 公噸可食用剩餘食物,從而協助惜食堂製作了 500 萬個飯盒贈與香港的有需要人士。

6.5.3.3. 僱員參與
除了鼓勵公眾參與,零售部門認為關顧員工身心健康亦是令業務成功的一項要素。集團鼓勵僱員參加義務工作,促進身心健康,充分發揮潛能。

於 2019 年,世界各地的屈臣氏集團員工在「Smile for Good 全球義工日」計劃,主辦或參與了 257 項活動,超過 12,500 名義工共襄善舉,合共投入 70,000 小時義務工作,幫助有需要人士和創建更關懷的社區。

6.5.3.4. 青年發展
零售部門支持社區青年發展,贊助本地體育活動,積極為年輕運動員成長和發展作出貢獻。

於 2019 年慶祝創立 30 週年的屈臣氏田徑會,一直以來都是培育香港年輕運動人才的中心。多年來,逾 10,000 名學生已透過參加屈臣氏田徑會所辦計劃挑戰自我、實現夢想。

屈臣氏田徑會亦以「傳承跨越」口號舉辦了連串活動,祝賀田徑會的卓越成就,以及向新一代年輕運動員交棒。

為鼓勵具體育天分的學生追求興趣和發展潛能,屈臣氏集團於 2005 年舉辦了「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」,以表揚在體育方面有出色表現或巨大潛能、充滿熱誠和品行良好的學生。自
 2005 年以來,全港逾 1,000 間中小學和特殊學校的 14,000 多名學生已獲得了嘉許。獲嘉許學生均會獲邀參加領袖工作坊,部分更會獲選加入體育交流團、出席感謝午宴和參加義工服務等。

自 2016 年起,屈臣氏集團亦一直支持由香港特區政府推行的「明日之星 —— 上游獎學金」計劃向基層中學生提供直接的獎學金資助,並為他們安排職前活動,助他們吸取實際工作經驗。屈臣氏集團又安排學生參觀百佳超級巿場上水新鮮食品分發中心及豐澤店舖,向他們提供在屈臣氏分店暑期實習的機會,並且讓他們在體育活動中吸取活動管理經驗.