GHG Emissions and Energy Efficiency

6.6. GHG Emissions and Energy Efficiency

6.6.1. Commitment
The majority of the Scope 1 and 2 GHG emissions at the Retail division comes from energy consumption, in particular purchased electricity. Therefore, ASW is committed to reducing GHG emissions by improving energy efficiency and using renewable energy sources to reduce emission.

6.6.2. The Challenges
With an extensive retail network spread across a wide range of locations and cultures, regional differences of the stores have to be considered in localising energy management policies and practices to suit their operational needs. Besides the need for adaptive energy management measures, GHG emissions performance is also dependent on the fuel mix used by electricity providers in local markets.

6.6.3. Initiatives

6.6.3.1. Energy Management Programme
In 2014, ASW launched the Energy Management Programme to manage energy use. As part of the plan, Energy Champions are appointed to support proper execution of Energy Management Programme goals at the different markets where ASW operates in.

Energy-saving initiatives were implemented in stores to help improve energy efficiency, ranging from hardware improvements such as gradual LED replacement and investments in other energy-efficient hardware, to behavioural changes concerning staff awareness. Where practicable, sustainable energy sources are introduced into the existing energy mix. By the end of 2019, all business units in the UK and Kruidvat in Belgium switched to 100% renewable energy, with Trekpleister and Kruidvat in the Netherlands using 80% renewable energy in their energy mix.

A Supply Chain Toolkit was implemented to help the in-house vehicle fleet and the subcontracted transport fleet to develop localised fuel-efficiency strategies.
As part of this, best practices are promoted and both internal staff and external contractors are engaged to adapt fuel efficiency measures.

As a result of the energy reduction measures, total net GHG emissions (Scope 1 and 2) have dropped 30% compared to the 2015 baseline.

溫室氣體排放及能源效益

6.6. 溫室氣體排放及能源效益

6.6.1. 承諾
零售部門的範圍 1 及 2 溫室氣體排放大部分來自能源消耗,尤以外購電力。因此,屈臣氏集團致力提高能源效益和使用可再生能源,以減少溫室氣體排放。

6.6.2. 挑戰
鑒於集團旗下零售網絡規模龐大,廣佈各地和涉及多種文化,於制訂能源管理政策和慣例時,必須考慮分店所在區域的差異,以切合當地業務營運的需要。除了需要適合的能源管理措施,溫室氣體排放表現亦取決於當地電力公司所採用的燃料組合。

6.6.3. 措施

6.6.3.1. 能源管理計劃
2014 年,屈臣氏集團推行能源管理計劃以管理能源使用。計劃其中一部分是委任能源倡導者,以支持在屈臣氏集團營運所在各個巿場正確實踐能源管理計劃的目標。

各分店均實行一系列節能措施,協助提高能源效益,由改良硬件如逐漸改用 LED 燈及投資於其他具能源效益的硬件,以至員工自覺行為改變。在可行情況下,集團會把可持續能源加入現有能源組合。截至 2019 年底為止,零售部門在英國所有業務單位和在比利時的 Kruidvat 均百分百轉用可再生能源,而在荷蘭的 Trekpleister 和 Kruidvat 則在其能源組合中使用 80% 可再生能源。

集團推出供應鏈工具箱,協助內部車隊和分判運輸隊制訂適合當地情況的燃料效益策略,令內部員工和外部分判商一起參與調整燃料效益措施,促進最佳能源改善。

節能措施帶來令人欣喜的成果,整體淨溫室氣體排放( 範圍 1 及 2)已由 2015 年的基線下降了 30%。