Responsible Supply Chain Management

6.3. Responsible Supply Chain Management

6.3.1. Commitment
As a leading global retailer, the Retail division recognises the impact and responsibilities it has with people working in the supply chain and the planet. Working closely with suppliers, ASW seeks to operate in a responsible and sustainable manner and is committed to:

  • Improving working conditions in the supply chain.
  • Fighting modern slavery.
  • Assessing environmental impact risks of OB suppliers.

6.3.2. The Challenges
Apart from price and quality, consumers today want to know who, where and how the products were produced. It has become more important than ever for retailers to ensure supply chains are socially and environmentally responsible, from start to finish. In response to the shift in consumer attitudes and expectations, as well as the tightening legislation, ASW evaluates the environmental and social impact of supply chains as well as the risks and opportunities.

6.3.2.1. amfori’s Business Social Compliance Initiative
The Retail division strives to foster a healthier, safer and more ethical supply chain, for the benefit of people working in factories and their families.

ASW has been a member of amfori’s BSCI since 2008. It aims at improving working conditions in the global supply chain and requires suppliers to agree to amfori’s BSCI Code of Conduct as well as participate in regular compliance audits. Through e-Learning tools and workshops from amfori, ASW monitors suppliers’ performance and engage with them. In 2019, ASW continued to require OB suppliers located in high risk countries to be audited against BSCI requirements, or equivalent audits that are recognised by ASW, such as Sedex Members Ethical Trade Audits, Social Accountability 8000 and Initiative for Compliance and Sustainability.  Suppliers are encouraged to obtain higher scores in the audit programme and support will be provided for their continuous improvement. In addition, all suppliers, including OB and non-OB ones, received the BSCI Code of Conduct in the contracts they signed with ASW or its subsidiaries.

6.3.2.2. The Mekong club
The Retail division has been making efforts to develop and deepen the understanding of the risks in its business so as to prevent exploitation and human trafficking from taking place in business operations and the supply chain.

Since 2016, ASW has been a member of the Mekong Club (“TMC”), an organisation that helps its member companies develop and implement toolkits to avoid modern slavery within business operations. ASW was the first company to sign up to TMC’s Business Pledge against Modern Slavery.

Key departments involved in supplier contract negotiation and quality assurance auditing have been trained with TMC online toolkit; staff workshops have also been carried out in Mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, the UK and France. In the UK, business units (The Perfume Shop, Savers, Superdrug) have also taken a commitment to fight against modern slavery, and published their statements on modern slavery and human trafficking as required by the UK Modern Slavery Act.

6.3.2.3. Business environmental protection initiative
The Retail division endeavours to reduce its carbon footprint on the planet through partnering with suppliers to improve their environmental performance.
By the end of 2018, ASW rolled out the BEPI of amfori, which assessed environmental sustainability risks of suppliers, using an online assessment tool covering 11 environmental performance areas. Following the assessment, suppliers were advised on their risks and the appropriate training to attend either from amfori or from other appointed training companies, with their progress monitored over time. By the end of 2019, ASW has assessed 30% of its purchases from OB suppliers located in high-risk countries.

負責任的供應鏈管理

6.3. 負責任的供應鏈管理

6.3.1. 承諾
作為領導全球業界的先驅,零售部門明白到自身對供應鏈工作人員和全球構成的影響和責任。屈臣氏集團與供應商緊密合作,銳意以負責任和可持續的方式運作,並承諾:

  • 改善供應鏈的工作環境
  • 打擊現代奴隸制度
  • 評估自家品牌供應商對環境的影響

6.3.2. 挑戰
除價格與品質外,現今消費者都希望了解產品的製造商、來源地和製作過程等資料,零售商須確保供應鏈的每一環節都對社會和環保負責。因應消費者態度和期望的轉變,加上法律管制收緊,屈臣氏集團會評估供應鏈對社會與環境的影響,以及相關風險與商機。

6.3.2.1. amfori 商界社會責任倡議
為保障工廠工人與其家人的利益,零售部門全力促進建立更健康、更安全和更高道德標準的供應鏈。

屈臣氏集團 2008 年起成為 amfori 商界社會責任倡議(「BSCI」) 成員 。amfori 的宗旨是要改善環球供應鏈的工作環境,要求供應商接受其商界社會責任倡議行為守則,以及定期接受合規查核。屈臣氏集團透過 amfori 的網上學習平台與工作坊,監督供應商的表現並建立合作關係。 2019 年,屈臣氏集團繼續要求高風險地區的自家品牌供應商按 BSCI 要求接受審核,或接受屈臣氏集團認可的等同審核,例如供應商道德資料交換平台成員道德經營查核、社會責任國際標準 SA 8000 和 ICS 審核,鼓勵供應商在審核中爭取更高評分,並支持他們持續改善。此外,屈臣氏集團或旗下附屬公司與所有供應商簽訂合約時,不論是否製造自家品牌,都會要求對方接受 BSCI 行為守則。

6.3.2.2. 湄公河俱樂部
零售部門一直致力辨識與加深了解業內風險,以防止在業務運作上或供應鏈中,出現剝削員工或販賣人口的情況。

屈臣氏集團自 2016 年起成為湄公河俱樂部會員,是首家簽署該會反對現代奴隸制度承諾的公司。湄公河俱樂部協助成員公司開發與實施工具系統,以防業務運作中涉及現代奴隸制度。

負責與供應商磋商合同和品質保證審核的主要部門,已接受有關湄公河俱樂部網上工具系統的訓練;在中國內地、香港、新加坡、英國與法國也舉行了僱員工作坊。英國的業務單位(The Perfume Shop, Savers, Superdrug)均已承諾打擊現代奴隸制度,並按英國現代奴隸法規定,刊登反對現代奴隸制度和人口販賣的聲明。

6.3.2.3. 商業環保措施
零售部門與供應商合作改善環保表現,努力減少碳足跡。

2018 年底,屈臣氏集團啟動 amfori 商界環境績效倡議平台,運用涵蓋 11 個環保表現範疇的網上評估工具,評核供應商的環境可持續風險。供應商會獲取相關風險報告,獲邀參加 amfori 或其他受委任培訓機構舉辦的培訓,並於一段時間後得悉監督進度。2019 年底,屈臣氏集團評核了 30% 從高風險國家自家品牌供應商輸入的貨品。