Waste Management and Circular Economy

6.7. Waste Management and Circular Economy

6.7.1. Commitment
ASW is committed to minimising the amount of waste going into landfills by adopting a circular economy model, where possible, and abide strictly to local requirements in terms of waste collection and disposal. The company makes every effort to ensure no hazardous waste is sent to landfills and to minimise the amount of non-hazardous waste sent to landfills. Additionally, ASW has signed up to the "New Plastic Economy" Global commitment for their OB products, working to eliminate plastic items that are not needed, innovate such that all plastics are designed to be safely reused, recycled or composted, and circulate everything to keep in the economy and out of the environment.
 


6.7.2. The Challenges
Waste management in the retail industry has been a prominent topic as the industry has traditionally involved in creating a significant volume of waste through items such as food, single-use plastics and packaging. In recent years, the ASW Group has been actively exploring opportunities to reduce the waste generated across the value chain.

6.7.3. Initiatives

6.7.3.1. Improving Store Carrier Bags
Across the Retail operations, various types of store carrier bags are offered for the convenience of ustomers. ASW aims to reduce the provision of single-use carrier bags and use alternatives such as reusable bags, paper bags or bags made partially with recycled plastic content. 

Currently, business units in Europe provide carrier bags which includes a minimum of 25% recycled plastic content. In Asia, this figure is 5-10%. ASW strives to increase the use of recycled plastic content to 25% in Asia to align with Europe.

Paper bags are also offered in multiple locations and customers are encouraged to switch to reusable bags. In Hong Kong, programmes such as “Share Your Bag and Bring Your Own Boxes” are implemented at designed stores.

6.7.3.2. Reducing Packaging
There is a significant growth in online business across the world, which has led to an additional use of packaging materials required for product shipment. In the supermarket division, customers’ feedback on the extensive use of plastic packaging for raw and fresh products are received.
 



To reduce packaging, business units have been reinventing and redesigning product packaging to keep them safe in transportation with minimal use of materials. In 2018, the regional eCommerce team released guidelines on packaging and dispatch notes not only to standardise the look and feel but also to optimise the amount of material used.

In the guidelines, key strategies and directions, such as introducing product refill options and phasing out the use of PVC in packaging, were introduced for business units to act on.

6.7.3.3. Collection of Empty Containers in Stores
ASW partnered with recyclers to collect empty glass and plastic containers from customers and to process them back into raw materials for further re-use in support of circular economy.

Up to 2019, four business units across four operating markets are collecting empty containers for personal care/cosmetics products from customers. In Hong Kong, empty glass containers and water bottles are being collected and reverse vending machines are added to collect empty plastic water bottles. In 2020, it aims to expand the empty containers recycling programme to two new markets.

6.7.3.4. Testing In-store Refill
Customer refill may be a potential business model to substantially cut back on plastic waste, and ASW has worked with strategic suppliers to review the opportunity of introducing this initiative.

In Hong Kong, a personal care refill station for a New Zealand brand “ecostore” was launched in PARKnSHOP. Customers can now bring in their container to purchase refills. In 2019, the lines of refill stations have expanded to include olive oil, vinegar and whiskey refill by Vom Fass and nuts corner by Hart.

6.7.3.5. Non-hazardous Waste Recycling in Warehouses
The Retail division strives to reduce and recycle warehouse wastes. In daily operation, non-hazardous wastes are handled in compliance with local legislations. Non-hazardous waste is either managed through shopping malls' own waste management systems or brought back to the warehouses to be delivered to local recyclers. This waste usually comes from secondary and tertiary packaging.

6.7.3.6. Banning the Use of Microplastics
The use of microplastics has been a topic of concern in the retail and cosmetics industry in the past couple of years. The Retail division has been taking steps to fully ban the use of microplastics in the development of OB rinse-off cosmetics/personal care scrub products since 2014.

To further fulfil the Retail division's commitment to the environment, ASW has stopped selling all rinse-off cosmetics products/personal care products containing microplastics at its stores since January 2020. With the changes on the definition of microplastics in Europe and potential extended restrictions, ASW is actively working with suppliers to fulfil any additional requirements.

6.7.3.7. Mitigating the Impact of Plastics
With retail and beverage manufacturing being key parts of ASW’s business, the company is committed to contribute to the global effort of combating
plastic waste.

Four key focus areas in achieving such goal are identified, including:

  • Reduce unnecessary and problematic plastic.
  • Make packaging more recyclable.
  • Explore reusable packaging models.
  • Use recycled plastic content.

At Watsons Water, a goal to have all plastic bottles made from 100% recyclable PET materials by 2020 was set.

ASW is also currently reviewing its portfolio of single-use OB plastic products to determine whether they can be re-designed to be recycled, reused or made with better alternative materials. However, this can only be done in markets where regulations allow.

PARKnSHOP was the first supermarket in Hong Kong to launch a trial of non-package fruits and vegetables at three of its university stores. The trial has enabled PARKnSHOP to identify the direct impact of shelf life of certain fruits and vegetables along with the demand for sustainable packaging solution.

6.7.3.8. Making OB Products More Sustainable
The Retail division is committed to having 100% of the dry paper products (toilet tissue, facial tissue and related items) made of PEFC or traceable recycled paper by 2025.

By 2018, dry paper products had already a transitioned to sustainable paper sources such as PEFC.
 

6.7.4. Looking Forward
Immediate next steps are identified to help ASW become more environmentally-friendly, with the upcoming initiatives:

  • Installing 400 reverse vending machines in Hong Kong by 2025, with a target to collect 50% equivalent Watsons Water bottles by 2025 and 100% equivalent by 2030.
  • Installing 100 water refill stations by 2025.

In Q1 2020, ASW also launched the 2030 Sustainable Packaging Strategy, covering OB products packaging, carrier bags and eCommerce parcels. And in Q2, ASW officially signed up to the "New Plastic Economy" Global commitment.

Below are a few key goals and objectives identified in ASW OB Sustainable Packaging strategy:

  • Eliminating unnecessary and problematic packaging. For example through avoiding over-packaging and phasing out PVC by 2030.
  • Promoting packaging that is more recyclable or reusable.
  • Targeting to use a minimum of 20% recycled plastic content in plastic packaging by 2025 (ASW average), if supply allows.

廢物管理及循環經濟

6.7. 廢物管理及循環經濟

6.7.1. 承諾
屈臣氏集團致力減少運往堆填區的廢物量,方法是採用循環經濟模式,以及在可行情況下嚴格遵守當地對廢物收集及處理的規定。集團盡力確保不把有害廢棄物運往堆填區,同時盡量減少運往堆填區的無害廢棄物量。此外,集團簽署了《全球減塑承諾》,致力減少自家品牌產品不必要的塑膠;利用創新科技使塑膠能設計成可安全重用、回收或降解;以及將每一件物件留在經濟體系內循環、遠離環境。
 


6.7.2. 挑戰
鑒於零售業一直以來都因為食物、即棄膠袋和包裝等而製造大量廢物,廢物管理早已成為業界首要議 83,503 公噸所產生的整體無害廢棄物量題。近年,屈臣氏集團一直積極探討減少整個價值鏈所產生廢物的方法。

6.7.3. 措施

6.7.3.1. 改良店舖的購物袋
在所有零售業務營運中,店舖為了方便顧客而提供各式各樣的購物袋。屈臣氏集團致力減少提供即棄購物袋,轉而提供可重用購物袋、紙袋或部分以循環再造塑膠成分製成的購物袋。

目前,在歐洲的業務單位所提供的購物袋最少含有 25% 的循環再造塑膠成分。在亞洲,有關數字則為 5% 至 10%。屈臣氏集團正努力把亞洲所使用的循環再造塑膠成分提高至 25%,與歐洲看齊。

在許多購物點亦有提供紙袋,並鼓勵顧客轉用可重用購物袋。香港方面,在指定分店亦實行「環保袋共享站及自攜餐盒」等計劃。

6.7.3.2. 減少包裝
全球各地的網上業務均大幅增長,導致產品運送時所需使用的包裝材料亦有所增加。超級巿場業務收到了顧客對生貨和鮮貨大量使用塑膠包裝的意見。
 



為減少包裝,業務單位已重新研製和設計產品包裝,既能於運送時保護產品,亦能盡量減少使用包裝材料。2018 年,區域電子商貿組發出包裝指引,藉以令包裝的外觀和手感標準化,同時令所用材料發揮最佳效果。

上述指引提供主要策略和方向(例如引入產品補充選擇和逐漸棄用聚氯乙烯作為包裝材料)讓各業務單位遵循。

6.7.3.3. 在分店收集空的容器
屈臣氏集團與回收商合作,收集顧客交來的空玻璃瓶和塑膠容器,並把這些容器還原為原材料,再供重用,藉以支持循環經濟。

截至2019 年為止,分佈四個營運市場的四個業務單位均有收集顧客交來的個人護理產品/ 彩妝產品的空容器。在香港,集團正收集空的玻璃容器和水瓶,並且加設回收機回收膠樽。2020 年,集團計劃把空容器回收計劃擴展至兩個新巿場。

6.7.3.4. 試行店內補充
集團認為顧客到店內補充產品是具潛力的業務模式,可大大減少塑膠廢物。屈臣氏集團已著手與策略供應商合作研究推行此項措施的可能性。

在香港,紐西蘭品牌 ecostore 已在百佳超級巿場設立首個個人護理用品補充站,顧客現可自行攜帶容器購買該品牌的產品。 2019 年,各品牌的補充站陸續增加,包括 Vom Fass 出品的橄欖油、醋及威士忌,以及 Hart 售賣的果仁。

6.7.3.5. 貨倉的無害廢棄物循環再造
零售部門一直致力減少貨倉的廢物及加以循環再造。在日常運作中,無害廢棄物按照當地條例處理,其中一種辦法是通過購物中心的廢物處理系統處理,又或交回貨倉以便其後送交當地回收商。這些廢棄物通常是二級和三級包裝。

6.7.3.6. 禁止使用塑膠微粒
零售業和彩妝行業近年均對使用塑膠微粒表示關注。零售部門自 2014 年起,自家品牌的沖洗式彩妝/ 個人護理磨砂產品時已率先禁止使用塑膠微粒。

而為了進一步落實對環境的承諾,屈臣氏集團自 2020 年起禁止集團旗下所有分店出售含有塑膠微粒的沖洗式彩妝/ 個人護理產品。歐洲對已更改塑膠微粒的定義,並可能擴大限制,屈臣氏集團正積極與供應商合作,務求符合任何額外規定。

6.7.3.7. 緩解塑膠的影響
鑒於零售和飲品製造是屈臣氏集團業務的主要部分,集團致力為全球對抗塑膠廢物的努力作出貢獻。

要達致此目標的四個主要範疇包括:

  • 減少不必要及有問題的塑膠
  • 令包裝更適合循環再造
  • 探討可再用包裝模式
  • 使用循環再造塑膠成分

屈臣氏蒸餾水已訂定至 2020 年時,以百分百可循環再造材料製造所有塑膠瓶的目標。

屈臣氏集團現正檢討旗下自家品牌單次使用塑膠產品的組合,以判定這些產品是否可重新設計,令其可循環再造、重用或以其他更佳材料製造。不過,此項工作只能在規例容許的巿場進行。

百佳超級巿場在香港三間大學分店推出蔬果免包裝試驗計劃,是全港首家進行此項試驗的超級巿場。此項試驗令百佳超級巿場認識到若干蔬果在沒有包裝下對其上架壽命的直接影響,同時找出可持續包裝需求方案。

6.7.3.8. 令自家品牌產品可更持續
零售部門力求於 2025 年之前,全部乾紙產品(廁紙、面紙及相關產品)均只以獲森林管理委員會認證紙品或可追溯循環再造紙製造。

至 2018 年,乾紙產品已轉為使用可持續紙源,例如獲森林管理委員會認證紙品。
 

6.7.4. 展望將來
立即採取措施協助屈臣氏集團變得更環保,以下為即將執行的措施例子:

  • 於 2025 年之前,在香港安裝 400 部水樽回收機,目標是於 2025 年之前收集 50% 與屈臣氏蒸餾水相類似水樽,而於 2030 年之前擴大收集率至百分百
  • 於 2025 年之前安裝 100 個蒸餾水補充站

2020 年首季,屈臣氏集團亦已推行 2030 可持續包裝策略,涵蓋自家品牌產品包裝、購物袋和電子商貿包裹;而在第二季,屈臣氏集團更簽署了《全球減
塑承諾》。

以下為是屈臣氏自家品牌可持續包裝策略部分主要目標和目的:

  • 透過避免過度包裝及至 2030 年逐漸停用聚氯乙烯,減少不必要和有問題包裝
  • 推廣更能循環再造或重用的包裝
  • 在供應情況許可下,致力至 2025 年時塑膠包裝使用最少 20% 循環再造塑膠成分(屈臣氏集團平均值)。