GHG Emissions and Circular Economy

9.5. GHG Emissions and Circular Economy

9.5.1. Commitment
Managing climate-related issues is among the important concerns of many stakeholders. While reducing CO2 emissions remain one of its top priorities, the division also seeks to equip itself to be more resilient to climate risks and reduce embodied carbon throughout its supply chain.

9.5.2. The Challenges
Climate change is a global challenge that has already caused impacts on communities and disruptions to businesses. Such climate-related impact presents both risks and opportunities to its assets and businesses.

The division’s operating activities are based on the use of network infrastructures, which require a continuous power supply, the growing number of connected devices and data transmitted will increase energy consumption, thereby making it difficult to reduce carbon footprint.

9.5.3 Initiatives

9.5.3.1. Energy Efficiency Improvements for Network Infrastructure
With the majority of the division’s energy consumption coming from network infrastructure, energy efficiency is key to GHG emissions management. The division is actively upgrading its network equipment and installing energy saving features to reduce energy usage. 

Wind Tre has been modernising its entire network in order to guarantee that it would be capable of supporting services of the latest generation, while at the same time ensuring high energy efficiency standards. Under the scheme, existing network equipment are being replaced with the latest generation models, cooling infrastructures migrate towards outdoor configurations with lower cooling energy requirements, and the technological sites are consolidated to reduce the direct and indirect energy consumption. Thanks to the energy efficiency interventions, Wind Tre has avoided over 120,000 tonnes of CO2 over the past five years.

3 UK was the first in the UK to share its mobile network with another mobile operator, through a 50:50 joint venture company. Such arrangement allows better utilisation of the network capacity, enabling 3 UK to minimise its environmental impact by reducing the energy consumption through sharing cell sites and equipment, while providing great coverage and reliable services to customers throughout the UK.
 






9.5.3.2. Sourcing Renewable Energy
While many of the European markets in which the division operates have already been using renewable energy in their energy mix, the division took a step further to explore and introduce additional renewable energy sources into the current energy mix of telecom operations to reduce GHG emissions. For example, 3 Denmark and 3 Sweden have been buying electricity from renewable energy sources to power its mobile network. This initiative has reduced the GHG emissions of 3 Denmark and 3 Sweden by more than 3,000 tonnes per year. For 2018, green electricity accounts for about 80% of Hi3G Access AB’s total electricity consumption. Besides certified green electricity,

3 Denmark and 3 Sweden have also been purchased non-certified renewable energy from property owners. The goal is to reach 100% renewable electricity, where available and practicable in the future.

Besides sourcing renewable energy, the division also explored the possibilities of generating renewable energy on its own. Wind Tre has 13 grid-connected proprietary photovoltaic systems, generating 2,200 GJ of green electricity in 2018 alone.

3 Austria’s headquarters launched its own solar panel system in October. In the future, 3 Austria will rely on in-house green electricity to power its headquarters.

9.5.4. Looking Forward
The division will continue to implement and roll out a series of initiatives. For example, tower asset upgrades, infrastructure modernisation, and development of more energy efficient ICT services to support sustainable development and carbon reduction. The division aims to help society transition to a low-carbon future by offering connectivity of smart, digital solutions that reduce energy use and travel and transport.

To demonstrate the division’s commitment, CKHGT will be disclosing its climate impact for the first time via the CDP reporting mechanism in 2020 and is in the process of developing a Science Based Target to align its carbon emissions with the goals of the Paris Agreement. In line with the overall risk management approach of CKHGT and by adopting the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures ("TCFD"), a set of climate-related risks and opportunities material to CKHGT, its assets and business are being identified and will be reviewed regularly.

溫室氣體排放及循環經濟

9.5. 溫室氣體排放及循環經濟

9.5.1. 承諾
氣候相關事宜的管理,正是電訊部門眾多持份者的重要關注。部門繼續將減少碳排放列為最優先任務之一,同時積極提升自身應對氣候風險的韌力,並減少供應鏈的碳排放。

9.5.2. 挑戰
氣候變化已成為影響社區和業務營運的全球挑戰。然而,氣候相關的影響也同時為業界的資產和業務帶來風險和商機。

部門的營運活動主要是使用網絡基建,而過程中須依賴持續的電力供應。當連綫裝置和傳輸數據不斷增加,能源消耗也隨之上升,令減少碳足跡更具難度。

9.5.3 措施

9.5.3.1. 改善網絡基建的能源效益
部門的能源消耗絕大部分因網絡基建產生,因此能源效益就是管理溫室氣體排放的關鍵所在。部門主動提升了網絡設備和安裝節能設施,以減少耗用能源。

Wind Tre 一直為整個網絡現代化努力,確保公司能支援最新世代的電訊服務,同時可維持最佳能源效益。網絡更新計劃下,將現有網絡設備逐步替換為最新型號,而冷卻基建則遷移至耗能需求較低的戶外配置。多個技術基站進行合併,減低直接和間接耗能。通過整合各項能源效益措施,Wind Tre 過去五年的碳排放減少了超過 120,000 公噸。

3 英國是全國首家以合資企業(雙方各佔 50% 權益)方式與另一流動通訊服務商共用網絡的公司。此合作模式使網絡容量更運用得宜,而 3 英國為全英國提供優越網絡覆蓋及可靠的服務之餘,亦因共用發射站和設備而減少耗能,使環境影響降至最低。

 








9.5.3.2. 探索可再生能源
部門在多個歐洲市場營運,此等市場已將可再生能源納入能源組合使用。有見及此,部門主動探索和引入其他可再生能源,擴大各地電訊營運分部的現有能源組合,務求降低溫室氣體排放。例如,3 丹麥和 3 瑞典選用以可再生能源為燃料的電力,為旗下的流動通訊網絡供電,兩家公司因此每年溫室氣體排放量減少逾 3,000 公噸。2018 年,綠色電力約佔 Hi3G Access AB 總耗電量約 80%。3 丹麥和 3 瑞典除了購買經認證的綠色電力外,也有向一眾業主購買未經認證的可再生能源,以期將來在可用及可行範圍內,實現 100% 使用可再生能源。

除了發掘可再生能源之外,部門也探索自行生產可再生能源的可能性。Wind Tre 旗下有 13 個連接電網的專用光伏系統,單在 2018 年已生產了 2,200 千兆焦耳綠色電力。

3 奧地利總部於 10 月啓用自設的太陽能電池板系統,未來該總部的電力將完全由自行生產的綠色電力供應。

9.5.4. 前瞻
部門將會繼續實施和推出連串措施,如發射塔資產升級、基建現代化和建立能源效益更高的資訊及通訊科技服務,以支持可持續發展和減少碳排放。部門的目標是提供智能和數碼通訊解決方案,減少耗能、出行或交通運輸,從而協助社會過渡至低碳未來。

為了體現承諾,CKHGT 於 2020 年透過 CDP 全球環境信息研究中心的報告機制,首次披露對氣候變化的影響。同時,公司現正著手制訂一套科學基礎減碳目標,使旗下業務的碳排放符合巴黎協定。CKHGT 正按公司整體風險管理方針,並採納氣候相關財務信息披露工作組的建議,識別一連串對公司、資產及業務具重大影響的氣候相關風險與商機,並會定期檢討。