The Li Ka Shing Foundation
Another source of innovation for the Group is access to the extensive philanthropic network and portfolio of innovative companies in which early stage investments have been made by the Li Ka Shing Foundation through Horizons Ventures.

Mr Li Ka-shing, the Group’s founder and Senior Advisor, is well known as a leading investor in innovation and disruptive technologies. Over time, the Li Ka Shing Foundation has developed one of the world’s most extensive portfolios of investments that address many of the pressing sustainability challenges of today. Among many investments, the Li Ka Shing Foundation has been a significant backer of the following start-ups:
  

  • ZeroAvia, working to develop zero-emissions aviation;
  • Syzygy Plasmonics, developing a platform for cost- efficient localised production of green hydrogen;
  • AlgiKnit, seeking to transform the fashion ecosystem with rapidly renewable bio-based textiles; and
  • Soil Carbon Co, developing technology to increase crop yields as well as the carbon capture and sequestration associated with major grain crops.

  
Where possible, the Group partners with portfolio companies sponsored by the Li Ka Shing Foundation to use its business to act as incubators and spring boards for these innovations, for example, distributing Impossible Products and Perfect Day ice cream through PARKnSHOP.

The Foundation was also an early founding sponsor of Zoom, the now well-known communications platform for video and audio conferencing. The Group has adopted Zoom as a Group-wide standard for meetings and collaboration, an approach which has and will continue to reduce the Group’s carbon footprint through avoided travel.

李嘉誠基金會
集團另一創新來源,是李嘉誠基金會通過維港投資進行早期投資,逐步建立的龐大公益網絡及創新公司投資組合。

集團創辦人兼資深顧問李嘉誠先生洞燭先機,以投資多項創新及顛覆性科技名聞遐爾。經多年發展,李嘉誠基金會已成為目前世界上最廣泛應對眾多迫切可持續發展挑戰的投資組合之一。在多項投資當中,李嘉誠基金會一直是以下初創企業的重要支持者:
 

  • ZeroAvia,致力於發展零排放的航空業務;
  • Syzygy Plasmonics,正在發展低成本、本地化的綠色氫氣生產平台;
  • AlgiKnit,利用以生物為基礎的紡織品改變時裝生態系統;以及
  • Soil Carbon Co,提高種植收成技術,發展與主要穀類作物相關的碳捕獲及封存。

 
集團會與李嘉誠基金會的投資組合公司合作,利用其業務作為此等創新的孵化器及跳板,例如通 百佳超級市場分銷 Impossible Products 及 Perfect Day 雪糕。

李嘉誠基金會亦是 Zoom 的早期創始贊助商,Zoom 現已成為知名的影音會議通訊平台。集團已採用 Zoom 作為全集團進行會議及商討協作的標準,繼續以此避免出行,減少集團的碳足跡。