Responsible Supply Chain
Customers of today have high expectations of the products and service they buy, expecting not only high quality at affordable prices, but also for them to be sustainably sourced. To meet these expectations and the Group’s own internal drive to be a responsible organisation, we aim to source with sustainability in mind through practices to ensure supply chain accountability.

ASW is committed to working closely with suppliers to ensure they respect human rights, promote decent working conditions and implement environmentally sustainable practices.

A cornerstone programme of ASW’s supplier engagement assessment programme is its membership to amfori BSCI, an organisation dedicated to improving working conditions and environmental management in global supply chains. An important feature of this membership is that it allows members with common suppliers to share audit results thereby avoiding duplication in effort and cost.

ASW has adopted amfori BSCI’s Code of Conduct which refers to international conventions such as the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Children’s Rights and Business Principles, the UN Guiding Principles for Business and Human Rights, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Guidelines, theUN Global Compact and the International Labour Organization Conventions and Recommendations. All suppliers must endorse the amfori BSCI Code of Conduct as part of the supplier contracting process.

ASW requires all Own Brand suppliers located in identified high-risk countries identified by amfori BSCI to be audited against amfori BSCI’s requirements. It also accepts audit results from a small number of other leading practice audit frameworks such as Sedex Members Ethical Trade Audits and the Initiative for Compliance and Sustainability.

Specifically relating to engaging suppliers in environmental protection, ASW takes part in amfori BSCI’s Business Environmental Protection Initiative to drive environmental improvements in its supply chain. Suppliers identified as high-risk must complete a self-assessment covering 11 environmental performance areas.

Following the assessment, suppliers are informed of their assessed risks and notified of the appropriate training to attend, delivered either by amfori BSCI or by other appointed training companies. Their progress is further monitored for progress tracking.

ASW’s responsible sourcing goal is: By 2030, ensure that 100% of Own Brand purchase value from high-risk countries (identified by amfori BSCI) will be assessed for:
 

  • Social compliance through amfori’s Business Social Compliance Initiative audits (or others endorsed by ASW); and
  • Environmental compliance through amfori BSCI’S Business Environmental Protection (“BEPI”) (or others endorsed by ASW)
   

During 2020, audit of 441 factories were conducted under ASW’s sustainable supply chain programme with the following scores:
 

 

Key:  
A, B Very good practices exhibiting continuous improvement. Audit valid for two years’ maximum.
C Acceptable level of performance. A remediation plan must be provided within two months of the audit date and a follow-up audit within 12 months of the audit date.
D, E Poor levels of performance. A remediation plan must be provided within two months of the audit date and a follow-up audit within six months of the audit date.
ZT Human rights violations and business behaviour that may endanger the independence of the audit may qualify as possible zero tolerance (ZT) cases. Examples include child labour, bonded labour, and unethical behaviour. Upon discovery of ZT issues, the auditor would inform first amofri BSCI, which will coordinate an expedited remediation plan and require immediate improvements.


ASW’s approach with factories identified with non-compliances is not to terminate the business relationship as soon as the findings are available as this would not be a responsible reaction and would not help solve the problems identified. Instead, following the amfori BSCI System manual, ASW would request the factories to prepare and submit a remediation plan and be re-audited within 2–12 months of the last audit depending on their audit score.

Based on the factory competency, additional training is offered face-to-face or online through external independent third parties.

Termination of business would occur if a factory has not shown any improvements through independent re-audit or if its management refuses to cooperate.

ASW has been proactively taking steps to develop and deepen its understanding of the risk of modern slavery to prevent exploitation from taking place within its global supply chains.

Since 2016, ASW has been a member of The Mekong Club (“TMC”), an organisation that helps its member companies to prevent modern slavery within business operations. ASW was the first company to sign up to TMC’s Business Pledge against Modern Slavery and with TMC's help, ASW developed and rolled out a toolkit for all supply chain teams to understand the risks and how to identify flags for potential modern slavery. Key departments involved in supplier contract negotiations and quality assurance auditing have been trained with TMC online toolkit. Employee workshops have also been carried out in Mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, the UK and France. In the UK, The Perfume Shop, Savers and Superdrug have also published statements on modern slavery and human trafficking as required by the UK Modern Slavery Act.

Hutchison Ports is currently expanding it sustainable procurement guidance across its ports to assist with pre-screening business partners across a wide range of sustainability issues including: business ethics, biodiversity impacts, emissions management, and human rights. Expansive sustainable procurement practices are already implemented at Hutchison Ports UK with contractor evaluations in the areas of labour practices, modern slavery, environment, legal compliance and health and safety. In 2020, to further improve its practices, Hutchison Ports HIT held a knowledge exchange with COSO-HIT for procurement teams to share experiences on integrating sustainability criteria.

Hutchison Ports believes that all organisations working in cargo movement have a role to play in countering the threat to animal and plant species from illegal trade.

Hutchison Ports is a signatory of the Buckingham Palace Declaration, a commitment to take substantive steps to remove opportunities for wildlife trafficking by focusing on information sharing and secure reporting to law- enforcement authorities.

Hutchison Ports has also developed a partnership with TRAFFIC, the non-governmental organisation working globally on trade in wild animals and plants, and leverages their insights to deepen knowledge and understanding in high how to flag potential incidents of illegal wildlife trade.

確保可靠供應鏈
現今的顧客對產品和服務有很高期望,除希望以可負擔的價格獲得高質素產品,亦關心產品採購是否符合持續的方式。屈臣氏集團為滿足期望並決意成為負責任的企業, 其供應鏈團隊時刻以可持續發展為念,通過嚴格的程序確保供應鏈滿足可持續發展的要求。

屈臣氏集團在尊重人權、提升合適的工作條件和實施可持續發展實務上與供應商密切合作。

屈臣氏集團對供應鏈的重視,可以從它作為全球貿易協會商界社會責任倡議的成員得以說明。該組織致力改善環球供應鏈的工作條件和環境管理。作為成員之一,屈臣氏集團可以跟有共同供應商的其他成員分享審核結果,避免重複工作和成本。

屈臣氏集團已採納全球貿易協會商界社會責任倡議的行為守則,其中涉及國際公約如《世界人權宣言》、《兒童權利和商業原則》、《聯合國工商業與人權指導原則》、《經合組織指引》、《聯合國全球契約組織》和國際勞工組織的公約與建議書,所有供應商均須認可該行為守則作為合約的一部分。

屈臣氏集團要求所有位於高風險國家的自家品牌供應商,按照全球貿易協會的商界社會責任倡議規定進行審核;或少數其他權威審核架構的審核結果,如 Sedex 成員道德貿易審核和合規與可持續倡議的審核。

在供應商參與環保方面,屈臣氏集團參加了全球貿易協會商界社會責任倡議的商界環境績效倡議,積極推動其供應鏈環境改善。高風險供應商必須完成涵蓋 11 個環境績效的自我評估。供應商取得相關風險評估報告後, 便參加全球貿易協會商界社會責任倡議或其他受委任培訓機構舉辦的培訓,他們的進度將被密切跟進。

2030 年,屈臣氏集團須確保 100% 來自高風險國家的自家品牌採購價值(由全球貿易協會的商界社會責任倡議確定)將:
  

  • 通過全球貿易協會的商界社會責任倡議審核(或其他經認可的審核)來評估社會合規,及
  • 通過全球貿易協會的商界環境績效倡議(或其他經認可的環保措施)來評估環境合規。

  
2020 年期間,審核了 441 家供應商,取得以下評分:

表一:審核結果
 

 

註:  
A, B 表現出持續改進的良好做法,審核有效期最長為兩年。
C 表現可接受,必須在審核日期後兩個月內提交補救計劃並在審核日期後 12 個月內進行複核。
D, E 表現欠佳,必須在審核日期後兩個月內提供補救計劃並在審核日期後六個月內進行複核。
ZT 可能危及審核獨立性的侵犯人權和商業行為,可能被視為零容忍個案,例子包括童工、抵押勞工及不道德行為。一旦發現零容忍個案,審核員將通知全球貿易協會的商界社會責任倡議,協調盡速補救和要求立即改善。


對於被識別為不合規的供應商,屈臣氏集團不會立即終止其業務關係,因這無助於解決問題。反之,按照商界社會責任倡議手冊,屈臣氏集團會要求供應商提交補救方案,並根據其評分,從審核後的二至 12 個月內進行複核。視乎供應商的能力,可通過獨立第三方提供額外的面對面或網上培訓。

倘若某家供應商經獨立複核後仍無任何改進,或其管理層拒絕合作,則會終止業務關係。

屈臣氏集團一直積極探討和了解現代奴隸制度的風險,以防止在其全球供應鏈中發生剝削情況。

2016 年以來,屈臣氏集團一直是 The Mekong Club(「TMC」)的成員,該組織幫助其成員公司在業務營運中防止引入現代奴隸。屈臣氏集團是首家簽署 TMC 反現代奴隸業務承諾的公司,在 TMC 幫助下,屈臣氏集團訂立並推出工具包,指導供應鏈團隊如何識別現代奴隸的風險及保持警惕。與供應商磋商合同和負責品質保證審核的主要部門已接受 TMC 網上處理技巧準則的訓練,在中國內地、香港、新加坡、英國及法國也舉行了僱員工作坊。英國的業務單位(The Perfume Shop, Savers 和 Superdrug) 均已按英國現代奴役法案規定,刊登反對現代奴隸制度和人口販賣的聲明。

和記港口目前正擴大其可持續採購指引,協助所有港口在商業道德、生物多樣性影響、排放管理及人權等廣泛的可持續性問題上預先篩選商業夥伴。和記港口英國已採取廣泛的可持續採購舉措,在勞工慣例、現代奴隸制、環境、法律合規性以及健康和安全方面評估外判商。在 2020 年,為進一步改善相關舉措,和記港口香港國際貨櫃碼頭與 COCSO-HIT 舉行了一次交流會,雙方的採購團隊分享整合可持續性標準的經驗。

和記港口相信,面對非法貿易對動植物物種的威脅,所有從事貨運的組織都可以有所作為,發揮作用。

和記港口簽署《白金漢宮宣言》,承諾採取實質行動,通過信息共享及向執法當局報告等手段,消除販運野生動物的機會。

和記港口更與全球監測野生動植物貿易的非政府組織「國際野生物貿易研究組織」合作,利用港口專長的洞察力和行業知識,協助揭發潛在的非法野生動物貿易事件。