Social - Communities
Meaningful and impactful community engagement is important to the Group not only because it’s the right thing to do and as employees are passionate about it, but also because thriving, vibrant communities are inherently interlinked with our success.

Every division has a community engagement and investment programme that is tailored to the needs of their communities.

Globally, the ASW brands contribute in different ways to make their communities better places. ASW has however supported one cornerstone programme, closely linked to its purpose embedded in the act of inspiring smiles by partnering with Operation Smile. Operation Smile is an international medical charity that provides free surgeries for children and young adults in developing countries who are born with a cleft lip, cleft palate or other facial deformities. ASW’s goal is to finance 10,000 free surgeries for children with cleft lips and palates by 2030. Since 2018, ASW has sponsored 4,000 surgeries.

Employee volunteering is also an area ASW is passionate about. Through the Smile for Good 2020 programme, which called upon every business unit to support corporate volunteering, over 10,000 volunteers have contributed 70,000 hours to serve over 240,000 of those in need in the communities in which it operates. In 2020, total donations amounted to HK$71.8 million.

Hutchison Ports’ Dock School Programme is one of the Ports division’s most long-standing community programmes in which each port globally partners with at least one local school to provide support such as sponsoring scholarships, equipment and other educational initiatives. For example, Hutchison Ports HIT supports the Tsuen Wan Trade Association School and the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education Tsing Yi with scholarships for disadvantaged students, and through facilitating school contests and opportunities for local students to learn more about Hong Kong’s supply chains and the logistics industry.

Attracting new employees to the ports business and developing a future pipeline of talent is also an aim of the Dock School Programme. In 2020, HIT continued its “Start Your Journey @ Port Programme”, a programme that provides a series of learning opportunities for local university students. The programme aims to increase students’ knowledge and interest towards careers in the logistics industry through seminars, placements, scholarships and terminal visits.

In 2020, community engagement programmes prioritised supporting local communities through the pandemic, see the section on Covid-19 support for more information.

社會:社區
在社區舉辦有意義及具影響力的活動對集團極為重要,這不單由於這些活動具有意義,員工亦熱衷參與,更由於一個繁榮、充滿活力的社區與集團的成功息息相關。

各業務部門均制訂有社區參與及投資計劃以適應其所在社區的需要。

縱觀全球,屈臣氏集團品牌均以不同方式改善其服務的社區。屈臣氏集團以啟發陽光般的笑容為服務宗旨,與「微笑行動」合作展開重點社會服務。「微笑行動」是一個為發展中國家的先天性唇裂、顎裂或其他面部畸形的兒童和年輕人提供免費手術的國際醫療慈善機構。屈臣氏集團的目標是在 2030 年前為唇顎裂兒童贊助 10,000 宗手術。自 2018 年開始,屈臣氏集團已贊助了 4,000 宗手術。

員工的義工服務,也是屈臣氏集團積極參與的領域, 通過「Smile For Good 2020 全球義工日」計劃呼籲每個業務單位支持企業義工服務,超過 10,000 名義工已經貢獻 了 70,000 個服務小時,為其業務所在社區有需要人士提供超過 24 萬次服務。2020 年,捐款總額達港幣 7,180 萬元。

和記港口碼頭學校計劃是港口部門其中一項歷史最悠久的社區計劃。全球各港口均與當地最少一家學校合作,如提供獎學金、設備及其他教育活動等支持。例如,和記港口香港國際貨櫃碼頭支援荃灣商會學校及香港專業教育學院青衣分校,向基層學生提供獎學金,並透過校內比賽等向本地學生講解更多關於香港供應鏈及物流行業的發展。

吸引新血加入港口行業及發展未來人才庫亦是碼頭學校計劃的目標。2020 年,香港國際貨櫃碼頭繼續推行「『碼』上啟航」人才培育計劃,為當地大專院校學生提供一系列學習機會,期望通過研討會、工作實習、獎學金及參觀碼頭,增加學生的知識及投身物流行業的興趣。

2020 年,集團的社區參與計劃首要支持社區過渡疫情,詳情請參閱支援新型冠狀病毒危機章節。