Social - COVID-19 Support
The COVID-19 crisis has had devastating socio- economic consequences. It has not only left millions without their loved ones and livelihoods, but it has also been a humanitarian crisis that has affected vulnerable people most severely and disproportionally.

Acknowledging that global recovery will be long, and will require every actor of society to do its part, every core business is focused on taking all steps possible to protect employees and support communities, among which are the Group’s customers, as well as other stakeholders.

Employee Support

Employee health and wellbeing has been, and will continue to be, the Group’s top priority. Throughout the pandemic, wherever possible, the Group has distributed masks daily to its employees, ensured workplace sanitising measures, and conducted temperature checks and onsite rapid COVID-19 testing. The Group implemented flexible and hybrid working policies, along with the necessary IT support, to fit the needs of employees. Employee wellness programmes were also rolled out focusing on managing anxiety, staying active and keeping connected during lockdowns.

As part of the division’s ongoing response to the impact of COVID-19, Hutchison Ports has introduced stringent safety precautions to ensure that its terminals were, and continue to be, safe places for employees to work.

Every port has developed business continuity plans to ensure that Hutchison Ports can continue to provide the port services that customers need. Response plans include protocols for temperature checking, on-site testing services, amended working practices, restricted travel, workplace access, social distancing and internal track and trace systems.

Localised employee events were organised throughout 2020 to recognise employee and contractor efforts and to alleviate new stresses and pressures created by the pandemic. Hutchison Ports Hutchison Korea Terminals held the "Stay Strong Campaign" promoted by the Korean Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade in March aimed at keeping spirits high and encouraging employee recognition. At Hutchison Ports UK, a new Employee Assistance Programme was launched to help employees deal with personal problems that might negatively impact their health and wellbeing as a result of the pandemic. The Programme provides employees and their direct household members with 24/7 confidential access to professional counsellors, nurses, pharmacists, and life management advisors.

To support employees financially, ASW launched an employee support package in the UK to cover employee pay while stores were closed as well as also offer additional company sick leave for those self-isolating. ASW also focused on ensuring employee health and wellbeing by helping its people feel connected and supported.
 

Supporting employee wellbeing during the pandemic

ASW recognises the pandemic has put exceptional stress on society, including its employees. To support teams, and let them know management is listening and cares for their wellbeing, ASW Benelux launched #StayConnected for office employees and #healthytogether for store employees, to encourage team cohesion, show appreciation for each other, and to ensure employees feel healthy in the workplace.

Highlight initiatives from these programmes, many of which were inspired by employee ideas, included:
 
  • The eBarista café: Every Monday the participants of the eBarista café were randomly matched up for a chance to have a virtual coffee with a new or old friend.
  • eCards: eCards enabled colleagues to share with each other words of appreciation or simply to say to a colleague that they are missed.
  • Inspiration Thursday: External speakers were arranged with webinars held for employees to learn about a variety of topics, including wellbeing and the psychological effects at play while working from home for long stretches. The team also arranged sessions for internal top management to share advice on how to stay well, alongside sharing links to inspiring podcasts, TED talks and articles.
  • Support hotline: A hotline was launched to allow employees to seek extra emotional support. The most important message relayed was: “it’s OK to not be OK, and that we’re here to listen and support our colleagues”.
  • Fitness challenges: To encourage keeping active, the app “Ommetje”, or “walk around the block”, was introduced to challenge employees to earn the most points by ensuring they take walks every day. To further inject some fun into the working day, the team also got employees involved in the popular Jerusalema Dance Challenge, the viral global dance phenomenon.
  • Fruit baskets and vitamins were also shared with retail employees to encourage healthy eating and boosting immunity.

At the Infrastructure division, the pandemic has further focused attention on employee wellbeing and ensuring employees both out in the field and or those working from home feel supported.

Communications during the lockdowns were led from the top, with many of the businesses CEOs sending daily or weekly videos and voice memos to employees, as well as additional and consistent communications from the executive teams at each business.

For those working from home, there was rapid deployment of home working systems, revised working patterns and online collaboration. Additional support was provided to managers in helping their team members work remotely, deal with family loss, and transition back into the office smoothly and safely. Events were held online to enhance feelings of team support and recognition. For example, WWU held their people recognition awards “Celebrating Excellence”, it's 15th birthday celebration and “It’s Virtually Christmas” online. WWU also supplemented their communications with manager’s guides, wellbeing newsletters, and wellbeing virtual cafés. As a result of this work they were recognised with the Responsible Business Champion Award from Business in the Community for its focus on employee wellbeing.

SA Power Networks extended their online health hub in 2020 to include the Health Hub@ Home platform which focuses on the health challenges arising from working from home. Features such as mental health, first aid, mindfulness and resilience training courses, and a Traumatic Event Response service for workers exposed to distressing incidents have also been made available to support employees’ physical and mental health.
 

Employee health and wellbeing at Northumbrian Water

To protect both employees and customers during the pandemic, Northumbrian Water issued specific Toolbox Talks to give employees guidance on how to complete their daily tasks in a COVID-secure manner, including appropriate social distancing and use of PPE. Employees were asked to use the COVID 60 Second Check tool to look for health and safety issues at the start of a task. Employees completed over 66,000 COVID checks and Northumbrian Water suspended over 550 assignments by end 2020 after identifying concerns that needed to be addressed before they could be undertaken.

In January, Northumbrian Water became the first water company in England and Wales to launch a COVID-19 rapid testing programme with employees. Working closely with NHS Test and Trace, Defra and Water UK, they piloted a scheme for asymptomatic testing to be carried out on a voluntary basis for around 600 employees. Since then they have carried out more than 6,000 tests.

Northumbrian Water also stepped up its support for employee wellbeing, including through its LivingWell campaign to give employees additional access to a wide-range of resources, and it also launched new support groups such as the Parents’ Network to assist colleagues facing childcare challenges.

These initiatives helped Northumbrian Water to be named a Centre of Excellence for Wellbeing by the Great Place to Work Institute, and it was also awarded Ambassador Status for wellbeing as part of the 2020 Better Health at Work Award assessment.


Customer Support

Retail customers have been protected through rigorous social distancing measures such as including floor markings indicating 1.5m distancing, one-way walking routes, coughing screens, cleaning stations, customer information points and expanded online shopping options.

Across the Telecommunications division, customers were offered free data access and calls to healthcare support websites and hotlines. For example, 3 UK zero-rated access to the NHS website, the COVID hotline, victim support and domestic abuse services, and Hospedia, the communication network enabling hospital patients to contact home. WINDTRE also enabled free access to Senior Italia FederAnziani, a popular support hotline for senior customers, and 3 Ireland donated 3Connect services for smoother remote working to Aware, the mental health support service which has seen a sharp increase in the number of callers as a result of the pandemic.

In the early days of the pandemic when customers found themselves stranded abroad in the face of lockdowns, 3 Sweden and 3 Denmark offered all customers free data, calls and texts to their home country to stay connected. 3 Denmark further doubled the amount of data for voice subscriptions from May — November 2020 to assist customers needing to spend more time online from home.

The Hong Kong and Macau business also collaborated with Microsoft to provide corporate customers with free subscriptions of Microsoft Office 365 to assist the local business community with remote working and Hutch Lanka in Sri Lanka offered free daily reloads for its subscribers to help them stay connected.

Each of the Infrastructure businesses also acted quickly to support the financial wellbeing of its customers. Examples include:
  

  • The businesses in Australia participated in the Energy Networks Australia’s COVID-19 programme, which provided relief to small business and residential customers who were experiencing financial hardship;
  • Northumbrian Water launched a support programme offering payment breaks for people facing financial difficulty; more than 7,500 customers have benefited from a payment break; and
  • UKPN also repurposed its Power Partners’ £300,000 scheme to help people struggling to pay their energy bills while out of work and at home.

  
Community Support

The COVID-19 pandemic has fundamentally changed the way society interacts as measures globally have been put in place to reduce physical contact to slow the spread of the virus. The telecommunications industry has therefore needed to play a vital role in keeping people connected as they are confined to work, study and be entertained from home.

In 2020, the division’s community support initiatives, in line with the rest of the Group, prioritised supporting healthcare services and the needs of the vulnerable. WINDTRE donated one million euros to local hospitals and 3 UK supported frontline hospital workers by providing them with unlimited calls, texts and data. 3 Indonesia also provided 20,000 SIM cards and free internet access to patients, health workers and volunteers at hospitals around the country to help them stay connected to loved ones at home during the pandemic.

Understanding the difficulties felt by local businesses and school children needing to make the switch to online learning, 3 Austria donated internet packages to small and medium enterprises, and Zoom classroom accounts were donated to local schools in Hong Kong. Similarly, tablets, internet access and school materials were donated by WINDTRE to underprivileged families and hospitalised COVID-19 patients in Italy, and 3 Ireland donated 15,000 SIMs with unlimited data to 160 schools around Ireland. 3 UK further zero- rated the Oak National Academy, a UK Government-based online educational resource that has helped thousands of school children across the UK receive free video lessons and resources. 3 Indonesia donated starter packs with unlimited data to students and teachers of more than 5,000 schools across the country. In addition, they supported the government’s digital transformation so that educational activities can run smoothly during the pandemic.

Each of ASW’s brands sought to address the individual needs of their communities.

Highlight initiatives in 2020 included:
   

  • To respond to the unstable global supply of hygienic face masks, ASW transformed part of its Watson’s Water factory in Hong Kong into a safe environment for mask production where staff worked around the clock to help service demand.
  • ASW donated over 1.8 million masks to elderly, underprivileged people and school students in Hong Kong.
  • Watsons China donated hygiene necessities to medical institutes and frontline healthcare workers in Hubei, PRC.
  • Watsons Taiwan collaborated with a supplier to donate 10 mobile isolation cabins to eight hospitals across Taiwan. The cabins provide a protective shield for the medical staff to ensure their safety when they conduct COVID-19 swab tests.
  • PARKnSHOP donated cash food coupons, vouchers and food items to over 500,000 vulnerable members of the community in Hong Kong via 27 NGO partners.
  • MoneyBack supported the local economy getting back on its feet by allowing local businesses to promote on the platform which serves nearly half of Hong Kong’s population. This included offering in-store exclusive benefits from almost 3,000 outlets, from major food and retail chains to small neighbourhood stores. To encourage shopping safely, ASW also donated over 450,000 pieces of WatsMasks to participating consumers and charities in Hong Kong.
  • As a part of the 180th anniversary celebration of ASW, the division launched the Global Smile Campaign with the theme Smile Inside-out, to raise awareness of mental wellbeing in partnership with NGOs and suppliers. The Group also appointed 13 millennials in the company to be Chief Smile Officers.
  • ASW was recognised in the Outstanding Social Capital Partnership Award given by HKSAR Government’s Community Inclusion Investment Fund. This award highlighted ASW’s partnership with the Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association to provide support for the elderly who live in remote and rural areas. ASW health experts, including pharmacists, dietitians and traditional Chinese medicine practitioners, offered health support and shared COVID-19 related advice to help them stay safe and healthy during the pandemic.
  • Superdrug enabled over 100 professional nurses to volunteer their services to NHS hospitals overwhelmed by caseloads as a result of the pandemic.
  • Superdrug also became one of the high-street retailers to take part in the COVID-19 vaccination programme increasing accessibility to the local community during this global vaccination effort.


During 2020, Hutchison Ports prioritised backing up local healthcare systems including through supporting local hospitals with donations of PPE and supporting the procurement of larger scale equipment. For example, the division facilitated the construction of independent air-conditioning systems for COVID-19 hospital wards in Thailand and donated hospital beds and ventilators for intensive care units in Panama. Volunteer teams globally also worked to deliver food packages and other personal protective necessities to communities in areas that have been hit hardest by the pandemic in Pakistan, the UK, Hong Kong, Spain and Panama.

社會:支援新型冠狀病毒危機
新型冠狀病毒病危機,已對全球造成極具破壞性的社會經濟後果。疫情不僅使數百萬人失去至親及生計,而且釀成人道危機,對弱勢社群造成最嚴重和失衡的影響。

全球復甦長路漫漫,需要社會上各人克盡本分,每項核心業務集中採取一切可行措施,保護員工及支持社區, 其中包括集團的顧客,以及其他持份者。

員工支援

員工的健康及福祉,一直是集團的首要任務,並將繼續如是。在整個疫情大流行期間,集團盡可能每天向員工派發口罩,確保工作地點消毒妥當,並量度體溫及進行現場快速新型冠狀病毒測試。集團實施靈活的混合上班政策,給予必要的資訊科技支持,配合員工需要。集團亦推出員工健康計劃,重點是控制焦慮、保持活力及在封鎖措施期間保持聯繫。

作為港口部門持續應對新型冠狀病毒疫情的一部分,和記港口推行嚴格的安全預防措施,確保其碼頭為員工提供安全的工作場所。

每個港口均已制訂及實行持續業務運作規劃,確保和記港口能夠繼續提供客戶所需的港口服務。應對計劃包括體溫檢查、現場檢測服務、修訂工作模式、限制旅遊及進出工作場所、社交距離及內部追蹤系統等措施。

在整個 2020 年,各港口公司為當地員工組織活動,以表彰員工及外判商的努力,並減輕疫情所帶來的壓力和負擔。和記港口釜山在三月舉行了由韓國外交和貿易部推動的「自強運動」,激勵員工抖擻精神並對其工作予以肯定。和記港口英國推出新的員工援助計劃,協助員工處理疫情大流行可能引致的身心健康問題。計劃為員工及他們的直系親屬提供全天候的專業輔導員、護士、藥劑師及生活規劃顧問服務。

為財務上支持員工渡過新型冠狀病毒疫情大流行,零售集團在英國繼續支付員工在店舖關閉期間的工資,並給予自我隔離員工額外的公司病假。此外,亦致力確保員工身心健康,感受到聯繫和支持。
 

疫情大流行期間關顧員工身心健康

屈臣氏集團明白這場疫症大流行給員工帶來巨大壓力,為了支持團隊,令他們感受到管理層的關心,比荷盧屈臣氏集團分別為辦公室及店舖員工推出「同心一線通」和「為健康打氣」計劃,鼓勵員工互相欣賞,開心工作。

以下是這些計劃的部分舉措,其中不少來自員工的創意:
 
  • eBarista café:每逢週一,eBarista café 的參與者被隨機配對,與新相識或老朋友喝上一杯虛擬咖啡。
  • 電子卡:電子卡讓同事間分享感謝話語,或向思念的人送上片言隻語、點滴關懷。
  • 靈感星期四:安排外部講者藉網絡研討會講解各種專題,包括長期在家工作的健康和心理影響;高層管理人員交流保健貼士,以及分享鼓舞人心的播客、TED 講座和文章鏈結。
  • 支持熱線:提供員工熱線給予情緒支援。主要傳遞的信息是:「不 OK 也是 OK!我們在聆聽並給予支持!」。
  • 健體挑戰:為了鼓勵員工保持活躍,推出了步行應用程式「Ommetje」或「Walk Around the Block」,挑戰員工每天以步行賺取積分。為了在工作日注入更多樂趣,團隊還讓員工參與風靡全球的 Jerusalema 舞蹈挑戰賽。
    零售員工還可獲水果籃和維生素,鼓勵健康飲食,提高免疫力。

在基建部門,疫情大流行令員工福祉備受關注,並需確保在外及在家工作員工均感受到部門的支持。

封城期間,企業溝通由高層主導,許多企業行政總裁每天或每週向員工發送視頻及語音備忘,而各企業執行團隊亦進行額外及持續溝通。

對於在家工作的員工,企業迅速設定在家工作系統,修訂工作模式及線上協作。管理人員亦獲提供額外支援,幫助團隊成員進行遙距工作、處理喪失至親,以至順利及安全返回辦公室工作等事宜。企業亦在網上舉辦活動以增強團隊支援及認可。例如,WWU 在網上舉辦員工表彰獎、15 週年慶祝活動及網上慶祝虛擬聖誕節。於管理層指導下,WWU 亦透過推出身心健康通訊和虛擬咖啡館加強溝通。憑著群策群力的團體精神,結果獲「社區業務」頒發「負責任企業冠軍獎」,以表彰 WWU 對員工福祉的關注。

SA Power Networks 於 2020 年擴展其網上健康中心,包括 Health Hub @ Home 平台,重點關注在家工作帶來的健康挑戰。中心亦提供諸如心理健康、急救、正念及抗壓培訓課程,以及創傷事故服務,以關懷員工的身心健康。
 

Northumbrian Water 關注員工身心健康

為了在疫情大流行期間保護員工及客戶, Northumbrian Water 以工具箱形式發佈講座,指導員工如何以不受新型冠狀病毒感染的方式完成日常任務,包括保持適當社交距離,及使用個人防護裝備。開始任務前,員工被要求使用新型冠狀病毒 60 秒檢查工具,檢測身體健康狀況。至 2020 年底, 員工共完成超過 66,000 次新型冠狀病毒檢查,期間有 550 多名員工身體有異常,經釐清狀況後才能恢復工作。

2021 年 1 月,Northumbrian Water 成為英格蘭及威爾斯首家向員工推行新型冠狀病毒快速檢測計劃的水務公司。公司亦與 NHS Test and Trace、Defra 及 Water UK 密切合作,試行在自願基礎下,為約 600 名員工進行無症狀測試。自此,有關計劃已進行逾 6,000 次測試。

為進一步關心員工福祉,Northumbrian Water 推出「健康人生」計劃,提供一系列有關身心健康的額外資源,並設立「家長網絡」等新支援小組,幫助面對育兒挑戰的同事。

憑藉以上舉措,Northumbrian Water 被「卓越職場學院」命名為「卓越的福祉中心」,並且在 2020 年「健康工作場所獎項」評審中獲頒授大使級別獎項。


支持客戶

零售部門顧客通過嚴格的社交距離措施得到保護,例如在地面劃上標明1.5 米距離的標記、單行線、保護屏障、清潔站、顧客資料站及擴大網上購物選擇。

電訊部門的所有業務單位,顧客均獲免費數據及通話服務,藉以瀏覽及致電醫療保健支援網站及熱線電話。例如,3 英國的客戶可免費瀏覽國民保健服務的網站、致電新型冠狀病毒病熱線和支援及防止家庭暴力服務熱線,以及醫院病人與家人聯繫的通訊網絡 HospediaWINDTRE 亦免通話服務費,讓年長客戶繼續免費享用廣受歡迎的支援熱線 Senior Italia FederAnziani。而 3 愛爾蘭則捐贈 3Connect 服務予精神健康支援服務組織 Aware,使其在疫情中求助數目急增的情況下,仍能順暢地遙距工作。

疫情爆發初期,3 瑞典及 3 丹麥為滯留海外的所有客戶提供免費數據、通話及短信服務,讓他們受限於封鎖措施時仍能與親友保持聯繫。3 丹麥於  2020 年 5 月至 11 月期間,進一步將話音用量服務的數據增加一倍,以幫助留在家中需要利用更多時間上網的客戶。

3 香港及 3 澳門亦與微軟合作,為企業客戶提供免費的 Microsoft Office 365 服務,協助商界遙距辦公。斯里蘭卡的 Hutch Lanka 為用戶每日免費充值,幫助他們保持聯繫。

各基建業務亦紛紛作出回應,為顧客提供財務支援。例如: 
  

  • 澳洲的企業參加了「澳洲能源網絡」的新型冠狀病毒計劃,為遇到經濟困難的小型企業及住宅客戶提供救援。
  • Northumbrian Water 推出支援計劃,為有財務困難的人士提供暫緩付款,超過 7,500 名客戶從中受惠;及
  • UKPN 亦重新啟動其 Power Partners 的 300,000 英鎊計劃, 幫助失業待家,難以支付能源費用的人士。

  
社區支援

新型冠狀病毒疫情大流行對全球起了翻天覆地的變化,世界各地均採取各種措施減少接觸以遏止病毒傳播。電訊業因此擔當重要角色,確保限制在家中工作、學習和消遣娛樂的人士得以保持聯繫。

2020 年,電訊部門的社區舉措與集團其他部門同步,優先支援醫療保健服務及弱勢群體。WINDTRE 向當地醫院捐贈 100 萬歐元; 3 英國則向醫院前線員工提供無限通話、短訊及數據;3 印尼亦向全國醫院的病人、醫護人員及義工提供 20,000 張電話卡及免費上網服務,讓他們在疫情中與親友保持聯絡。

3 奧地利明白當地企業經營艱難,及關注學童網上學習的需要,向中小型企業捐贈互聯網套裝。3 香港向學校捐贈 Zoom 教室帳戶;WINDTRE 向意大利的基層家庭及住院的新型冠狀病毒病患者捐贈平板電腦、上網數據及教材;3 愛爾蘭向當地的 160 間學校捐贈 15,000 張無限數據電話卡;3 英國進一步豁免政府的網上教育機構橡樹國家學院的費用,讓學童可獲得免費視頻課程及資源;3 印尼向全國 5,000 多間學校的學生及教師捐贈無限數據入門包,並且支持政府的數碼轉型,以便教育活動在疫情期間仍能順利進行。

屈臣氏集團旗下各品牌亦紛紛伸出援手,以應對不同社區的需要。

2020 年的舉措主要包括:
   

  • 為應付全球衞生口罩不穩定的供應,屈臣氏集團將香港屈臣氏蒸餾水的部分工廠,改造成 24 小時工作的安全口罩生產廠房以滿足需求。
  • 屈臣氏集團向香港長者、貧困人士及學生捐贈超過 180 萬個口罩。
  • 屈臣氏中國向中國湖北的醫療機構和前線醫護人員捐贈衞生用品。
  • 屈臣氏台灣與供應商合作,向台灣八家醫院捐贈了 10 個流動隔離屋,確保醫護人員在進行新型冠狀病毒拭子測試時得到保護。
  • 百佳通過 27 個非政府組織合作夥伴,向香港超過 50 萬名社會上弱勢社群捐贈現金食品券、代用券和食物。
  • 易賞錢是服務香港近一半人口的平台。為支持本地經濟復甦,容許本地企業在平台上推廣,包括提供近 3,000 家店舖的獨家優惠,由主要食品和零售連鎖店以至鄰里小店。為鼓勵安全購物,屈臣氏集團亦向香港的消費者和慈善機構捐贈了 45 萬個 WatsMasks 口罩。
  • 作為 180 週年慶典的一部分,屈臣氏集團與非政府組織及供應商合作,發起以「由心而發、會心微笑」為主題的「全球微笑計劃」,以提高人們對精神健康的認識。集團還任命了公司的 13 名千禧世代為我們的首席微笑專員。
  • 2020 年,屈臣氏集團獲香港特別行政區政府社區投資共享基金頒發社會資本卓越夥伴獎。該奬現表彰屈臣氏集團與香港基督教女青年會的合作項目,為居住在偏遠和農村地區的長者提供支援。屈臣氏集團的保健專家,如藥劑師、營養師和中醫師,為他們提供健康方面的支援,並分享與新型冠狀病毒有關的知識, 幫助他們在疫情大流行期間保持安全與健康。
  • Superdrug 安排 100 多名專業護士,為因疫情而不堪重負的英國國民醫療服務體系的醫院,義務提供服務。
  • Superdrug 亦成為參加新型冠狀病毒疫苗接種計劃的零售商之一,增加當地社區人士在全球疫苗接種中得到服務的機會。


2020 年,和記港口優先為本地醫療系統提供支援,包括向當地醫院捐贈個人防護裝備和大規模採購設備。例如,港口部門支持泰國醫治新型冠狀病毒病的醫院病房構建獨立空調系統,並向巴拿馬的深切治療室捐贈病床及呼吸機。全球的義工隊更合力向受疫情影響最嚴重的地區(巴基斯坦、英國、香港、西班牙及巴拿馬)的社區運送糧食及其他個人防護用品。