Sustainable Products and Services

To communicate the sustainability benefits of the products it offers, the Retail division has developed a number of product lines and platforms that enable customers to shop according to their sustainability values and preferences. For example, Sustainable Choices, a filter and labelling mechanism, was launched in 2020 to provide customers choice in four categories: Clean Beauty; Refill; Better Ingredients and Better Packaging. Many of the division’s retail brands are working to provide products that address other consumer preferences such as plant-based and inclusive products, and importantly at affordable prices.

Living up to PARKnSHOP’s social purpose, “Eat better. Live Better!”, ASW has committed to tripling its plant-based meat and dairy options responding to the significant uptick in demand from those following vegan, vegetarian and flexitarian diets. PARKnSHOP has also acted as springboard for plant-based innovations identified by the Group’s association with the Li Ka Shing Foundation, such as Impossible Products and Perfect Day ice cream.

 

Inclusive products at Superdrug

Superdrug is on a journey to ensure product ranges are inclusive of all customers and works closely with the brands it stocks to encourage them to do the same.

Inclusive products
Superdrug is proud to have made significant progress with the inclusivity of Own Brand ranges, through its Shades of Beauty campaign first launched in 2016. Superdrug increased its foundation ranges to be more inclusive and were the first on the high street to develop its Own Brand afro hair care.

LGBTQ+
In 2020, thanks to a partnership with Unilever, Superdrug stocked a number of exclusive, special edition, rainbow- wrapped products across key products in the Lynx, Closeup, Simple and Vaseline ranges. The packaging of each special edition product includes information on promoting Switchboard, an organisation which offers the LGBTQ+ community a safe space to discuss sexuality, gender and identity. In 2020, together with Unilever, Superdrug also donated £50,000 to Switchboard.

Vegan products
In 2017, Superdrug launched B.Cosmetics, a vegan range of beauty and skincare products. At the time of launch, when vegan products were relatively niche, Superdrug was market-leading in offering a vegan range, at high street prices. This approach has changed since then where it now makes as many products as possible (now at 1,600) suitable for vegans. For the first time, Superdrug had a totally vegan Christmas gifting range in 2020.


Addressing conscious consumers

Recognising customers are looking for more sustainable products and services, even through their choice of mobile operator, the division has created a dedicated conscious consumption category of products and services.

Notable examples from this offering include:

The Fairphone
Touted as the most sustainable phone on the market, Fairphone is out to make big impact and 3 Denmark is proud to now be offering this phone to Danish customers. As the name suggests, the Fairphone mission is to build a fairer world by putting people and planet first and drive conversations about what “fair” really means.

Amsterdam-based Fairphone originally began as an awareness campaign on conflict minerals and turned into a phone company in 2013, with the aim to source as many materials as possible in both humane and environmentally responsible ways.

Fairphone’s aims now go beyond responsible sourcing to also addressing the circular economy with its durable, modular and repairable design. This therefore enables Fairphone users to modify, update and fix a phone’s components if they become damaged or to allow for technology updates. It is also the only phone on the market that comes with a 10/10 score iFixit ranking, a ranking that scores smart phones based on their ease of reparability.

Sourcing Green Energy Through Barry
3 Denmark has also joined forces with Danish start-up electricity provider Barry, a digital electricity supplier that makes it easy for consumers to get smarter, cheaper and low carbon power consumption through the click of an app.

Before the end of 2020, all Danes will have a remote digital meter installed in their home and users of Barry are able to receive a message to tell them when power is cheapest and available from sustainable sources. Upon the launch of the service, 3 Denmark customers were offered the first seven months’ Barry subscription free of charge.

Monthly Matched Donations to WWF
WINDTRE has partnered up with WWF to take part in
Monthly matched donations to WWF  WINDTRE has partnered up with WWF to take part in a programme called “GenerAction Sea” in aid of protecting the Mediterranean Sea and the Italian shoreline. Customers subscribing to the “solidarity option” donate 50c every month which is matched by WINDTRE in order to help protect the marine environment including species at greatest risk, like the Loggerhead Sea Turtle.

Donating Old Phones to a Cause
3 UK’s Reconnected programme enables both customers and employees to donate unwanted devices to those in need to be able to carry out fundamental tasks like securing employment, shelter or be able to communicate with their families. 3 Sweden also offers customers the opportunity to donate the value of their trade-in device to the Swedish Childhood Cancer Fund.

可持續的產品和服務

零售部門已開發多個產品線及平台,宣傳其產品的可持續優勢,讓顧客根據他們的可持續發展價值觀及喜好選購。例如,2020 年推出的過濾及標簽機制可持續發展選擇,為顧客提供四個類別的選擇:潔淨美容;補充裝; 更佳成分及更佳包裝。零售部門很多零售品牌,正在努力提供消費者喜愛的產品,如植物製品及共融產品,當然重要是價格相宜。

秉承百佳「食得更好、活出更美好!」的社會宗 旨,屈臣氏集團承諾將植物製作的肉類和乳製品的選擇增加三倍,以迎合日漸增加的全素食者、素食者和彈性素食者的需求。百佳更藉著集團與李嘉誠基金會聯繫,引入創新的植物製產品,如 Impossible Products 和 Perfect Day 雪糕等供顧客選擇。

 

Superdrug 的共融產品

Superdrug 盡力確保其產品得到所有顧客的認同, 並鼓勵他們與其採購的品牌緊密合作。

共融產品
Superdrug 通過 2016 年首次推出的美彩倩影(Shades of Beauty)活動,在自家品牌系列的共融方面取得重大進展。Superdrug 增加了具共融性的粉底系列,並且成為首個在商業區開發非洲式髮型護理產品的自家品牌。

彩虹族群 LGBTQ+
2020 年,Superdrug 與聯合利華合作,採購多種獨家、特別版、彩虹包裝產品,涵蓋 Lynx、Closeup、Simple 和凡士林系列的產品。特別版產品的包裝上都印有宣傳 Switchboard 的信息。Switchboard 是一個為彩虹族群提供安全空間討論性和身份認同的組織。於 2020 年, Superdrug 與聯合利華共捐贈了 50,000 英鎊予  Switchboard

純素產品
2017 年,Superdrug 推出 B.Cosmetics,一個純素系列的美容和護膚品。推出初期,純素產品相對小眾,而 Superdrug 成為市場領導者,以大眾化價格提供純素系列。自此引起變革,至今已有達 1,600 種產品適合純素主義者。於 2020 年,Superdrug 首次推出純素聖誕禮品系列。


配合有環保意識的消費者

客戶積極尋求更多可持續的產品及服務,甚至透過他們的流動電訊服務商查詢。有見及此,部門特別設立專屬系列。

此等產品包括:

Fairphone
Fairphone 被譽為市場上最合乎可持續發展的手機, 預計將引發回響。丹麥的客戶現可透過 3 丹麥購買此款手機。Fairphone 機如其名,心繫人類及地球的生態平衡,推動真正具「公平」意義的環保。

以阿姆斯特丹為基地的 Fairphone,最初是一項針對礦產衝突而提高公眾意識的計劃,其後於 2013 年轉型為手機公司,目標是以人道及環保的方式採購物料。

Fairphone 的目標已由負責任採購,伸延到支持循環經濟,製作耐用、模組式及可維修的手機,容許用戶在手機上修改、更新及維修,甚至更新系統。Fairphone 亦是市場上唯一在 iFixit 排名榜(一項根據智能手機可修復性評分的排名)獲得 10/10 評分的手機。

透過 Barry 採購綠色能源
3 丹麥亦與丹麥初創數碼供電商 Barry 合作,只要透過點擊應用程式,客戶便可以智能方式獲得更便宜、更環保的低碳電力。 2020 年底前,所有丹麥國民的居所將已安裝有遙距數碼電錶。Barry 用戶可在電力最便宜及來自可持續來源時收到通知信息。服務推出時,3 丹麥客戶獲 Barry 提供首七個月免收用戶費。

世界自然基金會每月配對捐款
WINDTRE 與世界自然基金會合作,參與名為「GenerAction Sea」計劃,保護地中海及意大利海岸線的海洋環境,客戶每月捐款 50 仙歐羅參與「Solidarity Option」慈善捐款計劃,WINDTRE 便會配對捐款,用於保護海洋環境,包括面臨最大滅絕風險的赤蠵龜。

為慈善捐獻舊手機
3 英國的 Reconnected 計劃讓客戶及員工捐出舊通話裝置給有需要人士,讓他們可利用裝置尋找工作、物色庇護所或與家人聯絡。3 瑞典亦接受客戶將舊機回收所得款項,捐贈瑞典兒童癌症基金會。