Safety, Transparency and Quality - Retail Division

Product and service safety, transparency and quality at ASW

With customers’ best interests central to everything that ASW does, the division has been working with leading experts and researchers globally to deliver the highest levels of product and service safety, transparency and quality through its wide range of Own Brand products. ASW pays meticulous attention to every stage of the production-to-shelf process and proactively seeks customer feedback to ensure ongoing updates to service quality.

Before suppliers are permitted to manufacture ASW Own Brand products, they must first be assessed by external auditing agencies and/or by ASW itself. When developing a new product, there is a rigorous and intensive internal testing process and external assessment. All items, from raw materials to the final product, are assessed by a European toxicologist to ensure it complies with regulatory requirements in each market. ASW conducts regular assessments of Own Brand products led by external independent laboratories and internal ISO17025 accredited laboratories (food and non-food) to ensure the products sold to customers are up to standard.

ASW’s in-house laboratories conduct around 250 tests per week on new products, product deliveries, products associated with customer complaints and samples from the Mystery Shopper programme. For food retail, an additional 1,400 pesticide residue rapid (ELISA based) tests are conducted every week on incoming vegetables as part of the Farm Check programme where ASW has an established network of Quality Assurance (“QA”) approved vegetable farms. ASW also has Farm Check systems in place within supplying farms in Mainland China for chilled pork, chilled chicken, chicken eggs and plans to expand the process to farmed fish will continue once COVID restrictions are lifted. The division’s QA agricultural scientists include both arable/horticultural and veterinary specialists.

ASW has well-established and tested systems that enable it to remove any concerned product from sale in all stores within three hours including, where appropriate, a barcode blocking system that prevents any concerned item being scanned and sold.

Further, key members of each business unit’s management teams take part in regular crisis management workshops to ensure they are thoroughly prepared for any emergency. Each business unit has a detailed crisis manual detailing action procedures and management responsibilities including internal and external actions and communications.

Chemicals Management

The division has stringent requirements for chemicals used in ASW’s Own Brand products, as well as quality and safety guidelines going beyond existing regulations in each market. Since 2009, ASW has also implemented a restricted ingredients list for personal care and cosmetics, to further restrict or ban ingredients considered harmful by independent safety experts. This list is reassessed twice per year and is communicated to Own Brand suppliers for immediate implementation in the new product development phase.

In Europe, ASW also monitors the compliance of ingredients to the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (“REACH”) regulation and since 2008 the division has co-registered 13 substances with support from appointed third- party representative agency, Ecomundo.

Traceability

ASW has invested in traceability software, including Coptis Lab software, to keep records of all ingredients used in ASW Own Brand formulated products, and be able to fast track any ingredient back to products and suppliers.

For wood pulp commodities, ASW is using the amfori BEPI Timber Due Diligence Programme to ensure compliance with the European Union Timber Regulation and maintain an effective due diligence system.

For Own Brand products, ASW is using two online technical file management tools to keep records of all technical files and traceability of products for up to 10 years in the tools, before being archived.

安全、透明度及品質:零售部門

屈臣氏集團的產品及服務安全、透明度及品質

屈臣氏集團一向以客為先,與全球的權威專家和研究員合作無間,提供安全、透明度,和質素均屬最高水平的自家品牌產品。從生產到上架的每一個環節都一絲不苟,並積極尋求客戶反饋,不斷改善服務質素。

供應商必須首先接受外部審核機構及 / 或屈臣氏集團的評估,才獲許生產自家品牌產品。開發新產品時,須經過嚴格的內部測試過程和外部評估。從原材料到最終產品,所有項目都由歐洲毒理學家評估,以確保符合每個市場的監管要求。屈臣氏集團的外聘獨立實驗室,和內部經 ISO17025 認證的實驗室(食品和非食品)定期對自家品牌產品定期評估,以確保售予顧客的產品符合標準。

屈臣氏集團的內部實驗室每週對新產品、交付的產品、顧客投訴的產品,以及由神秘顧客計劃提供的樣品進行約 250 個測試。在食品零售方面,屈臣氏集團建立品質保證認證蔬菜農場網絡,並推行農場檢查程序,每週對進廠蔬菜額外進行 1,400 項殘留農藥快速檢測(以酶聯免疫吸附試驗(ELISA)為基礎)。亦在中國內地的冰鮮猪肉、冰鮮雞肉、雞蛋的供應農場建立農場檢測系統,並計劃在新型冠狀病毒限制解除後,將程序擴展到養殖魚類。部門的品質保證農業科學家包括農業 / 園藝以及獸醫專家。

屈臣氏集團擁有完善且經過測試的系統,能夠在三小時內將問題產品從所有店舖下架,甚至在適用情況下,採用條碼阻擋系統,防止任何有問題的產品掃描出售。

此外,各業務部門管理團隊的主要成員定期參加危機管理工作坊,確保他們在緊急情況下有充分準備。各業務單位均備有詳細的危機處理手冊,仔細說明行動程序和管理職責,包括內部和外部的行動與溝通工作。

化學品管理

部門對屈臣氏集團自家品牌產品所使用的化學品有嚴格要求,其品質和安全指引比各市場現有法規更嚴謹。自 2009 年起,屈臣氏集團對個人護理和化妝品實施限制成分清單,進一步限制或禁止使用被獨立安全專家認為有害的成分。該清單每年評估兩次,並通報自家品牌供應商,在新產品研發階段立即實施。

在歐洲,屈臣氏集團還監測成分是否符合「化學品註冊、評估、授權及限制」(「Reach」)法規,自 2008 年以來,該部門在指定的第三方代表機構 Ecomundo 的協助下,已經按該法規註冊了 13 種物質。

可追溯性

屈臣氏集團投資了可追溯軟件,包括 Coptis Lab 軟件,以記錄自家品牌產品配方中使用的所有成分,並可快速追蹤有關產品和供應商。

對於木漿商品,屈臣氏集團正在使用全球貿易協會的商界環境績效倡議木材盡職調查計劃,以確保符合歐盟木材法規,並保持有效的盡職調查系統。

對於自家品牌的產品,屈臣氏集團採用兩種網上技術檔案管理系統。所有技術檔案和產品的可追溯性紀錄在系統中保存長達 10 年,然後存檔。